?
? !
1 photo
Ford Falcon AU

Ford Falcon AU (1998-2002)

4.3 from 30 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.3

30 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (3)
  • Braking
    4.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (3)
  • Handling
    4.3 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next

Need my car

published

My ex is locked up with my car key and it's registered in his name but I bought it how do I get a new key or get it back to my home address

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Boiling and spitting water out

published

I have a Ford falcon au1 xr6 Ute. At times it seems to boil over. Temperature gauge is sitting at 1/4. The radiator and pipes are only 6 years old, I just put a new water pump in thinking that was the issue. It doesn't do it all the time but mainly when it's been driven for a couple hours straight I'm about due just to scrap it

Purchased in August 2010 for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Josh A.

Josh A.Central, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unkillable

published

Got a spare $500 then you got an AU. She will never let you down. I have owned 4 in total. Had one that o converted to manual and it was the best car i have owned to date. Nicer to drive than a manual fgx xr6 and oh did I give it 4 years of hell, not that an au cares how bad you treat it.

Purchased in August 2011 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wagons

Find out how Ford Falcon AU compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

cruise control

published

sI have a 2001 ford falcon forte au the cruise control doesn,t work I cant find the problem my self I have tried to find the relay switch on line and cant it keeps blowing fuses for some reason anyone know why

TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
chris
chris

Anyone please

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Neil

NeilNew South Wales

Reliable and economical

published

Have had two AU Falcon wagons. The First One dual fuel I put 500000km on clock until gas computer died. Very reliable cars with beautiful interior unlike the later Falcons which seem more plastic inside. So good that I purchased a second wagon a year ago which was well looked after by a pensioner. Very economic on petrol if driven light footed I constantly get 8.7 L/100 combined running. Extremely reliable and comfortable cars that are tremendous value for money.

Purchased in January 2018 for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bren

BrenGold coast

Car has no spark

published

Use car daily and for everything work sports going out long trips service car my self all I have had to do is change oil and brakes as I said it is a evert day user helps me a work too be cause it has a tow bar which is handy

BodySedan
BadgeForte
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Skyla

SkylaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

AU XR6 Tickford Spec

published

Hand built Engine, made in Australia for Australian conditions. This car has done over 200,000 kms and still has around 300,000 more to go, its held up extremely well, and requires almost no maintenance, the electronics in the car still work great. Has the original dash and everything. The build quality on these model and year are fantastic, if you can find one thats in reasonably well kept condition even at higher KM's you should pick it up. The only thing people dont like about the series 1 AU is the bug eye lights, which personally I love.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6 Limited Edition
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matt

MattAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Stay away

published
BodySedan
BadgeXR8
Engine Size5.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2002
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joe

JoeMelbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

Perfection at it's finest

published

I love my car use it on daily and a track car, never missed a beat , strongest car I've owned )ticking strong at 600,00km, , (owned daweoos to porches) and so far this is the greatest machine , A true drivers car ,
Goods : strong
: Cheap
: Parts are free/cheap and everywhere
: Very fun to drive
: Safe car
: if dual fuel good on fuel cost
: Parts are compatible with other models
: Easy to fix
: Rarity of tickford models

BodySedan
BadgeXR6 VCT Sprint
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2002
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wagons

Find out how Ford Falcon AU compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bee

BeeSYDNEY

i love my car!

published

Hi I am just wondering why my car horn is going off all the time for no reason, it went off today while I was driving and people thought I was honking at them!!! and im getting honked at and sworn at, its like you've just got your hand on the horn

BodySedan
BadgeClassic Futura
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Manni

ManniSt.Albans

Good reliable car

published

I use my for my family or my self everyday. And I done every time service on time some time bet late but it's good car relable. Mechanic never mentioned any big issue.but it's old car .that's way some time sadenley problem. May next one again I will buy ford car.

