??!
10 photos
Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical

Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical

E450 Series and RF450 Series
3.5 from 26 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
9
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
7

Sass

SassNorthern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Leakage Problem-Previously Loved!

published

Purchased in September 2008 for $1,322.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers

Brett

Brett

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Simple and cool

published

I previously bought a LG fridge and freezer with twin barn doors and bottom freezer I never had so many problems with that fridge In my life, the company was terrible to deal with and after the 4th time of breaking down in under 15 months and no real explanation from this very rude company I worked out what LG stood for (Life isn’t really that Good) I choose to buy a separate Fisher and Payless upright fridge and the same freezer units well that was about 5 years ago and I have never had any issues with either of these and cannot recommend this company enough for providing an excellent product, especially with my 6 kids in and out of them continuously every day.

Date PurchasedMar 2014
Allisha

AllishaYARRABILBA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good sized refrigerator for large family

published

This fridge has been great for our family. Unfortunately due to living in a house that has built in fridge area we will need to upgrade soon as having the fridge and freezer in separate rooms of the house is not practical. Keeps temp great and is very easy to clean. Would be nice to have more draw areas and a pull out lever box for tall greens etc. The shelf at the top is not very adjustable but we have worked around this. But having been able to do more evenly spaced shelves would have been great. The door handle however is not very sturdy for something that gets opened on a regular basis. Overall pretty happy with it and feel the price is fairly well suited.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
rod_speed_aaa

rod_speed_aaa

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect

published

Never had the slightest problem with it in all the time I have had it. You can get a bit of a gurgle sound when you close the door in humid weather because there is more water in the evaporation thing on the top of the compressor, but that just a quirk.

Date PurchasedJan 2005

Anonymous

AnonymousDarwin

Terrible fridge, would not recommend

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Ant

Ant

  • 4 reviews

Such a great fridge

published

Never need to change the temp as it maintains an even temp all year round. Very easy to clean and doesn’t make a lot of noise. Easy to open esp for kids. I like all the storage space especially for things like eggs and butter and drinks and other instidentals

Date PurchasedJan 2011

Dawny

DawnyRingwood

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good looking

published

The fridge is a good buy. It is very quiet and no noise at all. The temperature is maintained very well. Plenty of room inside to store all your food stuff. Quite economical to run. Very easy to keep clean. it looks good in my kitchen and doesn't take up too much room.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Lala8838

Lala8838Geelong

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good fridge, our second time with same fridge

published

Very good all-fridge unit, we have the matching freezer unit. We used to have the pair in the smaller size but with our family growing we went and purchased the larger size. We didn't consider other models as we knew from experience the Fisher Paykel did the job very nicely. The only criticism I have is that in both sized models, I found the fridge shelves a bit flimsy. They're plastic (as most fridges are) and they crack or break easily. For both fridges I've had to buy replacement shelves - they aren't expensive but it's a pain. Still, this is an excellent family fridge.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Teza

TezaMaryborough

  • 5 reviews

Lots of room

published

Good fridge for space if you keep a lot of food, its quiet and keeps great temp. There is lots of room for big bottles and veggie storage is a good size. The door also has lots of room for sauces and jars makes things easy to find. I'd recommend it .

Date PurchasedDec 2015
katfield80

katfield80

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

perfect fridge!

published

I love this fridge! with a large family I couldn't live without this fridge! I had read reviews it was noisy. I can hear it more than the last fridge but it certainly doesn't keep me awake at night.
i was worried about the stainless steel but it's so easy to keep clean. just wipe it over with a damp cloth. had it for 9 months now and looks just as good as the day i bought it.
everything keeps well in it. drinks are cold and fruit and veg are crisp. the only thing that would better it was if it were to have 2 veg crispers.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Chaz

ChazMannum

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Fisher Paykel the best

published

I have had this product for a while and we even forget it's there it's so quiet and efficient. I have often recommended Fisher Paykel to family and friends when they have been replacing their broken appliances. The temperature control is excellent through all compartments and it's so easy to clean the see through fronts on the drawers is a bonus, you don't have to open every drawer to find what you need.

Date PurchasedJun 1997

Michelle

Michelle

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect family size

published

This fridge is excellent for a medium family. It's quiet and has well organized storage space. The temperature control remains even and the glass shelves make for easy viewing of what is behind the front items. The doors have adjustable dividers which I like for separating wine from milk or juice.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Jan K

Jan Kgrovedale

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very good for price

published

Very good at keeping even temperature, needs better lighting for lower shelves, bottle shelves are great.Very quiet and seals well. Shelves are very strong and have lots of adjustment. Very easy to clean. Being all fridge is great for family functions heaps of room for larger items like platters etc

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Old Engineer

Old EngineerGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

A succession of failed refrigerators.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015
3 comments
Old Engineer
Old Engineer

To their credit, Fisher and Paykel inspected this fridge today and have agreed to replace it. I hope the third fridge is a good one.

Old Engineer
Old Engineer

It's nearly two weeks since the replacement Fisher & Paykel fridge was delivered . It's working well. Its bigger than the original as the original size is no longer made. To their credit, Fisher & Paykel have stood by their original warranty.

Old Engineer
Old Engineer

Six weeks after the final replacement fridge was installed and it's still working well. Hopefully Fisher and Paykel have got it right.

Tom Hoonhout

Tom HoonhoutPerth Western Australia

  • 5 reviews

So far so good

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Nothing but trouble

published

On taking out of the box after purchase, the handle was not screwed on properly - only the top. The door wouldn't close properly, even after re-adjustment by qualified fridge technician. Continually leaks water out through the bottom of the fridge despite checking drainage outlets on back of the fridge. The coating finish over the steel is deteriorating & peeling off - most unattractive! Has been a real disappointment. The matching freezer though has been trouble-free.

