Control freak Captain

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 22, 2018

Have been on many boat cruises and never experienced such a controlling captain. Right from the start he wasted 15-20 minutes at the dock going through all our bags (without asking) and taking all our food out of them before we were allowed on the boat. He then put the food in the galley and told us we were not allowed there without permission. So like infants we had to ask permission when we’re hungry to eat. He also found that it was his place to tell people how they should cater and demanded the girl who’s bday it was that he will need to dock so she could buy more food because he thought she did not cater appropriately. She felt very confronted and worried she was going to spoil everyone’s time. These were just a couple of instances of the exchanges but overall he was a domineering and fairly unhappy person and when asked why he didn’t just ask everyone what they wanted was defensive and angry and threatened to dock. Was a nice day on the water but every single person on the boat ( around 30) all agreed won’t be using that particular boat ever again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Absolutely fabulous experience, from start to finish (booking-cruise)

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 14, 2018

There is not enough words to describe how fabulous the cruise has been.
I can't thank enough :
Angelica Cassani for her professional approach ,helpfulness, friendliness and understanding and making booking the event easy.
Andries- the Captain and his crew members for outstanding service, friendliness and respect.
Thank you for very presentable and more important delicious food! ( mixed catering- BBQ, buffet and salads)
All my friends and myself we were taken aback by the whole experience!
We definitely will be back!
I would recommend Sydney Harbour Escapes and The beautiful boat Dreamtime Girl to anyone interested in spending a magical day on Sydney Harbour.
Huge THANK YOU!
Maria G.
Cruise on 27/10/2018

Was this review helpful? Yes

The best... simply the best

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 13, 2018

I am not 1 to write a review... ever... I have literally finished the cruise
Could not ask for a better day out on the Hestia, all credit goes to Anna for organisation, Patrick the skipper and deckhand for navigating the harbour and catering my brothers 18th, beautiful stop at a secluded beach in Mosman and sights across Sydney harbour, 100% guaranteed to be recommended to everyone

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Excellent boat, service and food!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 22, 2017

The weather was perfect. Our captain was very professional. Food (we ordered BBQ) was delicious. Can't recommend this enough. Boat was clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Spectacular day on Sydney Harbour

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 29, 2017

Had a magical day on Sydney Harbour on Dreamtime Girl. The service was very friendly, helpful and professional and Sydney Harbour is truly one of the most beautiful harbours in the world. Thankyou Sydney Harbour Escapes for our marvellous escape on the Harbour

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer

Great Company and Exceptional Customer Service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 29, 2017

Arranged a corporate event on the Ghost II and was extremely happy with the outcome. I was transitioned into the project half way through due to someone in the business transferring to another department. The team at Sydney Harbour Escapes were nothing but supportive every step of the way with my countless emails and phone calls checking to ensure everything was in place and ready for the evening. The team were accommodating, interactive with the guests and very professional. Overall, have received positive feedback about the event in regards to the food (Nick's Seafood buffet), service and venue. The success of the event would not have occurred without the help of the team at Sydney Harbour Escapes. I would highly recommend using their services and am sure will be in touch again to arrange another corporate event.

Thanks a million!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Perfect work Christmas party in the harbour

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 12, 2016

When I got in touch with Sydney Harbour Escapes they straight away provided me with many suitable options for our Christmas party harbour cruise. Their recommendations helped on deciding for a boat that was just perfect for us. The food on board was delicious (also vegan and vegetarian options) and the staff was very polite and friendly. Kaitlin from Sydney Harbour Escapes was always quick to respond to all my questions and was very friendly. I'd highly recommend their services to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Great way to celebrate a birthday

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 27, 2016

Fab time on board Dreamtime Girl. We took my mum out on Sydney Harbour for her birthday and it could not have been more perfect. The team at Sydney Harbour Escapes were so professional and attentive. The booking was seamless , helped enormously by the knowledgeable office staff....they really listened to our requirements /requests.
The afternoon was so enjoyable....the skipper obviously loves his job ...we felt so special.Can't wait to do it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer

Seamless Day on the Harbour organised by Sydney Harbour Escapes

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 23, 2016

Parkview organised to hire John Oxley through Sydney Harbour Escapes for a corporate industry day (Property Industry Foundation Regatta).

This boat was exactly as described and we had a great day on the Harbour.

