??!
2 photos
Sunbeam Cafe Series 17cm Food Slicer ES9600

Sunbeam Cafe Series 17cm Food Slicer ES9600

MPN: 35903103
2.9 from 15 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
Mortishia

MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 76 reviews
  • 32 likes
  • Verified purchase

Impressive safety aspect

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$190.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Pat

PatGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

poorly designed

published

meat rest does not line up parallel to cutting blade when in use simply applying pressure to product being cut pushes resting wall unevenly away from blade resulting in poorly cut product thickneser adjustment does not help. One good point about product is it grips the benchtop very well will not slide

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for A$199.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Mike

MikeDarwin

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

hard to wash

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Automatic Slicers & Graters

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Series 17cm Food Slicer ES9600 compares to other Automatic Slicers & Graters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
USB

USBBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Bad design

published

The machine can’t be pulled apart to clean it. So the food stucked everywhere. Therefore it’s not very hygienic. Not very happy customer.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Bev

BevGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 33 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great Slicer

published

I purchased this slicer one year ago. I have only recently started to use it. Simple to clean, in fact so easy it is ridiculous. Slices well (meats, cheese, vegetables, bread). Great product and easy to use.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Sunbeam - poor design, badly executed.

published

This product is near impossible to clean, the instruction booklet (and the online version) are different from the machine, and the slicing guide has to be set on at least 3mm before it can slice at all.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
None

NoneGo Away and don't sell my email address to anyone.

This is rubbish

published

The cog which is attached to the blade does not have to wear much to render the machine useless. I could keep replacing the blade at $50 per time but with two gone in a short time of normal domestic use I won't bother. Each blade lasted less than a year per blade.

Date PurchasedDec 2014
Len

LenPort Broughton

  • 4 reviews

A professionally designed and made machine

published
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Possible problem-fixing!

published
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
Automatic Slicers & Graters

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Series 17cm Food Slicer ES9600 compares to other Automatic Slicers & Graters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Needs more robust gears

published

The most important part of the machine the gears, these are made of plastic, which is hopeless, considering the rest of the machine is die cast metal. This is a like a miss representation of its robustness. I hate products that I am always having to replace the parts for at a price of $50 a pop.
Very disappointed.

Hans Dahl

Hans DahlPort Hedland

poor cogweel design / material

published

With the good reviews of the slicer I had bought it in 2008. I had expected a reliable machine. We own a similar machine from another manufacturer overseas and had no problems whatsoever over decades. Still the same machine and working great in a multi-person house hold. We really used it for anything from bread, meat and cheese. For the Sunbeam cafe series slicer I have now the third set of cogweels and blade installed. Unfortunately it starts making the same unhealthy noises when slicing cheese. I am only waiting for the day coming soon again until it does not even cut crusted bread anymore.
Very disappointed.
Once you got in the habit of using a food slicer you do not want to miss it any more.
Unacceptibale wear of the cogweels.

sporotti

sporottiSydney, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 8 likes

Even easy food slicing

published

Decided to buy an Electric food slice due to problems with hands and being able to cut fine or straight, it is a very solid cafe quality unit, very sharp able to cut all types of foods, have used on meat, bread tomatoes especially good slicing Pepperone for my pizzas, its especially good slicing bread to a fine thickness
Fast, sharp, solid build, easy to use, reasonable price good replacement warranty

AlfE

AlfESt Ives

Cant get the blade sharpened

published

I bought my food slicer several years ago and have found it to be OK for slicing meats such as Spanish Jamon, salami, etc. It takes some getting used to placing the meat so that it cuts right through and does not leave bits hanging off the bottom or getting stuck on the blade. The biggest problem I have is getting the blade sharpened. It is almost useless now that it is several years old.
Does the job - once you get the hang of it.
Absolutely no instructions on getting the blade sharpened. Almost useless after a couple of years of average use.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
beautyqueen

beautyqueenvic, 3824

  • 228 reviews
  • 46 likes

Excellent

published

overall a great product to have at home, its easy to use, has a safety holder that you put the food in so you dont slice your hands, stays on the bench and doesnt move as the suction cups keep it in place
this slicer looks great, slices very well as thin or as thick as you like, is very easy to use, isnt too loud, is not too heavy however does take up a bit of room but its ok, fast to use, has a safety switch with is important, is very sharp so everything is sliced with ease
there is nothing i dislike about the slicer

davele

daveleSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

I expected more from it.

published
Automatic Slicers & Graters

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Series 17cm Food Slicer ES9600 compares to other Automatic Slicers & Graters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Pat.C

Pat.C asked

hi, what is the white grease like substance behind the blade, do I wash it off before use, or leave it, is it safe?

2 answers
Mike
Mike

i think it is grease so the blade can spin properly and not overheating the motor, that is my guess but I am not a manual-reader-type-of-user lol. Too bad I don't have that grease paste to replace the existing one so whenever I wash it I try my best to leave the grease alone

Pat.C
Pat.C

Thanx so much, I was worried about ingesting it :(

Vanessa

Vanessaasked

How do remove the plastic cog that the blade works against? I have removed the grey casing but cannot get the old one off.

4 answers
Bev
Bev

Hi Vanessa, if it is the part I think it is I use a coin. I hope that helps.

Vanessa
Vanessa

No it’s further on, once you remove the blade, you remove the grey casing which in turn exposes the plastic wheel/cog that the slicing blade connects with!

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Vanessa,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. So sorry , removing the blade is the farthest to go with this unit.
Kind Regards, Sunbeam

yuka

yukaasked

(thick and thin with a 0-23 mm variable slicing dial)
is it possible to cut 0.07mm for shabu shabu asian meat. paper thin?

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi yuka,
Thank you for your query. The ES9600 cannot be adjusted to that low.

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

CategoryAutomatic Slicers & Graters
Price (RRP)229
Release dateMar 2007
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • MPN: 35903103
  • GTIN13: 9311445005767

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.