BodySedan
BadgeForte
Engine Size5.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Best car i have ever owned..

published

My 1999 AU Fairmont is the best car i have ever owned.I have owned 27 cars in 19 years, various makes and models, but the most reliable, cheap maintenance cost, comfortable, smooth, car i will never sell is my Fairmont. It truly is an amazing car, and 100% reliable, with very minor mechanical issues, and in 10 years of ownership i consider it a honour to have such a amazing car, now 220,000 on the clock and i know it will last another 500,000 km.

BodySedan
BadgeForte
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 1999
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Won't start

published

Recently changed a brake line (has the 3 line set up From the booster) sat for about a week.
Chucked a battery in it, went to start it and nothing, first time turning the key to (starting position) comes up with a Code on dash that reads (base) then goes away once you turn key of to try again. Also when the key is in the firing position to start a brake symbol comes up.

Checked all relays, fuses ect ect
Battery is fully charged, I have disconnected the abs (was running fine after that)
Also used to be gas
Cheers guys

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dogs are the best.

Dogs are the best.Sydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

The best Tickford enhanced XR8

published

I have always owned Ford's, mostly Falcons. The AUII XR8 sedan I currently drive is one of the sweetest cars I have owned. Iv'e always loved the design & the 220kw Windsor in the last series 2 & in all series 3. The steering & handling is excellent, many say better than B & F series Falcons. The brakes are adequate but for those wanting more, later model big brake packages bolt straight on. Whilst the adaptive shift auto does the job, purests will prefer the 5 speed manual which really gets the little Windsor singing nicely. I strongly suggest upgrading the exhaust system if the car your looking at has the original factory system. For those looking for something a bit special, check out the T series from the same era.

BodySedan
BadgeXR8
Engine Size5.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2001
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CrazyCamper2000

CrazyCamper2000Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

automatic 1998 AU falcon low revs when in gear

published

when putting the car into drive or reverse the revs drop rapidly including when sometimes when stopping it also drops revs but it fine when driving at speed limits. i have checked the spark plugs and have changed the spark plug leads it still occurs, how would this be fixed and what causes it?

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wagons

Find out how Ford Falcon AU compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matthew H

Matthew HSouth Australia, 5162

Great car. Here's how to get radio code for free and how to enter code.

published
BodySedan
BadgeXR8
Engine Size5.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave of WA

Dave of WAPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

Good alrounder, Classy Fairmont, best bang for buck out there.

published

These are a very solid A to B vehicle. Plenty of power and surprisingly economical we have 2 for our 20, 22 yr olds who are at uni. They love them. We looked at smaller cars but $6k small car is a joke compared to a $2k AU Falcon
One of our cars is a Fairmont - wow- classy interior like like no other. The paint has peeled off on one of them but as these are about value for money, reliability and safety it matters not. Very easy to service. If you are looking for fundamental transport- get one of these.

BodySedan
BadgeFutura
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2004
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adam

AdamSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great value

published
BodySedan
BadgeForte
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Eric

EricPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

An outstanding Ford.

published
BodySedan
BadgeForte
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Pretty good

published
BodySedan
BadgeFairmont
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Ford Falcon reviews

Questions & Answers

Mark

Markasked

Falcon AU (1998-2002)

I’m here in the uk and bought a au111 falcon ute and all of a sudden the immobiliser will just cut in and it won’t start.. at around 100 dollars a go a bloke will come out and clear fault codes and then it will go again ..!!! Can I just get rid of immobiliser ? Anyone had this problem ? Can someone help a homesick Aussie bloke out ?? Thanks Mark

No answers
allan

allanasked

Falcon AU (1998-2002)

where is blinker fuse

No answers
Margie T.

Margie T.asked

Falcon AU (1998-2002)

Hi there I'm having problem with starting

No answers
See all Ford Falcon AU (1998-2002) questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Falcon AU (1998-2002)

Details

Compare all 6 Ford Falcon
CategoryCars, Wagons and Sedans
Starting Price $30,690
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels15" Steel
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 68 L
Engine6 Cylinder 4L
Max Power157kW @ 4900rpm
Max Torque357Nm @ 4900rpm
Country of ManufactureAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 1998
Discontinuation dateDec 2002
Compare all 6 Ford Falcon

Other Wagons

Previous
Next

See all Wagons

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.