??!
1 photo
Dux Prodigy 5

Dux Prodigy 5

170D5N, 135D5N, 170DB5N, etc...
2.4 from 126 reviews

Reviews

(33)
(9)
(4)
(12)
(68)
  • Build Quality
    3.2 (54)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (54)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (45)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (48)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.8 (54)
  • Heating Speed
    3.8 (54)
  • Smells of GasYes (11) · No (42)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Neal R.

Neal R.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Very Happy and Thank you

published

Happy with product as it heats really well, Install was great, but appliance had an issue, Pilot light has blown out a few times, Today as promised the heater was fixed in 10 minutes, Thank you to the Dux team and person who came out and fixed. 10/10 for service..

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
3 comments
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Neal R.
Neal R.

Service man came out and fixed today as promised, Thankyou

Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Michael M.

Michael M.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Pilot light Issues.....

published

Installed 2 1/2 years ago and has been great up till now. In the past week the pilot light has gone out about 3 times. It relights without a problem but then couple days later cold water again. Spoke with installer and he advised that certain units <dating back to mine, didn't have a pilot light guard fitted and it was an issue that Rheem should repair under warranty. Will contact on Monday, we'll see.

Purchased in April 2017 for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Michael M.
Michael M.

Thank you for getting back so promptly. I will provide all info that you requested in the next couple of days. Thanks again.

Problem with the pilot light

published

We installed the 170D5N about 4years and for the last week or so we have been having alot of cold showers as the flame keeps going out. Extremely disappointing start to the Christmas holidays.

Build Quality
Noise Level
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Dux Prodigy 5 compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ally

AllyVictoria

Such a great hot water service so glad we decided to go the 5 star instead of the 4 Star

published

It copes well with the whole family using the hot water never runs out so happy we chosen the 5 star instead of the 4 star would recommend it to others

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,105.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
BigTone

BigToneCraigieburn

  • 8 reviews

Join the DUX club for flame outs, funny noises and pilot light problems.

published

Purchased from bunnings in 2012 and over much of the time installed made many noises whilst heating up the water (close to bedroom on outside, no sleeping till water has heated up) Now looking at the other reviews, definitely a design or component problem with these units. Peered inside unit, problems with pilot light, controller faulty and melted insulation with black soot. Not worth the risk with these units. Previous Rheem unit lasted 18 years till it leaked.

Purchased in August 2012 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,149.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Alex

AlexMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Hot Water Service

published

Installer came within 24 hours. Very professional and courteous. Unit is working perfectly. Time will tell how good it is, but at this stage everything is working well, thank you.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,643.00.

Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Operating as expected excellent

published

following minor issues with pilot light repeatedly going out 5times in a month the unit is now performing to full satisfaction and the unit in my opinion is recommended providing it keeps performing at the same rate as of now .issue of pilot light was rectified fairly quickly within the day following my phone call to service dept.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jeff

JeffPerth, WA

Having problems with my Prodigy 5

published

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
N Flynn

N FlynnWheatbelt, WA

  • 2 reviews

Help don't know what to do

published

Our builder installed 2x 2016 one at each side of the house. We have started to have constant problems with one in particular which keeps blowing out. I relight and it sometimes lasts a couple of days until this week. When I was lighting it it caught on fire and the flames came gushing out towards my face. At this point I have realised that this has been happening previously as the vents at the top are black with smoke and inside smoke marks also. Until this point we were happy with the system but don't know what to do now as not in the position to replace it.

Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
2 comments
Dux
Dux C.Dux
N Flynn
N Flynn

Email has been sent

Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Dux Prodigy 5 compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roger

RogerSouthwest, VIC

Repaired

published
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Tom

TomMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Our new Dux water heater

published

Our new Dux Prodigy 5 is now three weeks old. Our hot water is the hottest it has been for years. Great product and I would recommend this brand to anyone replacing their existing heater

Purchased in October 2019 for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Mol

Mol

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Piece of junk - lasted 4 years - gave trouble throughout - warranty on tank only

published

Lasted for 4 years - kept going out throught - badly and cheaply made - pipe leaking water - the whole thing caught fire - not safe - warranty only covers the tank - not the shonky additions like poorly welded piping - stay away from this brand

Purchased for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Pilot lamp going off in the last 6 months

published

I had my 170D5N installed in my new house by the builder around March 2014; for the past 6 months it has had constant flame outs with the pilot not staying on, I also found that the insulation outside it has burned, unfortunately we have been through difficult situations and cannot afford to pay for a plumber to fix it and we cannot even think about buying a new one, we expected more from this product and are extremely disappointed.

