34 photos
Toyota HiLux

Toyota HiLux

MK7.III, MK7.I, MK6, etc...
3.5 from 297 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (45)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (46)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (44)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (45)
  • Braking
    3.9 (42)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (44)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.6 (41)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (43)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (46)
  • Handling
    3.9 (44)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (44)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (31)
  • Comfort
    3.8 (45)
  • Features
    3.4 (45)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Baz
BazSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very Reliable

published

Bought our 05 SR 4x4 extra cab new and so far it has done 201,000 Klms and it has never let us down. It’s been to Cape York, the Kimberlies, Birdsville Track 4 times, Flinders Ranges 3 times, the Oodnadatta Track 3 times, the Stretzleki Track 4 times,Uluru, Cameron’s Corner 3 times, Nth QLD to southern VIC , all this without even a getting a flat tyre. We take it easy driving it and always service it at the recommended intervals. We are considering a new
2021 Hilux but are reluctant to sell something that is so trustworthy.
Our friends are amazed at its record!

Purchased in July 2005.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Shane
ShaneSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good, reliable ute

published

Purchased in June 2021 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
jezzabella114
jezzabella114Perth, WA
  • 14 reviews

Daily driver did me well.

published

Had a 2008 KUN26R. I bought it at 180,000 kms and sold it at 360,000 and it was still going strong! This car was tough, barely did anything major to it. I always serviced it every 6 months. I regret selling this car - it was definitely the old faithful.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Utes

Find out how Toyota HiLux compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jezzabella114
jezzabella114Perth, WA
  • 14 reviews

GUN models are a lemon.

published

Where do I start. Bought a 2015 from a Toyota yard here in Perth and only drove it 2/6 months because it spent 4 months being worked. Toyota ended up refunding my 37k after 6 months because I was not happy.
EGR cooler cracked - car over heated.
Auto transmission started slipping.
Timing chain destroyed the cam gears.
Very loud injector knock which apparently is "normal"
Such a shame as the car was nice. Now I'm going back to a 2015 KUN model.

Purchased in December 2020 for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Damian
Damian
  • 2 reviews

Purchased at Toyota Dealers for $54,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Daniel H.
Daniel H.South East Queensland, QLD

Purchased in February 2018 at Downtown Toyota for $56,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
vecc3572
vecc3572Central Queensland, QLD

Nothing but problems

published

Bought car new in 2008,had nothing but issues, clutch failed,water pump failed,hand break failed,arm rest broke off,electrical faults....people need to wake up,was a struggle to get Toyota to fix,got a v6 amarok now absolutely wicked

Purchased in December 2008 for $51,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Peter
PeterSydney, NSW

BUYERS BEWARE

published

Purchased in March 2021 at Toyota Dealers for $55,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Glenn I.
Glenn I.Sydney, NSW

SR5 2017 breakable Hilux

published

Bought this 2017 SR5 as have always had them for years ,So happy to buy my dream car but have nothing but issues with it , now just done over 100,000km never towed with it but clutch started slipping , rang Toyota not covered and to diagnose issue $180 per hr , and just now battery dies FML
Never again buy a Hilux once bitten twice shy

Purchased in December 2017 for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Utes

Find out how Toyota HiLux compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

I upgraded to the turbo-diesel version (KZN-165R)

published

Purchased in January 2021 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dzenan
Dzenan
  • 3 reviews

Australia’s best built car

published

I have purchased the hilux workmate duel cab brand new in 2008 after having a melon previously..the car has served me extremely well to this day I still drive it..never had to pay for a major part and its going on to 13 years. Regular oil and filter changes that I do my self and take it to a mechanic every 50,000 for a check up

Purchased at Toyota Dealers for $24,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
John
John
  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes

Too many issues to call it a good vehicle.

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Yarndi
YarndiSYDNEY
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

reliable and cheap to maintain. 2005-2006 models are the go to for reliability

published

great car and has been quite reliable. have replaced a few things but its to be expected with a 15 year old car. starter motor has been doing its job for 15 years and almost 300k. easy to understand why it's the most popular ute in Aus.

very cheap on fuel! use about 11 litres per 100km fully loaded

car is used for camping, travelling and commuting.

used multiple times per day.

oil changes every 5000kms and oil filter changes every 10000kms no issues with the car, hard to fault them.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2017 for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Paul Lavall
Paul LavallPerth, WA
  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

What a vehicle , what a company

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Kalamunda Toyota for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Design faults and problems

published

Design of the seat and steering column/ wheel means that people with large thighs struggle to get in ad out of the car as you get stuck getting in and out. Steering column has limited height adjustment as does the car seat. Further seats do not fold forward to place tools etc behind. Would not recommend for larger built people.

Purchased in April 2020 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Utes

Find out how Toyota HiLux compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

david r.
david r.asked
HiLux MK5 (1998-1997)

will a tub from a 04 hilux fit my 97 model hilux

No answers
John P.
John P.asked
HiLux

I've got a 1995 duel cab diesel hilux is it a ln107 or ln106?

No answers
John P.
John P.asked
HiLux

I've got a hilux 1995 duel cab diesel is it a ln106 or ln107

No answers
See all Toyota HiLux questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota HiLux

Details

Compare all 15 Toyota HiLux
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price $38,239$45,243$47,818$55,930
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Steel17" Steel17" Steel17" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 2 to 42 to 42 to 42 to 4
Seats 2 to 52 to 54 to 54 to 5
Fuel Consumption10.7 L/100km7.8 L/100km7.9 L/100km7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L80 L80 L80 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.7L Petrol4 Cylinder 2.4L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 2.8L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 2.8L Turbo Diesel
Engine Code2TR-FE2GD-FTV1GD-FTV1GD-FTV
Max Power122kw @ 5200rpm110kw @ 3400rpm130kw @ 3400rpm130kW @ 3400rpm
Max Torque245Nm @ 4000rpm400Nm @ 1600-2000rpm450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,500 kg2,800 kg2,800 kg2,800 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Tray TypeCab Chassis and Pick UpCab Chassis and Pick UpPick UpPick Up
Cab Options Dual and SingleDual and SingleDual and ExtraDual and Extra
Maximum Payload1,210 kg1,225 kg1,000 kg1,030 kg
Ground Clearance193 mm216 mm311 mm311 mm
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance193 mm216 mm311 mm311 mm
Release dateSept 2015Sept 2015Sept 2015Sept 2015
Compare all 15 Toyota HiLux
Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next
See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.