??!

See the Best Food Sealers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
15
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
8
1 star
8

Vicki Hunter

Vicki HunterPerth, WA

I use every week and cant do without it now.

published

I absolutely love my Ambiano vacuum food sealer and I use it without fail every few days. My only issue is the availability of the plastic to make the bags instore. I tried to buy in bulk but they never have enough or they dont have them at all. I am about to try to order online.

Purchased in July 2018 at ALDI.


Around_Here

Around_HereAU

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Sucks and Seals. Does a good job

published

Overall I am very happy with the product. The bags for the sealer are available in pre-made sizes or an open ended roll allowing you to make your own size bag - length wise. Interestingly I find I am using the 'self sized' bags more often than the pre-made.

The only couple of detractors for mine is that 1. it could, on occasion suck a bit more air out where there might be an air pocket trapped, and, 2. very rarely, I have found a small leak where the bag has not completely sealed although it might look fine visually.

I am pleased that Aldi seem to stock replacement bags fairly frequently and I do hope they continue to do so. My machine is probably going on to a year old now and thankfully no issues have surfaced on my unit.

Purchased in August 2018.

Mortishia

MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 48 reviews
  • 20 likes

Worth looking for a name brand

published

This started well, sure the option of cutting your own bag size is an advantage. Length of fully operation time is less than the year warranty given. Though in the beginning was functioning well, though noisy, it now only seals. The vacuum aspect of machine stopped working. It goes through the process of vacuuming but after 20 seconds of non completion - well there is something wrong with the machine. Did I get a faulty product maybe. Unfortunately replacing this item from Aldi definitely won’t be on my shopping list again. Will be looking for a brand name that I am comfortable with.

Purchased in June 2019 at ALDI for $79.95.

would not vacuum and seal only one or the other

published

I purchased one of these on the weekend, I could create a seal when making a new bag, but when you use the vacuum and seal function it vacuum then lets the air back in and doesn't seal - taken it back would rather invest in a better one.

Purchased in July 2019 at ALDI for $79.00.


Elizabeth M.

Elizabeth M.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Was good while it worked.

published

I bought this because we often fill the freezer with a whole sheep etc. It worked great for the first one and then died. Wouldn't suck the air out. Not very helpful when you have 14kg of steak to bag up!

Purchased in April 2019 for $49.00.


Louise

Louisensw

  • 26 reviews
  • 20 likes

Excellent

published

Would have given 5 stars except for the fact that there is no mention in the manual that you must close the lid quite forcibly to get it to lock. I almost returned it to Aldi thinking it was faulty cause it wasn't heating up. It looked to be locked but wasn't. You really have to apply strong pressure at the corners when you close the lid. Once that was sorted it worked extremely well. The vacuum seal was very strong. They recommend to use the gentle setting for delicate foods and I would head that warning.

Purchased in February 2019 at ALDI for $70.00.


Charmaine

CharmaineSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Should have bought one ages ago

published

This review might not be super helpful as I only recently bought my Ambiano vacuum food sealer.
I love this gadget. I can't believe it took me so long to buy one. It is super easy to operate and is quick.
I find the plastic rolls are better as there is less wastage compared to the precut bags that you can buy.
The quality of the plastic is amazing. I keep looking for things to vac pack!
I love the seal only function and I love how you can control how much air is taken out before sealing.

Purchased in March 2019 at Aldi for $59.00.


It worked for about 5 weeks and now vacuums but won't seal.

published

I bought it mid December and it worked fine. Then it wouldn't seal after vacuuming and if I sealed it - there was air in the bag. I don't know who to contact for my problem.

Purchased in December 2018 at ALDI for $49.99.

