??!
3 photos
Samboy Potato

Samboy Potato

2.2 from 22 reviews

Reviews

2.2

22 reviews
5
(4)
4
(1)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(12)
Previous
Next
Sheena

SheenaPerth, WA

Severe cramps from Samboy Atomic Tomato Chips

published

Was so excited to get these.
Ate around 1/3 of the large bag and all of a sudden my stomach started gurgling and turning, I got hot flushes and ran for the bathroom. 30 minutes later my stomach is still going wild and I'm trying to concentrate on not throwing up.

Purchased in March 2020 at IGA for A$3.50.

Stacey

StaceyPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Food poisoning

published

Purchased in February 2020 at IGA for A$2.99.

These were my favourite chips, now they have no flavour

published

I used to buy these all the time because of the amount of seasoning. Got some to today at Woolworths & I was disappointed. Same with the Atomic Tomato. The expiry is June 2020 btw.

Purchased in January 2020 for A$3.00.

Chips

Find out how Samboy Potato compares to other Chips

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jane

JaneMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Where has the BBQ Gone? Flavour doesn’t hit you anymore!

published

We bought 4 packets of our old favourite Samboy bbq chips at Coles last week & not one packet tasted like we remembered... flavour definitely lacking & certainly no longer hits you
What’s happened Samboy?

Purchased in January 2020 at Coles.

Marty

MartyHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

What happened to the taste of Samboy BBQ chips?

published

Samboy BBQ chips were my favourite chips many years ago and I happened to see them on special at my local Woolies store a couple of weeks back so I bought a packet. The chips looked the same but the flavour was definitely nothing like what I remembered. They were the strangest tasting BBQ chips I have ever had and needless to say I won't be buying another packet any time soon!

Purchased in September 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for A$1.50.

Wendy

WendyDarling Downs, QLD

Disappointed

published

Samboy BBQ chips are the only chips I eat. They are pretty hard to find. I can only get them at Coles on a rare occasion. So when I seen Coles had a lot in this day, I bought 3 packets. When I opened them up they looked different and tasted exactly like Smiths BBQ chips. Very disappointed. I opened all the packets and they were all the same. So I went and bought Smiths BBQ chips to compare them and yes exactly the same chip. Please go back to your original recipe.

Purchased in September 2019 at Coles for A$2.50.

TASTES DIFFERENT

published

Waiting forever for chicken to come back, but of course, they don't taste the same.
How hard can it be to resurrect the original recipe. Cmon snackfoods, where's your pride. Wont be buying again.

Purchased in September 2019 for A$3.00.

  • Verified purchase

Wow finally chicken flavor back!!! I been waiting forever. Best most tasty flavorsome chips ever.

published

Australian. The flavor really hits you commercial was a big success in the 80s. Been Australian from beginning. Established in the 1950s in Australia. Has been acquired by another Australian company recently.

Purchased in August 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for A$3.00.

Where's the flavor

published

It was like trying to find a needle in a haystack, flavor no where to be found,crazy fan since kid my go to chips please flavor bomb the chips a little more

Purchased in August 2019 at Woolies.

Chips

Find out how Samboy Potato compares to other Chips

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tash

TashDarling Downs, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Must have

published

Every house must have these in the pantry. They are just perfect for any occasion. The more flavour the better they are. Love it even better when it's 2 for the price of one

Purchased in January 2012 at Coles Supermarkets.

JakeB

JakeB

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

tomato? more like plain potato flavour

published

Umm, who left off the seasoning? My partner was all excited to introduce me to one of his childhood favourites "atomic tomato" and they tasted like plain potato chips. He seemed so disappointed. They must have been good, once upon A time. Wouldn't waste my money on them!

Deb Walton

Deb WaltonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Samboy Meat lover flavoured chips

published

I absolutely love the new meat lovers chips from Samboy. I got a pack for the first time last night and immediately fell in love. Samboy has outdone them selves with this flavour. If you didn’t realise you were eating chips you would believe it was pizza.

Brian

BrianPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Who the hell is in charge !!!!!

published

When i was young SAMBOY chips were no1.. now there like the poor cousin sitting in the back row .. Who is in charge drop your head in shame .
Smiths are making you look second rate . I prefer samboy but one problem . Who sell's them , when i can find them only small bags available . DAM IT . NOT HAPPY JAN . I WANT BBQ SAMBOY LARGE BAG. GIVE ME BBQ SAMBOY LARGE BAG.....

dinkys.

dinkys.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Samboy. BBQ chips.

published

Samboy BBQ Chips have improved in taste I have found of late. But this is only a partial fix. They need to regain their old identity to give them an edge on the shelves. Re-Introduce the smiling moon logo from years ago. it will help make Samboy brand great again.

trudy

trudyrailton

samboy barbecue chips

published

I have been buying samboy chips since I was a little gorl I am now nearly 60 this the first time I have been disappointed with my chips. I have a large packet of barbecue chips and they have not one bit of seasoning in them its like they have put plain chips in the packet, DISSAPOINTED

Chips

Find out how Samboy Potato compares to other Chips

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kim

KimCaptain creek

Still haven't much flavour

published

I used to love love love Samboy barbecue chips because they had so much seasoning on them and I actually had apacket a Christmas that was just perfect, the only problem was I didn't get to eat many because everyone else ate them because they were so good. I buy a packet every week to see if I can get one like that again, with lots of seasoning, but so far no luck! Please add more seasoning, there are some people still out here who don't care about how much salt and whatever else they consume, we just want flavour! Also, what happened to your chicken chips, they were really good too if they had lots of seasoning on them?

Love the Samboy!

published

The Atomic tomato, fantastic! Can't get enough.

The BBQ, there's something going on there, definitely not the flavour it was.

Rod

RodToodyay

Stale chips

published

I brought a ok of BBQ and they were stale so a got salt n vinegar and they the same never again.im changing to smiths chips

Why is samboys gone.?

published

I cant believe you have seen reason to delete the most popular potato chip from your line.. Your name brand has to be the hugest in australia and the bbq samboy large packet the most popular in the line along with the other flavours. .. I really dont understand this decision.
Who wants to buy a tiny pack for entertaining. ???? Not me.!!! Ill change to another brand and have to get used to other bbq flavours which arent as good..
Very very disappointed ... To say the least . My husband is beside himself as this is the only chip he will eat..
A reply would be great !!!! Why why..??

What has happened?

published

The Samboy BBQ chips used to have so much BBQ flavour that they were so addictive! I no longer have an addiction to them because both the flavour and texture of them have changed recently. This is so disappointing, why change such a good thing?! I will not be buying them again.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.