??!
1 photo
Smeg SA611XA-1

Smeg SA611XA-1

MPN: 35903514
2.0 from 16 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
11

Not happy! Scratches, stains and wont stay on!

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Bing Lee Physical store for $899.00.


Mumsquad3

Mumsquad3South East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Stylish and efficient

published

I chose this cooktop because SMEG has a good reputation and I was impressed with the physical look and features. It has a sensor touch for operating it and heats fast. I was hoping that the hotplate wouldn’t scratch and leave a circle ring but unfortunately it was only a matter of several weeks for the most frequently used hotplate to get that used look. Maybe because the price is rather entry level for SMEG and this type of product but I still expected it to not do this so soon. Overall I am still happy with our purchase.

Purchased in May 2019 at The Good Guys for $895.00.

2 comments
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
Mumsquad3
Mumsquad3

Fantastic! Thanks for that information. I will look in to purchasing this cleaner you mentioned as I would love to remove the markings on the hot plate.

Not Always Happy Jan

Not Always Happy Jan

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Smeg - fantastic customer service and products

published

Purchased in February 2019.

Andrew

AndrewSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

No thought to safety here.

published

You'd think if your doing touch controls, on red hot ceramic tops, (which itself is an oxymoron) you'd make them A: Visible. B: Sensitive to the touch.

This unit was installed in my parents new house as part of a kitchen pre order.

Down right dangerous , the icons are microscopic, you have to pound your bare fingers on these icons to get any control. Burns will be assured sooner or later.

A Bazaar piece of modern tech that will be removed and replaced asap.

It's either going in bin or ebay if I lose my morals.

Purchased in January 2019 for $900.00.

1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

  • Verified purchase

If you want your fingers burnt buy this cooktop

published

We purchased our smeg ceramic cooktop in 2018. When using multiple hotplates the controls to change the temperature and to turn the hotplates off become too hot to touch and because you have to hold your finger on the control you end up burning the end of your fingers...very unimpressed as this product was not cheap and was highly recommended by the salesperson.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
2 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Kristy
Kristy

Cooktop has since been replaced


Elaine

Elainexxxx

.

published

Recently moved into new house with smeg appliances...very unimpressed so far. Electric Ceramic hob marks from underneath, only been in a week and already the hob looks old and marked...the controls are frustrating, typical 21st century design where looks are more important than function...thinking of just lighting a fire in the back yard!

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Great cooktop and excellent customer service!

published

Fabulous cooktop, easy to clean and even heat distribution. We have been using the cooktop for 2 years and had it 'lock' on the 2 July. I spoke to Smeg at Virginia in Brisbane and they explained how to 'unlock' it. Many thanks to all at Virginia, particularly Peta. Also have a Smeg oven, after using their products I wouldn't wish to look elsewhere.

(please don't indicate my email address if posting this review)

Date PurchasedDec 2015

Love to cook

Love to cookMelbourne

Very fragile ceramic top

published

Have been happily using this cooktop for the last year, however the last time I was cleaning it I knocked my pepper grinder onto it and it cracked right through! Am very disappointed as the ceramic top was pitched as being hard wearing and user friendly. Reading the other reviews, I’m wondering if it’s a case of inbuilt obsolescence. Or maybe it’s simply poor design. If this is the sacrifice we have to make for a good looking product, I’d rather go back to the 80’s when hotates were indestructible!

Date PurchasedNov 2016
2 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Love to cook
Love to cook

Thank you Steve, I’ll get in touch directly.

Ranger

RangerParramatta

Glass has cracked easily but works fine, what rubbish

published

We had used the cooktop for 6months when it decided to crack the glass, we told LJH Greystanes that it had cracked and they blamed us for breaking it. Requested it to be replaced due to its electromagnetic design and never heard a thing from them this must have some bad glass quality. It chipped on the edge and then it went right across which had seemed strange for such a grand product. Never buy a Smeg as something will always go wrong with it. How can the glass crack so easily for such an expensive product. Faulty!

Date PurchasedOct 2016
2 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Ranger
Ranger
Loz

LozBargo

Not hot enough for long enough

published

Bought in Feb 2017. Am looking at replacement already. I want heat the whole time not hit cool down heat again. It is ruining steak & stir fries.
Rand where i bought it (winning appliances ) no joy so ill go elsewhere. Btw love love my smeg pyro oven its fabulius.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
2 comments
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Loz
Loz

Well I have to say SMEG you are awsome, contacted me came out and problem is all sorted, nothing was to much trouble. Won't shop winning again as no after service but would certainly buy SMEG again. Thank you so much SMEG


Lord of the rings

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Michele

Micheleclaremont

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Not one good thing to say about it

published

I purchased a new apartment with the Smeg ceramic cooktop in it. It stains and scratches very easily. Its only 3 months old and I have stains I cannot remove.
The temperature also goes up then cuts out making it very frustrating to cook with. Also if you move the pot it seems to cut out too.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Worst cooking experience ever

published

The plate simply turns itself off when it thinks it's overheating, which can be after 15 minutes, and far from having run at full capacity. Several times long before the meal was cooked. Anyone considering buying this should know very well how to improvise in the kitchen, cause the smeg will let you down!

