5 photos
Renault Master X62

Renault Master X62 (2011-2021)

Also referred to as: Renault Master X62 2020 and Renault Master X62 2022.
2.5 from 30 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Renault? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.6 (9)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.9 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (6)
  • Braking
    3.8 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.2 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (4)
  • Handling
    3.8 (4)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (4)
  • Features
    3.3 (3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
zac
zacSydney, NSW

0/10 dangerously poor design.

published

There’s too many things about this vehicle that annoy me to list them all. If you’re looking for a vehicle that’s unique for the sake of it rather than to make any improvements then this is the one.

Purchased in April 2021.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Bugs
BugsBowral nsw

Gear box problem

published

New Dec ‘20. When stopping trans would take over & select N or Drv3 would not allow acceleration..twice back to Cairns from Cooktown..10 days wait for pump..very scary for a senior solo lady when it selected neutral 1/2 way up one of steepest narrow roads in Oz. If I turned it off n on I could select Drive but then it started to stay in 1st or 2 Nd gear. Still waiting for girl to ph me back from head office since July.

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Jeff
JeffGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

totally agree

published

I own a Renault Master Cab Chassis 2018 2.3 Turbo Diesel 6 speed auto 22,500 klms on the clock.
I had the same issue with the Gearbox stuck in Neutral. Its turns out after a Diagnostic examination
that hydro service pump has to be replaced because they cannot repair the seals???? Its like a car that may have a puncture, so lets throw the wheel away!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Paul M.
Paul M.South East Queensland, QLD

After Sales Service Absolutely Terrible

published

After sales service is rubbish, my service centre is Springwood Qld they are rude and do not help at all, there head office is also no help, I have had my own business for 10 years and I have never dealt a company that have treated a customer in this type of way, they never call me back, lie and don't fix your van properly, get them to look at it the other day and there was a pump that was not plugged back in under the engine, dont waste your time buying one of these piece of crap!

  • Thumbnail

Purchased for $42,750.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Vans

Find out how Renault Master X62 compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bali N.
Bali N.South East Queensland, QLD

It is a good van but mechanical improvements required.

published

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
5/5

My gear box issue

published

I have had a gearbox issue shown up on my renault master 2015 and now the mechanic says it the hydro robotic issues and its going to cost me an arm and a leg can anybody help or guide me to a solution to this hefty bill i am going to get

Purchased in June 2018 for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ryan
RyanIllawarra, NSW

Towbar

published

Struggling to get a after market towbar no one can give me a Hayman Reece code the vehicle is a 1/2020 jayco rm19-1 does anyone know if the year older one fits it’s also Rwd

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
Peter
PeterGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great van with manual 5 speed gearbox

published

Renaut Master is great and reliable with a 5 speeds manual gearbox. Forget the semi-auto as it will send you broke....I use this van everyday and never had any issues or problems with the manual gearbox. I have now done 180 000 KMS from new and not a problem , just replaced a water pump and brake rotors twice but that is normal maintenance.. A great and easy vehicle for loading heavy cargo

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
dissapointed
dissapointedSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Gear problems

published
Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Vans

Find out how Renault Master X62 compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
scottdooley1970
scottdooley1970Sydney, NSW

Renault refuse gearbox warranty claim

published

I have had an ongoing gearbox problem since the warranty period. Now it's out of warranty Renault is refusing to repair it! I have pointed out that I have been dealing with this problem for three years and now this problem had become dangerous I have sort to have the problem fixed. The gearbox won't select a gear and I'm stuck in the traffic. Apparently this is a gearbox problem with the earlier models , mines a 2012 model!

Purchased in March 2013 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Gaz f
Gaz f
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Brand new Renault master no aircon

published

I brought motorhome and its built on Renault master, found out later aircon doesn't work was told by pary Renault the part would take 2 weeks to get here from France, now they are saying another 2 weeks I can not believe they have no spare parts in Australia. I'm not a very happy customer especially living in townsvile where aircon is a must all year round, the van is only 5 weeks old and has been sitting in my driveway for 4 of them.

BodyCab Chassis
Badge100.000
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedOct 2018
sydneyo
sydneyo
  • 9 reviews
  • 14 likes

Motorhome base

published

Very happy with the Mater cab chassis. Had it for two years and done 20,000 kms with zero issues. Capped price servicing is good at the $349 price I qualified for when I bought mine. Only issue I have is occasionally have to have more than one attempt to engage resverse gear - only a slight annoyance and reminds me of manual gearboxes of days gone by.

BodyCab Chassis
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseExtra Long
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Vans

Find out how Renault Master X62 compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Thomas
ThomasSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

MotorHome

published

Very efficient. No problems so far. 15000kms and no issues except cant turn off lights. I’m told it’s standard in Europe but I drive a Citroen car same age and lights go off. Even though it’s a large MotorHome it handles like a normal van. For its size it’s surprisingly fuel efficient.

Body?
BadgeIntegral
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Mark b
Mark bMaitland

Great van but dealers are rip offs

published

Engine and transmission manual is great very powerful gearbox is a bit noisy
Renault Australia services are very expensive $759 for a oil change laughable when questioned they said oh we use genuine parts the dual mass flywheel just failed it’s under warranty however if they pull it down and find something else there price for new flywheel and clutch Is $7500 the clutch place is $2300 same genuine parts so of course I could not trust Renault to replace so had to fork out of own pocket the side plastic bumper still came off $280 from Renault $31 on eBay for a genuine part now come on I think I’ll buy a vw next time what a shame but I do 100 000 km a year and can’t offord there ridiculous prices on parts and services

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo
Date PurchasedMay 2016
NIck lh
NIck lhBrisbane

Rubbish van

published

Rubbish. Door handle fell off, central locking failed, could not lock sliding doors for two weeks, blue tooth and rear camera failed, paint peeled off both sliding door rails. Replaced under warranty but they scratched the paint work when replaced, the orange paint has gone chalky and powdery. Scallops in passenger rear tyre due to suspension issues. “This issue was brought to my attention buy a Renault mechanic who I did some work for”. Promises from customer service to get independent paint specialist to look at. Village motors in north lakes could not care less! Will engage fair trading now.

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedOct 2015
See all Renault Master reviews

Questions & Answers

Davo
Davoasked
Master X62 (2011-2021)

Was this bought from Crick's

No answers
Steve
Steveasked
Master X62 (2011-2021)

2011 Renault Master X62. My semi automatic quickshift lever is not picking up neutral or changing to manual shift. Also it is starting in 1st gear and then changing to neutral. What do you think the probelm might be.
Regards Steve

1 answer
Bryan S.
Bryan S.

Did you get an answer to this problem? I have the same...

Grace B.
Grace B.asked
Master X62 (2011-2021)

Saturday whilst going through a round about, the dash said the van was in gear 2, but the van was reving like it was in N.

Rolled over parked and turned van off. Went to start van again but dash was still stating gear 2 and the light on the dash suggested service now. Van wouldn't start.

So waited 10 mins then tried starting, this time it defaulted into N and started and the light on the dash was gone.

1 answer
Peter L.
Peter L.

Automatic gearbox, good luck!

See all Renault Master X62 (2011-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Renault Master X62 (2011-2021)

Details

Compare both Renault Master
CategoryVans
Release dateJan 2011
Compare both Renault Master

Other Vans

Previous
Next
See all Vans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.