??!

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
104
4 star
62
3 star
32
2 star
35
1 star
43

Benny H.

Benny H.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Reliable, cheap to run, go anywhere

published

Purchased new sr5 plus this year mainly due to reliability and style. Little slow but it is a Ute... drives great on and off road cheap to run for 4wd. Stereo is a little glitchy, interior is great and the whole thing is built well. I got a good price otherwise its an expensive dual cab compared to others. Mine has the upgraded system for dpf and Ive never had issues here, acceleration isnt awesome but power button definetly sorts this for overtaking and manual gearbox is effortless. I love it but have owned 4wd utes prior...its no passenger car

Purchased in July 2019 at Jarvis Cars for $48,499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

KillaWhat

KillaWhatSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 34 reviews
  • 39 likes

Top Of The Price Bracket Of Utes Middle Of The Road Features

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Canberra Toyota for $58,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
gtp

gtp

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good and solid but not perfect (what is?.....)

published

Purchased in October 2015 at Canberra toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Not much bang for your buck

published

Gonna keep this short and sweet. Terrible fuel economy. The cruise control system is garbage and interior/speakers/ just the little things are lacking. Had a Mazda BT-50 XTR before this I’ll never buy another Hilux can’t wait to get rid of it.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Grange

GrangeRockhampton

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good ute

published

I brought a new Hilux twin cab sr5 in 2014 and it was a good ute except the cruise control was very touchy it would kick back even on the slightest of hills but besides that it was a good solid ute with plenty of grunt I had the 4 litre fuel injection petrol motor with 4 speed automatic transmission and it certainly never run out of power, the interior was a bit plasticy and the sat nav dropped in the screen which was fixed under warranty the seats where very comfortable and quite a good ride for a ute . The service was great loan car and capped price services is a good thing all in all a good ute .

Purchased in April 2014 for $51.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Anf

Anf

  • 2 reviews

Good vehicle but not great

published

Brought the Hilux Rugged X as a boat towing vehicle and everyday work vehicle. Features for a $65K vehicle is quite low. Does not have a lot of the standard features you expect from a car this expensive.

Purchased in February 2019.

Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew

Wayne bishop

Wayne bishopPerth, WA

Gear box clutch

published

Brought 2018 work mate Hilux ute has bad back lash when let the clutch out told this is normal for these utes terrible feels like it 20 years old,crap look else where

Purchased in February 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $21,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mark Larsson

Mark LarssonIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Oh what a feeling

published

On my second dual cab Hillux now, A turbo diesel this time, Great for long trips and around town or just towing a trailer very comfortable and great fuel economy.

Purchased in March 2019 at Toyota Dealers for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ahmad

AhmadSydney, NSW

This is the worst vehicle I ever bought

published

Purchased in January 2019 at City Motors Group for $45,888.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brushy57

Brushy57Perth, WA

Great vehicle

published

Purchased my 05 turbo diesel hilux with 261,000k's on it injectors had been done at 245,000 apart from the usual costs associated with a 14 year old vehicle runs a treat serviced regularly 7500 -10000ks now up to 345,000k's used for work, off the beaten track and towing the tinny wondering how many more k's it will run for?

Purchased in October 2015.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers

All in All a Great ute

published

Our 3rd Hilux after 2 x 2007 models.
Have had no issues whatsoever, we run a regional electrical contracting company so vehicles carry plenty of weight. Fuel consumption isn’t great, but nothing with ladders on roof and bullbars/spotlights is.
Feels stronger in the chassis and driveline than previous model. Have done 80,000km in the past year now and it hasn’t skipped a beat.
Only downside is seats aren’t as comfy or shaped/positioned as well as previous model.

Purchased in March 2018 at Peter Kittle Motor.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Andrew C.

Andrew C.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Tailshaft and steering issues from new

published

Tailshaft faulty. Thump when stopping and starting . Royal Run around from Toyota . Toyota reliability ??? What’s that

Steering wheel not staying straight seems to move slightly depending on which direction you turn

Purchased in May 2019 for $55,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

David R.

David R.Canberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

2008 HiLux 3 litre turbo diesel

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Private Sale.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Perfect in the right scenario

published

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Roger

RogerNorth Queensland, QLD

Not regretting for buying a Hilux

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $30,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Bk.S

Bk.SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable ute

published

Purchased in February 2019 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Clicky

ClickyGippsland, VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes

Basic but dependable

published

Purchased in September 2018 for $49,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

seduxen

seduxenTasmania

Poor fuel economy, poor user manual

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Burnie Toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Eddie

EddiePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great vehicle

published

Done 55k,serviced on time by myself,never had any problems. I drive my hilux every day, usually 10 kms to work and back,no dpf issues ever. In saying that i do use the correct dpf oil at services and have minimal idle times. Have never had any driveline clunking i have read about either.I see people believe theres a fuel gauge problem, because they can only get 60 liters in the tank once the low fuel light is on.Isn't this simply a early warning system meaning fuel level is getting low and it will need filling in the next 100 200 kms?Unlike my previous new ute which had many problems from the first month i owned it until i traded it with auto trans problems at 90k ,this hilux was cheaper to buy and much more reliable than the ranger

Purchased in July 2016 for $53,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Shane b

Shane bWheatbelt, WA

Poor fuel usage

published

I purchased a 2017 hilux SR with automatic transmission. Bought this vehicle brand new. It is used as a farm vehicle and on the open highway. Have had all its services done on time at the dealership. I am relatively happy with it. I have done 40k now and have had no mechanical issues with it. From new it has had a higher fuel usage than I expected. Around
13L/100km. Can get around 11.7 on a long run with no load. I have complained to the dealer about it. Their computer says there's nothing wrong with it.
On the highway when doing 110km/h it mostly stays in 5th gear. Only changes to 6th gear going downhill. Seems like the motor is under powered. If I can get the high fuel usage problem solved I would rate it 5 stars.

Purchased in December 2017 at Toyota Dealers for $51,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Colin Marsh

Colin Marshasked

Will a 2017 SR5 rear Tub fit a 2016 SR Toyota hilux

1 answer
KillaWhat
KillaWhat

No idea. I've got a 2019 model.
I believe they changed the body recently (2018) so most likely it will fit.


Julian

Julianasked

Hi all , I’m considering buying a brand new SR5 2019 model , so far this is based on looks only . I plan on having it as my personal Ute which I’ll use for some camping,fishing and just every day use . What are everyone’s thought on them ? I’m concerned about the 2.8L engine compared to say the BT50 XTRs 3.2L engine .

1 answer
KillaWhat
KillaWhat

Julian, Have a read of my HIlux review. I cover all of that in there. And if you want, I also wrote a review for a 2014 BT50. I don't think they've changed that much (mechanically) to the new ones.


Nick T.

Nick T.asked

Hi all got a Toyota hilux kun26r just replaced cv shafts ,hub bearings,top and bottom ball joints the ute has a 40mm lift got longer cv shafts to suit
So what's happening is that I go to drive and the drivers side wheel is thumping up and down like it's driving with a flat tyre when I jack it up the front wheels lock
Should have anyone come across this if so any suggestions as to the cause
Thank nick

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.