??!
1 photo
Dux Prodigy 5

Dux Prodigy 5

135DB5N, 135DB5P, 170DB5N, 170DB5P, 135D5L and 5 more
2.2 from 109 reviews

Excellent heater!

We had a new dux waterheater installed awhile ago, it has been doing a great job ever since the installation day,
Water temperature is consistant and even when we have visitors and the hot water gets low you only have to wait 30 mins and its hot again,very very happy customers,at a good price,what more can you ask for! Thanks.david.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi David, Reading your review made our day! We are incredibly grateful that you took time out to leave a nice review!! Could you email through your full name (state this username as well), phone number, address where the unit is installed and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au so we can arrange a special thank you? Regards, The Dux Team

Performance counts

Performing extremely well, control on temperature of the hot water is excellent. It is supplying more than enough hot water for our family. The unit is relatively quiet even at night time. Great product, Dux

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,085.18.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi there, Thank you for taking time to leave an excellent review. We do appreciate your business. Please email us at help@dux.com.au if we can help for you in the future. Best Regards, The Dux Team

Fantastic service from start to finish. Very happy customers.

We are very happy with the hot water service and the service Dux provided from start to finish. Their guidance regarding which service to install was extensive and our selected choice serves our family of four well. Quick turnaround at an extremely competitive price.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Angela, We're so happy to hear that from you. Thank you so much for taking time to share your positive feedback. Cheers, The Dux Team

Unsafe product and regret it so much

My parents’ hot water system unit is having issue with pilot light getting off all the time. After reading the reviews and I am concern regards to the safety of this product. The other reason is my parents unable to resolve this issue due to their age and physical well beings. Getting a product that created stress to your daily life is not pleasant.

Purchased in April 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
3 comments
Hi Michelle, We understand your disappointment and agree that this is not acceptable. So we can locate your details easier can you email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au? Regards, The Dux TeamHi Michelle, We're glad that the service agent has attended the site and was able to determine what is causing the problem of your hot water system unit. Once they get the parts, they will immediately re attend the site to fix the issue. Regards, The Dux TeamHi Michelle, Thank you for your cooperation. We're happy it was all sorted now. Best Regards, The Dux Team

I wish I read the reviews first before purchasing.

As the title suggest, wish I had read the reviews first and could have saved me hundreds of dollars.

Honestly what a terrible product that's supposed to last 10 years at least (parts and tank), the only reason we got it was to replace the existing Dux HWS that came with the house and already leaking so without having to create new connections we decided on this newer version as it fits in the same foot print as well. Boy did we make a mistake.

After only a year of use the Pilot started going out. First sporadic that it didn't cause a bother then it became almost every single night. So imagine waking up to having NO hot water in the middle of winter. It was frustrating. You turn it on only for it to be out by the evening, then turn it on at night to have it out by the time you wake up. Rinse and repeat.

I tried to claim warranty with DUX at the time but considering they only give you 1 year warranty for parts (which in itself is ridiculously too short, this is a hot water system that should last as long as a house not a toaster!!) they wanted to charge me a call out fee and verbally agree to their disclaimer that if they find something out of warranty will charge me full price for repairs. I didn't bother knowing the latter will be the outcome anyway. That and god knows how much they'll rip me off by.

Now 2 years later, in total 3-ish years of ownership, the thermostat knob has conked it. Out of no where. Beautiful one day, rubbish the next. The pilot turns on but the thermostat knob no longer ignites the burner. Some times it does out of the 100th try but doesn't heat up water at all and turns off after 15 minutes. USELESS.

Customer service is also something left to be desired. They dont care if you have a broken unit, they just want to make money with repairs or have you buy a new unit. These remind me of smart phone/tech products, planned obsolescence. Judging by not only my experience but plenty of others on this forum alone, DUX products breakdown especially parts in less than 2-3 years. Parts mind you that rarely get touched yet breakdown regardless if you've turned the pilot on or changed the thermostat once in the 2 years you've owned the unit. Kinda suss dont you think?

Never again!

My advice to you the reader.. dont bother, spend your hard earned money with better more trusted established brands like Rheem, you certainly get for what you pay for.

Purchased in September 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 1 person(s)
1 comment
Hi Kay Zee, We understand your disappointment and agree that this is not acceptable. We are genuinely sorry this happened and look forward to resolving with you. So we can locate your details easier can you email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au? Best Regards, The Dux Team

**** Fantastic Response Thank You --- Less than 4 years old and pilot light keeps going out

I had the problem detailed below.
Within 2 days the Company called to organise a plumber to check it out.

Within 2 days the Plumber had attended, replaced a couple of bits
and problem solved - all under warranty

Thank you very much to all concerned
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It appears that all of the people giving a 5 star rating have only purchased their HWS in the last 6 months or so.
All of the poor ratings come from people who have had a system for a couple of years and the unit starts to have problems, probably much earlier than anyone would expect.

I had my 170D5N installed in October 2015, less than 4 years old and now the pilot light keeps going out.
The insulation also appears to show signs of being burnt, and there appears to be a fair bit of steam emanating from the top of the unit when it is heating, as well as a fair bit of condensation inside the top cover.

