??!

Reliable ute

My budget for work and family ute was $25,000. This budget was able to choose latest Triton, Colorado or Navarra. And some tells Hilux is overpriced. So I asked lots of question about these utes to my mechanic friend. According to his experience, Toyota was best recommend for me.

I bought ex government hilux from a local dealership. It is 2012hilux Sr dual cab 4x4 3.0d4d. 150,xxx km and full log book serviced.
For 3 month I have driven about 7000km both urban and highway.
4x4 driving few times for off road . Drives smooth.
Cabin inside is very quiet compared with 2018 Isuzu dual cab I did test drive.
Interior it is okay as I already drove Workmate. Wish there is rear aircon duct for kids. Anchor point is ready for babies.
Fuel efficiency is not good but I didn't expect.
For work only, I should single cab. Ute tub is limited uses.
kids love to ride this ute than mum's SUV.

Purchased in February 2019 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Basic but dependable

We've purchased about 4 Hiluxes recently, as well as Volkswagen Amaroks, Ford Rangers, Holden Colorado, Nissan Navara.
The Toyota Hilux is a safe choice. It has the same vices as any other crew cab ute (basic, bumpy, wheezy) but is generally inoffensive to own.
Volkswagen Amarok is probably the best, Ford Ranger also very good but a bit truck-like. Navaras are cheap, crappy and gutless - whether they have a Nissan or Benz badge, same car haha.
Toyota Hilux is a bit gutless but does the job. (diesel automatic 4x4 crew cab completely empty). Fuel economy is also not very good, 11L/100km on the highway, empty tub, torneau cover, driver only - not good. They need an engine like my Kia Sorento haha, 20% more power and 20% less fuel.
Biggest difference with Toyota Hilux is the resale value; selling any other car before it's paid off will mean you're out of pocket after paying out the loan, but selling a Hilux you've have change left over.
The difference is NOT reliability; our utes are all general use construction supervision vehicles, and out of about 20 utes owned in the last 5 years, the only problems have been with Toyotas, their engines and DPF filter / exhaust problems. A friend had the latest Hilux SR5 (2017) and just out of warranty it packed up costing him thousands of dollars.

Purchased in September 2018 for $49,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Poor fuel economy, poor user manual

Purchased it in last February, in NW Tasmania. Surprisingly, the sales person was promoting a local 4WD company accessories instead of the Genuine Toyota Accessories/Parts. Only 3000km is on the clock but haven't been able to achieve less than 12.9L/100km so far despite long strait runs in open roads. The fuel gauge is dropping very fast from full to 2/3rd full then slows to descend. 544 pages long thick user manual containing practically zero information about this 2.7L cab chassi automatic model costing $30.000 with all the options - steel tray, reverse camera, tow bar. I feel violated by ignorance under the Consumer Rights/Protection Laws of Australia. Writing about reverse camera: what a waste of money. No reference points on the screen to adjust maneuvers to distances, my wife's REV4 aftermarket - and significantly cheaper - camera is providing much better quality and usable assistance. All remarks and asking for help regarding the above issues: local service playing dead, headquarters replying pre-written canned answers. My only hope is that I will not need any involvement from them in the future apart from the regular servicing. This is my first and will be my last toyota purchase, I think. Kinda disappointed.

Purchased in February 2019 at Burnie Toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort

Great vehicle

Done 55k,serviced on time by myself,never had any problems. I drive my hilux every day, usually 10 kms to work and back,no dpf issues ever. In saying that i do use the correct dpf oil at services and have minimal idle times. Have never had any driveline clunking i have read about either.I see people believe theres a fuel gauge problem, because they can only get 60 liters in the tank once the low fuel light is on.Isn't this simply a early warning system meaning fuel level is getting low and it will need filling in the next 100 200 kms?Unlike my previous new ute which had many problems from the first month i owned it until i traded it with auto trans problems at 90k ,this hilux was cheaper to buy and much more reliable than the ranger

Purchased in July 2016 for $53,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort

Poor fuel usage

I purchased a 2017 hilux SR with automatic transmission. Bought this vehicle brand new. It is used as a farm vehicle and on the open highway. Have had all its services done on time at the dealership. I am relatively happy with it. I have done 40k now and have had no mechanical issues with it. From new it has had a higher fuel usage than I expected. Around
13L/100km. Can get around 11.7 on a long run with no load. I have complained to the dealer about it. Their computer says there's nothing wrong with it.
On the highway when doing 110km/h it mostly stays in 5th gear. Only changes to 6th gear going downhill. Seems like the motor is under powered. If I can get the high fuel usage problem solved I would rate it 5 stars.

Purchased in December 2017 at Toyota Dealers for $51,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort

A little love lost

Loved it when I first got it. Good on highway, good on fuel (diesel). Regular services under warranty. Then the letter came about the first of three recalls and then it became a headache.

