??!
1 photo
Sunbeam Classic Banquet FP5910

Sunbeam Classic Banquet FP5910

MPNs: FP5910, GR8210FP5910 and JM4000FP5910
2.2 from 39 reviews

Reviews

(4)
(5)
(5)
(5)
(20)
dannal

dannalCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Great........for 3 months

published

These are great frying pans. However, if used 2-3 times per week it will barely last 3 months before the non-stick surface begins to break down. This is a health concern, ruins food and causes hot spots which makes oils and fats pop/explode which is dangerous. I just wish they could produce a frying pan with a decent life to save us money buying a new one 2-3 times a year. That is unless that's their aim - good business sense I suppose :-/

Purchased in October 2018 at Target Australia for $69.00.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi dannal, sorry to hear this. Your pan comes with a 1 year warranty so please return to store.

dannal
dannal
Shellby

ShellbyMid North Coast, NSW

  • 20 reviews

Useful for the tasks I found I can use it for

published

Purchased in July 2008 at Target Australia.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Shellby,
Thank you for your tips. and great review! Enjoy for many years to come. Kind Regards,
Sunbeam

I fixed the themostat!

published

Like most other people who are reviewing this product I found the temperature control frustrating. It's so stupid that it makes the product useless. It's sensor keeps turning off the heat - so try cooking steak or pancakes or even an egg with it. HOWEVER. I found a solution which some other people may be able to do too. I grabbed my old frypan which I was just about to give to the op shop and tried the power cord from that. It fitted and now works fine! Problem solved. There are heaps of these things at charity shops, maybe you will find the same brand and do the same. Otherwise, ask sunbeam to send one. Also I found the fumes that came off this pan when I first turned it on were rather yuk. They have gone now!

Purchased in June 2019.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi wally, I would not recommend to use another power cord. The thermostat is to keep the frypan at a certain temperature and not keep rising. You will find this in most frypans.

wally
wally
Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Sunbeam Classic Banquet FP5910 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Becsta80

Becsta80South East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Lifesaver since I blew up the stove!

published

Bought recently from Big W as our stove blew up, we bought the double option to get the skillet pan for an extra $10 in the pack.
Skillet - cooked up chicken in no time, and actually cooks SO much better than my stove!
Electric Frypan - used to cook THE best pork crackling I have ever cooked in my life.
Both units are being used in replacement of our stove and oven. So far it has been easy to use, once you know the heat setting for each dial it’s easy to work out and cook at the correct temperature.
The non stick coating is amazing and makes it incredibly easy to clean.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review Becsta80. Please keep an eye on our Facebook page for some great recipes and top tips in the kitchen!!

Becsta80
Becsta80

Ooohh I will go and check it out! Thank you so much for replying

Barry

BarrySydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Without a doubt the most useless cooking appliance ever made

published

You cannot cook ANY type of dish with this peice of junk. The temperature dial is meaningless as it's either well overheating the food or has shut off for a good few minutes while it cools down, essentially not cooking at all. I'm sure you could get it to work if you flicked the temperature controller back and forth constantly for a more consistent heating.

Forget about simmering, what is that???

Build quality poor, rubber feet falling off all the time.

Maybe you can cook toast in this, but a toaster would do it much better

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Danielle Larsen

Danielle LarsenEl Arish

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A little disappointed

published

Works well, non-stick surface is good. The big let down for me is that the temperature switches off during max heat, unlike my previous electric fry pan which when turned to max would not shut off during cooking. Because of this it's not really the best for things like steaks (unless you don't mind your steak well done) or stir fry's etc, which is what I like using it mostly. If this is not a problem for you, then it's a decent product otherwise if you're like me, I wouldn't recommend it.

Gwen

GwenDarling Downs, QLD

Disgusted with the performance of the Sunbeam Classic Banquet Frypan

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Simmer!!

published

This appliance is a joke! How on earth do you get it to simmer? It either boils or does nothing.
Do not purchase this item if you enjoy quality cooked food. Absolutely waste of money I will not buy Sunbeam again. Or recommend it to anyone. The Generic Customer Service replies are a clear indication of this company and quality.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Ann

Ann

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

The thermostat either burns the food, or stops the heat flow.

published

The new surface, and the shape, are both great. However, the heat range is terrible. It's either going full bore, or it stops. Sauces burn, and other things won't simmer at a consistent heat. You have to stand there and supervise it constantly.It spits fat/oil everywhere because of the above I just sold mine at a garage sale

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Sunbeam Classic Banquet FP5910 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
lenoregrunsell

lenoregrunsellTurramurra North

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

The thermostat either burns the food, or stops the heat flow.

published

I threw away my trusty old "classic" Sunbeam after approximately 20 years, and bought this. The new surface, and the shape, are both great. However, the heat range is terrible. It's either going full bore, or it stops. Sauces burn, and other things won't simmer at a consistent heat. You have to stand there and supervise it constantly. I complained to Sunbeam, and they said "Take it back for a new one." But will it be the same? From other reviews I suspect it will. I notice they have "discontinued" this particular heat controller. Fair Go, Sunbeam. Your highly valued reputation is going down the tube. I need you to supply a quality product.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Non Stick Surface Sticks

published

We have used this frying pan maybe once a month and no matter what we cook, the food sticks. We have not experienced the non-stick surface peeling off, it looks fine, but from eggs to pancakes, everything sticks. A real piece of junk. Our old Sunbeam frying pan was probably 20 years old and cooked better than this one.