The service and quality of communication was high level.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

An amazing day on the water.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 07, 2016

We arranged a family and friends day out on the harbour and our day was perfect. The skipper was more then helpful and accommodating. The boat was fully equipped with everything we need. The service was fantastic. Couldn't recommend it more. We will definitely be doing it again. A memorable day was had by all. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

EXCELLENT in every way!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 07, 2015

Kaitlin was a perfect contact in helping organise a wonderful day out on the harbour for my husbands birthday. Th skipper Chris and service was excellent with much professionalism with everything detail involved yesterday. Inception was a beautiful vessell and Chris was knowledgable in showing us the sights. All our guests can’t stop commenting on an excellent day. The weather was perfect (at first I thought you had managed that to). I would thoroughly recommend Sydney Harbour Escapes.
Thanks again., Valentina

Was this review helpful? Yes

Best way to experience uniqueness that is Sydney

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 12, 2014

When visiting this city, I have found that the most unique thing to do in Sydney is to go on to the harbour. The ferries are good but for some quality time with your friends or colleagues I've been lucky to have been invited on a Sydney Harbour Escapes boat twice now (seems they are very popular) and each time it's a great experience not to be missed. Going from Rose Bay is great since it's easy to park and you're out on the water very quickly and you are so close to the scenic/tourist spots. I understand that they can pick you up from other wharfs too.

The views on the harbour are great and with catered food and drinks on board this is certainly an event to remember. Wish I could be invited every month!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Terrible Customer Liaison

3 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 08, 2014

Firstly I am not an unreasonable person. Being in Events myself I understand that mistakes can be made. But what happened to me cannot be ignored and I would like for this to be read before you book with them. I was dealing with a lovely girl when I first booked my wedding. She left and then I was passed onto someone else. At first she was fine but slowly by slowly directions could not be followed and things were overlooked to the point where I was doing her job for her. I did not receive follow up phone calls ever and emails took a very long time to be replied to until I would ring to follow up only to be told I’ll look through now and ill email you. Where is the customer service in that? First big mistake was an oversight in wine costing a week before our wedding which was very frustrating considering I had paid up in full by this point and nothing had been said prior. Second mistake which was the tip of the iceberg was the evening before my wedding at 4.30pm I was sent an email telling me that a mistake had been made in their system and that I was to pay them a certain amount or my wedding charter would be cut off an hour earlier. It had been planned for 8months! How dare they demand money from me for their mistake! To my disgust when making a phone call to sort this out (which should have been the way I was contacted in the beginning) I was ignored and put to tears. It took hours to sort out, not only were they rude to me they were rude to a family member who was only trying to help me and made assumptions about my financial status. They do not know how hard we worked to get this wedding together. They demanded payment that evening and threatened to cancel my charter all together, once again how dare they do that to me the night before my wedding!!! Most unprofessional and I personally do not know why this couldn’t have waited till after the event. Upon asking to speak to a manager I was put through only to be treated like a child. No compassion was displayed and we got nowhere. The situation was not explained properly until the damage had been done and there was no working with their customer at all. I could not believe the unprofessionalism that was displayed. If you would like an event or wedding with these guys and want it planned correctly without extra costs just days before your event then do not go with Sydney Harbour Escapes. I will end on a good note, there was one person who helped us through all this and without her I would be going much further with this, she was our charter staff manager on the night, Sonja. She was lovely through the whole process and did ensure we had a great night, which we did. I could only wish all staff had the people skills she does.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Fantastic Service, Fantastic Bosts, Best range of quality Sydney Harbour Cruises

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 03, 2012

My friends and I have been chartering a private boat, a 50' Catamaran "Dreamtime Girl". After a few party boat charters, we are now firmly addicted to having our parties on boats. We soon realised that the usual split between us is approx $70. That is with 40 of us and includes 4 staff to wait on us, serve and wash up. We usually BYO food and drinks, but if you were to spend some more, catering would not be too much more. Beats a pub venue hands down, even a glam cocktail bar.
Baot is like a superyacht and views are scrumptuous? Can I say that for a harbour view? Anyway, a sydney harbour private cruise is fabulous and intensly beautiful in any weather, and at all times of the year.
I know that they have smaller catamarans for up to 20 passengers and self drive boats, they are not expensive as well. Do you sums and muster a crew together and you will also find the best secret bar in Sydney!! Enjoy a party function venue wher you are the view!
o I forgot to say, you can get picked up and drropped off at most Sydney harbour wharves. We often get picked up in the city near the Opera House and get dropped ooff at King street Wharf in Darling Harbour so anyone can keep partying on if they like.

+ inexpensive, impressive, great service, like a secret bar of our own with a moving view

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes


Questions & Answers