Purchased in November 2016 for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

I love ggn15r Hilux It has the 4.0 litre v6 petrol engine

I use my Hulu everyday for work and leisure. The 4 litre v6 engine won't get get you as many KS to a tank as some other double cab utes but when you need the power it is definitely there. It's roomy in the cab and engine bay for changing oil and filters although the rare seats do lack a little space. Bad points are it's rather heavy on fuel and parts are expensive but I guess what is in the these days.. I would definitely recommend these to trades or family's for camping or boat towing.

Purchased in June 2017 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Lies lies lies

Fourth brand new hilux in a row. While farming I swore by them but since changing to 4x2’s in city life I’m ready to try competitors. The problem boiling my urine currently is the fuel gauge dilemma going on two years now. There has been one dealer fix and just had the toyota factory “fix”. My fuel tank is now meant to have 12 litres of fuel remaining when the fuel light comes on but I still have 20 litres before the needle rapidly goes to empty. Toyota’s lied to me again and I expect far more from this car GIANT!
I bought a motor vehicle with an 80 litre fuel tank. I got a motor vehicle with an 80litre fuel tank but with a fuel gauge that only works for 60 or so litres of it. Very dangerous to have an unreliable fuel gauge on long runs. And toyota has the audacity to say the original design was safety related so that people wouldn’t run out of fuel. No toyota you will be sued when someone dies in remote 40 degree heat running blind on the last 1/4 or so of the tank! We have the right to use our entire tank copacity and you have the obligation to see that we can, safely!

If I took my vehicle to any local garage and said work out a way to give me a functional fuel gauge, they would work out a way to give me a functional fuel gauge. But Toyota are mentally incapable of doing so.

I’ve just been told that toyota technical department have said they might be able fix it but the gauge may then be unreliable at the top end of the tank. Urm...creating a new problem is not fixing it guys.

I’m within one year left of warranty so have no option but to Either take legal action or park my vehicle outside the dealer with a kind message on it...I think I’ll do that one. I have a bit of time on my hands.

Purchased in January 2017.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew

Warranty is questionable

I purchased vehicle in early 2015 last of the 3L diesels. Thought I had made the right decision... vehicle is always serviced and well looked after. At about 15000km it developed a really bad knock in the engine when cold. Told dealer I bought it from “oh this is normal”. Took is for inspection at around 27000km told “ everything is within spec and noise/rattle is from aftermarket exhaust (engine stock apart from this). Put up with this until around 45000km and took to another dealer which had vehicle for 1 week told the same all normal. Ended up getting new injectors noise fixed.... sent injectors to diesel Speacialist and 2 were found to be faulty and out of spec. All these costs were out of my own pocket. Spoke to both dealers were not interested and said because I’ve have got it fixed elsewhere they will not help. Would not recommend these vehicle and really have no idea what to buy next warranty is not worth the paper it’s written in and the dealers either have no idea how to fix or are not interested.

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Drive4WD

Unfixable Brake squeal - buyer beware

Toyota “genuine service” have failed to stop the break squeal after 4 attempts.

For the last 32,000kms my fully optioned diesel auto sr5 with “leatherette” interior has sounded like a squealing 50 year old “sh$tbox”.

RRP on this car with my Toyota genuine upgrades was $80k (I didn’t pay $80k)

Terrible experience.

Feel like I bought an 80’s hilux rust bucket that’s been running beach tours for 30 years

Caveat emptor!

BadgeSR5
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Wow, very bumpy!

With no load in the back, the drive is just terrible. My brain is being smashed against my skull in a most aggressive manner, over roads that I know are smooth. You can feel every tiny crack, bump or crevice in the road. I have asked if there is any suspension adjustments that can be done, but it seems not (any suggestions, apart from filling the tray with concrete?) Under load, it's great and it was a bargain (only $22,000 new 2018).

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2018
DriveRWD

Like Father like Son

My Father had a second gen Hilux back in the day, then he bought me a 1990 extra cab SR5 4x4 which I still drive, then in 2003 I bought a SR5 dual cab 4x4 in silver. I’m telling you Hilux’s are with out a doubt the best all round vehicle on the market. My extra cab has 4460000km
And my 2003 has 342000km and neither has ever had a mechanical failure or let me down, also using them for work and play driving them in the city and county and getting respect from all the other tradies on site (you know Andy the guy that drives the Hilux”)
I drove the extra cab all through my P plate stage and as you probably know P platers are not the most cautious of motorists but ist still going strong, one of the thing that my Father Instilled in me was servicing your vehicle! Every 5000km change the oil and filter even if you need to go without food! Ha ha
If your looking for a good second hand Hilux look at the owner you will know if he or she really loves their Hilux and treated it like their child and not just a vehicle. I’ve still got that feeling every time I turn the key!!!

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2003
Drive4WD

Love the hilux, but it’s not perfect.