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Jobe

JobeShepparton

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Difficult to clean

published

My new ceramic smeg cooktop is a disaster. It shows up the marks of my saucepans and tonight I accidentally spilt sauce quickly wiped it off and it's left a terrible mark that we can't get off! I had on old smeg and never had a problem with keeping it clean. So much for new technology!

Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Dear Jobe,
The best way to remove marks from the cooktop is to use a propriety cleaner for ceramic hobs, such as Cerapol. If you are still experiencing issues, please contact Smeg on 02 86674855.
Regards
Smeg

Very delicate and glass stains - don't buy if you want a product to last

published

Had one for 4 months so far. The top stains with the heat etching the glass. Also we had the slightest bump to the side with a glass sauce bottle. The bottle survived but the glass top chipped and had a crack run along to the other edge. A disaster. May look good but they are very delicate.

1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
stick

stick

  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

Smeg cooktop

published

Questions & Answers

Wayne

Wayneasked

Our SA611XC-1 cooktop which is 3 years old has stopped working. Will not turn on. Does not respond to any touch controls. Was Ok previous night but next day it would not turn on. Checked outside fuse box and that is OK.

3 answers

I strongly suggest you speak to the Smeg Customer Service people. I have found them extremely helpful in the past. You will see a contact name with other Smeg product reviews - the gentleman's name is Steve.

Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

Hi Wayne. Have you contacted us to discuss this matter? We would love to have the opportunity to assist you with this problem, please email us direct with your full name, address and contact telephone number. We will then contact you to discuss. Our email address is service@smeg.com.au and please mark to the attention of Lesley. Kind Regards, Smeg Australia.

Andrew
Andrew

Wayne, a shame you trusted in a name brand and it's let you down. My elderly parents had one installed as part of a new house package. They refused to use it due to the format of touch buttons on a red hot cooktop. So I bought them a Westinghouse with dial controls and had that installed. The SMEG is still in the original box. Your welcome to it if you pay for freight or want to pick it up in Brisbane.
No warranty though . :)


Neil

Neilasked

I have a three year old SA911XA-1 Ceramic and one of the hotplates has stopped working. Controls are working just no heat, does not come on. How can I reset or is there a fuse. Anything I can do. Or is something needing to be replaces.
Thanks

1 answer

Have you been in touch with the company ? I have found them to be very helpful. If you look at some of the reviews you might find the name of the gentleman.


DebDowner

DebDownerasked

I purchased a Smeg ceramic cooktop and after only using it only twice, to cook porridge, I noticed a massive chip in the enamel. I was so careful with it that I cannot imagine anything other than an inadvertent knock by the saucepan or when i was cleaning it caused this. However I don't remember exerting any force to cause such a massive mark. I think the ceramic is just way too easily chipped because it's cheaply made. It should not be so delicate as I had a previous ceramic cooktop which looked new for 10 years. In very disappointed and I don't know a way to fix it.

3 answers
Andrew
Andrew

Hi Deb , like my parents and the rest of the unfortunate people who've bought this name brand expecting quality, you've bought a dud, rubbish dumped on the australian market . Expect the SMEG agent to be in touch shortly. He reads these.
I suggest buying a Westinghouse WHC642BA. Pretty sure its what i got the folks. Fantastic cooktop. 5 star rating , SMEG gets 1.5 stars, the .5 is for being a "name brand". :)
I just responded here as product review asked me to so...
There it is , SMEG, now a rubbish name brand.

I bought my new Smeg as the home has that brand appliances and their customer service was great. I do, however, also feel the ceramic is not as good as others I have had in former properties. It seems to be 'fragile' and unfortunately does scratch, no matter what care is taken.

Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

Dear Deb, can you kindly contact us direct to discuss this matter we would love to assist you as we do with all of our Smeg Customers who not only post on Product Review but other platforms as well. Can you email us direct on service@smeg.com.au - please provide us with your full name, address and a contact telephone number - we await your response. Kind Regards, Smeg Australia.


Get an answer from our members and Smeg representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.