??!
2 photos
SsangYong Musso

SsangYong Musso

Musso Sports, Musso
4.0 from 51 reviews

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(19)
(21)
(6)
(2)
(3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (2)
  • Handling
    5.0 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (2)
  • Features
    5.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (2)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (2)


KDRO

KDRO

  • 2 reviews

By fat the Most Under rated Ute on the Market

published

I bought a demo Musso 2018 Model. Although it was demo it only had 20km on it.
I previously owned a Navara and Ranger.
when it comes to city driving Musso is like a luxury car compare to the other utes.
I cant comment on off road capabilities since I havent taken it out into the country yet.
I paid $30000 + GST which means it is eligible for instant asset write-off.
For 30K i got 8'screen, apple play, heated front seats, reverse and back sensors, reversing camera, dual cab, turbo diesel engine, auto, push button start, 7 year UNLIMITED kms warranty, 7 year capped price servicing, 7 year road side assist etc etc. and i am very happy with the built quality.
Anyone who is looking for a ute must look at Musso before they decide.

Purchased in June 2019 at SsangYong Dealers for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

KarlOhm

KarlOhmSouth West, WA

  • 8 reviews

Ssangyong Musso 2019 Towing

published

Purchased in September 2019 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
WayneD

WayneDPerth, WA

Very average ute

published
BadgeSports
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018
DriveRWD
Mrhappydog

Mrhappydog

  • 2 reviews

Most Under rated car on the Market

published
BadgeSports
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Drive4WD

Problems with the ABS light

published

My ABS light stays on,the brake pads not worn, the brake oil resevoir is at its normal level. What else could it be. I,ve now retired but find it good to drive, its ecomony is great for this size car. It has done many country runs, it does suffer from wInd noise at a higher speed

BadgeSports
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2007

Michael

Michael

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Really Love My Musso Sports Ute.

published
BadgeSports
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Not an ok car for Ecuador!

published

Perhaps it is an Ok car , but in Ecuador it became a disaster, no parts , no experienced mechanics...
Now I urgently need a parts manual for the motor, and there is absolutely no place where to buy one, also in most of the case sI need to do repairing with adapted parts and finally it became impossible to sell, as it has an extremely low cost in the market.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2000

What a wonderful surprise

published

My old car gave up the ghost in Carnarvon, WA. I was towing an 18' Caravan, fully loaded. I decided not to fix the old car and I spotted this 2006 SsangYong Musso in a car yard, a bit over the top price wise but I had a good feeling about it so I bought it, Diesel/Gas with 160000 ks on it. Hitched up the 18' caravan behind the Musso and headed south. The Musso did not even hiccup, it cruised at 100kph with the caravan on the back and used half the fuel the old car did. I am over the moon with it and will keep it for a long long time. Only minor problem was the hills and I had to change down a gear or so, but overall it is a fantastic 4by, totally underated

BadgeSports
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Bought an 06 with 160000kms

published

I find it a very comfortable ute, drives brilliant more like a car then ute, very cold air con, brilliant on diesel, very reliable, only negative was the factory tape deck which I quickly replaced with cd. Was worried when no bought as I haven't really seen many around but very pleasantly surprised.

BadgeSports
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Drive4WD
Robert

Robert

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Like Hyundai,40 years ago, nobody wants them,look at them now

published

I bought this car at auction,with 49 K, on the clock, is 2009 Actyon Sport top model ,it goes like brand new, no turbo lag,quiet and most of all economic 9.92lits x 100klm in the city only, you"ll be surprise the engine power. Very happy with purchase. go for it

BadgeSports
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Drive4WD

normhaidamous

published

The car is nice to drive and the econamy is good and looks nice,when I was in Western Australia l meet a young man who is working in the mines in the state l afraid him money for the car he was happy with it, I got it in my name after that.

Badgessanyong, musso
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2012

pcraig8100

pcraig8100Mandurah, Western Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Cheap and Cheerful

published
BadgeSports
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
1 comment
pcraig8100
pcraig8100

Another fantastic holiday in the Musso, cruising at 100kph with diesel and the gas injection I pass a lot of road houses without the need to stop for fuel. Remember to buy fuel in town not on the outskirts nearly always cheaper.


johnyg68

johnyg68

  • 6 reviews

A Musso most amazing!

published
BadgeSports
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD

Jeff

JeffMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

2005 musso

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeSports
DriveRWD
Alan Pawley

Alan PawleyBribie Island

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

A Hidden Gem in the Auto World

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD

de-valued too fast

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionManual

Awesome purchase

published

Great multi-purpose ute - economical & spacious and I love this vehicle! Would buy one again anytime. May raise it for beach

Badge(No Badge)

Mrhappydog

Mrhappydog

  • 2 reviews

The car is the best vehicle I have ever purchased

published
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Patto17
Patto17

The good thing about the Musso's I found out was that they were the last of the Ssangyong's with the Mercedes motors, so they are pretty reliable.