After less than 4 years, I'm not a happy customer and couldn't recommend a product that seems to develop problems so early in to what I would hope to have been at least a 10 year lifespan ???

Model 170D5N
Serial No: 15081845067H
Manufactured 18/8/2015
Installed early October 2015, paid for on 7th Oct 2015 $1,525.00

Purchased in October 2015 for $1,525.00.

Build Quality
Household Size 2 person(s)
3 comments
Hi Graham, Our team would like to speak with you at your earliest convenience so we can get this sorted. Can you please email through your best contact number to help@dux.com.au? Regards, The Dux TeamHappy to chat My mobile is 0418 111 333Hi Graham, Thank you for updating your rating and appreciating our efforts in resolving your issue. Cheers, The Dux Team

Excellent Hot Water System!

We had the Dux Prodigy 5 170DB5N installed about a month ago, and we couldn't be happier with our new hot water system. So far, everything has been perfect: the professionalism of the Dux hot water installation team, Dux's customer service, the ease of getting the installation organised in the first place, and of course the product itself. We're pleased with how quickly the water heats up, and would definitely recommend this hot water system for a family of 4.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Household Size 4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi there, Thank you for taking time to leave an excellent review. We do appreciate your business. Could you email through your full name (state this username as well), phone number, address where the unit is installed and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au so we can arrange a special thank you? Cheers, The Dux Team

WHAT A NIGHTMARE!!!

I’ve had the dux for just over 3 years. Since having the system at least once a month the light would go out and I would need to reignite, yes annoying but still got hot water. Start of this year this was happening more frequently until the pilot stopped working. Called dux, out of warranty period got plumber over, spent$400 for new thermostat and burnt all the polystyrene inside. 5 months later same problem. My unit is not even 5 years old and it’s looking like I need to replace. Not fair and not happy!!!!

Purchased in August 2016 at Bright Print Group for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Yianni, We are genuinely sorry this happened and look forward to resolving with you. So we can locate your details easier can you email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au? Regards, The Dux Team

Excellent product

Very energy efficient product which delivers what we need - hot water when we need it. Price is also very reasonable. Installation was quick and professional. Highly recommended this product to everyone.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,113.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Gary, You're the best! Thank you again for sharing such a positive experience. It means a lot to us. Could you email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au so we can arrange a special thank you? Regards, The Dux Team

Don’t buy Dux

Water heating unit only lasted 3 years, got it installed in May 2016. Unitrol and thermocouple needs replacing. After talking to people and doing bit of research, this is known issue with Dux. But the worst part is Dux only provide one year warranty for the parts and 10 year warranty for the tank. It costed me $600 to get it fixed and not sure how long it will run.

Purchased in June 2016 for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
4 comments
Hi GGperth, We would like to resolve this issue as soon as we can and we apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused you. So we can locate your details easier can you email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au? Best Regards, The Dux TeamHaven’t heard anything from them in last 2 days. They were quick to respond to the first review (seems like automated message setup by Dux)Hi GGperth, We apologise for the delay and as mentioned, we're looking forward to resolving this with you. We are still investigating on it and we'll get back to you as soon as we have one. Best Regards, The Dux Team

Excellent

This System does what it claims to do.
It makes hot water with speed to deliver.
Clean looks in a functional package with
A solid warranty and very competitive
Pricing.
Well done Dux

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings for $1,011.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Kim, Thank you for taking time to leave an excellent review. We do appreciate your business. Could you email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au so we can arrange a special thank you? Best Regards, The Dux Team

Constant problems past 2 years

I purchased the Dux prodigy 5 in 2014. The past 2 years I’ve had constant flame outs with the pilot not staying on. Now it has burned the insulation outside.

Purchased in September 2014 at Tradelink for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
2 comments
Hi Mike, We'd be happy to assist you with your question. If you can email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au it will be great. Best Regards, The Dux TeamThanks will do

Cant help when it comes with the new home

Replaced Tempering value in 4 years time that costed $350.00. Now the Gas control valve is gone and insulation charred. The unit is 6 years old. Plan to replace with another brand on Monday morning!

Purchased in November 2012.

Build Quality
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
1 comment
Hi Aldi, We would like to resolve this issue as soon as we can. So we can locate your details easier can you email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au? Regards, The Dux Team

Flue damper issue?

At the 3 year mark the pilot light kept going out and we couldn’t relight so replaced the thermocouple. After a month the pilot light get going out, plumber said it is a known issue with this model. Interesting to read so many bad reviews on line with the same problem!

Purchased in April 2016 at AGL for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 2 person(s)
1 comment
Hi there, We would like to resolve this issue as soon as we can. So we can locate your details easier can you email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au? Regards, The Dux Team

**Don't buy this brand***

This is the 2nd unit in 4 years that I have had. This brand is a death trap. Flames were firing up the inside of the casing and melted all the insulation and nearly burnt my face off. Danger! Stay away.