Date PurchasedJan 2002

Stay clear

published

This is my second one I have bought due to size requirements. First one died at about 5 years. Second one has started to fail after 18 mths. Door won't close properly and now incessant beeping. I will not buy Fisher and Parkyl again. My F&P chest freezer and front end loader also died on 5 years


Karen

KarenSydney

Only Fit for Landfill

published

Fridge completely failed 6 times in 8.5 years in total (first failure @ 2 months old). It was repaired by F&P 5 times (3 repairs under warranty) but same problem persisted and fridge constantly froze entire contents without warning. On the 6th time, they told me it was not worth fixing any longer. I threw out so much lost food and wasted time off work. F&P refused a replacement and insisted I purchase a new one from them because this one not worth repairing any longer. Stay away from their fridges unless you have unlimited tolerance and endless time on your hands to waste.

2 comments
Fisher & Paykel
Fisher&PaykelFisher & Paykel

Hello Karen, I would like to look into your concerns further. Can you please e-mail me with your details to customer.care@fp.com.au Attn : Denise. I look forward to hearing from you.

Karen
Karen

Nicola G.

Nicola G.Perth

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great fridge - no problems at all!

published

Harry_Harrison

Harry_HarrisonSYDNEY

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Do not buy. Customer service atrious.

published

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Maria

Mariaasked

I am chasing a dairy lid for the top left hand side of the door. can you please tell me if i can purchase one

No answers

David D

David Dasked

Has anyone had a problem with the fridge beeping although the door is closed and the temperature appears to be cold?

No answers

dbs

dbsasked

why is water under crispers and where is drain hole

2 answers
Sass
Sass

The moisture collected inside the cabinet should drain out & down the back of the fridge into the tray sitting at the base of the fridge, at the back. If the drainage line, which you can’t see blocks as it does over time with stagnant sediment then it should drain if you unblock. When the drain line blocks I think the water drips into the front of the fridge and down to settle under the crisper draw. If you look inside the fridge cabinet you can see the droplets making their way down. Unfortunately we haven’t been able to access behind the internal back wall to see what is happening. We have though found the hole up into the drain at the back. It is a tiny little rubber flange that is tucked up into the metal plate above the drip tray at the back. You need to practically stand on your head to find it with a torch! A piece of thin wire can be pushed through the flange, it is little slits in it, and threaded up. Again unfortunately this has only provided temporary relief from the slow but insidious gathering of water under the crisper. There must be a tray or collection point behind the internal back wall that flows into the drain and then down into base tray that is also probably needing cleaning but how to get to it, who knows?
Hope this helps if not solves problem.

Grant W.
Grant W.

Good explanation of getting the damn panel off
http://users.tpg.com.au/pschamb/refrigerator_repair.html


Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Details

Fisher & Paykel E450RXFD1 (Stainless Steel, Right Door)

Fisher & Paykel E450RXFD1 (Stainless Steel, Right Door)

No reviews
Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical E450RXFD (Stainless Steel, Right Door)
  • Discontinued

Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical E450RXFD (Stainless Steel, Right Door)

6 reviews
Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical RF450SLDW1 (White, Left Door)

Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical RF450SLDW1 (White, Left Door)

No reviews
Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical E450RWW (White, Right Door)
  • Discontinued

Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical E450RWW (White, Right Door)

6 reviews
Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical E450RMFD (Iridium, Right Door)
  • Discontinued

Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical E450RMFD (Iridium, Right Door)

1 review
Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical E450LXFD (Stainless Steel, Left Door)
  • Discontinued

Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical E450LXFD (Stainless Steel, Left Door)

2 reviews
Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical E450LWW (White, Left Door)
  • Discontinued

Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical E450LWW (White, Left Door)

8 reviews
Fisher & Paykel RF450SRDW1 (White, Right Door)

Fisher & Paykel RF450SRDW1 (White, Right Door)

No reviews
Fisher & Paykel E450LXFD1 (Stainless Steel, Left Door)

Fisher & Paykel E450LXFD1 (Stainless Steel, Left Door)

No reviews
Fisher & Paykel E450LW1 (White, Left Door)

Fisher & Paykel E450LW1 (White, Left Door)

No reviews
Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical E450RW1 (White, Right Door)

Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical E450RW1 (White, Right Door)

1 review
CategoryUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,099$1,899$1,899$2,099$1,899$1,899
Dimensions 1695 x 635 x 695 mm1695 x 635 x 735 mm1695 x 635 x 695 mm1695 x 635 x 695 mm1695 x 635 x 735 mm1695 x 635 x 695 mm1695 x 635 x 715 mm1695 x 635 x 715 mm
Energy Rating2 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people4-5 people3-4 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people3-4 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people
Colour / Finish Stainless SteelStainless SteelWhiteWhiteIridiumStainless SteelWhiteWhiteStainless SteelWhiteWhite
Handle Type External External External External External External External External External External External
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlassGlassGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves77444754
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins 111
Door Hinge RightRightLeft RightRightLeft Left RightLeft Left Right
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 451 L451 L415 L451 L451 L451 L451 L415 L451 L451 L451 L
Fridge Capacity 451 L451 L415 L451 L451 L451 L451 L415 L451 L451 L451 L
Freezer Capacity 0 L0 L0 L0 L0 L0 L0 L0 L0 L0 L0 L
Release dateSep 2006Sep 2006Sep 2006Sep 2006Sep 2018
Replaced byFisher & Paykel E450RXFD1 (Stainless Steel, Right Door)Fisher & Paykel 451L Vertical E450RW1 (White, Right Door)Fisher & Paykel E450LXFD1 (Stainless Steel, Left Door)Fisher & Paykel E450LW1 (White, Left Door)

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.