??!
3 photos
Breville the Smart Kettle Clear BKE840

Breville the Smart Kettle Clear BKE840

MPNs: BKE840CLR4JAN1 and BKE840CLR4JAN2
1.5 from 8 reviews

Reviews

1.5

8 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    1.6 (7)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (7)
  • Noise Level
    2.4 (7)
Previous
Next
penhryn

penhrynSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Absolutely the worst kettle out there.

published

Bought one of these this morning from Good Guys. Came home. Put the kettle on and when I went to pour some water out, the water came out of the spout and also the lid. What the hell! Where is the quality control. Get of your arses and fix this major fault with this kettle. That is so dangerous. I took it back and obviously got a refund.

Purchased in May 2020 at The Good Guys for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Ivana

IvanaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

BKE840 kettle leaks.

published

I had three kettles replaced, all three were waterlogged from the base. I was gobsmacked when told this was his first time he heard about this. My record indicates differently.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money

Breville BKE840CLR LEAKS

published

within 8 months have had to replace it twice due to leakage at the base of the handle. Rang Breville, was told they are not aware of this problem. I see many complaints online about leaks with this kettle - are we not letting Breville know about this issue? So that their engineering department can fix this problem!!

Purchased in May 2019 at David Jones Retail Stores for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville the Smart Kettle Clear BKE840 compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Happy I wasnt electrocuted by Rose 9th November 2019

published

son purchased kettle for my birthday on Oct 16th 2019 has stopped working 09th november 2019 leaking water and stopped boiling is basically a lemon I will be looking at getting a refund do not want a replacement as viewed other disgruntled customers obviously faulty product needs to go back to the workshop

Purchased in October 2019 for A$169.15.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
trev

trevMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not worth all the bells and whistles.

published

The kettle has five temperature settings, a keep warm feature and a cancel button. The water level is easily seen. The spout however is rather wide making it difficult to pour with accuracy. The kettle failed within one week of purchase. It started to leak water rendering the electronics useless.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
aquamax

aquamax

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified purchase

Works if it does not leak

published

I bought it two weeks ago and I did not notice its leakage until I could not boil water anymore. I was happy with the design and the functions, but another issue is that it already started having rusk-like stain at the bottom for only two weeks usage.

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Winnie

WinnieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 11 likes

It leaks badly ...

published
Bas4

Bas4Canberra 2600, ACT

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Leaks water

published

I purchased this glass kettle and it leaked after 3 days. Received a replacement and now this is leaking after only 1 month. It’s a poor design. Now on my 3rd.

The glass top is joined to the metal bass that houses the heating element via a rubber grommet. It’s not fully encapsulated in glass. That’s why it leaks. It needs to be re-designed to have a fully enclosed glass bowl. Glass has come a long way. Surely this can be done

Purchased in May 2019 at The Good Guys for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
1 comment
Bas4
Bas4

Questions & Answers

Victor M

Victor Masked

My Smart Kettle Model BKE840 was a gift last Christmas from my daughter in Melbourne. Although it has only been used for three months it has recently started leaking with water getting into the electrics causing the kettle to start up on its own. As the Start / Cancel button doesn't work the kettle has to be turned of at the main switch. As I live in Sydney I'm not able to exchange the kettle. Any suggestion from Breville to either inspect or arrange repairs would be appreciated. I have always owned Breville kettles so am very disappointed with the quality of this product.

2 answers
Ivana
Ivana

Ring breville +61 1300 139 798
Australia they will replace the kettle, still under warranty.

Victor M
Victor M

Thank you for your quick response, much appreciated. I have been in contact with Breville and have arranged for the replacement kettle. Excellent service. Kind regards,
Victor M

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.