2 photos
Ryobi OHT1851R

Ryobi OHT1851R

4.9 from 14 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hedge Trimmers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Ryobi

Reviews

4.9
14 reviews
5
(12)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
    Previous
    Next
    Barry lane
    Barry laneSydney, NSW
    • 5 reviews
    • 1 like

    Excellent

    published

    So easy to clip on a battery and away you go.
    It’s a shame the Australian model does not have the hedge sweeper.
    The rotating handle works well, lightweight and reasonably quiet.

    Purchased in February 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $169.00.

    Incentivised Review No

    FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!

    published

    An amazing tool which is easy to use and hold. Glids through hedge with ease, It really makes my garden jobs easy and quick to do!
    DO NOT HESITATE TO BUY ONE. Just love it!!!

    Purchased in November 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores.

    Incentivised Review No

    Other Hedge Trimmers

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    Dom
    DomSouth East Queensland, QLD
    • 34 reviews
    • 24 likes

    Terrific. Same power as the corded models.

    published

    Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $169.00.

    Incentivised Review No
    Hedge Trimmers

    Find out how Ryobi OHT1851R compares to other Hedge Trimmers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    A Muldoon
    A MuldoonHunter Region, NSW
    • 8 reviews
    • 2 likes

    An excellent garden tool

    published

    I have an old model OHT 1850, 10 years old. It is used to trim a large hedge (over 40 m) every 2-4 weeks in summer and 4-5 weeks in winter. I also have several large shrubs that have to be maintained. The trimmer gets through lots of work and has never failed. Any garden tool that has lasted this long and has done so much work without fail is to be highly recommended. If and when it finally fails, I will not hesitate to buy another Ryobi

    Purchased in November 2010 at Bunnings Warehouse.

    Incentivised Review No
    Michael P.
    Michael P.
    • 2 reviews
    • 2 likes

    A powerful and easy trimmer to use

    published

    I bought my Ryobi cordless hedge trimmer OHT 185 1R in 2017 from Bunnings. It is used intensively and has never let me down. It will cut through branches up to the size of the cutter bar. It is important to oil the cutter bar after every use, using SAE 30-40 engine oil. CRC or RP7 is to light!!. A great investment for the garden. My wife loves to use it on her box hedge.

    Purchased in February 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $149.00.

    Incentivised Review No
    acerace
    aceraceQld, 4521
    • 22 reviews
    • 18 likes

    Hard to beat

    published

    The hedge trimmer has been a great addition .Battery power ie NO LEADS My wife loves this thing ,it does in minutes that took ages. Saves me doing it!!! My son has one too.

    Purchased at Auction for $51.00.

    Incentivised Review No
    Anna
    AnnaBrisbane
    • 44 reviews
    • 41 likes

    Best hedge trimmer

    published

    I do my own hedges and also others in the family. This is such a great hedge trimmer.
    The long blade ensures I can reach across and makes it easier to get a straight cut. It is not too heavy for me to handle. I have owned it a year and use it fortnightly and it is still cutting well. I am unsure of what to do if the blades dull, are they able to be sharpened? A question I didnt think to ask and get answered before I bought it.

    Purchased in March 2018.

    Incentivised Review No
    Paulk
    PaulkSydney
    • 2 reviews
    • Verified

    Excellent

    published

    Changed from petrol to battery after 15 years as a lot of my trimming is done on a ladder. Much lighter, quieter and easier to use. The twist grip is handy. Feels just as powerful as the petrol. I already had a 2.5amp battery and bought a 2nd one for this trimmer which I have needed due to the amount of hedges I have. The charge lasts a while so you may be happy with one.

    Date PurchasedOct 2018

    Other Hedge Trimmers

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    Karl
    KarlSydney
    • 4 reviews
    • 5 likes

    Plenty of grunt

    published

    I was hesitant in buying a battery powered hedge trimmer. I convinced myself that I needed petrol or electric to get through my hedges. But the guy at bunnings suggested I try the ryobi one plus. The weight alone was enough to convince me to go with the ryobi. So much lighter than the petrol and electric. I still wasn’t sure it was going to power through the hedges but it more than handled it and battery life is great.

    Date PurchasedMay 2017
    Hedge Trimmers

    Find out how Ryobi OHT1851R compares to other Hedge Trimmers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    JohnStevens
    JohnStevens
    • 7 reviews
    • 6 likes
    • Verified

    Does the job very well.

    published
    Date PurchasedOct 2017
    Pat D
    Pat DTaree
    • 2 reviews

    Delighted

    published

    I have a big garden with much trimming required. When I bought the place I started with manual trimming, impossible task. I then tried a corded power trimmer, found this dangerous and inconvenient. Next step was motorised hedge trimmer - this worked well but was much too heavy for me. In desperation I bought this product - at last I found a solution, it cuts great, is lightweight and easy to adjust. I bought a 2.5 ah battery for it and find this lasts multiple uses, never have run out of juice when starting with a full battery.

    Date PurchasedJune 2016
    DeniseS
    DeniseSLaunceston
    • 10 reviews
    • 17 likes

    Fantastic - A back saving device

    published
    Gazajr
    GazajrGladstone
    • 12 reviews
    • 10 likes
    • Verified

    What a great piece of kit.

    published
    Charles
    CharlesAdelaide
    • 6 reviews
    • 8 likes

    Massive step up from last model

    published

    I was given one of these by Bunnings as a warranty replacement for the last model which the handle broke on.

    This thing is excellent. I go looking for things to hedge now. It has a protector on the end on the cutter that protects it when you get low along paths etc, it has a handle that rotates to different angles which makes it a lot easier to use and the switches to make it go (two points of contact) do not require herculean strength to keep it going.

    Great product development and a 2yr warranty which has just restarted for me.

    Other Hedge Trimmers

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)

    Questions & Answers

    Jeff T
    Jeff Tasked

    Can I use Ryobi 18V ONE+ 2.5Ah 55cm Hedge Trimmer one handed or should I use a different model for grass plants which need a spare hand to hold the plant

    3 answers
    A Muldoon
    A Muldoon

    Ryobi hedge trimmers require a two handed operation. This is a safety feature with two interlocking triggers.This is to prevent a nasty accident if the cutter bar got out of control. Beside that, the weight is too much for one handed operation, unlike the small light weight unit designed for one handed use.

    Jeff T
    Jeff T

    Thanks

    acerace
    acerace

    A Muldoon is 100%

    dave
    daveasked

    why is ryobi pole hedge trimmer with battery kit ($169) cheaper than ryobi one+ pole hedge trimmer without battery and charger ($199) ?

    2 answers
    acerace
    acerace

    How would anyone know.I will be up all night worrying!!!

    dave
    dave

    I expect there are people around who know more than you but I wouldn't worry about that too much it could harm your tiny brain. If you don't know the answer don't try to provide one.

    aldo
    aldoasked

    need something that will trim my old lavender edge

    4 answers
    acerace
    acerace

    Hedge trimmer does our lavender easily. As long as stems are not too thick,

    Anna
    Anna

    My hedger does my Lilypilly and Mariah hedges with no issues.

    Michael P.
    Michael P.

    If the stems fit between the cutters it should do the job well.

    See all Ryobi OHT1851R questions

    Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

    Details

    CategoryHedge Trimmers
    Power SourceBattery
    Weight2.7kg
    Price (RRP)$149
    Blade Length500mm
    ManualDownload manual
    Visit official website

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.