Date PurchasedDec 2007

Sunbeam Banquet

published

Bloody "on" again "off" again heating drives me crazy. Why can't you stick to tried and true methods of heat control and make these products the way they were originally! At least they were a trusty kitchen applicance used most days! If I want HOT I want HOT! If I want "MEDIUM" I want "MEDIUM" If I want "SIMMER" I want "SIMMER". I want a electric frypan that cooks the way I want to cook! So much that can't be cooked in these frypans anymore!!!! I know how to control my own "HEAT" thank you very much! Obviously not designed by anyone who uses them! It's all raging splattering heat or stewing! YUK!

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Ken P

Ken PLaunceston

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

A sad reflection on a once quality company

published
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Shaunl

ShaunlBunbury

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheap and nasty

published

While the appearance of the appliance leads you to believe its a quality item, day to day use is a different matter. The base is too thin and the thermostat is frustrating. It heats up in a ring directly above the element and the heat doesn't spread over the surface of the pan. Just as you think your getting enough heat, it turns off, cools back down then switches on again. Have never attempted to cook on anything other than maximum temperature as it just doesn't get hot enough. The non stick surface is adequate but probably wouldn't handle high heat anyway. Spend more money on a thicker base pan or buy a cheap knock off- which would probably work as good as this item.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
Shaunl
Shaunl
Mrs Christo

Mrs Christo

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Non-stick coating disasterous

published

I bought this product three months ago. With a house full of boys to feed, I cook a lot and have used it at least every second day. But even being as vigilant as I am with only using wood or silicone utensils, always washing the pan immediately with soapy water and a nylon brush... The non-stick coating started to peel within two months of owning it. Our last cheap as chips electric frying pan lasted five or six years with zero damage to the coating and we only had to replace it because the element burnt out in it. Very disappointed.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Sunbeam Classic Banquet FP5910 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SLC2283

SLC2283Hunter Region, NSW

  • 43 reviews

Works well, but be careful of electrical issues with the cord

published
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
MacDonald

MacDonaldPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Poor quality: should be ashamed to produce

published

Very dissappointing

published

I have always bought sunbeam products as have been reliable in the past... we were given a sunbeam frypan as a wedding present 21 years ago....unfortunately 4 years ago it died and we thought we would buy another one as it had lasted so long.....never again will I buy from sunbeam.....we have had 3 in the last 3 years and conveniently the non stick coating starts to peel after the warranty expires.... we followed all instructions as explained in the book.....interestingly I have complained to work mates and they had or someone they new had the same experience...someone had brought 4 and they too will never buy sunbeam again

Fliss

FlissSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Very poor

published

Not only does this frypan have the problem that many others have complained about - burns at a very low setting, etc., when I phoned Sunbeam Customer Support to ask for advice I was told it must be a problem with the element in the actual frypan - which can not be repaired. I thanked the representative & explained that I had lost confidence with the frypan & would probably be buying a Brevile. He said 'that's fine' & hung up. Very poor response. :(

Tina

TinaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

NON STICK COATING PEELING

published

Loved this pan when I first had it. Found it great for doing large quantity of meals to freeze. On average would use it 2-3 times a month but now the non stick coating is peeling off the bottom and side. The pan is only 18 months old. Have never put it in the dishwasher and only used plastic or wooden utensils.Have recently had the Sunbeam wok, hoping it doesn't have the same problem.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Betty W

Betty Wasked

When was Model FP5910 Type553 produced? I've had one for some years and it seems to have reached the end of its tether.
Betty W Donnybrook WA

3 answers
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Betty W,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. Our FP5910 is still a current model and was introduced in 2010/2011. To check the age of your FP5910, please turn it upside down and go to where the control probe is plugged into the base unit. There will a number that is stamped/engraved or etched into the metal. This will be the year of manufacture for your unit. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

Betty W
Betty W

Thank you for ypur advice. I found that piece of metal...….the numbers stamped into it were 007.
BettyW.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Betty W,
The number 007 indicates a date of manufacture being 2007. Kind Regards Sunbeam

Stephen T.

Stephen T.asked

If my temperature controller is working (lights up) what could be wrong with the heating element?
It's a really old machine, model 069

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Stephen T,
I would say it would be the pan itself and not the controller.

Val

Valasked

What temp are the numbers 1 to 10

2 answers
Becsta80
Becsta80

If you don’t have access to the manual google “sunbeam banquet control 1-10” it will tell you what they are. But low is 1 and high is 10 up to 200degrees. But you will need to adjust the controls based on what you are cooking and how is oven style versus frypan and having the lid on/off. I never read my manual I just winged it.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Val
1- 100°C
2 -110°C
3- 125°C
4- 140°C
5- 150°C
6- 160°C
7- 175°C
8- 185°C
9- 200°C
10-210°C

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.