??!
5 photos
Berkley Gulp

Berkley Gulp

2.9 from 11 reviews

See the Best Fishing in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
2
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
3
1 star
2

Xy guy

Xy guyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 31 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great lures.

published

Have been using these for a 7 years now with great success.
The packet's not great after it's opened and you can lose the liquid and they dry out becoming useless. I take all mine out and put them in a small air tight plastic jar like a vegemite jar or similar. I just put some distilled water in with them to top up the liquid, all good. I dont use town water as I find it can have chlorine and chemical scents which might taint the overall effectiveness of them. I predominantly use the 3" grubs in the freshwater version and haven't noticed a change in softness. Maybe though the saltwater ones have been changed!?

Purchased in November 2018 at Anaconda Physical store.


Last purchase bad quality

published

Hi I’ve been using Berkley soft baits your years now and have caught a lot of fish with them. But the last two packs of Blu Fuze 5 inch I have bought have come damaged/quality of plastic is falling apart. I am Hesitate of buying this product now as of the quality to cost is not worth it. Disappointed Burkley.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Products are supposed to improve over time

published

I've been using Gulp since it came out and was very satisfied with it. I now have stopped using it because it has been changed to a too soft version. I routinely fish Montauk, NY on party boats and it's always a topic of discussion between us. We all agree that we will not waste our money on an inferior product. Many online fishing Gurus are now spreading the word so I would think you need to change back or lose a lot of business.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

New formula?

published

We have used the 3" minnow camo for years and had great success with it until this year....it is so soft it is rendered useless! If it isn't broke why fix it ? Please go back to the previous formula. We are currently using another brand but prefer original product.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

....Used to be GREAT! Now? not so much.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Reggie

ReggieAugusta

Why did formula change

published

Have been using Gulp for a couple of years now. I have noticed in the last 6 months the quality is deteriorating. The baits are softer and therefore can only be used for 1 or 2 casts. Wriggletails can only withstand slight nibbles before being ruined. Even changing out soft bait one or two times, there is no integrity left in plastic to hold onto jig head.
Why change formula?
I can’t afford to throw good money into inferior product.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

brad.withyman

brad.withymanSydney, Australia

  • 2 reviews

Catches fish, but at a cost.

published

Certainly isn't a durable plastic compared to most soft plastic. Its easily damaged after a strike or hook up. The lure dries out and loses its shape if left on your rig as short as 20min. The worst part is the packaging doesn't hold the scented liquid the lures are stored in. It leaks and whatever it leaks onto will smell like rotting bait. Hard to understand how the worlds leading tackle manufacturer can't even put advice or warnings on the packaging to inform customers of the potential issues.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Stable

Stable

  • 19 reviews
  • 12 likes

Love Gulp, and I love the ocean.

published

Biodegradable and it works a treat too. These are actually made from food starch and the scent seems to be inside the lure. I feel much happier using something which is not just more pollution. I think they work better too, but admit they do smell a bit and can leak. I think the pros of Gulp far outweigh the cons.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

This bait works to bad its expensive,

published

Been using this bait (gulp shrimp) for years does it work yes .will I keep using it No. Seems that 9 dollars for six wasn't enough profit, so they change the formula making it softer, now instead of catching 10 fish per bait your lucky to get one per bait thats if the small fish don't rip the tails off, nothing like sticking it the consumer.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
fisher480

fisher480

  • 30 reviews
  • 21 likes

Not the be all and end all

published

Slazmo

SlazmoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 235 reviews
  • 234 likes

Great lures but tend to dry out if left out.

published

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Berkley representatives

Details

CategoryFishing

Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 028632217320, 028632217382, 028632217641, 028632233115 and 028632526859

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.