??!
17 photos
Samsung Galaxy Tab A

Samsung Galaxy Tab A (2019)

8.0" Wi-Fi, 10.1"
4.1 from 32 reviews

Reviews

4.1

32 reviews
5
(16)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (29)
  • Battery Life
    4.5 (27)
  • Body Durability
    4.2 (30)
  • Speaker Quality
    4.1 (31)
  • Display Quality
    4.2 (30)
  • Screen Durability
    4.1 (28)
  • Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
    3.9 (23)
  • Video Quality
    4.2 (24)
  • Rear Camera Quality
    4.3 (23)
  • Night Photography Quality
    3.7 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (28)
  • Security
    4.2 (24)
  • Speed
    4.0 (27)
Previous
Next
woozie

wooziePerth, WA

  • 24 reviews
  • 3 likes

Have modest expectations

published

Purchased in May 2020.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Battery Life
Software
Ease of Use
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Don't drop it...

published

Paid $328.
Broke the screen.
Samsung quote to replace the screen $260.
80% of the cost of a new one to replace the screen seems a bit harsh.
Might be better to buy a different brand.
Can't really review the performance. Only had it two weeks. Didn't use it for the first week waiting for a case to arrive.

Purchased in June 2020 at Officeworks for A$328.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
brooke w.

brooke w.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can be slow but great for kids

published

My daughter received this for Xmas. It is a great tablet for watching and streaming and playing games. However when i use it with her to google something she is interested in, I find it lags a bit. Like I am typing way to fast for the keyboard to keep up. Which I'm not. Just a standard speed like most adults I guess. She doesn't have that problem as she is still learning where all the keys are. Sometimes it freezes aswell if I try to jump between multiple screens or apps. As I said, Its perfect for kids and she LOVES it. But I wouldn't purchase it for myself. It just can't keep up.

Purchased in November 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for A$319.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Tablets

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Tab A compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Neil

NeilGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very slow experience

published

You either have to pay over 600 for a decent samsung tab or buy this slow to the death tablet.

Even switching between small apps is a pain and it always bothers me.

Would buy s6 maybe.

Purchased in June 2020 at Samsung Online store for A$164.50.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Software
Speed
Ease of Use
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Goodies

GoodiesFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 33 reviews
  • 40 likes

Great for kids

published

The tablet is used for our 4 year old daughters video viewing on the YouTube kids app.

It more than satisfies our needs playing smoothly with great sound, graphics, battery life. and smooth trouble free operation.

It is a perfect size for little hands.

The only complaint is that we found that a solid childproof case can be difficult to come across.

Purchased in June 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$248.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Ket

KetCanberra Central 2602, ACT

  • 5 reviews

Great cheap tablet

published

Good quality and reliable tablet. Battery life is great. I bought this mainly for reading watching movies or tv shows on netflix. Works well, however very slow if you are using it for anything typing-related. I highly recommend this if you need a cheap tablet for recreational use. I bought this for $249 back in December 2019. I wouldn't spend more for it though

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Thank you for your feedback, Ket! If you notice your Tablet is running slow and you'd like some technical assistance please send us a message so we can help.

Sara
Samsung Australia

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kevin Anderson

Kevin AndersonLaunceston, TAS

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

excellent tablet (with SIM card option), replacing a Windows phone

published

Excellent value for money for my needs (wanting a wider device than a smartphone for ease of reading emails, web content etc.).
This is my first encounter with ANDROID. Learning curve is not as steep as I imagined at first, because there are lots of helpful tips and tricks YOUTUBE videos etc.
Quick and painless purchase and delivery organised through "BuyMobile, Australia". I had a few questions relating to specifications, which were responded to within a day or so.
Lightning delivery to me, here in regional Tasmania, from overseas.

Purchased in June 2020 at BuyMobile for A$474.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
Michtill

MichtillSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

Have not had it long and so far I love it and can't really find fault. I upgraded from a tab a 8.0 I'd bought in 2016. Screen size is great for movies and it has alot of new things I wasn't expecting.

5 weeks later and I still love it. I recommend it

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman Online.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
MickSamsung
Michtill
Michtill

Thanks.
Have sent a message re my old tab A

Paulo

PauloSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Endless moisture detected notification? Google before you buy!

published

Purchased in April 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$349.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Tablets

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Tab A compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nighthawk

NighthawkWestern Australia

  • 16 reviews
  • 22 likes

Ready, set, go (Home Schooling)

published

Purchased in April 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$455.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
2 comments
Nighthawk
Nighthawk

Day 3 into Home Schooling, still smiles with kids and parent teacher.
All commented tablet is way responsive to previous (3 year old) model, with no lag with apps (school and games) :-D

Samsung
KathSamsung
Niki M.

Niki M.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Value for Money

published

I mainly use my tablet for watching Netflix and Youtube. I also check emails and occasionally Skype and video chat with it. The apps are easy to download and work well on this device. In comparison to my previous tablet, a Kindle Fire the picture is not as sharp but it still does the job nicely. It is superior to the Kindle Fire due the fact that it doesn't have 101 Amazon apps on it that use all your storage and can't be removed. The volume is not super loud but it is sufficient and so far so good.

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$248.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Great to hear you are enjoying your Samsung Tab A overall, Niki. We really appreciate sharing your perspective on this product with us and I will be sure to forward this on to the team!

Kath
Samsung AU

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Tom

TomGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good value tablet

published

Bought this to help in our son's home schooling. Originally wanted to get an ipad mini but for a big price difference, decided to give this one a go.