Purchased in March 2014 for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Happy camper

Happy camperMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

No fuss, does exactly what it is supposed to.

published

Replaced an existing Dux heater that had lasted a long time. Was a straight swap so fitted perfectly in the alcove. The thermostat mechanism seems to be a lot more modern than the one in the old unit. Has worked well from day one.

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,570.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Adnan M

Adnan MGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Pilot lamp going off scince we bought this.

published

We bought this unit 170D5N from Bunnings with complete installation as we expected to have a very reliable product. It's being nearly 4 years now. Scince very beginning it has issue of pilot lamp going off and as I'm usually out for work my wife and young kids hd to suffer a lot.
We complained and complined even I filed a complaint last week at Dux website and so far no reply.
We cannot aford to buy a new one and I have no idea how to get it fixed as tried.
I'm seriously concerned if this product is safe to use we have to keep it at max for longer period for hot water and I can see it's foam around has started melting.
What I can think is that it was a bad choice we made while trusting the name of Dux and Bunnings

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Dux Prodigy 5 compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

This is what a hot shower feels like :-)

published

The water flow and heat produced by this unit is wonderful, had forgotten what a good shower feels like. I would have no hesitation in recommending this unit to my friends and family

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Very efficient water heater

published

We were relieved to have the Dux replacement installed in late August and to finally have hot showers. The installer arrived on time, was friendly and gave good advice and information on the performance of the heater. It has been operating very well so far and provising us with ample and consistent hot water.

Purchased in August 2019 for $1,478.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Excellent heater!

published

We had a new dux waterheater installed awhile ago, it has been doing a great job ever since the installation day,
Water temperature is consistant and even when we have visitors and the hot water gets low you only have to wait 30 mins and its hot again,very very happy customers,at a good price,what more can you ask for! Thanks.david.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hot water gas storage

Hot water gas storageGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Performance counts

published

Performing extremely well, control on temperature of the hot water is excellent. It is supplying more than enough hot water for our family. The unit is relatively quiet even at night time. Great product, Dux

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,085.18.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Fantastic service from start to finish. Very happy customers.

published

We are very happy with the hot water service and the service Dux provided from start to finish. Their guidance regarding which service to install was extensive and our selected choice serves our family of four well. Quick turnaround at an extremely competitive price.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Bob

Bobasked

Prodigy 5 135D5N

The flue damper is faulty and is causing the flame to smother and incomplete combustion there is signs of burnt insulation at the bottom of the unit . Dux are aware of this problem, what has been done to fix it?

2 answers
Neal R.
Neal R.

Dux organised a service person to come and fix the issue

Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Bob,

Our team would like to speak with you at your earliest convenience so we can get this sorted.

So we can understand the specific details can you please email through your full name, productreview username, best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number to help@dux.com.au so we can call you back, talk through the issue and try and resolve it for you?

Regards,

The Dux Team

Neal R.

Neal R.asked

Prodigy 5 170DB5N

I have had the pilot light go out 3 times in as many weeks? Is there a issue with this model? I will write review after hearing back from you.

2 answers
Michael M.
Michael M.

Hi Neil, mine is 2 1/2 years old. After posting my review Dux made contact with me 2 days ago. They then contacted one of their servicing mobs who came out this morning and repaired it under warranty. So, yes, with my particular unit there was an issue. Part replaced in under 10 minutes. Very happy with the service from them. So maybe just post like I did and see what happens. All the best, hope that helped.

Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Neal,

We would like to resolve this issue as soon as we can.

So we can understand the specific details can you please email through your full name, productreview username, best contact number, address where the unit is installed and serial number to help@dux.com.au so we can call you back, talk through the issue and try and resolve it for you?

Best Regards,

The Dux Team

Jema

Jemaasked

Prodigy 5 170DB5N

On the 31/12/2016 i bought a Dux Prodigy at Bunnings because the unit we had would not re light, after bringing it home and cutting open the box decided to try to re light the old Gas heater as we had had a flood down the side of the house and I could see the water mark up the side , it lite so we covered with the cut box and put the Dux Prodigy in shed.
On the 29/9/2019 we installed the Dux Prodigy 5 170DB5N it worked and a couple of days latter we got cold water, so we re light the unit and next couple of days it went out and this is happening every couple of days since, reading peoples reviews it seems to have got a bad name for doing this.
My question is this whilst brand new it is out of warranty what is wrong with it , and what should I do ?
Malcolm Brown

1 answer
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Malcolm,

We are sorry to hear about your experience and really hope we can resolve your issues.

So we can locate your details easier can you email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au?

Regards,

The Dux Team

Get an answer from our members and Dux representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.