3 photos
Samboy Potato

Samboy Potato

2.3 from 27 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Chips in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Samboy Potato? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Edwardo
EdwardoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Samboy -Atomic Tomato Best chips ever made - why not in stores

published

Can't believe the spoonhead reviews here. Samboy are the best chips by far and the atomic tomato are the best chips ever made. its very annoying that coles and woolworths don't sell them....

Purchased in January 2021 at IGA for $2.50.

Incentivised Review No
Kevin
KevinSouth East Queensland, QLD

Where's the flavour gone.!!

published

Hi , been a Samboy BBQ fan.FOR years I'm 52, what has happened to the BBQ flavour use to be a lot stronger..

Purchased in October 2020 at FoodWorks for $4.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Chips

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Chrissi
ChrissiPerth, WA
  • 15 reviews
  • 14 likes

BACK TO SMITHS CRISPS

published

Samboy used to be my favourite and now they’re just a tasteless bag of potatoes. No flavour and nothing like they used to be!!! People aren’t stupid!!! Use cheap arsed flavouring and trick your consumers is disgusting!!! Shame on you. Thank god for Smiths who thankfully have lifted their game and brought back the good ole packed with flavour BBQ chips!!!

Purchased in September 2020 at Coles for $5.00.

Incentivised Review No
Chips

Find out how Samboy Potato compares to other Chips

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Doug Cathey J.
Doug Cathey J.South East Queensland, QLD

BBQ Chips Have Lost All Flavour

published

I have eaten Samboy BBQ chips for almost 60 years and, until recently, they were my favourite chips. Unlike competitors’ products, they seldom seem to come on special but I have been prepared to pay a premium for the distinctive strong spicy flavour. Not any more! There is virtually no flavour at all, except for that of the oil they are cooked in and they are actually less flavoursome that a major competitor‘s corresponding product that I have previously avoided for any real lack of taste. Mr Samboy, please revert to the original recipe!

Purchased in August 2020 at IGA Maleny.

Incentivised Review No
Pete
Pete
  • 2 reviews

Flavour packed, crunchy. Best chips ever.

published

Flavour packed, crunchy. Best chips ever. Wish the pack was bigger.

Purchased in June 2020 at Woolworths for $1.00.

Incentivised Review No
Sheena
SheenaPerth, WA

Severe cramps from Samboy Atomic Tomato Chips

published

Was so excited to get these.
Ate around 1/3 of the large bag and all of a sudden my stomach started gurgling and turning, I got hot flushes and ran for the bathroom. 30 minutes later my stomach is still going wild and I'm trying to concentrate on not throwing up.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2020 at IGA for $3.50.

Incentivised Review No
Stacey
StaceyPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews

Food poisoning

published

Purchased in February 2020 at IGA for $2.99.

Incentivised Review No

These were my favourite chips, now they have no flavour

published

I used to buy these all the time because of the amount of seasoning. Got some to today at Woolworths & I was disappointed. Same with the Atomic Tomato. The expiry is June 2020 btw.

Purchased in January 2020 for $3.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Chips

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jane
JaneMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Where has the BBQ Gone? Flavour doesn’t hit you anymore!

published

We bought 4 packets of our old favourite Samboy bbq chips at Coles last week & not one packet tasted like we remembered... flavour definitely lacking & certainly no longer hits you
What’s happened Samboy?

Purchased in January 2020 at Coles.

Incentivised Review No
Chips

Find out how Samboy Potato compares to other Chips

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marty
MartyHobart, TAS
  • 2 reviews

What happened to the taste of Samboy BBQ chips?

published

Samboy BBQ chips were my favourite chips many years ago and I happened to see them on special at my local Woolies store a couple of weeks back so I bought a packet. The chips looked the same but the flavour was definitely nothing like what I remembered. They were the strangest tasting BBQ chips I have ever had and needless to say I won't be buying another packet any time soon!

Purchased in September 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for $1.50.

Incentivised Review No
Wendy
WendyDarling Downs, QLD

Disappointed

published

Samboy BBQ chips are the only chips I eat. They are pretty hard to find. I can only get them at Coles on a rare occasion. So when I seen Coles had a lot in this day, I bought 3 packets. When I opened them up they looked different and tasted exactly like Smiths BBQ chips. Very disappointed. I opened all the packets and they were all the same. So I went and bought Smiths BBQ chips to compare them and yes exactly the same chip. Please go back to your original recipe.

Purchased in September 2019 at Coles for $2.50.

Incentivised Review No

TASTES DIFFERENT

published

Waiting forever for chicken to come back, but of course, they don't taste the same.
How hard can it be to resurrect the original recipe. Cmon snackfoods, where's your pride. Wont be buying again.

Purchased in September 2019 for $3.00.

Incentivised Review No
Nafe
NafeLaunceston, TAS
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Wow finally chicken flavor back!!! I been waiting forever. Best most tasty flavorsome chips ever.

published

Australian. The flavor really hits you commercial was a big success in the 80s. Been Australian from beginning. Established in the 1950s in Australia. Has been acquired by another Australian company recently.

Purchased in August 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for $3.00.

Incentivised Review No

Where's the flavor

published

It was like trying to find a needle in a haystack, flavor no where to be found,crazy fan since kid my go to chips please flavor bomb the chips a little more

Purchased in August 2019 at Woolies.

Incentivised Review No

Other Chips

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Tash
TashDarling Downs, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Must have

published

Every house must have these in the pantry. They are just perfect for any occasion. The more flavour the better they are. Love it even better when it's 2 for the price of one

Purchased in January 2012 at Coles Supermarkets.

Incentivised Review No
Chips

Find out how Samboy Potato compares to other Chips

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Kellie
Kellieasked

why cant we buy the bbq samboy chip anymore??? everyone doesnt seem to stock them?

1 answer
Edwardo
Edwardo

I love the tomato sauce flavour which is stocked less than bbq. There is no good reason commercial reasons obviously they are the best chips out there

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.