1 photo
VMS 700HDs11

VMS 700HDs11

1.6 from 33 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best GPS Navigation Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for VMS? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.3 (23)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (24)
  • Ease of Use
    2.2 (24)
  • Battery Life
    2.5 (19)
  • Route Choice
    2.1 (19)
  • GPS Location Accuracy
    2.3 (19)
Previous
Next
Dissapointed
DissapointedSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Own three 700HDX Units.

published

Map updates where free and took minutes to update,
Acurrate Off Road and back track to the spot.
First unit got stood on and apart from the cracked screen not all ways responding to touch continues to work. Hema's sold off and no regrets.

Purchased in August 2019 at VMS for $279.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Cameron
CameronGippsland, VIC

Absolute rubbish would hate to rely on it if lost

published

Seriously don’t bother with this rubbish loads once in every 10 resets continuously popping up with errors. Just updated it this morning with a little hope and I wasn’t disappointed still a piece of crap..... NEVER AGAIN

Purchased in March 2018 at 4WD Supacentre Physical store.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Bill G.
Bill G.South-Eastern Region, NSW

Disappointed

published

We have used this device for 4 years and have had it back to VMS twice for warranty issues which were done without question. But I have given up on it after last trip with constant freezing and and error messages when moving between menu's and having reboot over and over. Don't know what causes it, lack of RAM, OS or software but I'm over it.
The off-road map choices are good but the device operates better in highway mode
Keen to have a demo of Garmin RV775 MT-S as we have a small Garmin in 2nd car which is seamless to use and easy to upgrade

Purchased in February 2017 at 4WD Supacentre Online store for $365.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
matthew
matthewIllawarra, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Total rubbish, maps are years old ,

published

Maps are out date 3yrs plus . Gps drops out ,ive had a tom tom running along side it still worked fine. Wasted of money

4wd supercentre or super ripoff doesn't want to know about it. Wouldn't recommend this item . Or recommend 4wd supercentre.

Purchased in August 2020 at 4WD Supacentre for $350.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how VMS 700HDs11 compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David B.
David B.South West, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointing

published

Sadly I have to agree and support the many negative posts on this GPS. I have persevered with the device over a couple of years and would NOT recommend purchasing one. It freezes and fails to operate at critical times when driving especially on road trips when you appreciate a stable platform. Unit promises plenty, looks smart but fails the reliability test too often.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5

A 5 year old can direct me better

published

Bought one 2 weeks ago won’t work out bush on off road . Went up to Barrington tops and off road couldn’t even find the campsites . While loading maps it decides to go in to sleep mode and won’t turn back on but the green light stays on. When I bought it I was told it was all up to date , set it up to navigate me home and the new expressway of 5 years don’t even exist .

Purchased in June 2020 for $320.00.

Incentivised Review No
Features / Functions
1/5
Battery Life
1/5
Route Choice
1/5
GPS Location Accuracy
Britto
BrittoCairns
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great unit

published

I have had this unit for over 3 years. Never missed a beat. Constant remote areas and so accurate I use it to set out road chainages which are within 1 meter of surveyors set outs.
I too brought this unit from Supacentre.
You all must have got a bad batch.
Off road maps are always accurate.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Rhys
RhysVictoria

Absolute Rubbish

published

Its slow, you cant scroll, Off Road maps are useless! I wouldn't trust this unit to find your way in a remote area. Purchased from 4x4 Supacentre who wont support the product or provide a refund in their 30 Day Guarantee.

Purchased in May 2020 at 4WD Supacentre Online store for $279.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Brad S.
Brad S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Don’t do it

published

Great if you want a paper weight, take maps you will need them don’t waste your money if the system can find your map it will normally freeze up and that’s if you can get past the start up screen

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Incentivised Review No
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how VMS 700HDs11 compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
J Morris
J MorrisSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Don't wast your money

published

Purchased in December 2019 at 4WD Supacentre Online store for $269.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ken B.
Ken B.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

No good off road

published

Went to vic high country. Got lost/missed turn offs. Had to manually select maps, when one section finished, or it flicked to Gregory version which didn't show most tracks. Destination is in a straight line, useless. Waypoint setting ok, but it had difficulties keeping the breadcrumbs track logging. Wouldn't turn on every time. Save your money and get a hema to go with their great paper maps.

Purchased in March 2019 at 4wdsupacentre for $260.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Leandro
LeandroPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Did not work offroad which is the primary reason anyone would buy one

published

Although the GPS navigation worked perfectly fine on-road while it was within Telstra network data zones, it failed to locate my position and load the map when I went outside network data zones. The whole point of buying these units is so that you could locate your position in remote areas offroad and it didn't even do that! Complete waste of money and my time, I'm glad 4wd Supacentre gave me credit back on this product because contacting VMS directly proved to be another waste of my time. Save yourself some headache and steer well clear of this product

Purchased in February 2018 at 4WD Supacentre Online store for $240.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how VMS 700HDs11 compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
wayne grentell
wayne grentellMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

Frustrating

published

Bought approx 2 years ago send back as it did not work received back with new card still does not work
not reliable enough to go bush 2 years never use once how about a refund

Purchased for $270.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Jim
JimHunter Region, NSW
  • Verified

Piece of junk

published

First one died. Second one sent to me didn't work either. The unit sent back was second hand. These units seem to have a bug in them. Very disappointed with it.

Purchased in November 2019 at 4WD Supacentre Online store for $269.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Gerry
GerrySydney Surrounds, NSW

What a total waste of money. One star isn't low enough.

published

Total waste of money kids bought it for my 70th birthday has never worked in 4x4 track mode. Keeps telling me to insert SD card is only 15 months old. How can you sell such a load of rubbish.

Purchased in May 2018 for $265.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Questions & Answers

Jeff ades
Jeff adesasked

Plugged it in and a picture came up then the screen went black and not worked since, what could be the problem

1 answer
Ron M.
Ron M.

Battery. Plug it in and feel the heat in the back of it. I went through two and will not go a third one, get it returned for refund or credit because it is an absolute piece of crap

Glenda
Glendaasked

Is this unit any good for outback touring on remote 4wd tracks. I read somewhere that it isn't so good for remote 4wd, but just fine for more local 4wd. Thanks

3 answers
Johnno
Johnno

Hi Glenda,

I purchased the unit from 4wd supercentre based on the feedback they had on their website.

My experience was the opposite and I could not recommend the VMS.

Avoid it and look for an alternate device. It may cost more initially however it would have to be another shocker to not provide better value for the money.

Paul
Paul

Download Polaris maps to a tablet, it is free and very good. This is what I am using.

Glenda
Glenda

Thanks Paul, I will have a look.

Ianbiss
Ianbissasked

VMS started off fine a week ago, but last 2 has started shutting itself off. Any ideas?

1 answer
BITOFRYE
BITOFRYE

My review was to worn people not to buy this product.......

See all VMS 700HDs11 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryGPS Navigation Systems
Price (RRP) $549.00
Screen Size 7"
Display TypeTouchscreen
FeaturesFree Map Updates and MicroSD Slot

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.