??!
7 photos
Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

SMS88TI01A and SMS88TI04A
4.4 from 204 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
139
4 star
40
3 star
8
2 star
11
1 star
6

TinToy

TinToyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Not up to the job!

published

When I was choosing a new dishwasher two years ago I thought that paying a premium for a product that was both designed and made in Germany would be a guarantee of trouble free performance. How wrong I was. My pots, pans, plates, cups, knives and forks, or any of the other kitchen ware that typically goes into a dishwasher rarely come out properly clean. After two years it is getting worse. Having a variety of settings is useless when even keeping it on the super wash option is not effective. There are times when I have had to repeat the whole cycle twice. Even though I use the recommended dish cleaning capsules they frequently remain undissolved at the end of a full cycle. In my experience this Bosch model is not fit for purpose.

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Aly_S

Aly_SSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 1 like

Quiet and cleans well. Large compartments for big pots and pans. Wish it dried better

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
craigwreid1

craigwreid1New South Wales, 2114

  • 22 reviews
  • 13 likes

Dishes Smell. Eco Mode Unusable.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Appliances Online for $1,336.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
cavara40

cavara40South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst dishwasher ever made.

published

Bought this dishwasher for $1400 November 18 took 6 months for it to fully stop functioning. Had to get both main boards replaced. After 5 weeks the machine wont turn on again. Worst $1400 ever spent. Should of stuck to a $300 Dishlex at least they turn on and function when you need them. How do i make it 0/5 stars?

Purchased in November 2018 at The Good Guys for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Tim L.

Tim L.South East Queensland, QLD

Died.

published

Bought 13 June 2015, expecting to get many years from it. It died two days ago. No lights, no one at home. For a premium product, this isn't what I expect.

Purchased in June 2015 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $1,399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Dain

DainSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible

published

My previous Bosch dishwasher died after 2 years and was replaced under warranty. Now, a few years later, the heating element in this one has stopped working. I contacted Bosch (via their website) simply to confirm what part number I need to buy to in attempt to fix this machine that I have the great misfortune of owning. They haven't had the courtesy to reply. Bad dishwasher. Non-existent customer service. Will avoid Bosch for the rest of my days.

Purchased in September 2016 at Under warranty.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Dan

DanPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

This would be the Porsche of all dishwashers, and you pay for what you get

published

Purchased in August 2016.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

GrimReaper555

GrimReaper555South East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

You pay for quality and it's still cheap

published

Bought this last year at Harvey Norman on special as I have a back problem and can't do the dishes and also to save water and it is the most amazing product in the world of dishwashers. So many features and it is so spacey and looks very stylish too can't go wrong with this company and engineering.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
MyView2

MyView2Queensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

One month out of warranty and this is how it now cleans dishes

published

Two months out of warranty and this is how our promised 'amazing performance' dishwasher now cleans...it's like our pots never went through a wash. Incredibly frustrated and previously loyal Bosch customer.

Purchased in May 2017.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Brendan

BrendanCanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice until 1 month after warranty then died, manufacturer no help

published

We bought the top model possible from the good guys on the basis of reliability. 1 month after manufacturer warranty finished it died. A dangerously faulty power cord was the cause, the likes of which 2 electricians with 60 yrs combined experience have never seen. Rang the manufacturer, whose 1st response was "not our problem, it's out of warranty". It has been a nice dishwasher, but this response to my problem from the company shocked me.

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

1234trev

1234trevAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Super Quite

published

Easy purchase; smooth delivery and installation. Like our previous family Bosch dishwasher this unit is even more of a hero. Digital touch display within the inside of door, easy to use. Several loading options make for easier loading. Filter easy enough to clean. **Whisper quite operation. Well done Bosch; more power to you for yet another quality product. (NB. I have now found receipt and can see we paid $1,398:00 more than I had remembered as this model was NOT on sale however no regrets at having paid more than some models.)

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys, Albury NSW.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Happy Mum

Happy MumPerth, WA

Whisper quiet

published

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,099.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Betty A.

Betty A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Dishes come our sparkling!

published

Great dishwasher, cleans dishes well, even when in the quick setting. It looks stylish and is very quiet. Great internal layout, that can cater for every day dishes or a dinner party without issue. So happy with our purchase!

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Blark

BlarkSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good, until you have untrained guests

published

I had a couple of guests stay for a couple of days. They overloaded the machine so the spray arms could not swing. Fault code E19 came up. Soap delivery or or heat pump exchanger fault.
On inspection I have found a power transistor on the control board blown. Service call out is $99 includes the 1st 15 min then $35 every 15 min after woods. New control board over $400. I saw a $700-900 bill coming.
I ordered 1 x STN9620 power transistor and 3 x STN83003 transistors ($20) to replace the switch mode side of the power supply. You would think an expensive late model machine would cater for the untrained visitor.
Not Bosch. Wish me luck.