Love the hilux but it’s not perfect, 2016 2.8 sr5 duelcab

Pros.
-Interior is one of the best looking interior in the segment it feels up to date and it looks great comfortable enough to be in.
-Exterior, also my favourite looking ute, to me looks aggressive and beefy.
-4x4 is great and easy takleing tough courses, friendly interface to get into four wheels.
-Drivability is good on the highway and city, doesn’t have electric steering but it’s light enough and sharp enough at higher speeds.
-Towing is easy (don’t have a caravan or a boat) but have tested pulling a trailer with a commodore on top and didn’t struggle.
-Reverse camera easy to reverse park.

Cons.
-Fuel consumption is insane! (Get 550-600km range) before fuel light comes on (before dpf recall)
-DPF! Huge issue, returned to Toyota dealership 3 times for DPF recall, last recall added a DPF burn and DPF regeneration system which chews up fuel while regenerating... (500-580km range now)
-Extra power would be nice. It’s enough to do the job but tends to be sluggish at some points, (hills, highway)
-Seats aren’t the best for long drives, it is comfortable first 30 minutes but numb bum after that. Touch screen sucks so replaced it with after market system.
-extra safety features would be nice especially for the price point it’s at but doesn’t bother me to much.

Overall I’m happy with the car, I love to drive it as my daily, will be considering tuning it for better fuel eco and power.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Drive4WD

A/C Clutch fuse/Relay 2006 Workmate

The clutch has stopped engaging and I cannot locate the magnetic clutch relay or fuse. Please help and Thank you. I have checked all other fuses and they are fine. A/C light coming on in cab but clutch not engaging. I have probably looked at the right place 50 times now but still haven't got it.

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyUte
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Purchase of New Car Mosman Toyota

I use the Car for work and off road.
I use the car every day and I travel a lot to regional areas for work and some places don't have the roads sealed.
The car gets services at the due warranty mileage or date.
I love the car, it drives and handles all conditions.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Dust by passes Air Filter

Not so unbreakable any more. Dust particles by pass the air filter and put the vehicle in limp mode. No fix yet from Toyota

Read this article to see why.

http://unsealed4x4.com.au/heres-filtration-expert-thinks-toyotas-dust-problem/

You would think this would be a recall or and upgrade of the Air Filter unit but not yet.

Shame Toyota Shame.

BadgeRugged X
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyUte
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Wheres the Warranty ?

If these bloody Hilux's are so unbreakable why do they not have a good warranty like the Holdens & Fords ie 5 years unlimited Klms. From what i have seen of them it would send Toyota broke. As these things are continually broken down. Even brand new ones go into limp mode as soon as you do a bit of dusty driving ? You see heaps of second hand ones with less than 200,000 klms on them advertised with new or rebuilt engines. Clutches always stuffed before 100,000 Klms ? Unbreakable, what a joke.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Drive4WD

Best car ever

Such an Amazing car, built tough
I’ve generally drive around 3 hours and day
Only get the car serviced once a year and I’ve never had any problems
Best and most reliable car I have ever owned
Would recommend getting the diesel as it does chew through petrol pretty fast

BadgeSR5
Engine Size4.0L V6 Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
DriveRWD

Great Ute

My hilux is a 2017 6 speed manual , that hasn’t missed a beat other than a hand break adjustment. Fuel economy with 30,000 km was around 10 ltr per 100, after driving from Melbourne to Darwin and all over Kakadu and back doing over 12,000 kms fuel economy improved to 8.5ltr per hundred. This is with accessories of side steps Tjm alloy bull bar with winch dual batteries,side rails rock sliders ,Tjm rear bar ,carryboy Ute slide safari snorkel , harrop front locker.,long rang tank, dobbisons mrr suspension. Get your dpf sorted with a basic ecu flash which was done to my car after its 1000k service , it should activate every 300km or so . This motor takes around 50,000km to fully run in and loosen up.for what it worth my mates 2009 manual hilux used around 50 dollars more to fill up every time and yes we have the same size tanks.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Drive4WD

Good Vehicle

Cant really fault this hilux and its the best hilux I have owned (have owned 4 Hilux's previously).This is a 2017 SR5 manual with a Canopy and has done 35000km. Has more power and better fuel economy than any previous hilux. Is good on fuel, averaged 8.7L/100km since new which is good as I often tow a trailer and have towed up to 3.2T. The only issue that annoys me is the DPF burn off when it idles at higher revs.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Drive4WD

Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

I have a 2004 single cab Hilux 4x4 when I start the Ute dash light come on as usual then only some go off. The ones that stay on is the battery light the t belt light oil light the battery went flat put new reg in alt but the same problem any suggestions greatly appreciated. THANKS DEAN
No answers

Will auto gear box out of a 2013 fit a2008
No answers

I have a 97 hilux the starter went n ive replace it but ive missed placed the screw that goes on the outside to connect power. What size is that screw?
No answers

Similar listings