??!
6 photos
Renault Master

Renault Master

X62, X70
2.4 from 32 reviews

Reviews

2.4

32 reviews
5
(5)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(7)
1
(13)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (3)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
  • Braking
    4.0 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    3.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Paul M.

Paul M.South East Queensland, QLD

DO NOT BUY A RENAULT MASTER VAN !!!!!!!!!

published

Purchased Master LWB Van three years back, not long after the warranty has run out it has needed major parts to be replaced and they not willing to cover most of the cost, talking with head office is useless they are no help and never call you back, DO NOT BUY A RENAULT !!!!!!!!!

Gear box issue seems to be very common :(

Purchased in October 2018 for A$42,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
See all answers

My gear box issue

published

I have had a gearbox issue shown up on my renault master 2015 and now the mechanic says it the hydro robotic issues and its going to cost me an arm and a leg can anybody help or guide me to a solution to this hefty bill i am going to get

Purchased in June 2018 for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
See all answers
Ryan

RyanIllawarra, NSW

Towbar

published

Struggling to get a after market towbar no one can give me a Hayman Reece code the vehicle is a 1/2020 jayco rm19-1 does anyone know if the year older one fits it’s also Rwd

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
See all answers
Vans

Find out how Renault Master compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter

PeterGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great van with manual 5 speed gearbox

published

Renaut Master is great and reliable with a 5 speeds manual gearbox. Forget the semi-auto as it will send you broke....I use this van everyday and never had any issues or problems with the manual gearbox. I have now done 180 000 KMS from new and not a problem , just replaced a water pump and brake rotors twice but that is normal maintenance.. A great and easy vehicle for loading heavy cargo

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
dissapointed

dissapointedSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Gear problems

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed

2008 Renault Master Van

published

Purchased at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
scottdooley1970

scottdooley1970Sydney, NSW

Renault refuse gearbox warranty claim

published

I have had an ongoing gearbox problem since the warranty period. Now it's out of warranty Renault is refusing to repair it! I have pointed out that I have been dealing with this problem for three years and now this problem had become dangerous I have sort to have the problem fixed. The gearbox won't select a gear and I'm stuck in the traffic. Apparently this is a gearbox problem with the earlier models , mines a 2012 model!

Purchased in March 2013 for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
See all answers
Gaz f

Gaz f

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Brand new Renault master no aircon

published

I brought motorhome and its built on Renault master, found out later aircon doesn't work was told by pary Renault the part would take 2 weeks to get here from France, now they are saying another 2 weeks I can not believe they have no spare parts in Australia. I'm not a very happy customer especially living in townsvile where aircon is a must all year round, the van is only 5 weeks old and has been sitting in my driveway for 4 of them.

BodyCab Chassis
Badge100.000
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedOct 2018
sydneyo

sydneyo

  • 9 reviews
  • 14 likes

Motorhome base

published

Very happy with the Mater cab chassis. Had it for two years and done 20,000 kms with zero issues. Capped price servicing is good at the $349 price I qualified for when I bought mine. Only issue I have is occasionally have to have more than one attempt to engage resverse gear - only a slight annoyance and reminds me of manual gearboxes of days gone by.

BodyCab Chassis
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseExtra Long
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Vans

Find out how Renault Master compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Thomas

ThomasSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

MotorHome

published

Very efficient. No problems so far. 15000kms and no issues except cant turn off lights. I’m told it’s standard in Europe but I drive a Citroen car same age and lights go off. Even though it’s a large MotorHome it handles like a normal van. For its size it’s surprisingly fuel efficient.

