??!
2 photos
Apple Macbook 12-inch

Apple Macbook 12-inch

2015 Early, 2017, 2016 Early
3.5 from 11 reviews

Reviews

3.5

11 reviews
5
(2)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Previous
Next
ADg

ADgPerth

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

They need to make more of these!

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Apple Physical store for A$1,700.00.

KT lee

KT lee

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful slim laptop but sometimes slow

published

I bought This laptop for uni. Great and compact but it does lag. I’m pretty sad that they discontinued it cause it was such a great computer. It’s lasted longer than the 2 years I expected it to

Mark

MarkPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Portability, Terrible Keyboard.

published

The keyboard is really what let’s this computer down. My keyboard has failed 3 times since I bought it in 2015. The rest of the hardware is great, especially the display and the speaker system considering how small it is. I’m not a fan of a single port, but at least it is the most convenient and flexible port. Battery life could be better, but for such a thin and light laptop, I think it does a great job.

Purchased in October 2015 at Apple Store Australia for A$1,899.00.

Laptops

Find out how Apple Macbook 12-inch compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam C.

Sam C.North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good product but buy a Macbook Air or Pro instead

published

The macbook is super portable but I honestly can't imagine anyone would be bothered by the small size difference between this and the Air. Others have mentioned the weight difference but it's only 300g lighter than the Air, maybe this is important to you but for most consumers I don't think it will matter much.

The macbook will give the dreaded spinning wheel more often than other Apple laptops and I think you will end up upgrading your macbook much earlier than a macbook pro and a little earlier than an Air. So in the long run I'm not convinced the Macbook will be the best value.

Purchased in April 2016.

Nic

Nic

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Just bad

published

It's generally ok with browsing the web, loading documents and slight multitasking (As any computer should be able to do in 2018) But oh boy, if you throw a simple CPU intensive task like a web browser game then prepare for burnt thighs. Keyboard is alright, I generally make more accidentally presses on this compared to any other keyboard because of the small travel between keys. Mine makes a knocking noise also when shaken side to side which is odd for a company like Apple.

-Weak Performance (3D, 2D and other software)
-Average keyboard (Annoying small travel)
- Great Display
-Knocking noise....?

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Max L

Max LSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 24 reviews
  • 20 likes

Little frustrating but I love it

published

I have 3 Macs and I converted to Mac 3 years ago. My latest Mac is the Apple Macbook 12-inch. Light and thin I wanted this just to take with me when I travel. But it now comes with just one port. A USB-C Port. You get a power point charger but it plugs into this one and only port on the side of the Mac. What if you want to plug in an another device? USB, HDMI, etc. You have to carry around a large adapter. One extra USB port would have made this perfect. I think Mac people are a special breed, we overlook anything issue just to have a Mac product. I knew this would be a problem, but I still bought the Apple Macbook 12-inch.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Aquirebreaklaws

AquirebreaklawsFrankston

  • 2 reviews

I love this beautiful and light computer!

published

Amazing. Went from the air to MacBook. Worried the screen might be to small but it's fine. The weight makes so much difference. It is excellent. and the keypad and mouse pad are excellent. The USBC sucks though!
I can't put a usb or project or anything - bought an adapter online for $10 just waiting for it to arrive. Make sure you get a case to protect it from scratches to. I got the space grey colour and its actually really nice! BEST COMPUTER EVER!

Date PurchasedMay 2017
James

JamesAU

  • 37 reviews
  • 40 likes

I would rate 2 stars out of 5

published
Scotty the AJ

Scotty the AJAU

  • 21 reviews
  • 20 likes

Awesome road warrior laptop if you understand what you are buying.

published
Laptops

Find out how Apple Macbook 12-inch compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
pete

pete

  • 26 reviews
  • 22 likes

It's Nice And All But Why Pay More For Less.

published
SRJSyd

SRJSydNSW, 2025

  • 2 reviews

The best ultralight notebook ever, and it's gorgeous! To see it is to want it...

published

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.