??!
3 photos
Volkswagen Caddy 2K.I

Volkswagen Caddy 2K.I (2005-2010)

2.7 from 27 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Gary

GaryPerth, WA

Very reliable

published

I bought my first Caddy 1.6 2K about 3 years ago with 220k on the clock. Its been extremely reliable with normal maintenance. Only replaced brake rotors and pads as expected with mileage. Its used every day as a work van. Its just done over 315k. Recently I had a problem with power. Long story but in the end it s appear to be a bad fuel pump. Saying all this im very happy. Drives like a sedan...very comfortable with range of about 650km. Would buy another with question

Purchased in April 2017 for A$6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Jonny I

Jonny IAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

10 years ownership... Let the trouble begin

published

Being a tradie, this van gets a beating. Has been reliable till now. The dam bulb out light on dash is constantly on with all bulbs working, starter motor recently replaced, clutch recently replaced, turbo diaphragm replaced, glow plugs replaced, left hand side ball joint replaced, front and rear brakes pads replaced and new battery. After 10 years and bought brand new with 215,000km on the clock now with constant start stop its been a great overall.
Steer away from the DSG and petrol models. You need to maintain these vans and they will give you years of trouble free motoring

BadgeHey
Engine Size1.9
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2009
JAM

JAMSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Perfect work van but not without its quirks.

published
BadgeTDI250 Maxi
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Caddy 2K.I compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CARPET CLEANER

CARPET CLEANERMACQUARIE

  • 2 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great to HORRIBLE to own

published
BadgeTDI250 Maxi
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2010
1 comment
CARPET CLEANER
CARPET CLEANER

Update,at 2 years Renault still running perfectly, The Caddy is still on stands BUT i've got all the necessary parts from the UK at 1/4 to 1/2 the price they are in Australia. Hoping to have it back on the road soon......?

peter

petersydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

the good, the bad, the downright fugly

published
Badgecaddy 1.6
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual

Another radiator failure

published
BadgeTSI175
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionManual

Happy so far fingers crossed

published

I bought my Vw caddy 2010 Tdi 3 years ago, no problems thus far not sure if it's because I have 1.9 diesel motor or not, but I think the 1.6 petrol is the problem. Would like to hear more comments from the diesel owners to what problems to look out for cheers about the clutch some people just don't know how to drive manual, vow is very touchy. Cheers

Badge0
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Mike J. Gold Coast

Mike J. Gold CoastSouth East Queensland, QLD

2010 year model Caddy I.6 lt. diesel Extremely dangerous vehicle.

published
Engine Size1.6L Turbo
Thea S

Thea SNambour

Recurring problem with fuel injectors

published

I have just paid $1337 to replace yet another fuel injector in my disabled son's 2010 modified VW Caddy. One injector had to be replaced Feb 2013, another in July 2013, both under warranty. A request to the VW Service Centre to replace remaining injectors because of an obvious problem was refused. My question: When will the fourth injector fail? Another $1337 that a disability pensioner cannot afford? More frightening - What if this occurs on the Bruce Highway on a hot summer's day? My son has severe physical disabilities, heat exposure brings on seizures, and he is stuck on the side of the road with no means of transport except an ambulance!!!! Perhaps a letter to VW Head Office?

1 comment
Thea S
Thea S
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Caddy 2K.I compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

I have had a similar problem with my VW Caddy 2010

published

Mine has only done 33,000 klms and has gone into limp mode 4 times in the last year. Ours is a modified disabled vehicle. The service centre said is was fuel injector problems and they even replaced the engine ecu worth $3000 (but under warranty) thinking it could have been sending false fuel injector messages. This last time has happened since then. I am also very concerned it could cause a major accident esp on the freeway. I do 10,000 klms per year. What is causing this and how can it be fixed permanently?

Caddy 2006 1.9 TDi

published

Great to drive and excellent fuel economy when it is on the road. However, it is not on the road long enough between expensive breakdowns / repairs. Eight years old with 260000km and I'm over it. I also have a Hiace with 500000km & going strong. Should've bought another one.

