??!
14 photos
Volkswagen Golf Mk.7

Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 (2013-2017)

Wagon, Hatchback
3.9 from 133 reviews

Reviews

3.9

133 reviews
5
(67)
4
(25)
3
(16)
2
(7)
1
(18)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (15)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (14)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (15)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (14)
  • Handling
    4.3 (15)
  • Braking
    4.3 (14)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (15)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (13)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (15)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (15)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (15)
  • Features
    4.0 (15)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (15)
Previous
Next
Sammy32

Sammy32South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Car is decent however Volkswagen Customer Service is extremely poor

published

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Devesh D.

Devesh D.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great small car

published

Bought it in 2015 from vw kloster newcastle.tuns smooth as a whistle . Never had any trouble so far.done more than 100k . Worth every cent . Pickup is excellent along with fuel efficiency. Maneuverability is a class of it's own

Purchased in January 2015 for A$35,250.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Don't do it, don't buy VW

published

I've owned VW for a good many years and have some wonderful road trips in North America and Europe but that all ended. I bought a new VW golf in 2013 and it will be the last time I own a VW, the car was a lemon. Dealing with VW Australia was a nightmare as was the dealership and service centre.

Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Meredith Gibson

Meredith GibsonSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unreliable. Extremely expensive. Had 2 new gearboxes and 2 new clutches. Transmission extremely unsatisfactory.

published

Commuting, used everyday. Have only ever had this car serviced by VW, has never been late for a service. Always something wrong with it. Extremely expensive to maintain. Only one owner.

Purchased in February 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Handling
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Steve F.

Steve F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

VW 'lemon ' golf

published

my golf tsi turbo was initially a satisfying purchase , even over the warranty period i had multiple repairs recalls issues clutch gearbox blue motion high oil usage etc , hopefully things have improved in the last year or so

Purchased in January 2015 at vw waverley .

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ervina Kouris

Ervina KourisPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Expensive maintenance issues

published

Purchased in March 2015 at DVG Melville for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Happy Camper

Happy CamperGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews

This car is simply perfect

published

Great car all round. Handling, performance, styling (inside and out) and liveability are all the facets that make this car a great daily driver, and a little 'fun' when you want to. Driving in Race mode, and sports shift is where its at, but will hit your fuel economy. IF you drop back to Comfort mode or Eco, you can get economy down to 6-7L per 100km on the open road. The only downside is that i cant hook up a towball due to the AWD and exhaust system at the back end, but i have a second car that tows anyway. Will def buy again!

Purchased in March 2017 at Jackson Motor Company for A$60,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kayla H.

Kayla H.Sydney, NSW

Cheap Budget Parts - Warning!

published

Purchased in February 2016 for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Robert

RobertGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Volkswagen Golf Highline R line

published

Second Golf purchased this one with a higher spec R Line sports package. Drives amazingly and it handles great. These Golfs are quality builds everything feels very soiled and well made, have never had an issue

Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Harley

HarleyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Performance and comfort. So fun!

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$26,850.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tom C.

Tom C.North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic car all around

published

I have owned my car for 2 years now and done 40,000km and it hasn't missed a beat. The fuel economy is excellent, usually around 6.5l/100km in town and 5.5l/100km highway driving. I also use it to tow my boat (500kg) and it does it with ease. I would recommend this car to anyone who wants an affordable yet comfortable hatch that is brilliant to drive.

Purchased in June 2017 for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Atechy

AtechyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good city car with some minor issues

published
Mr_coz1

Mr_coz1

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Exceptional customer service from VW Australia

published

Purchased in January 2019 for A$15,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Pablo

PabloMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 12 reviews
  • 14 likes

Fantastic

published

My wife and I bought a used mk7 Golf GTI with 134,000 km on it! (manual). It still looks, feels and drives like a new car. Our family with 2 kids are very tall and we find this a fantastic, and fun, primary car. It tows well too.
With the addition of a roof pod there is lots of luggage space for holidays.
The only problem we've had is a flat battery.

Purchased in August 2018 for A$18,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sam D

Sam D

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

VW Golf 90Tsi constant issues.

published

Purchased in August 2009.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
agsdevelop

agsdevelopGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Best car i have owned yet!

published

Bought this car while ive been renovating a house for more transport capacity. Has been amazing and never missed a beat. I'm up to 200k kms and still going strong! Will be buying another soon.

Purchased in April 2016 for A$26,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Golf VII 1.2 TSI 110CV

published
BodyHatch
BadgeEdition
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.2
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Steffannie V

Steffannie VAU

  • 3 reviews

Sporty quick and fun

published

Bought brand new, I have modified it freely and I truly love the performance of this car, added features leather seats sun roof premium sounds system all worth the extra I paid.
Bought in black is my only downfall it is hard to keep clean but otherwise this car has been a great investment tbh

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2017
markvb77

markvb77AU

  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes

A quality car in almost every way

published
BodyHatch
Badge103TSI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Miggy.o

Miggy.o

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Wish i bought a Toyota

published

I use my gti mk7 as a everyday car with modifications and iv been having issues not with my sport modifications but with simple yet expensive standard features such as corner light sensors and cruise control systems. The car just doesn't feel like a high end car after 1 yr. Feels like a old abused car although i take care of it and get it serviced. Wish i had bought a Toyota.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Page 1 of 7
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Karen B.

Karen B.asked

Golf Mk.7 (2013-2017)

I purchased my Golf SE mk7 over 2 years ago. The infotainment system stopped working 29th June2020 my warranty ran out on 4th July, problem was I was in lock down in Spain due to Corona virus and could not get a ferry crossing until 15th July. I called Volswagon in Vera Spain and earliest appointment was 10th July. They did the second service, 18000 miles on clock and investigated infotainment system. Paid 93 euros for service and was given a quote for 1,985 euros to replace the broken system as it was over the warranty. I called the volkswagen dealer where I bought the car they said to take it to my local dealer in Shrewsbury which I did as it needed its first mot. They agreed it was broken and needed replacing. Even though it was impossible to get back before the warranty expired the would only give me 20% off the bill and I would have to pay £1600 to have it replaced. Do u think this is fair?

No answers
Deah C

Deah Casked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback (2013-2017)

Hi I'm looking at purchasing a 2014 Highline TDI mk 7. It's immaculate inside and out, one owner, I can tell the car has been well loved and looked after. I've never had a euro car before, but am looking for something that is high tech, and economical. The golf seems to tick those boxes but I hear mixed reviews.. Can anyone shed some light on your experience with these cars?

1 answer
Liam H.
Liam H.

I can only answer from my own experience of my Golf, purchased new in Sept 2015. It's done 107,000km and been serviced regularly (7 times). Has been a fantastic little car, fun to drive, economical yet nimble. That being said, much comes down to how it's looked after (clean oil, quality fuel, fresh air) all goes a long way to having the car serve a long, useful life - but my experience is a thumbs up and enjoy these cars!

Mr. Fix it

Mr. Fix itasked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 110TDI (2013-2017)

Has anyone had a remote control car key die and found any alternative to paying the $620 VW want for a new one please? My car is a 2016 Golf TDI, auto Mark 7
Thank you, John.

2 answers
Meredith Gibson
Meredith Gibson

Good luck John. In my experience, VW are not helpful and are very expensive. My golf does not have a remote key but you would think they would have a battery that could be replaced as other remote devices do. Maybe that’s just another way VW makes more money.

Mr. Fix it
Mr. Fix it

Thanks Meredith but I have changed the battery and it still doesn't work. Looks like it needs a new internal PCB.
Thanks anyway, regards John.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.