Chrissi

ChrissiWarrnambool

Use it every day without fail.

published

Used to have a very expensive vacuum packer purchased at caravan show. It was extremely tempremental and very frustrating. Bought my Ambiano about 2 years ago and very soon gave the other away as my new one was better and easier to use. Am now waiting to get a second one as I can’t do without it when we go
Outback. Increases the life of food I just LOVE it. Also I pack many things in cheap freezer bags before putting in the more expensive vacuum bags then remove while frozen. This means I get many uses from the vacuum bags. Could not go without it.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Nicole P

Nicole P

  • 3 reviews

Can’t live without this item now; makes meal prep so much easier!

published

I bought this to enable me to precook meals and seal safely for the freezer for my family as I work night shift and can also be away for clinical placements. It’s made a huge difference to the way I prepare. I use my slow cooker for many things to slow me to bulk produce, then cool the contents and bag with this! Love it!

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Greg R

Greg RWollongong

  • 22 reviews
  • 13 likes

Vacuum Sealer 'foam' split = no suck and seal

published

I was happy when I first used the product but after a while it stopped working. I investigated and found out why. This product is only 5 months old and the seal around the vacuum part has just come away from the lid. This means that it sucks the air out but can't seal. So when I hit the seal button, air comes back in, which defeats the point. Bad build.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

max

maxCAPERTEE

Ambiano Vacuum Food Sealer

published

I live an hour from any shops. I now can buy more perishables which I make into meal sizes; they freeze flat on a tray which I later remove and stack the food so it takes up less room in my freezer. Freezer burn is eliminated and my home grown vegetables are a breeze to freeze. Absolutely brilliant, love, love, love it.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Alexey

Alexey

  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Very good product for the portion of price of its competitors

published

I have been regularly using Lumina food sealer for already half a year and am very satisfied with its performance and quality. In distinction from its expensive competitors it is much smaller and takes much less storage space while doing exactly the same job. It is a great device helping to save various types of food for longer time.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

L P

L P

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect!

published

An absolutely great product. Handy for vacuum sealing food for freezing. Has 2 different options for moist products and dry products which is really fantastic. It also has a bottle sealing tube. We use it all the time to portion our meat for freezing. We love the Ambiano vacuum sealer.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Grandpa Can Cook

Grandpa Can CookBrisbane, Queensland

I bought my first one in 2014. I liked is so much I bought another one in July, 2017. I will use the

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Love my new toy

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

alanz

alanzAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Excellent, but you have to take it slowly

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Lee

LeeDum Dum, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

Brilliant

published

I purchased the Aldi Lumina food sealer back in 06/2013 and i love it, gets used a lot and has never failed me. One thing to beware of is buying cheap rolls, i got some off ebay(the cheapest ones) and they were terrible, i had to use the seal function sometimes upto 3 times to get a good seal. When Aldi stock the rolls i bulk buy as they are better quality, i also purchased rolls from Supercheap auto of all places and they were good quality too.


Rona

RonaSydney

GREAT KITCHEN ACCESSORY FOR SERIOUS COOKING

published

I love our vacuum food sealer. Has assisted heaps with food and storage from stews to pizzas. It's sad some buyers have not had the same experience. I need to buy more rolls! Where can I get them? If the product is discontinued please advise on a different brand that works. Eager for tips!

1 comment
Rona
Rona

An update: Aldi has food sealers and bags in store now. They have changed brands but identical in functionality.


Katrina B

Katrina BSouth Coast

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Super Happy

published
1 comment
Katrina B
Katrina B

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Beverlee L.

Beverlee L.asked

Ambiano Multifunction Vacuum Food Sealer (Jun 2016, Jun 2017)

Once food is frozen can you put in a pot of boiling water to heat up content?

No answers

Diana G

Diana Gasked

Ambiano Multifunction Vacuum Food Sealer (Jun 2016, Jun 2017)

Can the black gasket be replaced not dealing so took out wipe off slit in half?

No answers

Malcolm B.

Malcolm B.asked

Ambiano Multifunction Vacuum Food Sealer (Jun 2016, Jun 2017)

Why won't our machine work with other brand vacuum bags. It vacuums ok but then doesn't keep the seal.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

Details

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.