??!
4 photos
Chromecast Audio

Chromecast Audio

MPN: KHCHRCABLKAU
3.3 from 14 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.3

14 reviews
5
(4)
4
(2)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Previous
Next
Vossy

VossyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews

Good WHEN it decides to work... ultimately very annoying.

published

Sounds good when working but so regularly have re set it up as it just dissapears from device selection. This can be a painful experience....and has just occurred for the last time. I just ripped it out of my stereo in a rage and smashed it on the bathroom floor! I will now go and have a smoke and put a cd on!

Purchased in January 2019 for A$50.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
DavidN

DavidNGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 89 reviews
  • 48 likes

End of Chromecast Audio is bad news for audiophiles

published

Purchased in August 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$59.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Dreadfully unreliable!!! Avoid!

published

I have two and they’re both completely useless because they’re forever dropping the audio, skipping, asking weird sounds... useless crap. Shame because normal chromecast is awesome. I’ve had to go back to a wired connection to avoid going crazy. more words because i have to have 50 to submit my review - wth is that all about?

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Networked Media Players

Find out how Chromecast Audio compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KERR

KERR

  • 4 reviews

Beware of the marketing...

published

The device itself is fine, it's what Google doesn't tell you that annoys me. I bought one assuming I could stream basically any audio to it. Unfortunately, it's very limited.
- You can only use specific apps on your phone (eg spotify, google play music). You can't officially cast your own MP3s! There's an app for Android called LocalCast that can do it but it's really flaky and it drops out
- You can't cast from a PC. I wanted to cast my itunes library but no dice. There's a Windows tool that can help but I haven't had much luck with it

A few mates told me they returned theirs once they found out how limited it was... I still use mine daily, just not as I hoped.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Today I purchased chromecast audio to solve my multiple input problem.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Andrew

AndrewCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 100 reviews
  • 29 likes
  • Verified purchase

Easiest and Cheapest Way To Achieve Multi Room Audio

published

The Chromecast Audio is a cheap and simply way to achieve Multi Room Audio, without having to buy new amplifiers / speakers etc. There are many other devices that do a similar job as this does, but not at this price point!

Streaming audio to multiple speakers can now be done for a reasonable price, and at a reasonable quality. Granted, it would have been great to have Fibre-Optic / Bluetooth and all of the nice to haves, but that would have obviously impacted the final price.

Of course, it integrates with all of the other Google infrastructure (Google Home / Chromecast Video) and it all just works.

This is definitely aimed at the cheap and simple end of the market, and it nails it.

Purchased in February 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$55.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Michael

MichaelAshgrove

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Another miss from a company pretending to know something about home automation

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Climbingweasel

ClimbingweaselGeelong

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mostly works well

published

This device works well most of the time. It turns a regular speaker into a Sonos styled music speaker.i mostly use it to stream Spotify which is where problems occur. We often have music dropping out sporadically when we have to many devices over the network. It is hard to solve the problem.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
T C

T CSydney

  • 6 reviews

Nothing super special but does the job.

published

If you have a home audio device or setup that has a 3.5 mm audio jack and you want to use Google cast to send music to it from a device using Google cast then this is the right device for you. Spotify and multi room audio so works with this.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Networked Media Players

Find out how Chromecast Audio compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve-gee

Steve-geeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 43 reviews
  • 22 likes

A totally awesome piece of hardware - chosen for listening to Spotify streaming audio

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
youknowwhoiam

youknowwhoiamVictoria, 3041

  • 17 reviews
  • 18 likes

Great device!

published

I hooked the Chromecast audio up to my Receiver with an RCA cable adapter/converter and it works great, sound output is perfect, there's not a lot to say it just works. I can now control it with my "Google Home" to play tunes from Google play music I've uploaded with requesting my playlists, not a verified purchase purely because I threw the receipt out (ooops!)

Date PurchasedAug 2017
kensomark

kensomark

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Very pleased

published

I bought the Chromecast audio to replace a bluetooth adapter on our excellent Yamaha stereo. I'd read in reviews that the sound quality was superior to Bluetooth. They weren't wrong! It's like playing a CD (not a vinyl...nothing sounds as good as vinyl). Easy to set up and so impressed I went and bought a Chromecast for the TV.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Swanny

SwannyBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheapest way to get multiroom audio

published

I do wish it was a little cheaper as paying around $50 per device per room can get expensive quickly, but it is still cheaper for a solution for multiroom audio. It does only work over wifi which can be a bit limiting but I don't see it as too much of an issue. I've got two of these and it works great!

Date PurchasedDec 2016
skiwii

skiwii

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great size but wifi only, no bluetooth, and only works with some apps

published

Questions & Answers

Theo Quaak

Theo Quaakasked

I want to connect my older CD divice to my Bose Home speaker 500. The advice from the store where I bought the Bose 500 was that ik can connect it by using the Chromecast Audio. However after I connect it, it is not working. Any help?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryNetworked Media Players
Price (RRP)$59
ConnectivityWi-Fi
Depth51.8mm
Height51.8mm
Width13.49mm

Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 811571016587 and 811571016792
  • MPN: KHCHRCABLKAU

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.