??!
2 photos
Breville Smart Fryer BDF500

Breville Smart Fryer BDF500

MPN: BDF500BSS
3.9 from 11 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
2

vyonne57

vyonne57PERTH

  • 21 reviews
  • 43 likes
  • Verified purchase

It’s a bit complicated

published

Purchased in July 2019 at David Jones for $143.00.


Sam

SamCanberra

  • 51 reviews

Excellent works perfectly

published

Had this deep fryer for about 12 months now, have used it about 20 times. It will do about 20 buffalo wings at a time or about 4 good sized pieces of flathead. Is reasonably quick to heat up from cold and cooks very well. The customisable settings are handy as well. The only downside is the plastic parts and the screen are very hard to get grease off.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Elizabeth

ElizabethMelbourne

  • 11 reviews

Perfect results every time. Very scientific design. Easy to use & clean.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
snapback

snapback

  • 44 reviews
  • 21 likes

What a great fryer!

published

I bought this 3 weeks ago (so I can't comment on its reliability) to replace my 10 year old Kambrook which had a malfunctioning thermostat. The whole digital setting and timer is great, and gives amazing flexibility and control-ability. The capacity is excellent and it cooks perfectly. I'm not too sure about the exposed heating elements, but most manufacturers are doing that these days, so it must be ok. It's great how easily it comes completely apart and is really easy to clean. Most of it goes in the dishwasher (elements and controller excepted). As long as it remains reliable, I recommend this deep fryer.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Very disappointed

published

I was given one as a gift which was sent from interstate to where I live. I don't have the receipt and I cant get in touch with the person who bought it for me. I have used it no more than 6 times, never even got to do chips in it. There is no signs of it even being used. Turned it on and it completely short fused the whole house when it went up with a huge bang. Of course they don't want to know you. They offered me to buy one at a special price which was the same price as the shops. Just a joke. Will never buy any of there products out of principle.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

chris luc55

chris luc55

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

bought 1-2 months ago ,worked 2 times ,today not working any more

published

i wish the customer service soon read and response to my review ,else i have to look for way to get it repair or refund !
i bought it via Westpac attitude credit point on line ,so not knowing how to proceed for repair or refund !
i used this two times , now plug in to power, LED has no display , AC definitely available , press reset bottom from behind gave no response !

Date PurchasedOct 2016
2 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Chris Luc55. Please contact customer service for advice - 1300 139 798. Thanks, the Breville team

chris luc55
chris luc55

Jim

Jim

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Easy to Manage, Easy to Clean, Great Results.

published

Cooks fish, fries and other foods to our tastes with ease. Metal construction with no hard to access spots makes the handling of oil - and clean up - simple and quick. Thoughtful design, large capacity, properly-sized heating element able to maintain ideal cooking temperatures and digital control resulted in superior hot straight-to-plate dinners at an unbeatable price.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Jim - thanks for your comments. The Breville team


Hel-Mel

Hel-Mel

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

So far, so good!

published

I just purchased this deep fryer, and am very impressed so far. I like the easy to use readout, the multiple preset functions, and the way it beeps when up to temperature, or time is up. I also really appreciate the custom cook function, for my favourite recipe: just the way I like it. Another Breville success!

Daniel

DanielSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 26 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Looks good, has fantastic functions and the LCD screen is a treat!

published

Purchased this product late last year to compliment the rest of the Breville "Smart" range. What a mistake. Never in my life have i used an appliance that smokes my house out so badly. I had a $20 deep fryer before using this one, and i never had as many problems or nearly as much smoke. It seems i have to change the oil far more frequently with this product then i have had to with any other of my previous deep fryers. Store refuses to swap appliance over because they don't believe there is no fault. Again, Breville is useless - What a surprise. You'd expect better from a $150 deep fryer Last Product that i will ever purchase from these right royal rip off merchants.

mrsscollins

mrsscollinsSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 23 reviews

Perfect !

published

This is the First deep fryer we have Ever owned ! And we love it !!
Makes frying easy with all the cooking selection choices, and auto temp set , we dont need to muck about figuring out, looking up temps and times , fool proof , a great price and design !

1 comment
mrsscollins
mrsscollins

SueF

SueFMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Perfect for deep frying

published

Questions & Answers

Alison

Alisonasked

We bought the Smart Fryer BDF500 4/05/ 19 turned it on got "reset" message tried to reset got no result. Left if for 24hrs turned it on still got reset message. Ready to throw it out the door. Can anyone help?

1 answer
Sam
Sam

Try taking it back to the shop you bought it from. Sounds faulty


Jan

Janasked

I am using Rice Bran Oil as recommended in the booklet. I find that the second fry of chips makes them very brown and over cooked looking, they are not nice and crisp. Should I change the oil or the temperature? I am using the programmed time/temp for both first and second fry.

2 answers
Hel-Mel
Hel-Mel

I have not tried using rice bran oil, but I have found it beneficial to reduce the times of both the first fry and the second fry, depending on the variety of potato used and the smaller quantities I usually cook. It takes a little experimentation, but it's not difficult to change the timer settings (the book shows you how to do this). Good luck.

Jan
Jan

Thank you, I will try reducing the time for both fries. I did read a review on another site, and the person giving the review said that the fry time was much shorter than set on my unit. This is probably the reason mine is overcooking the chips.


Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.