1 photo
Wilson SuperX

Wilson SuperX

1.9 from 23 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Wilson? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

1.9
23 reviews
  • Build Quality
    1.6 (9)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.9 (8)
  • Noise Level
    2.6 (9)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.4 (9)
  • Heating Speed
    2.7 (9)
Previous
Next
Tom Ellis
Tom EllisPerth, WA

Lasted me over 12 years

published

This unit has lasted me over 12 years maintenance free! I installed a cupboard around the hot water unit so it isn't very noisy. Im only replacing because the thermostat has failed. Excellent product for the price.

Purchased in April 2009.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Deb Lin
Deb LinPerth, WA

They don't last very long

published

It's one of the cheapest ones around. But I put in a new unit in 2011 and again in 2018, and now have to get a brand new one since the second one no longer works. Will be going for a better unit this time round as the amount of money spent calling out a plumber just isn't worth it.

Purchased in August 2018 for $890.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Not bad luck—bad product!

published

When in little over a year I had to have a second Wilson SuperX replaced and asked the plumber about it, I was told, ‘Sounds like you’ve just had a bit of bad luck, mate’. A lazy answer in my book, for now the third one’s gone kaput. that’s three in under five years total. No good. And not a matter of luck. After a year, sometimes a tad longer, the water pressure drops and the water doesn’t rise above warm. Next stop: glacial waters and soap. Would not recommend to my mother in-law. Well, maybe.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Yogi B.
Yogi B.Perth, WA

If I could give zero stars I would for the Wilson X HWS

published

Purchased in February 2020 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Wilson SuperX compares to other Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lee
LeePerth, WA

They only last 12 months, ive been through 4 in 4 years!

published

I have a rental and have had to change mine every year! Today it went, only 9 months old since i replaced it, a year before that one and another year before that. Terrible quality

Purchased in April 2019 for $550.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Felix
FelixPerth, WA

Do not recommend - 12 month lifespan

published

Wilson SuperX (model WISX) Unit was installed in a rental in Sep 2019 (manufacture date July 2019), provides good hot (HOT!) water until one or more of the elements burns out, as happened sometime Oct 2020. Tested by measuring resistance across the 3 elements, one of them is open circuit. The unit includes thermal protection circuitry to cut off at some point but this apparently doesn't stop possible burn outs.
In general, there's no built-in temperature control or sensing, meaning temperature varies significantly based on water flow rate. Once everything is warm however, the temperature generally stays the same. Also makes a loud clicking noise when activating which can be very annoying in a home environment.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Nicoletta H.
Nicoletta H.Perth, WA

Life span in WA is circa 3 to 4 years. The elements in most cases fault to earth. Change the quality of the elements

published

Main problem is the poor quality of elements
The main fault is that the copper sheath splits.
Element leaks to earth.
Change element to nickel sheath and this may give the element a better life span.

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Alex S.
Alex S.Perth, WA

Zero Recommendation Hot water system

published

I got this with one of our rental and it's just dead in 4 years, can't believe that we have to spend another $1200 for the new machine, It's really not worth for money and not recommending Wilson Hot water system.

Not recommended to buy this company product as many license plumber also discussed this product warranty or service.

Purchased in July 2016 at Dynamic plumbing for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dee
Dee
  • 5 reviews

Repair under warranty quickly

published

I have one of these systems in my new house, dont know when installed but manufactured in Sept 19. phoned on Monday, was repaired within 48 hours. I somehow don't think it will last long reading here

Incentivised Review No
Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Wilson SuperX compares to other Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nima
NimaPerth, WA

Super Hot or Super Cold-

published

Its either very Hot or Cold, no middle option

I called the customer service, they temporary fix the issue with some set up but issue came back again in few months. this time when I called them, they simply said item is out of warranty without any support
very bad product not worth the money you pay

Purchased in June 2016 for $900.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Andrea
AndreaPerth, WA

2 months out of Warranty

published

I've had no problems with the water heater in my own apartment, apart from being extremely hot and sometimes hard to get the hot to work (which is probably to do with my mixer tap), however the rental I have literally exploded 2 months out of warranty. Wilson replaced the unit but i was charged the installation fee. I paid this then emailed Wilson that I felt this should have been included. I was expecting a fight however they responded immediately and have covered the labour too. Thank you, good customer service, hope this one last longer.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
John
John
  • 2 reviews

Rip off prices have bought 6 units

published

Have had 6units in 18years,the best of them lasted only 6 years,the worst one lasted less than 2weeks!! I have just replaced another one which has lasted 4years! Noticed the price has increased by $102 since I purchased the last one in 2014! Quality control,forget it! 5years warranty that's a joke, you get 2years on a fully installed replacement unit,paying nearly a $1000.Do yourself a favour, don't buy this crap!!

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Wilson SuperX compares to other Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
NoCrap
NoCrapPERTH

Absolute crap!! You must be out of business

published

Shameful business.. Should close down. Only comes with 2 years warranty.. Goes Capt right after. You can't change the damn element but have to buy the new tank which is the whole unit.. Rip off absolutely.. Such expensive device must be sold with minimum 5 years warranty.. That means you will be out of business.. I hope

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Either freezing or scolding hot

published

Absolute rubbish, two plumbers have told me to get rid of it and get a different one. Known problem. Water comes out either scolding or freezing and no where in between. Only way to have a decent shower is to have a tap in the basin running hot at the same freaking time!!! Washing machine will only run hot water even on a cold setting. Clothes come out scolding hot??? Even after adjusting the valve on the water system.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Scolding or freezing

published

Has a hot water low flow rate shut off. There is no thermostat to adjust hot temp which would solve this problem. Such a frustrating unit! Would not recommend.

Our options are now to try a increase the bore size pipe to the boiler to try and get more water pressure. Or solder in some rheostat thermostat control. Most likely I will just bin it and get a real boiler !!

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Questions & Answers

Gladys Gauci
Gladys Gauciasked

How do I get hot water in the shower to remain hot ?

No answers
Gladys Gauci
Gladys Gauciasked

Hi
Iv hot a Wilson super x and the hot water is not really hot and if it happens to get hot it goes to lukewarm in a few seconds.
I cannot have a hot shower.
What can I fo to rectify that?

No answers
Phoebe
Phoebeasked

How do you conect the 240 volt , all terminal wires are red?

1 answer
Phoebe
Phoebe

Wilson instant hot water unit wiring diagram, all wires are RED

See all Wilson SuperX questions

Get an answer from our members

Other Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

See all Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.