??!
4 photos
Sunbeam MultiCooker Deep Fryer DF4400 / DF4500

Sunbeam MultiCooker Deep Fryer DF4400 / DF4500

DF4500 and DF4400
2.7 from 40 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
5
1 star
17

Happy Sooty 59

Happy Sooty 59Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Great cooker

published

I use mine a lot and absolutely love it. I don't use it for deep frying. I use it for soups and stews, spaghetti sauces. It is sturdy and the coating on this unit is magnificent. I cannot live without mine. It is also a perfect size and depth. Great product!

Purchased in August 2016 at JB Hi-Fi.


Patrick

PatrickLismore

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolute Garbage!

published

We purchased this unit based on its brand name and it's simple rounded design similar to the ones owned by my parents and grandparents in the 1980's. I must say that this unit is TERRIBLE. It doesn't heat up enough to fry a hot chip and what heat it does have is instantly lost when food is added. I am not sure what has happened to the old SUNBEAM electric cooking devices that were once reliable staples of any kitchen but these days they are all cheaply made imported rubbish that essentially ruining a what was a strong legacy.

Purchased in April 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $69.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Patrick,
So sorry to hear of your experience with the DF4500. I will be sure to pass this onto our design and technology teams. If you have still got your receipt, please return the DF4500 to Big W.

vickiovens1965

vickiovens1965South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job

published

I have had my Sunbeam MultiCooker Deep Fryer for about 6 months. I've used it only deep frying chips, wedges, potato gems, mini dim sims, mozzarella sticks and chicken nuggets.
Although a little slow to heat oil fully, I have no complaints with the end results. Crisp and tasty food

Purchased in August 2018 at Big W Online Store for $69.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi vickiovens1965,
Thank you - again for your review. Just like the FP6910 review, we hope you continue to enjoy the DF4500.

Works well, except when it doesn't

published

I've had 2 of these now, both with the same problem as others seem to have had. Works well at first but after a while the heater just stops working. Both times that mine conked out, I had just done one perfect set of chips, then went to do the next batch and they just sat in the oil looking like a bunch of anemic soggy uncooked potatoes. Should have taken it back but couldn't be bothered a second time :(

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Bec

BecGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good deep fryer

published

I purchased my deep fryer as I was in the market for one. Got it a great price. I am very happy it fries chips perfectly. Haven't tried it's other functions yet as I am so happy with its frying capabilities and tend to only use it for that. It cooks my honey chicken nice and crispy.
Glad I didn't see the reviews before buying as I may not have purchased it, made me realise reviews are great although your own experience may not be what others have experienced.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review Bec!


peter

peterGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

not suitable as a deep fyer

published

I bought this a couple of months ago, probably used it at least a dozen times by now. I bought it as a deep fryer, for no other reason. It's advertised as such so should be fine. The quality of the pan is great, no problems there, it's easy to use, easy to clean etc. It only has one problem and it's a big one! it does not get hot enough for deep frying. I've tried 3 different types of oils but it makes little difference, after heating up for about 30 mins, it's still only 142 Celsius. Anything I cook in it ends up greasy, undercooked, pale as it fails to brown. This product is clearly not suitable as a deep fryer! you are warned.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Peter, sorry to hear the unit is not heating as desired. Please return to store with your receipt as this product is normally very popular as a fryer with great results.

peter
peter

that's not borne out by the myriad of negative reviews, complaining of exactly the same problem, i.e. this unit does not heat the oil hot enough for deep frying!


Jane

JaneCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Worst purchase ever

published

The oil doesn't get hot enough the chips have to be cooked for a long time to get crunchy but they just end up oily and soggy and they don't brown up. Buyer beware. Do not even think about buying this deep fryer it is a waste of money. No way does the oil get to 180 deg .

Date PurchasedOct 2016

tarleena

tarleena

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Works perfectly.

published

I have had my Sunbeam MultiCooker Deep Fryer for some years now. Have used it for deep frying, stewing fruit, boiling vegetables and as a slow cooker to make stews and casseroles with cheap cuts of beef.
I have always been pleased with the results I achieve with this appliance.

