?
? !
1 photo
Bushman Fridges DC85-X

Bushman Fridges DC85-X

4.9 from 58 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.9

58 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.9 (57)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (57)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (57)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (55)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Brilliant Aussie made product

published

Lightweight for its size
Efficient
Easy to install
Would recommend them to anyone
Good price as well.
My wife loves the ease of accessibility now compared to a normal car fridge, no standing on your head to find anything....lol

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

A great upgrade from the three way

published

Have been getting very frustrated with the inconsistency of the three way fridge in the van. Decided to bite the bullet and buy the Bushman. Its only been installed for a just over a week, but so far it is proving to be the best upgrade I've done. It holds a consistent temp, low battery use and very quiet while its running.

Purchased in March 2021 for $1,350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Xain Pike

Xain PikeSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Good fridge but not perfect

published

-good ergonomic size that fits well
-easy to wire
-love the dual zone
-works well once you figure out the nuances
-good value price

-black finish causes it to heat up very quick if sun hits it
-freeze prone to frosting up
-storing items directly under the freeze section causes a drop in efficiency
-could use an inbuilt temperature gauge
-would be good to see both a left and right compressor mount option to offer flexibility for installs

Purchased in February 2021 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Xain, thank you for taking the timer to write a detailed review.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman Fridges DC85-X compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
troy rambo

troy rambo

  • 2 reviews

Perfect fit for my canopy.

published

Great fit for my canopy, it’s easy to access, keeps everything cold and the little freezer is super handy. I found it quite easy to swap the door from left to right opening and the installation kit gives it a nice finish.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2021 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Terry and Annette Clark

Terry and Annette ClarkSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect size for the canopy

published

So far the fridge stands up perfectly to the heat in the canopy .Drinks are cold food is keeping well. Doesnt seem to use a lot of power. And much lighter than a fridge on a slide.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Guys, let us know if we can assist with anything down the track. Tommy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Great fridge

published

Gets cool very quickly and is very quiet.
Seems to be very efficient. Much more internal space than our old 3 way fridge.
Fitted perfectly in the old fridge cavity.
Was very easy to install.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Thanks for the review Lance :)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Callum Thornton

Callum ThorntonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Great fridge!

published

Great replacement for fridge and drop slide. Way lighter and ease of access, with less footprint meaning more storage area. Seems to be pretty economical on power for an 85 ltr fridge.

Purchased in January 2021 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Tony R.

Tony R.Central West, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent fridge

published

It has been 30+ degrees all weekend and has worked perfectly. ☺☺☺☺. Keeps ice no problem. Is easy to access everything. Battery seems to run it easy with the solar. Could not get any better in the caravan.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Great fridge

published

So impressed with my bushman DC85 fridge. I have fitted the fridge to new canopy on my Ford FX. Currently only running the fridge on ‘2’ and it freezes ice blocks and keeps drinks cold. I am no techie but it draws very little on the second battery system which at this time is only charged through a dcdc battery charger. I rate the fridge highly.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Graham, glad to hear you rate the fridge very highly. Enjoy :)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman Fridges DC85-X compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bruce Wallner

Bruce WallnerCanberra 2600, ACT

Great little fridge

published

Have used the Bushman since it arrived in December. It is sturdy, quiet and efficient. It is a great addition to my camper fit out and I also used it over the Christmas / New Year period as a bar fridge on a deck on mains power through a transformer. Very happy camper!

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Love my Bushman

published

Fitted in canopy,been off road worked perfectly.Replacement for chest fridge and Slide,weight is less,more storage.I can reach everything and no crushing of food. Love having ice for drinks on our adventures

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Great fridge , Love it ...

published

Bought this fridge to replace an old 3 way in my caravan ..
Delivery was quick and trouble free , fitted straight into the cutout , with a bit of space under for storage .
Went on an overnight camp out to give it a run .. Was perfect , plenty of space ,we even made ice cubes .. on a 35' deg day . Also it runs really quiet.

Purchased in January 2021 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

ripper of a fridge

published

i use it in our slide on camper , we now can see what is in the fridge not like the other brand where you take something out and everything falls on top of everything else

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

This is a perfect size fridge for our canopy. Love how much room it has and easy access.

published

We haven't been out in extreme heat as yet but so far i can not fault it.
We use in for our main camping fridge.
Great power usage and we have it attached to solar as well.

