??!
17 photos
EvaKool Platinum

Reviews

3.0

8 reviews
5
(2)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    1.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (4)
  • Internal Layout
    3.0 (4)
Previous
Next
Still waiting

Still waitingHobart, TAS

  • 3 reviews

Poor workmanship and poor customer service.

published

Purchased in April 2020 for A$1,900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
Rob Mac

Rob MacSouthwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

DC 210 Fails Again!

published

Facts:
I have had 4 X DC 210s and every one has failed!
Our new fridge worked well for 3 weeks and now won't turn off and runs 24-7 and is killing our batteries!
We are remote and again can't get through to Evakool through their rubbish phone system!
They do not get how upsetting and inconvenient defective fridges are to travellers who camp remotely a lot. Our last failure was in the East MacDonnell Ranges and we lost 3 weeks screwing around to get repairs which eventually happened in Mt Isa.
Fact...never again!

Purchased in November 2019 for A$1,779.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
stig

stigCentral Queensland, QLD

Bad choice on my part,was warned

published

Bought a 175l platinium evakool 3weeks ago. compressor keeps runningall the time. Using
5amps every hour. That's almost twice the advertised usage. Apart from not working as it should , it looksgood.
To continue my review.
Just spoke to Evakool office at sunshine coast , was told that I have to pay the transport cost for bringing their faulty fridge for repair???

Purchased in December 2019 at Supercheap Auto for A$1,900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how EvaKool Platinum compares to other Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Poor quality

published

I bought one of these fridges 3 years ago, in that time had a total use of approximately 9 months. Went to use it for a weekend, fridge started but would not cool down. Had it checked out the report was internal gas leak faulty controller and compressor. Buyer beware poor quality components.

Purchased for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
EvaKool
Evakool I.EvaKool

Hi Leon, As I advised in my email to you, I am happy to have the unit assessed by my technicians. If you would like to proceed, please email me back. Kind regards,
Tracey- EvaKool Warranty Manager

Cu2

Cu2Southwest, VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Almost good.

published

It runs like a charm. But I have a major banging noise like the motor is banging. That happens when it’s a hot day. Power supply? Rang service and they had no idea. Must see it and test it. Yer right and then they don’t find the problem. No thanks. It’s still running and still banging loud with the heat, even one year later.
I’ve blown a fuse a couple of times but to reset is a simple press of a button from the back of fridge.
Have had it for 2 years now. Am wondering if it’s anything like my other fridges which only last 2/3 years before they brake down completely.

1 comment
EvaKool
Evakool I.EvaKool

Good morning, it is best to have the unit assessed. Please contact us at EvaKool to find your local service agent. Kind regards, Tracey- EvaKool Warranty and After Sales Manager.

Hydo

HydoGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Best fridge I have owned.

published

This is my third fridge in my caravan and beats the other two hands down ( Original Elecrtolux 3 way and the rubbish Waeco 135 litre) uses heaps less power and has thick insulation to stop it running non stop. Although only 12v I have also wired up the 240v/12v inverter so that I can hook it up to the 240v power at caravan parks. I am so happy with it I got rid of my waeco car fridge and also bought the dual zone 75 litre car fridge.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
oz4me

oz4meBundaberg

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Frdge excells at what it is suppose to do

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
JimT

JimTIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

EvaKool Platinum 12 Volt Compressor Upright Fridge Freezer

published

Have now been travelling for three months with our brand new EvaKool Platinum 12 Volt Compressor Upright Fridge Freezer and it is performing well. The unit that was shipped to us we found we had trouble adjusting the temperature as it kept freezing the vegetables. We visited the EvaKool office in Caloundra Qld & was given the option to remove it & leave it with them to test & adjust (did not suit as we were living in the van) So instead they sent us away for three days while they pulled a new unit out of stock & conducted the complete tests on it (up ambient 47C!). Called us back, from camping on the Showground at Caboolture, to swap our unit for the new one & no charge! Very satisfied with the after sales service.

1 comment
JimT
JimT

October 2015 & the EvaKool Platinum is still performing well & our solar system is coping very easily with its operation.
Jim T

Questions & Answers

STEVE K.

STEVE K.asked

Platinum DC110 (110L)

Brought the fridge about 7 months ago seems to draw a lot of power have to run the fridge on 5 or 6 just to keep food fresh any lower and things like milk go of

2 answers
Cu2
Cu2

If it’s hot that’s what you need to do. Put the fridge side, facing away from the sun, that helps. However if temperature is in the 22 deg. during the day and cooler at night that’s the best economy and you can turn it down to round 2-3.
If it’s not working well I’d be ringing the manufacture.

STEVE K.
STEVE K.

If I turn it down to two or three food and milk go off also checked the fridge with a watt meter it’s drawing over 5amps not good

David and Deidre

David and Deidreasked

Platinum DC210 (210L)

We are having problems with our 210L purchased 4 months ago, has been working well up until a week ago, was running the thermostat control between 4 and 5, any higher and the fridge compartment would get to zero. However now the fridge runs between 6 and 10 degrees with the control flat out, the ice in the freezer was melting, no fault lights are showing as per owners manual. The unit is now with the local service agent authorised by Evakool and they are telling me they have had a logger on it and all is ok, our unit also gurgles constantly, but has done right from the first, according to the owners manual this is normal. Wondering if any one has had similar problems?

3 answers
Rob Mac
Rob Mac

Call Evakool on the numbers they included in their reply to your question... they are now helpful

EvaKool
Evakool I.EvaKool

Hi David and Deidre, Please can you contact us directly at EvaKool so we can talk you through the questions you have with your unit. Our office number is 07 5492 7777. Kind regards, Tracey- Warranty and After Sales Manager

EvaKool
Evakool I.EvaKool

Hi Rob, Thank you for the kind words. Always happy to help. Kind regards, Tracey- Warranty and After Sales Manager

David and Deidre

David and Deidreasked

Platinum DC210 (210L)

We are having problems with our 210L purchased 4 months ago, has been working well up until a week ago, was running the thermostat control between 4 and 5, any higher and the fridge compartment would get to zero. However now the fridge runs between 6 and 10 degrees with the control flat out, the ice in the freezer was melting, no fault lights are showing as per owners manual. The unit is now with the local service agent authorised by Evakool and they are telling me they have had a logger on it and all is ok, our unit also gurgles constantly, but has done right from the first, according to the owners manual this is normal. Wondering if any one has had similar problems?

2 answers
Rob Mac
Rob Mac

Our unit did a similar thing and we found the temperature thermistor in the fridge was faulty...it is easy to diagnose with a multimeter.
It was replaced with an air thermistor and all good.
The repair agent said Evakool had issues with the existing thermistors and were changing all new units to air thermistors.

EvaKool
Evakool I.EvaKool

Hi David and Deidre, please can you contact us at EvaKool so that we an assist you further. Kind regards, Tracey- EvaKool Warranty and After Sales Manager 07 5492 7777 or warranty@evakool.com

Get an answer from our members and EvaKool representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.