??!
1 photo
Ryobi 36V Hedge Trimmer RHT3600

Ryobi 36V Hedge Trimmer RHT3600

3.1 from 14 reviews

See the Best Hedge Trimmers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
4

heather

heatherSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great product

published

Easy to use
Lightweight, but plenty of power.
36 volt battery interchangeable with other products in their range.
Great after sales service.
Goes well with other products from your he range we have bought

Purchased in September 2018 at Murwillumbah mowers.


Ian B

Ian BKingaroy

Drive mechanism breaks easily.

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Wai Keung

Wai Keung

  • 4 reviews

Not to heavy hedge trimmer

published

just use this few times, is pretty good cut because i use the lawn mower is same brand so i can use the same battery, power is enough, try to compare with other brand but purchased this one finally. same as other user said , you just use one speed only, other one is not enough powerful

Date PurchasedNov 2018
  • Verified purchase

Had it for 7 months - minimal use

published

Had this trimmer for about 7 months, worked well until today...it just died.

I let it cool down and after that it’ll only work for about half a second...came back to bunnings and swapped it with the AEG 18V hedge trimmer which is $20 more than the Ryobi Kit but I feel it’s a better build and has better features + it comes with the charger and a 6.0mah battery which is excellent and would last a lot longer than the battery that comes with the Ryobi kit.

Also the AEG has 6 year product warranty and 3 year battery warranty + it’s brushless & it weighs 3.0kg which is pretty good and also comes with a blade cover the Ryobi one didn’t.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Paul

PaulYamba

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Handy tool

published

Just used it yesterday and did a good job on my small hedge.I think it may not be so good for heavy jobs but for a small garden it is very handy.The extended 6 year warranty is also a big plus.
As I say good light hedging and small gardens

Date PurchasedNov 2017

ght

ghtLaunceston

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst tool I have ever owned.

published

I have had this for a couple of years now. Each spring I get it out and then forget what a heap of junk it is. How anyone can give it a good review (they must be working for Ryobi !) I don't know because it simply will not trim even a blade of grass let alone a small hedge. On even the smallest branches (less than 1mm diameter) it jams continuously. I should have returned it when I first got it but it's too late now as it's out of warranty. I have lots of Ryobi tools and they are all great but the company should be ashamed of themselves for producing something as bad as this.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
1 comment
ght
ght

As an update and in fairness to Bunnings, I approached them with my concerns and I have now received a full refund. Well done Bunnings.


Heids

HeidsKyogle

Cuts through lantana

published

I am clearing lantana and crofton weed by hand and need to get to the lowest points in order to cut the stems. Lantana grows in all directions and I was using a chainsaw to break the canopy to get into the lower stems. This is both cumbersome and inappropriate. I thought of using a hedge trimmer and started researching all options. I ended up purchasing this one for a) the 2-speed option; and b) the claimed 24mm cutting thickness. I have used it all week and can highly recommend it. I use the low speed ("rough cut") option with the HedgeSweep attached and it cuts the stems very satisfactorily. I would give it 5 stars but for the crappy blade guard. It is a real pain to put on. So far, so good.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

fruechtel

fruechtelBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worked well until it stopped

published

I have had this unit for 2 years ( out of warranty ) and used it regularly to cut a big hedge. Worked well and so much lighter than a petrol unit. Unfortunately it has no developed a problem in the gear box / blade unit and cannot be used anymore. Motor still spins, but blades only move intermittently and stall when cutting. Not really worth getting repaired, so back to the petrol trimmer, unfortunately.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Outbound

OutboundSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Its good but not great

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Extremely poor performance and not fit for purpose.

published

I purchased the Ryobe Expand-it 36v system with the line cutter. I had to buy the hedge trimmer attachment separately, problem is, it simply doesn’t work. It just chomps away bending and bruising without giving a clean cut. Anything over about 3mm diameter, forget it, it is totally useless, I would not recommend this product and will be returning it to Bunnings tomorrow morning.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Annette

AnnetteBeenleigh

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Works great

published

Bought this last year.
very easy to use, too easy in fact.
Cut right through our cable because it was still running after I’d taken my fingers of the on/of switches , was running about 8 seconds afterwards.
Nice lime green colour.
Blades are rusting a bit because i don’t put it back into its plastic sleeve after I use it. I know.. my bad

Date PurchasedJul 2017

sathutu

sathutuAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Pretty good

published

I have been using for about 2 years (just the skin), have not had any issues so far. I use the battery that came with a mower. I use this to trim a hedge that is about 10m or so long -a fully charge battery never runs out during my use + plus it does trimming pretty well.


barra220

barra220Mornington Peninsula, vic

  • 13 reviews
  • 10 likes

Excellent. Does what it is meant to do with ease.

published

I have been using this hedge trimmer for 2 years and i love it. The power from the 36v battery is as powerful as the electric bosch that it replaced. The other reviewer must have been given a lemon because mine is very powerful and a delight to use. I have trimmed 15 to 20mm diameter branches of my tree lined driveway with ease. I hope that this review helps you decide on this purchase. Bunnings are great for returns and especially on ryobi products as they are the exclusive dealers.
Hope this helps.


wigram50

wigram50

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Totally Useless!

published

Questions & Answers

Gayle C.

Gayle C.asked

Can i get my money back as handle broke whilst in use due to exstream vibration..

1 answer
Ahmad I
Ahmad I

Just take it back to the store you got it from and the warranty should cover that.


Max

Maxasked

Which battery and charger required?

1 answer
MyCozyHome
MyCozyHome

Any of the 36v battery and chargers from Ryobi will fit this!


Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Details

CategoryHedge Trimmers
Power SourceBattery
Weight2.8kg
Price (RRP)$349
Blade Length550mm

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.