?
? !
3 photos
Uniden iGO35/43/50/500

Uniden iGO35/43/50/500

iGO500, iGO43, iGO35, iGO50
2.5 from 19 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next

WHAT DO I DO NOW

published

Was given my unit as a present. Even though I had always said I would never use a GPS in my car, I have found it pretty useful and not too hard to operate. Probably had it about 4 years now and it will not charge properly now and of course the maps are totally out of date. I have not had any success getting updated maps or replace the battery. What do I do now? Chuck it in the bin or try to revive it? The touch screen is still working OK.
Does any body have any suggestions?
I do not live far from Uniden's Rockdale location but do not know if they handle repairs and updates.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Cant charge it or update maps. Why do I need to be on facebook to ask a question. it sucks!!! It suc

published

Cant charge the device, cant get map updates. USB is not recognised. And why do I have to be on frigging facebook to be able to submit a query. It all sucks. My TomTom is much more user friendly. Would never recommend the uniden to anyone. Such a waste of money. I don't want to communicate with you, it's not been used much & it's a bleeding lemon

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JIM

JIMBUNDABERG

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

It's a GPS...just

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Uniden iGO35/43/50/500 compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stic

SticPN

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best GPS around.

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Evan7

Evan7Brisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Don't buy this.

published
1 comment
Evan7
Evan7
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Macka

MackaMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Happy with it

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Caroline

CarolinePerth wa

Don't waste your money

published

Dont waste your money . I Bought the latest model.IGO 500. Continually says recalculating route when it's not or there is no reason for it to be doing it. It takes a while to start unless its connected to the charger even when fully charged. Now it's just stopped working after 6 months. It comes on but there is nothing on the screen? The only places it can be serviced / repaired are are so far away I'll need to post it. Can't update the maps either.
Graphics are quite good .different options for finding places if you don't have an exact address
Not worth the money ,after 6 months gone blank and won't work

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

A reasonable product

published

This unit can find some out of the way places but cannot recognise some major towns. 2 examples are innisfail and herberton, both old well established north queensland towns. I used it to drive to an area near rockhjampton called iron pot. But could not locate innisfail. I have the latest updates installed. For general use this unit is really poor quality.

Unusable in some areas

1 comment
RAY PTRATT
RAY PTRATT

After much searching & asking others, I managed to get the machine to find what I wanted. Upgrade rating to 4 stars.Only problem is the poor display in daytime conditions but this is not a major setback.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Uniden IGO 500 GPS

published

The speed alert we use to limit going over the speed limit, gives false readings for side roads at 50 kph while you are travelling on a 80 kph 4 lane road. Uniden has said update maps. But this is a GPS function. The Speed limits are correct for the road, the false readings are there for a second then back to the 80kph.
Good options, 100% for speed alert, maps good
Speed Alert is out of alignment, reset unit occassionally

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Uniden iGO35/43/50/500 compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Uniden IGO500 Are Rubbish

published

Bought three of these units. 2 failed to function after 12 months (just happens to be outside of warranty). I expect a product to last more than 12 months and not checking fine print didn't realise such a limited shoddy warranty was offered. Basically a rubbish product and any manufacturer that is not prepared to warranty their items for 3 years should be avoided. I have a fleet of vehicles and the rest have Navman. Even a trial of two super crappy Navigons from Woolworths out performed and outlasted the Uniden. I bought the top of line Uniden as well ($346 a pop). Never again

Rubbish product

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
anthonyg

anthonyg

  • 15 reviews
  • 7 likes

Professional Grade GPS

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JF

JFLeigh Creek

IGO500 issues

published

Bought this unit as it seemed good value for money. The first unit was returned soon after for a faulty power input socket, Uniden replaced with a complete new package quickly. A year later I got similar results from the replacement unit plus the display also started playing up. It also has a poor display in daylight and it won't turn it on unless its been plugged in for around 10 minutes at least. Ours only gets used occasionally. Would not recommend this unit unless it has had serious updates.
Thin unit, 3D maps were interesting...
substandard display in daylight, power input sockets faulty, twice.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brophy999

Brophy999AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Waste of money

published

Speed limits hopeless. Cannot see in daylight. Voice instructions way behind visual. Speed limit through Dingle Vic is 60. The unit shows 50. Once past Dingle limit changes to 70. Unit shows 50. Pathetic.
Other areas also show incorrect speed limits. Cannot see the screen in daylight too well.
All in all a disappointment and I would not recommend wasting money on it. I have tried many different makes and none of them are perfect.
Thin, verbal speed warnings.
Many things

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Terrible

published

I do not recommend anyone buy this! I read the previous review and could not find any others on the internet, so i assumed it would be good as i had owned the older uniden nav before this one,