Body?
BadgeIntegral
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Mark b

Mark bMaitland

Great van but dealers are rip offs

published

Engine and transmission manual is great very powerful gearbox is a bit noisy
Renault Australia services are very expensive $759 for a oil change laughable when questioned they said oh we use genuine parts the dual mass flywheel just failed it’s under warranty however if they pull it down and find something else there price for new flywheel and clutch Is $7500 the clutch place is $2300 same genuine parts so of course I could not trust Renault to replace so had to fork out of own pocket the side plastic bumper still came off $280 from Renault $31 on eBay for a genuine part now come on I think I’ll buy a vw next time what a shame but I do 100 000 km a year and can’t offord there ridiculous prices on parts and services

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo
Date PurchasedMay 2016
NIck lh

NIck lhBrisbane

Rubbish van

published

Rubbish. Door handle fell off, central locking failed, could not lock sliding doors for two weeks, blue tooth and rear camera failed, paint peeled off both sliding door rails. Replaced under warranty but they scratched the paint work when replaced, the orange paint has gone chalky and powdery. Scallops in passenger rear tyre due to suspension issues. “This issue was brought to my attention buy a Renault mechanic who I did some work for”. Promises from customer service to get independent paint specialist to look at. Village motors in north lakes could not care less! Will engage fair trading now.

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Leigh

LeighMelbourne

Avoid at all costs. Worst commercial Van to own, repetitive ongoing major faults and issues

published
BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedNov 2013

A total nightmare...don't buy a renault....ever.

published
BodyVan
BadgeXtra long
WheelbaseExtra Long
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedSep 2016

expensive to maintain tyres, brake pads and rotors ,plus service every 30,000 kms

published

front wheel drive worst thing ever driven, turning circle need plenty of room to turn around and useless in hilly areas.interior cheap looking if use every day for work will cost a lot.i change tyres and brake pads ,rotors thee times a year where my second van is a transit only need to change once a year for same amount kms

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Vans

Find out how Renault Master compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pete

PeteNorwich

Gearbox gone

published

Gearbox gone at 60,000 miles back to a ford me thinks noisy van disappointed if this vehicle is going to cost a fortune to keep on the road only had 3 months dealer says it is common fault with Renault gearboxes so buyers beware will be bogging back to a transit cheaper to repair and more reliable.

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Worried about 6 speed auto

published

Have this reno under our motorhome and yes we find reversing up a hill hopeless. The clutch releases with a scary bang. It's great on the hyway heaps of power at 100 klm/ hr. The gearbox now at 20 thousand k has a clack between 2nd and 3rd gears up and down speeds. Renault said it was a noisy bearing on the tailshaft and apparently replaced it at 6 thousand k... The noise is still there and at the twelve month service they thought they could hear a noise.

BodyCab Chassis
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Great van. could be improved

published
BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Great to drive but costly to keep

published

I bought two Renault Master one mid wheel base one long wheel base in June 2015 have already done a gearbox under warranty a manifold at my expense having problems with software and have done another manifold under warranty have done 70000 kilometres in one van and 200000 kilometres in the other I think when I come to replace these vehicles I'll go back to Volkswagen Crafter after winning best van 2017 award

BodyVan
BadgeMaster
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo
Date PurchasedJun 2015

fan motor gave up

published

Totaly happy with master lwb. I am courier & have owned & driven 160k in 2.5 years, Manual gears, Good changes had no trouble at all until hot & humid qld took its toll on fan motor. Renault southport replaced & lent van for 2 days totaly free of charge. It would seem many of you have gearbox problems but mine perfect, Ave 8.6 per 100k every tank & 9.6 with a/c on. Most comfortable seat & cruises effortless on m1 @ 100/110kph. Service every 30k uses 1/2 ltr oil between. 80k new pads due now for 2nd set.
Very very good van & enormous inside. Merc was 1st choice but another $25k so think a bargain for money & extras as standard

BodyVan
BadgeX62
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Troy D.

Troy D.asked

Master

Does anyone know why 2011 master would not go into reverse? it drives fine but no reverse

3 answers
Jason W.
Jason W.

Mine has done the same. Did you find out how come

Troy D.
Troy D.

No one has answered yet

sean76
sean76

same as mine, just 8000km..

Davo

Davoasked

Master X62 (2011-2020)

Was this bought from Crick's

No answers
Ifeanyi A.

Ifeanyi A.asked

Master

What could make the gear of Renault master manual gearbox to disengage by itself while driving?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Vans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.