Engine Size1.9L Turbo
Stuart

StuartTuggerah

Have Just taken Delivery of my Third Caddy

published

First Caddy 2006 TDI manual traded in 2009 Did have problem with gear box auto, replaced under warranty, I was Given replacement car while work was being done can't fault Central Coast Motor Group. Had Second Caddy TDI Auto for 120,000km Great to drive long distances. New 2014 Caddy has Coarse Control, and Bluetooth.
This should just about make it perfect.
All car can have problems some more then others I guess I was lucky. Its how you get looked after at the time is what's important.

TransmissionManual
Jamie B

Jamie BMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 14 likes

Unreliable

published
TransmissionManual
1 comment
AGRADEMECHANIC
AGRADEMECHANIC

Please provide engine type + size and type of transmission

whitevan

whitevanOrange

2005 Caddy 1.6 petrol

published
Engine Size1.6L
DutchAussie

DutchAussieSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

2006 VW Caddy

published

I bought the VW Caddy 1.9 L TDI with DSG in February 2007.
At this stage I have done 61,000 Km, mostly using Biodiesel.
The van has been excellent so far. It is great to drive, I love the DSG.
Fuel economy is brilliant at 6.2 L/100 Km!
I found the VW part cost high and services expensive.
The VW Caddy Van is great to drive and has excellent fuel economy.

Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Caddy 2K.I compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Disappointing VW

published

I was a pretty happy owner for the first few years.. Proud. even after the initial shock of the overpriced servicing.. which I accepted as part of the price of owning a brand new vehicle.. my first . after an assortment of minor malfunctions from the body through to electrical ( after warranty ) then the gear box goes on a four year old VW vehicle . $6600 later .. not so proud.. as it turns out a common problem. Disappointed
.
Great sized small van.. fuel efficient.. originally inexpensive.
Overpriced servicing.. terrible dealer service.. Poor quality vehicle in the end.

Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Mail man

Mail manBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Caddy Falls Short

published

Just paid $1860.00 for a 180,000 service do I need to say anymore ! I have had to many things go wrong to mention over the 4 years bought new and serviced at V W dealer. Would not recommend to anyone for business use. Will buy Hyundai I Load and get 5 year warranty fixed price servicing and unlimited Klm.
Fuel economy was good about 6.5 ltrs per 100km
Parts and servicing to expensive. If your getting it done cheaper it probably not being done properly

Jiffa

JiffaPerth, Western Australia

Worse car ever!

published
TransmissionManual

Terrible

published
2 comments
CARPET CLEANER
CARPET CLEANER
Jiffa
Jiffa
Dynamic Locksmiths

Dynamic LocksmithsGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Caddy 2010 DSG TD

published
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionDSG
TransmissionAutomatic
2 comments
Very Happy04
Very Happy04
VickiG
VickiG
Page 1 of 2
See all Volkswagen Caddy reviews

Questions & Answers

TraceyAnne Maher

TraceyAnne Maherasked

Caddy 2K.I (2005-2010)

I need to know how to add and check transmission oil in my vw diesel caddy 2011 model please help me out

No answers
Skid mark

Skid markasked

Caddy 2K.I (2005-2010)

I have a 1.9L diesel caddy and a 1.9L diesel maxi caddy, both around 2008 models and just noticed that all of the rear bumper securing bolts are missing on both. Is this normal?

No answers
DNP

DNPasked

Caddy 2K.I (2005-2010)

2010 Caddy Maxi 1.6 deisel Manual or Auto ?

1 answer
Cjr
Cjr

personally I would not go near a volkswagon, IF you get a good one you will be happy, get a not so good one and it will break your heart and wallet

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 3 Volkswagen Caddy
CategoryVans
Release dateMar 2005
Discontinuation dateNov 2010
Compare all 3 Volkswagen Caddy

Other Vans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.