Purchased in December 2020 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

karen

karenSouth-East, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Totally brilliant product

published

We have had this fridge now for 12 mths in our Track Topaz, replacing the Waeco eeek. Its so quiet and sooooo efficient, we would recommend this to anyone!!! Only wish we had done it sooner..

Purchased in January 2019 for $1,099.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman Fridges DC85-X compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dannosmith1

Dannosmith1Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Can’t believe I nearly went an Engel

published

I am honestly astounded by the efficiency, overall weight and the quality of build.
I had my canopy manufacturer build a frame for the fridge.
We took it away 4WDing for its first test and it performed perfectly. We were proactive and bought a series of containers to compartmentalise the food, sauces and other bits and pieces.
No spills, no breakages, and all our upright liquids stayed sealed.
We hit some serious off-roading too!
Cannot recommend anymore. If you are tossing up between the traditional style and and upright, I explore you to choose a Bushmans upright!

Purchased in December 2019 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Amazing fridge quiet operation great cooling love it

published

Great fridge I bought it for my rear setup in my 4wd it’s perfect as it’s not loud when operating and cools extremely well!

Highly recommend to anyone looking at a great fridge from an Aussie company

Purchased in November 2020 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Buy this fridge!

published

Great service and prompt delivery. Love the stand up fridge. Fitting was easy and I was able to change the door swing to the other side and swap the handle over.

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Perfect product!

published

This fridge has ticked all the boxes for me! Fits in the canopy like a glove and it weighs next to nothing! Perfect for any canopy setup or in the back of a wagon!

It handles the harsh NT heat in the canopy like it’s not even there. Set it to -2 and it stays at -2 no matter what the weather conditions, day in and day out.

I’d highly recommend this product to anyone. Definitely worth the money!

Purchased in September 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Wolf M

Wolf M

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

What a Ripper of a fridge ....

published

I purchased and installed this fridge to replace a 40 litre Engel I have been using in my slide on camper for the last 4 years.

Just spent 3 weeks at Wuruma Dam QLD where the temperature got above 40 deg C for a couple days ( plus a cracker of a storm ).

This little fridge performed brilliantly. I am fully solar and respect the low power consumption.

Well done Bushman. Happy to recommend this fridge.

Purchased in October 2020 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Page 1 of 3
See all Bushman DC-X Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Al C.

Al C.asked

DC85-X

Hi there, I have a DC85x in my camper and a baintec 110ah battery supplying with a 250w solar panel. Just wondering which AC/DC charger would be suitable to keep the fridge under load and charge the battery at the same time? Thanks Al

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

BMPRO 15Amp is a good brand an dwill definatly do the job (and more) https://bushman.com.au/product/bmpro-batterycharge15/

Keith M Marriott

Keith M Marriottasked

DC85-X

It came without a plug , just two naked wires , a bit odd?

3 answers
Kable Moore
Kable Moore

It all depends on which way you would like to connect it. I hard wired my fridge personally as it stays in my canopy full time. You could use an Anderson plug if you want to remove it regularly. It all depends on your circumstances.

Davin
Davin

Hi Keith, My DC130x came with a connector (unsure what its called tho) either way, I cut it off, soldered on a cable extension to connect it to batteries.

Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi, we supply soldered wires so that customers can use the connection of their choice (anderson, terminal block, cigarette, 2 pin, spades etc). Tommy. BUSHMAN

Amy

Amyasked

DC85-X

Hi,
Just wondering is there any particular adapters that you recommend to transform the fridge from 12v to 240v? And if we run it off the 12v majority of the time and then connect it to 240v when we are at caravan parks would the continuous swapping of system cause any damage ? Or do you suggest to mainly run it off 12v?

Thanks
Amy

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Amy, when you are at a caravan park or at home, just plug in your 240V smart battery charger and keep running the fridge directly from the 12V battery at the same time. The battery charger will maintain your batteries so they last longer too. Cheers, Tommy. BUSHMAN

See all Bushman Fridges DC85-X questions

Get an answer from our members and Bushman Fridges representatives

Bushman Fridges DC85-X

Details

Compare all 4 Bushman DC-X Series
CategoryPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $1,399.00
Type Dual Zone Fridge + Freezer
Capacity85L
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter)
Weight22 kg
Dimensions 625 x 475 x 550 mm
Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Compare all 4 Bushman DC-X Series

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.