I bought this, and it is the worst nav ever! I bought it without seeing it because i trusted uniden as their older versions of their navs in my experience were great but this one is so bad, you cannot see the screen in daylight and honestly who cares if the screen is thin when the machine cannot do what is intended to do (show you the route), anyways i just wanted to warn everyone, i am currently trying to get my money back on it
Screen is thin
Cannot see in daylight!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
dhobi wallah

dhobi wallahSYDNEY

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not too bad as a paper weight!

published

The Uniden iGO43 is absloutely useless in daylight as you can't see the screen! Constantly loses GPS signal and anounces, "Recalculating route" - even when vehicle is stationary! Frequently freezes and has to be reset! Uniden support told me that there was nothing wrong with the unit and all Nav's have the same problems! Because of continuing problems I decided to scrap it and start again - good way to waste $200! I will definitely steer people away from Uniden products in future! I now use a Garmin nüvi® 2595LMT and have never had a single problem with it.
Thin profile.
Can't see screen in daylight. Loses GPS signal constantly. Frequently "freezes" and has to be reset. Poor support.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Uniden iGO35/43/50/500 compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good

published

New Zealand map included. Low price as good as $120. Nice for highway as it shows which lane to take. It also display the green road sign in the highway: M2,M5,M7. Screen hard to see during the day with bright sun reflection in the dashboard. Otherwise 10/10. Highly Recommended.
New Zealand map included. Tomtom needs to buy NZ map for $80. Nice for highway as it shows which lane to take. It also display the green road sign in the highway: M2,M5,M7. Garmin is included but $149 everywhere. This IGO35 is the lowest price as good as $120.
Screen hard to see during the day with bright sun reflection in the dashboard. Otherwise 10/10

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

What a crock

published

Can't see screen in daylight. Fiddly and difficult to attach and detach to both windscreen and in its own cradle. Constantly loses gps signal and tells everyone this. Constantly "recalculating route" even when sitting motionless at traffic lights. Tells you to go down one street then when you do it changes its mind and - yes you guessed it "recalculating route"Gives instructions too late to be of any Earthly use.Has more annoying Beeps, Boops and Tics than Jerry Esponson off Boston Legal. Finally gave it to Son to play with in the back of the car - only useful thing I could think of to do with it
None, Oh hang on got it from fly buys so at least didn't waste money on it
World worst GPS

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Terrible

published

worst $250 spent, i want something to use for deliveries/coriour work
and this aint it, so many features yet it cant do what its ment to do.
its slim
uniden igo50 , im in 3073 melbourne area, i put in epping plaza in melbourne , and it told me to drive to adelaide with suburb of sydney.
turned the uniden of while driving and while it was turned of it was telling me i was above the speed limit, when i turned it back on it was showing a street 5 kms from where i was. it looses coverage to many times and its very slow to navigate it first loads the place you want to go then it calculates all up taking upto 5 min to find the destination.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
melayoung

melayoungSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

igo35 is super!

published

bought it in NZ because navman was going to rip me $95 for maps Igo35 comes complete with Oz n NZ maps! bargain considering I purchased it for $130NZD. easier to use than navman and tomtom (had both stolen from work vehicles) easy to configure and if your not so sure on the suburb you can at least choose your street name first! love it gives you on the "way points" location points and points of interst are so easy to find. fuel consumption handy for business/work so you dont have to keep a log book
awesome easy to use fantastic better than navman, tomtom
has frozen once and had to leave it die overnight but it works 100% fine again.

1 comment
James Frank
James Frank

Don't realy like it to much.After updates, which was a big Job... did not work properly again. Sorry guys. Will exchange it for a other product today.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Paws

Pawsasked

iGO35

Where do i get NZ maps to update this?

1 answer
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Hi,

Please send through an email to our customer service team on custservice@uniden.com.au who will be able to assist you further.

Thank you

Thomas M.

Thomas M.asked

iGO35/43/50/500

My Uniden iGO500 does not connect with Naviextra Toolbox. I lost my backup so now what?

2 answers
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Hi,

Please send through an email to our customer service team on custservice@uniden.com.au who will be able to assist you further.

Thank you

Thomas M.
Thomas M.

See Previous email. TH Moore

danny

dannyasked

iGO500

How to fix an unresponsive frozen screen?

No answers
See all Uniden iGO35/43/50/500 questions

Get an answer from our members and Uniden representatives

Uniden iGO35/43/50/500

Details

Compare all 4 Uniden iGO35/43/50/500
Uniden iGO35
  • Discontinued

Uniden iGO35

5.0
(1)
Uniden iGO43
  • Discontinued

Uniden iGO43

3.0
(2)
Uniden iGO50
  • Discontinued

Uniden iGO50

No reviews yet
CategoryGPS Navigation SystemsGPS Navigation SystemsGPS Navigation SystemsGPS Navigation Systems
Free Map UpdatesYesYesYesYes
Price (RRP)$149
Screen Size5in3.5in4.3in5in
Width131mm92mm113mm128mm
Height84mm74mm75mm83mm
Depth10mm13mm13mm13mm
Release dateNov 2010
Compare all 4 Uniden iGO35/43/50/500

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.