??!
1 photo
Ryobi RLM16E36S

Ryobi RLM16E36S

MPN: RLM16E36S
3.3 from 14 reviews

See the Best Electric Lawn Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
2
4 star
5
3 star
4
2 star
1
1 star
2

Smaths

SmathsSydney

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

I like this mower, but there are better

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

wniroshan

wniroshanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Does its job

published

Bought it about 3 months ago. No problems so far. I have a 30sqm buffalo lawn. The bag is just enough to collect all the cuttings in one go. If the lawn was any bigger, I'd have to pause and empty the bag.
Sometimes the wire gets in the way. Cannot cut edges if you have a wall because wheels get in the way.

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $186.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers
Jaspa

JaspaBrisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

One obvious failing point

published

The 'on' button used in the smaller Ryobis mowers (AC and battery) is not robust enough for constant on/off/on work, as it should be designed for. It failed. Apart from that major flaw which sent it back to Bunnings after 8 months, this machine is actually quite powerful if you don't mind manipulating an extension lead all the time. That did become quite wearing on a 350m block. For $189, I considered it was a good solution until the major fail. After the refund, I upgraded to an Ozito battery mower.

Purchased in August 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers

A handy hint

published

I plan to buy this today.

In regards to the plug issue you get your power cable and wrap it around the handle once and then plug it into the socket. Ive always done this for all of my corded devices so they dont get unexpectantly disconnected.

Previously l had a Bosch corded 1800w mower twice both of which had the motor burn out. I am hoping this is mot the case here.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Diamondlighting

Diamondlighting

  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

Everyone knows what Gravity is right..? Seems the engineers of this unit don't.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Ardy

ArdyBallarat

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good product

published

It has only a little problem which every time with a big of pressure, it gets unplugged. All the rest is fine.
My yard is 90 sqm which is not big nor small and it cuts all the lawn. I used level 2 and it was quite capable. My lawn at some point reached half a meter yet the machine cut it quite easily. Given its price, I am very happy

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Maddie

MaddiePerth

  • 4 reviews

Not as good as shown on tv

published

We bought this because it looked very impressive on TV and in a few garden shows but the charge time is far out long and gives only an hour on our garden. It doesn't handle our type of grass very well as its thick and cuts out a lot which isn't good

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Mario Pereira

Mario PereiraAustralia Perth

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good power and quality for the price

published

Very low noise factor when operating and absolute freedom to use the mower anywhere as it’s cordless and good power. The Ryobi batteries lithium are awesome a great investment in clean and reusable energy love the product also can’t wait to get the new introduction of 8Ah and 10Ah lithium battery

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Mob S

Mob SPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely rubbish!

published

It was crap until today when it stopped working! At least could get a refund! Avoid at all costs!
Couldnt get an even mowing, was getting stuck in my small lawn, with just a bit of slope! Happy that it didnt work anymore..
They were like what did you do!? I said mowing! Obviously its not mower!!

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Jackie00

Jackie00Geelong

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

REGRET MY PURCHASE

published

This was one of the few corded electric mowers I could find and I got it at Bunnings. It struggles to cut my small new Kikuyu lawn at the front of the house and it is very hard to push the mower along on it. it does better on the back lawn but I have never seen an electric mower kick up so much dust. We have a few bare patches in the lawn. Also I should have taken more notice of the width, although we do not have that much lawn, 36cm is quite narrow.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Matilda

MatildaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Electric socket cord keeps falling out when mowing lawn - DANGEROUS.

published

I am very disappointed with this mower. It cuts well & manoeves well but the where you plug the cord into the lawn mower socket it continually falls out. I thinks this is dangerous. I have used it on different levels but there is no improvement. I would have expected better for the price I paid. You have to keep starting it frequently....... and I only have a small area to mow. Very disappointed!!!!!! Would definitely not buy another Ryobi electric mower.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Dean

DeanBrisbane

  • Verified purchase

Lasted 3 months then motor tightened up

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

bootit

bootitGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Ryobi Corded Electric Lawn Mower

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018

CapRoberts

CapRobertsSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Overall quite happy just one annoying feature

published

Questions & Answers

Sidney Rhodes

Sidney Rhodesasked

I am assembling a new RLM16E36S. I have got the quick release fastener (item 12 on the product plan) into the correct position as shown in the manual. But to get it tight I am afraid that exerting too much pressure would break it. How much pressure should I apply? Shouldn't it just snap into place?

3 answers
Sidney Rhodes
Sidney Rhodes

OK. Sorted. It seems OK to have the fastener a bit loose while you're getting it into the right position as per the diagram, then it just snaps into place.

Jaspa
Jaspa

That's right. All Good. Enjoy your mower.

Sidney Rhodes
Sidney Rhodes

Thanks Jaspa.


Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $189.00
Power SourceElectrical
FeaturesFoldable Handle
Catcher Type Collapsible
Catcher Capacity45 L
Cutting Deck MaterialPlastic
Cutting Width460 mm
Height of Cut20 mm to 70 mm
Weight11.5 kg
Power1,600 W
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine Name1600W AC

Visit official website
  • MPN: RLM16E36S

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.