??!
3 photos
Cuisinart Power Advantage Plus 9-Speed

Cuisinart Power Advantage Plus 9-Speed

HM-90BCS (Silver), HM-90RSA (Red) and HM-90SA (White)
4.4 from 11 reviews

Replaced twice in 6 months... Alas.

I bought this hand mixer for mixing bread dough, something it done very effectively for 2-3 months at a time.
However at about the 2-3 month mark the mechanism that holds the attachments in place broke. This happened twice. I just got my 3rd replacement, with no warranty.
I was told its not for commercial use. (which I know - but suspicion was raised because I had flour on it when I returned it. Its my fault for using flour, I should have known better haha) and also I was told that there were suspicions that the release trigger was not used (anyone would think i wanted to break this machine!).
At finally I was reassured that by the Cuisinart representative va email that this was not a known problem. which put me at ease immensely. turns out it was all inside my head.
Thanks Cuisinart.
and the irony is my $20 handmixer before this one lasted me a year. sometimes you dont always get what you pay for.
ah well.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Fantastic work horse!

Love this mixer! It’s perfect for mixing cheesecake, handles cream cheese and heavy cream with ease. It’s also relatively quiet and easy to clean. The case is nice and compact and easy to store. It was very reasonably priced. I am glad I bought this instead of a stand mixer.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

A keeper

I am just beginning my baking journey and so far I got no complains. It is very easy to setup, and use. The built-in storage was a bonus. You can really see and feel the quality of the material, it is a keeper indeed.

I have been traumatised with buying a cheap hand mixer as mine blew up on my face a few minutes of use. Now I decided I want the one with quality in mind so it will last longer and I don't need to keep buying another one. Only time will tell for me how long this product will last but so far so good.

Overall, if you want a keeper, get this so you won't have to go back to square one of doing lots of research and reading reviews.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Perfect Hand Mixer

I had an old model Kenwood Chef with all the attachments, it was a marvelous machine but due to diet change I no longer needed such a big piece of equipment. I checked out product review and went with the Cuisinart Power Advantage. What a fab little mixer !! It was always my lament with a big mixer that you had to continually stop & scrape down the sides when baking with small amounts. But this is perfect for the job and what I need right now . Starts with a slow speed great for incorporating the flour without chucking it everywhere, top speed is fast & efficient with everything in between. I can't comment on the dough making capacity as I have a bread machine..The third attachment is a whisk and seems fairly robust.The top mounted control is well positioned and easy to use, the release button is underneath so you don't eject by mistake. Really great design in that the mixer sits in its own storage container with the attachments. I love this mixer :)

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Received a faulty, powerless Cuisinart mixer

I ordered the Cuisinart 9 speed hand mixer this week online - received it after 4 days - opened the box, attached the blenders to the mixer...switched the power on- but NO power would come through. Tried all 9 settings on mixer...just a dull buzzing sound. Dead. Very disappointed with this purchase. Contacted supplier which were very helpful re exchanging. But brand new from the box- dead as a dodo, with zero power coming through! Yes, the power switch was on at the wall.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Fantastic. Just what I wanted.

Let me start off by saying that I believe this mixer was designed by someone who actually bakes and uses a hand mixer. What a wonderful appliance. I purchased this mixer after seeing a review on youTube that said it really does mix slowly on it's three lowest settings. If you do a lot of baking you will no doubt find that most mixers mix far to fast when incorporating flour at it's lowest setting. My goodness, this mixer does such a fantastic job of gently folding flour into your creamed butter/sugar.

I like that the release lever is set sort of below the hand grip (I am not sure if I am explaining that well) so when you want to eject the beaters all you do is reach a finger down and pull up on the leaver. You are very unlikely to accidently pull on the lever because of where it is positioned and, unlike most other mixers, it is not a button which is on the top of the mixer and you end up either using two hands to push it or struggling with one hand.

The swivelling cord is great as it means your cord can leave the mixer on the right of the left depending on whether you are left or right handed and it does not get in the way when you stand the mixer on it's end.

Now, what I think is just a fantastic development. I love that the mixer comes with it's own sort of protective case thingie. All your beaters are kept in there and the cord is stored in there and then the case thingie and the mixer clip together so you always have your beaters and other attachments when you go to use your mixer and you also do not find yourself getting frustrated at having a cord getting tangled up with things in your cupboard.

I have used the beaters mainly. I work my dough by hand so have never used the dough hooks. The whisk is interesting as it is set off centre and at a slight angle so that it more accurately reflects the movement you make with your hand when mixing. I have only used it once and that was for curiosity.

See what I mean, I truly believe this mixer was designed by someone that regularly uses a mixer. I am so glad I bought it.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Amazing mixer!

Thank you to everyone who wrote a review for this amazing mixer. I had bought another well-known brand, read its product reviews (which were all bad) and then read these. As a result, I took that hand mixer back to the store and exchanged it for the Cuisinart Power Advantage Plus 9-Speed. It is the best hand mixer I have ever had. I would highly recommend it. From an unhappy customer to a now happy customer.


Perfect Hand Mixer

I have just replaced our old Heritage model for this one (it's a HM-90RSXA), I was thrown off a little as where it was being sold was $140 so I um n rd then went back to check and found it was on say for $100 posted.
I found that this unit is very sturdy and a little heavier than the older one, has a 3yr warranty on it and as per other reviews has it's own compact storage combo, which is a plus in any kitchen where everything is in one place.
The attachments are easy to work out as they have their own place to go ie; both or single use.
I have used it by whipping up some cream which took half the time as the old one as you use the whisk and not the beaters
So yes a perfect appliance for any kitchen.


Awesome hand mixer

If you are looking for a versatile, powerful, well made and compact hand mixer this is the one for you.
I have owned mine for about a year and it has been great for making light and fluffy pavlovas and cakes. It packs neatly away with its own in-built storage compartment, which is handy if you are looking for a space-saving gadget. Plus it looks great. Very reliable, no problems at all.


great compact hand mixer

This is a really good little kitchen wizzard: i reviewed these extensively when my old one died, and the key benefit for me was that it scored really well in dough mixing. I make bread every now and then (that's how the old one died), and pizza dough, pastry etc. this one kneads it all very quickly and doesn't seem to struggle. And it is cute too, and comes with the little storage box, handy to keep it all tidy.
powerful and compact


Very Nice Mixer

I've been wanting a cuisinart hand mixer for a long time. This one is really nice and strong, well designed and does everything you expect it to. It has nine speeds - but I have not gone higher than the 5th speed - nine might be considered a little "OTT"!?! It has no problem with the lightest of jobs to quite heavy cake mixes. The snap on storage box is a cracker of an idea - very nice.
quality, design, storage case
not much - to be picky I could say the storage box was a little tricky...snug at first - but on using it four or five times, it has got easier to use.

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Details

Power Advantage Plus 9-Speed HM-90SA (White)Power Advantage Plus 9-Speed HM-90RSA (Red)Power Advantage Plus 9-Speed HM-90BCS (Silver)
TypeHandheldHandheldHandheld
Price (RRP)149149149
Mixing Speeds999
Motor Power220220220
Release dateSep 2011Sep 2011Sep 2011

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 0086279029645
  • GTIN12: 086279029669

Similar listings