Purchased in March 2016 for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
abjmelbourne

abjmelbournemelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very useful and efficient

published

I have been using this dishwasher for 8 months now. Silent Operation and uses only 12 litres of water as advertised. That is a big achievement considering the amount of dishes you can wash. I usually scape and rinse the dishes for better result. Always uses with Finish Rinse aid to complete the cleaning. Very easyto use

Purchased in August 2018 at The Good Guys for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Winco

WincoRothbury

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Quietest Dishwasher

published

Cleans well. Plenty of programme options. Very energy and water efficient. Easy to install and set up and oh so quiet in operation. You sometimes wonder if it is on and working it is so quiet. The display provides and excellent progress indicator for you. The racks have multiple ranges to fit a variety of items and the optional wine glass holder works well.

The best dishwasher we've owned to date. Note: check there are two options available - one with an interior LED light and one without. Why they would sell one without beats me.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Smashy

SmashyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Work great - very quiet

published

Had the dishwasher a few weeks, it's used daily. Cleans the dishes well and is very quiet. The option to do half loads has been very handy. We did get the extended warranty to be safe but that is more of a pre-caution should there be any issues in the future. I would highly recommend this dishwasher - SMS88TI01A

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,339.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Kylie

KylieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

Highly unreliable

published

This was a beautiful dishwasher but highly unreliable. Its heating element failed a month before warranty end and they had to order the part in, leaving us without a dishwasher for over 2 weeks. Then 2 months after its warranty ended its computer failed which was apparently a $500+ repair. I called Bosch but they basically said too bad so we binned it. I wouldn’t touch a Bosch appliance again.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Kylie
Kylie

Hi
I emailed you guys my mobile number about 6 weeks ago but never heard back.


2bldornot2bld

2bldornot2bldBribsane

  • 2 reviews

1st Dishwasher bosch dishwasher, beginners review

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019

Manu

ManuGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Quiet and very effective

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Ann

Annasked

How do i set the clock on series 8

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Ann,
Thanks for the question regarding your Bosch dishwasher.

When the appliance is switched on set the time as follows:
1. Open the door.
2. Switch on ON/OFF switch.
3. Press Info button for 3 seconds until the following text is indicated on the display window at the top:
Scroll with < >
Set with - +
Leave with Setup 3 sec.
4. Keep pressing button > until the time setting is indicated on the display window at the top.
5. Make the setting with setting buttons + - . If the selection buttons + - are held down, the set values are changed in 10-minute steps.
6. Press and hold the Info button for 3 seconds.
The chosen setting has now been stored.

If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744 or consult your user manual.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia


Phil C

Phil Casked

Serie 8 SMS88TI01A

Hey
My machine has been good
Today it wont turn on, the screen lights up quickly then goes out.
Tried resert etc.
After power was disconnected we tried again.
A message came up in german??? Saying no communication.
Its not that old

2 answers
Tim L.
Tim L.

Mine lasted 4 years. Then I didn't even get lights.

Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Phil C,
Thanks for the question regarding your Bosch dishwasher.
We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your appliance.
We'd like to help, if you contact us on 1300 369 744 we’ll investigate for you.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia


Stephen Honig

Stephen Honigasked

Serie 8 SMS88TI01A

The plastic on top tray that swings to hold the cups fell off and I don't know how to replace it?

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Stephen, Thanks for your question regarding your Bosch SMS88TI01A dishwasher.
Please refer to your user manual under Etagere.
Adjust the height of the etagere as follows:
1. Position the etagere vertically and pull upwards.
2. Push etagere at a slight angle downwards to the required height (1, 2, or 3).
3. Engage etagere. Etagere “clicks” into position.


Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

Details

Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI01A
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI01A

198 reviews
Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI04A

Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI04A

4 reviews
CategoryFreestanding DishwashersFreestanding Dishwashers
Price (RRP) $2,099$2,199
FeaturesCutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Half-Load Option, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack and Self CleaningCutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Half-Load Option, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack, Internal Light and Self Cleaning
Number of Place Settings 1515
Water Rating5 star(s)5 star(s)
Water Consumption12 L/wash12 L/wash
Energy Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)
Energy Consumption141 kWh per year141 kWh per year
Control Panel Position FrontFront
Maximum Noise Level42 db42 db
Number of Programs88
Colour / Finish Stainless SteelStainless Steel
Dimensions 845 x 600 x 600 mm845 x 600 x 600 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.