Midnight Flash

Midnight FlashMelbourne, Victoria

Trippin'on my Musso Black Ute ;)

published

Hi yo all..my name is Flash..my Truck is Midnight Flash..what an awesime Ute..bought her Brand New..picked her up from the Holding Yard..glory all the way..had her a longtime now..only problem it uph7ll losers power somewhat and whenever i wash her my light globe blows..in headlight..but yo know she rocks! :) heads up! Should b put up with Merc'as a great one as she is..a KeepeR!
Everything style badges etc comfort and Econmy
Headlights blow Intermitently after washing..slow on uphill..thats all ;)

TransmissionManual
Badge(No Badge)

dindean

dindeanDandenong

SAD TO SEE HER GO!!!

published
BadgeSports

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Lachlan W.

Lachlan W.asked

Hi. Having an issue with my 2004 ssangyong Musso sport. It seems my immobilizor has failed, I can unlock and lock it via central locking, turn the key to start position and get all dash lights then not even a crank. The hazard lights start flashing as soon as battery is connected. What can it be?

No answers

Ray

Rayasked

If I only disconnect the fuel line from the injector pump on a 1992 2.8 diesel hilux, do I still have to manually pump the fuel filter to draw fuel from the tank ?, or is that line un effected and has fuel from the filter to the tank ?, I know I have to bleed the 4 lines from the injector pump to the engine, thankyou

1 answer
KarlOhm
KarlOhm

Sorry, no expert for hilux


Pauline L

Pauline Lasked

purchased a 2018 musso first reg apr 2019, i will soon be towing a 3t caravan around Australia , just wondering if anyone could tell me the approx fuel consumption ie. how many ltrs to 100ks
thanks Stephen.

2 answers
KarlOhm
KarlOhm

Hi Pauline,
As per publication two month ago ....
3Ton is considerable more than what I was towing so please allow a little more consumption (2-4 liters/100km more as below)

Go well

Ssangyong Musso 2019 Towing
published 2 months ago
1400km Musso towing experience.

Our wildflower tour was a great opportunity to test the towing behaviour of our new Musso. One third of the trip went through a montaineuos topography with many steep climbs and descents. The same section also had many sharp turns and bends.
The second section included driving in town streets, small country and also gravel roads and the last section was a stretch of approximately 200 km freeway.
1. Low speed maneuvering and suburban driving. *****
This category of driving is where the Musso performs at it's best. It moves to load around easily and effortless. Getting moving from intersections and traffic lights are prompt and responsive and it feels like you're not towing anything.
2. Handling turns and bends *****
Turning with the Musso with a 1.8 Ton load either around sharp turns or at high speed feels safe. Both vehicle and caravan sit firm on the road, even at sudden movements.
3. Climbing and descenting ***
Going up the steep and long climbs (like the one east Midland going to Mundaring) caused some challenges to the Musso. To keep up the speed of 80km/h was possible but required almost full throttle and 3rd gear. This could be an interesting exercise with a 3.5 Ton load. Down hill the Musso had no difficulties to control the load. Continuous towing in mountainous topographies may put excessive strain on engine and gearbox. ????
4. Highways****
This is a good experience with the Musso. It sits on 90km/h with no problems even if you need to overtake a slower moving track is something the the car can do relatively quick.

All in all the Musso is a comfortable towing unit. With larger loads it might struggle with the 2.2ltr turbo diesel especially in the hills or when driving against strong head winds. For the 1.8T caravan I am fairly on the money with the Musso.

Fuel consumption with the setup shown on the picture is at its best on a flat road with no headwind sitting at 80km/h in 5th gear can be as low as 12.5 ltr/100km. If you go 90km/h with some headwind the consumption increases to 16ltr/100km. 18 to 20 ltr/100km for hill runs and strong head winds can be common. For my trip of 1500km I used around 210 ltrs. This works out about 15ltr/100km average at an average speed of 90km/h. Without towing I managed am average fuel consumption between 8-10 ltr.

Purchased in September 2019 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
?
Noise Level
Transmission
Automatic
Bought
New
Year
2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Pauline L
Pauline L

Thanks I"ll work with those figures and see how we go.


Get an answer from our members and SsangYong representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.