??!
6 photos
Renault Master

Renault Master

X62, X70
2.4 from 27 reviews

See the Best Vans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
7
1 star
10

2008 Renault Master Van

published

Purchased at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

scottdooley1970

scottdooley1970Sydney, NSW

Renault refuse gearbox warranty claim

published

I have had an ongoing gearbox problem since the warranty period. Now it's out of warranty Renault is refusing to repair it! I have pointed out that I have been dealing with this problem for three years and now this problem had become dangerous I have sort to have the problem fixed. The gearbox won't select a gear and I'm stuck in the traffic. Apparently this is a gearbox problem with the earlier models , mines a 2012 model!

Purchased in March 2013 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
See all answers

Gaz f

Gaz f

  • 2 reviews

Brand new Renault master no aircon

published

I brought motorhome and its built on Renault master, found out later aircon doesn't work was told by pary Renault the part would take 2 weeks to get here from France, now they are saying another 2 weeks I can not believe they have no spare parts in Australia. I'm not a very happy customer especially living in townsvile where aircon is a must all year round, the van is only 5 weeks old and has been sitting in my driveway for 4 of them.

BodyCab Chassis
Badge100.000
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedOct 2018
sydneyo

sydneyo

  • 9 reviews

Motorhome base

published

Very happy with the Mater cab chassis. Had it for two years and done 20,000 kms with zero issues. Capped price servicing is good at the $349 price I qualified for when I bought mine. Only issue I have is occasionally have to have more than one attempt to engage resverse gear - only a slight annoyance and reminds me of manual gearboxes of days gone by.

BodyCab Chassis
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseExtra Long
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Thomas

ThomasMiranda

  • 3 reviews

MotorHome

published

Very efficient. No problems so far. 15000kms and no issues except cant turn off lights. I’m told it’s standard in Europe but I drive a Citroen car same age and lights go off. Even though it’s a large MotorHome it handles like a normal van. For its size it’s surprisingly fuel efficient.

Body?
BadgeIntegral
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Mark b

Mark bMaitland

Great van but dealers are rip offs

published

Engine and transmission manual is great very powerful gearbox is a bit noisy
Renault Australia services are very expensive $759 for a oil change laughable when questioned they said oh we use genuine parts the dual mass flywheel just failed it’s under warranty however if they pull it down and find something else there price for new flywheel and clutch Is $7500 the clutch place is $2300 same genuine parts so of course I could not trust Renault to replace so had to fork out of own pocket the side plastic bumper still came off $280 from Renault $31 on eBay for a genuine part now come on I think I’ll buy a vw next time what a shame but I do 100 000 km a year and can’t offord there ridiculous prices on parts and services

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo
Date PurchasedMay 2016

NIck lh

NIck lhBrisbane

Rubbish van

published

Rubbish. Door handle fell off, central locking failed, could not lock sliding doors for two weeks, blue tooth and rear camera failed, paint peeled off both sliding door rails. Replaced under warranty but they scratched the paint work when replaced, the orange paint has gone chalky and powdery. Scallops in passenger rear tyre due to suspension issues. “This issue was brought to my attention buy a Renault mechanic who I did some work for”. Promises from customer service to get independent paint specialist to look at. Village motors in north lakes could not care less! Will engage fair trading now.

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedOct 2015

Leigh

LeighMelbourne

Avoid at all costs. Worst commercial Van to own, repetitive ongoing major faults and issues

published
BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedNov 2013

A total nightmare...don't buy a renault....ever.

published
BodyVan
BadgeXtra long
WheelbaseExtra Long
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedSep 2016

expensive to maintain tyres, brake pads and rotors ,plus service every 30,000 kms

published

front wheel drive worst thing ever driven, turning circle need plenty of room to turn around and useless in hilly areas.interior cheap looking if use every day for work will cost a lot.i change tyres and brake pads ,rotors thee times a year where my second van is a transit only need to change once a year for same amount kms

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Pete

PeteNorwich

Gearbox gone

published

Gearbox gone at 60,000 miles back to a ford me thinks noisy van disappointed if this vehicle is going to cost a fortune to keep on the road only had 3 months dealer says it is common fault with Renault gearboxes so buyers beware will be bogging back to a transit cheaper to repair and more reliable.