Purchased in September 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Caesar, We are genuinely sorry this happened and look forward to resolving with you. So we can locate your details easier can you email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au? Best Regards, The Dux Team

Very noisy system

Had this unit installed in our new home in 2012 and has been terribly noisy to live with.Had new anode installed, reliefvalve & constant pilot-light issues.Just returned from a week holiday with no hot water, not-happy.

Purchased in June 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
2 comments
Hi WizStick, We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Our team would like to resolve this for you. If you can email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au we would greatly appreciate it. Best Regards, The Dux TeamHi Dux team, I've just emailed the requested details. Hope you can fix the issue quickly. Just had another plumber fix the system but it lasted only a few days. Regards Dean

Great Sevice from DUX - love the unit

Working well, easy and fast installation to replace the old unit. a bonus is that our long last hot water hammer has been greatly reduced.
Hot water temperature is very good with constant temperature.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Gazza, Thank you for taking time to leave an excellent review!! We do appreciate your business. Could you email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au so we can arrange a special thank you? Best Regards, The Dux Team

Issue with system not reheating water as tank temperature drops over 12 hour period

Hot water supply OK for first 15 months. However of late it appears that the thermostat control is failing with the need to drop at least 20-25% of the tank capacity to give a cold water shock "before" the gas system fires up to bring the tank temperature up to operating level. Issue began April 2019. Very frustrating for a quality product.
Local Dux authorized plumber not returning phone calls, despite assurance from office to do so.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
4 comments
Hi Mike, We are genuinely sorry this happened and look forward to resolving with you. So we can locate your details easier can you email through your full name, best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au? Regards, The Dux TeamWill do tonight. Thanks for taking time to follow up on issue MikeHi, the Dux group sent a local plumbing technician to inspect on Friday 21st June. Diagnosis was the faulty thermostat program. Kit was replaced and the system has functioned as per normal expectations since repairs carried out. Thank you for your assistance, even though the unit was just outside the normal 12 months warrantee, Dux has supported 100%.

Hazardous Design

Model Dix Prodigy 5 170D5N SN 15070845076H Scorching at bottom from stuck divertor flaps. Reported by Inspector Order 302250698 and Plumbing repairers. Known design weakness of this model. Do not buy. Item design can cause auto combustion and fire. Gas supply to my house was disconnected and Dux avoiding responsibility for their design as many users have this problem and they keep resolving under warranty. Bought in 07/2015 with 10Y warranty. Have been out of hot water for 4 days now.

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 6 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Keddu, We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope that we've been able to resolve your issue. Please email us to help@dux.com.au if we can help for you in the future. Best Regards, The Dux Team

More like a cold water system.

Be bought this house 2 years ago and in the last 12 months the pilot lights has gone out so many times I’ve lost count! Once again today no hot water. So I re-lit the pilot at lunchtime and it’s gone out again now. And now it’s my problem that Dux manufacture products that just don’t work.

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Aeron, We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Our team would like to resolve this for you. If you can email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au we would greatly appreciate it. Best Regards, The Dux Team

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

What is the cost of installation of an electric unit?
1 answer
Hi Carol, We'd be happy to provide you with an estimate of what an installation might cost. But would you be able to email through your full name (state this username as well) and best contact number to help@dux.com.au so we can discuss this with you. Best Regards, The Dux Team

My parents’ unit is having the issue now. Pilot light kept going off and I am concern about the safety of the unit. My parents incapable to resolve this problem due to their physical health issues. Can you please contact me as soon as possible? Thanks
4 answers
Hi Michelle I had a similar problem with my hot water unit that was not quite four years old I'm not sure how old your parents unit is? I wrote a review on this website and the Dux people contacted me within 2 to 3 days and organised for a plumber to come out and check over the unit within a couple of days The plumber replaced a couple of parts completely free of charge and the unit is now operating as though it was brand-new I am 100% pleased with the service that I have since received Maybe wait a couple of days to see if the Dux people contact you, otherwise call the customer service department and explain the problem to them, Although it may depend a little on how old your parents hot water service unit is Good luck Graham RogersHi Michelle, We are genuinely sorry this happened and look forward to resolving with you. Our team would like to resolve this for you. If you can email through your full name, best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au we would greatly appreciate it. Best Regards, The Dux TeamI have sent through an email and wonder when is your team going to contact me? My parents are out of hot water. Everyday we turn on the pilot light on it just turn off after few hours. Will be greatly appreciated and helpful if we can sort this out ASAP. Thank you

I find there is steam coming out from the top I hear dripping and sizzling the gas is orange blue
2 answers
Hi Phil, We'd be happy to assist you with your question. If you can email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au it will be great. Best Regards, The Dux TeamThat is exactly what happened with my unit.

Details

Dux Prodigy 5 135DB5NDux Prodigy 5 170DB5NDux Prodigy 5 135DB5PDux Prodigy 5 170DB5PDux Prodigy 5 135D5NDux Prodigy 5 135D5LDux Prodigy 5 170D5NDux Prodigy 5 170D5LDux Prodigy 5 330TDux Prodigy 5 360T
CategoryGas StorageGas StorageGas StorageGas StorageGas StorageGas StorageGas StorageGas StorageGas StorageGas Storage
Release dateApr 2008Apr 2008Apr 2008Apr 2008
Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.