Date PurchasedDec 2010

Absolutely perfect.

published

I don't know why other people are having problems with this I almost didn't buy it but very happy I did the oil gets more than hot enough for deep frying anything you need easily deep frys frozen chips and haven't had any issues with oil not being hot enough mine was bought from BIG W.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Bel

BelPerth

Deep Fryer that can't deep fry?!?!?!

published

My young children bought this for their father for his birthday. How disappointing that it cant even get hot enough to cook frozen chips!!!!!!! The chips came out white like they hadn't even been cooked. Wish we had of spent our $69 on something that he could use. We would like a refund but I guess that wont happen

Date PurchasedJan 2017

col j

col jsarina

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

sunbeam deep fryer

published

not long ago I wrote a review about the seal the seal on my sunbeam pressure cooker gave up on that one I also bought a SUNBEAM deep fryer the plug in cord failed after a few days got a replacement 2months later the heating element stopped working so that's it for me no more sunbeam products the quality in their products is just not there

Date PurchasedAug 2016

BenOz

BenOzSydney Surrounds, NSW

Great unit But!

published

I wrote a review of this deep fryer in 2014 a few months after using it on the Good Guys website, I was able to evaluate how it performed. I am writing this now because it has stopped working! With only a couple of things to go wrong, I was surprised that it stopped working, there are no moving parts and the only things that can go wrong is that the element stops heating or the control which has a built in thermostat stops working, in my case the control stopped working, it lights up as if it's on but the element doesn't heat. It's lucky I have another control for the Sunbeam wok and that works a treat to replace the one for the deep fryer. Sadly a replacement control costs around $30, still it's cheaper than a new deep fryer.

Date PurchasedDec 2014
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Melskik

MelskikSydney

Good little deep fryer

published

I was worried about buying this after so many bad reviews but it pretty much does exactly what it says it does. I don't fill the oil past the mark and mine heats up quite quickly. I don't fry a lot at once and it works just fine. I haven't used it for anything other than deep frying yet and can't fault it. It is more expensive that many other fryers but i like that i can do soups and other dishes in it too.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

caffinuk

caffinuk

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so good

published

It worked for me.the first time so Im happy
The oil got hot in a reasonable time and it cooked potato chips just fine,l then I did some frozen chicken 'tenders' in the same oil, which were also good n crispy.
Just like any frying you need to give the oil time to reheat in between batches.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
michelle k

michelle k

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

not great!

published

I brought this specifically for frying donuts. when I set it up on maximum and on for over an hour only heated to 175 degrees. pretty sad really then I came on here to see if anyone else had issues. glad I did! I was going to exchange it for another one thinking it was faulty but after reading all these having same issue may return it and get my money back. thinking i'm pretty lucky now to be getting 175 degrees out of it. pretty poor if you ask me. especially considering the price of the item.
This item definantly needs to be taken off the market!!!

2 comments
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
michelle k
michelle k

Product not as advertised

published

Sold as a deep fryer but does not get to the temperature required. Says in the manual that it can get to 210 degrees but only got to 145c. This is no where near enough to deep fry no matter how you pre cook or dry the chips. Don't waste your money on this, it's crap as a deep fryer.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

bradybunchplusone

bradybunchplusoneAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

piece of crap!!!!

published
3 comments
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Love to cook

Love to cook

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Average at best

published
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Annie

AnnieSydney

Don't waste your money!

published

Absolute rubbish!
The most inaccurate thermostat gets to 120c maximum ,you need min 180 c.Dont waste your time, money or effort.
Just go old school, saucepan filled with oil on the cooktop.
Can't imagine it's even worth getting at looked at as it'll probably cost more than to buy another brand.

3 comments
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
Annie
Annie

And ?
I've now got a product that's not fit for purpose.
How do I get a refund didn't keep the receipt

Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Absolute garbage

published

Bought this for one purpose, deep frying. Purchased this as it seemed like a good price (too good to be true) & failed to get to temperature, so I returned it & got an exchange as Big W would not give me a refund. So second time round & exactly the same thing! Waste of time, money & food.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Doreen

Doreenasked

MultiCooker Deep Fryer DF4400

why doesn't the element of the multicooker get heated? we only used it once before.

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Doreen. Are you saying that the element doesn't heat at all or it's just not heating to your required temperature? You may need a new control probe. Please contact our customer care team on 1300 881 861 and they can further assist you.


Hoppy.

Hoppy.asked

MultiCooker Deep Fryer DF4500

Can i use the sunbeam DF4500 as a slow cooker?

No answers

Kevin

Kevinasked

MultiCooker Deep Fryer DF4500

Can you get a user guide for Sunbeam multi cooker Deep fryer DF4500 in Chinese?

1 answer
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Dear Kevin,
Thank you for contacting us!
Unfortunately we do not have an user guides for any of our product in Chinese. We apologies for any inconvenience caused, should you wish to discuss further. Please contact us on: 1300 881 861.
Kind Regards
Sunbeam


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

Sunbeam MultiCooker Deep Fryer DF4400
  • Discontinued

Sunbeam MultiCooker Deep Fryer DF4400

7 reviews
Sunbeam MultiCooker Deep Fryer DF4500

Sunbeam MultiCooker Deep Fryer DF4500

24 reviews
CategoryElectric Skillets and Woks and Deep FryersElectric Skillets and Woks and Deep Fryers
Price (RRP) $79.95$84.95
Capacity5
Release dateJun 2013
Replaced bySunbeam MultiCooker Deep Fryer DF4500

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.