The pros: low cost, decent display (8/10 for me), you can hold the tablet with one hand, upgradeable storage,

The cons: slightly sluggish processing power but for the price, can't really complain

Overall it is a good value tablet that is suitable for everyday basic usage

Purchased in April 2020.

Value for Money
Hardware
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung

Not good for Netflix!

published

Tends to loose pic or does not show pic despite having sound in background. Not sure if it's a RAM issue or if it just lacks the processing power needed to run Netflix.

Purchased in January 2020 for A$350.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Rob

RobSouth East Queensland, QLD

Lasted 2 months

published

Bought the Galaxy A from Telstra end of Jan 2020. On 6 April it just went blank. Local Telstra shop could not fix and have sent to Samsung. May take a month. I'm expecting it to be fixed or replaced. Was working well before this happened.

Purchased in January 2020 at Telstra Store, helensvale.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Battery Life
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
Colin Foley

Colin FoleyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for the kids and around the house

published

We use this when on road trips to keep the kid entertained. Also, use it for skype with the grandparents. Battery life is great, quick to charge and very easy to set up.

Purchased in March 2020 at The Good Guys for A$330.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Video Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Tablets

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Tab A compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Erin

ErinSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Not a bad tablet

published

I got this tablet mainly for reading the news and occasionally games. It can sometimes be a bit buggy or slow to load new pages, but overall it works really well. It was very good value for the price and I'm pretty happy with it.

Purchased in March 2019.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Great to hear you are enjoying your Samsung Tab A, Erin. We really appreciate sharing your experience with us and I will be sure to forward this on to the team!

Kath
Samsung AU

Peter L.

Peter L.

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Screen went dead. Sent to Samsung but they won't replace.

published

Our 1st Samsung product and tablet screen suddenly went blank/dead during use. Sent to Samsung but they didn't replace. Tablet was in as new condition and always kept in a heavy duty protective case. Samsung also stated that it couldn't be repaired. So no warranty or repair options. Suggest avoiding this tablet from a build/quality perspective and poor customer support, which I'm really disappointed about.

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys Online store.

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Peter L.
Peter L.
Dee

DeeSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect for kids

published

I bought this tablet for my 8 year old son and even though it’s a bit small for me, it’s a perfect size for my son. It has a 16gb memory and that is enough for children but if you happen to run out of space then you can always get a SD card.

Purchased in March 2020 at eBay for A$250.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Al fern

Al fernGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

My travelling companion

published

I use it to review my photos from my Canon SLR camera, watch movies during free time & download movies on the stick to watch movies on the plane
I’m very satisfied for the features versus the cost
The apps are all available from the apps store

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$349.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Brett

BrettGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

This is a great device

published

Small and easy to handle and has every thing I need to use when I'm out and about and at home
Its work for what I need when not using my other devices.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$499.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Gail C.

Gail C.asked

Galaxy Tab A (2019)

Want to upgrade from smp 350 any suggestions

1 answer
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Gail, we've provided a link below to our latest range of Tab A devices. If any questions arise, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.

https://www.samsung.com/au/tablets/galaxy-tab-a/

Ada
Samsung AU

David T.

David T.asked

Galaxy Tab A 10.1" 4G 128GB (2019)

Hello. I have a Tab A6 10.1 16gb 4g with an S pen. I use it in the field and really value it's functions for plan reading, mark ups, integration with word, report writing, 4g for sending them and the wide range of android apps. The screen is quite clear in day light too. The internal pen is an excellent feature and great for markups, and knowing where you left the pen! The only problem is i need more internal storage than 16gb for the programs and apps I use. I have a 128msd card installed but it doesn't help with the internal storage problem. Does anyone know if Samsung will be releasing the Tab A 4G with internal SPen with at least 64 gb internal storage in the future ? Thank you. Otherwise im a very happy Tab A owner.

1 answer
Samsung
AdaSamsung

We're glad to hear you are enjoying your Tab A6, David. If you are seeking a new tablet with more internal storage, we recommend for you to take a look at our latest Tab A series with 128 GB internal storage.

https://www.samsung.com/au/tablets/galaxy-tab-a/

Ada
Samsung AU

HAROLD O.

HAROLD O.asked

Galaxy Tab A 10.1" 4G 32GB (2019)

I recently, 10/01/2020, received a Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1 4G 32GB from Optus on a 3 year plan, I have been reasonably happy with it, except sometimes, (quite often) the screen becomes unresponsive, the only remedy is to reboot the machine. I have no idea who I should contact about this - Optus or Samsung? I can not seem to find an authorised Samsung Service Agent in my city, (Bundaberg, Q 4670) despite repeated searches, I would appreciate any help.

3 answers
Faypa
Faypa

If you updates from Samsung are coming through regularly I would take it back to Optus as they are the ones you got it from and tell them the tablet is faulty. They might try and tell you to talk to Samsung but in this instance I think you will find they are the people who shoudl dale with it. If they are reluctant mention The Ombudsman and see what they say. Rules off purchase state they are the first port off call as it is a new item. I might also add mine hasn't had this problem at least not yet and I've had it for a while.

juzfenna
juzfenna

Close any pages your not using, it only has 3gb ram. Clean your device of any deleted items, photos, video or documents. Hope this helps without going to Optus. Samsung has a help line . They are very good.

Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Harold, would you be able to send us a private message to the link below so we can gather some further details?

https://messenger.com/t/samsungaustralia

Ada
Samsung AU

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.