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Worried about 6 speed auto

published

Have this reno under our motorhome and yes we find reversing up a hill hopeless. The clutch releases with a scary bang. It's great on the hyway heaps of power at 100 klm/ hr. The gearbox now at 20 thousand k has a clack between 2nd and 3rd gears up and down speeds. Renault said it was a noisy bearing on the tailshaft and apparently replaced it at 6 thousand k... The noise is still there and at the twelve month service they thought they could hear a noise.

BodyCab Chassis
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Great van. could be improved

published
BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Great to drive but costly to keep

published

I bought two Renault Master one mid wheel base one long wheel base in June 2015 have already done a gearbox under warranty a manifold at my expense having problems with software and have done another manifold under warranty have done 70000 kilometres in one van and 200000 kilometres in the other I think when I come to replace these vehicles I'll go back to Volkswagen Crafter after winning best van 2017 award

BodyVan
BadgeMaster
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo
Date PurchasedJun 2015

fan motor gave up

published

Totaly happy with master lwb. I am courier & have owned & driven 160k in 2.5 years, Manual gears, Good changes had no trouble at all until hot & humid qld took its toll on fan motor. Renault southport replaced & lent van for 2 days totaly free of charge. It would seem many of you have gearbox problems but mine perfect, Ave 8.6 per 100k every tank & 9.6 with a/c on. Most comfortable seat & cruises effortless on m1 @ 100/110kph. Service every 30k uses 1/2 ltr oil between. 80k new pads due now for 2nd set.
Very very good van & enormous inside. Merc was 1st choice but another $25k so think a bargain for money & extras as standard

BodyVan
BadgeX62
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedJan 2015

Renault Master Quickshift Gearbox

published

Loved the look and way the van drives but the gearbox has died at 75,000 km. Still not fixed after 3 weeks but thankfully still under warranty. Looks like the 75k mark is when lots of people start to have trouble with the gearbox. Only got 6mths left on the warranty so not looking forward to an 8k rebuild if it does it again. Help from dealers and Renault Australia was poor. Looks like a return to the merc sprinter. Dealer said they have 5 vans in the shop at the moment with similar issues. Renault need to look at providing loan vehicles when under warranty.

BodyVan
Badgemaster tech
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
Date PurchasedMar 2013

renault wear and tear

published

I bought a new Renault master dci 100 in 2012 medium wheel base from main dealer in limerick city milage at present 50 000 klms .only myself drives it van is very well looked and always serviced on time my problem is if fault happens they always seem to put something down to wear and tear and bill me for it with such small milage I cant see why I have had lots of new vans over the years and with 5 year warranty on vans this is a joke. cant get customer services on phone to complain 5 year warranty is only a sales plot Renault are a complete rip off and treat customers like rubbish so my advise is run away from Renault they only rip u off if u want good commercial transport look at any other vans Renault are your worst night mare

BodyVan
BadgeIntegral
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Turbo

KJ

KJMelbourne

The worst van I ever had. Please avoid to purchase it.

published

If you are looking to buy this sort of van please think a lot. As me and 15 other people we got the contract and we all have bought this van. And everyone has some issues with this van. Don't buy if you are thinking it's cheaper than others. But truth is better pay more rather than feel cheated later.. The issue with this van is poor quality doors, not a great van to drive, poor suspension, in my van many parts were missing. Better check if you still buying this van that everything is working..good luck

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo

Good van spoiled by brake binding problems

published
BodyCab Chassis
Badge1
WheelbaseExtra Long
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Stewart S

Stewart STara

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Continuing saga of another blown gearbox at 75,000 klms

published
BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.5L Turbo

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jagjit Singh T.

Jagjit Singh T.asked

Hi , i have Renault master mvd, and it is showing message check emission, anyone know how to fix , because the van is still running well.
Thanks

No answers

JOHN q.

JOHN q.asked

Hi guys where is the jack in a master van & how do i lower the spare from under the van please.

No answers

Grace B.

Grace B.asked

Saturday whilst going through a round about, the dash said the van was in gear 2, but the van was reving like it was in N.

Rolled over parked and turned van off. Went to start van again but dash was still stating gear 2 and the light on the dash suggested service now. Van wouldn't start.

So waited 10 mins then tried starting, this time it defaulted into N and started and the light on the dash was gone.

1 answer
Peter L.
Peter L.

Automatic gearbox, good luck!


Get an answer from our members and Renault representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.