?
? !
31 photos
Ford Ranger

Ford Ranger

PX.I, PK, PJ, PX.II / PX.III
3.3 from 315 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.2 (51)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (49)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (48)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (50)
  • Braking
    3.8 (49)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (50)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (50)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (49)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (49)
  • Handling
    3.6 (49)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (49)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (37)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (47)
  • Features
    3.7 (46)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail

Becoming very concerned

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Troy Peterson

Troy PetersonHunter Region, NSW

Blown engine

published

At 189 000 kms valve blew piston crack still have finance owing over 13 thousand to repair for a new engine
I’ve only had the car for 1 year 3 months nsw fair trading will not help as I’ve owned it over 1 year I’m stuck

Purchased in October 2019 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pierre

PierreSydney, NSW

no spare parts

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Ford Ranger compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gerry

GerrySydney, NSW

Transmission Failure After 60,000km

published

Transmission replacement required on Ford ranger wildtrak after 60,000km. Failed while under extended warranty.
Ford has declined to pay for replacement in full.

Full Service History-never towed, never been offroad.

Transmission should’nt need replacing after 60,000km.

Purchased in January 2016 at Suttons.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stace

StaceSouth East Queensland, QLD

Cannot remove key from ignition

published

Hi all,
I’m hoping someone(s) knows how to fix this.
My key cannot be removed from the ignition, the dash has the Parking P light flashing!
Gear stick is in Park!
Still key will not come out
I tried the little button near the gear level.
Still key will not come
out.
I jiggled and wiggled the key while brake peddle was push still no joy.
What ya think?

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lenny

Lenny

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Looks the part, stacks of power and drives well when it’s going... But!

published

I use this car for general day to day and towing a boat occasionally to the river
The car currently has 5000k when referring to this review
Good points: Comfort 5/5, Power 5/5, Styles and Features 4/5
Bad points: No vents for rear seat passengers. No Blind spot warning on mirrors.
Alarming issues: Had massive Diesel leak from Filter in engine bay caused road hazard. Fluid went everywhere in engine bay and down side of vehicle. Smell went throughout the cabin and still remains.

Concussion: Dealer fixed faults under warranty, but new car smell is replaced with diesel smell
Dealer support- Very average 2/5

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
PaulH

PaulH

  • 2 reviews

Blown Engine

published

Purchased a 2.2lt manual Ford Ranger new. Just under 200 000Km later with all highway driving, approximately 120km per day and the engine blew. Faulty injector which put a hole in the piston with no warning signs. Contacted Ford who refused to investigate because the car was not serviced at Ford, although all services were completed on time/distance. Can not believe a $43000 vehicle only lasted 6 years, Ford Australia never again!

Purchased in December 2014 for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brett

BrettSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great truck for the money

published

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
James B.

James B.Perth, WA

Great Tourer, Daily and offroad capabilities

published

Had my ranger for a long time. I use it as a daily, tourer and do some serious 4wding. Never let me down. Only major item i've had to replace is the crank sensor. Though i do get it serviced regularly every 10,000km

Purchased in May 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Ford Ranger compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mario Siketa

Mario SiketaSouthwest, VIC

RANGER BUYER BEWARE

published

Purchased in June 2016 at Rex Gorell.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Back seat comfort

published

Just driven from Hawkes Bay to Tirau, can’t feel my right leg, numb bum and sore back. Only seat that’s good is the drivers. Poor for comfort. Kids always complain now I know why.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mark s.

mark s.Sydney, NSW

Disappointed to say the least

published

Purchased in February 2016 at Ford Dealers for $56,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bronwyn M.

Bronwyn M.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don't buy Ford if you expect Quality or Service

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Brad Garlick Ford for $80,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JMD71

JMD71South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 12 likes

Absolutely the worst car I’ve ever bought

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JustUs

JustUs

  • 5 reviews

Is it just me or is this a freak off-road??!?

published

Purchased in January 2012 at Ford Dealers for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Ford Ranger compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Skippydiesel

SkippydieselSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great Car

published

Purchased in July 2016 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
grant

grant

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent ute for my use.

published

I've had the Ranger 3 weeks now, can not fault it in any way. The 2.0 engine is better in every way than the 3.2 I had previously and the gearbox is great too. I've towed a 2 ton trailer a couple of times and it's performed flawlessly. The suspension is incredibly comfortable, the 20.75 updates have worked wonders. FordPass is also a nice feature, love that I can warm up my car from the comfort of my home in the mornings. Also: I don't expect to be able to tow 3.5 tons all day every day without any problems. That is NOT what these utes are meant to do. Use some common sense and buy a Ram or an F150 if you're towing 3.5 tons regularly. Once I've got a few km on the clock will come back and update the review if there are any problems.

Purchased in September 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steve

SteveSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Rubbish after sales warranty service. Mine has been in the Ford Dealers workshop 6 weeks Now

published

General private use, used daily, always serviced on time, reversing camera not working properly, Ford Dealer somehow destroyed the computer system trying to fix it, ordered a new one under warranty and can’t get that to work. My car has been in the Ford workshop 6 weeks now

Purchased in June 2017 at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JUDD H.

JUDD H.Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

2013 Px1 xl 4×4 manual

published

Brought the ranger xl 250,000km January 2019 , love it added a few xtras catch can pre fuel fitler ...
First diesel i have owned and the fuel economy is about 750-800 a tank(80 litres tank) fill up the tub level with firewood can barely notice the weight.
Now in August had 1 small drama no 1st 2nd or reverse, turn out its a common problem 45mm m8 bolt droped off the gear selector because ford didnt use loctite , have been inbetween nsw and vic a few times it loves the open road

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Benji

BenjiNew Zealand

  • 2 reviews

Engine blew up at 130,000km

published

Avoid at all costs, engine blew up at only 130000 km - tinny build, have had car since new and treated it like gold - don’t buy one of these avoid avoid avoid

Purchased in April 2013 for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 16

Questions & Answers

Jesus B

Jesus Basked

Ranger PX.II / PX.III (2015-2021)

My 2016 ranger has developed a slight whistle under load

No answers
Richard S.

Richard S.asked

Ranger

If you have a long-range fuel tank fitted with your purchase is the fuel gauge re-calibrated?

No answers
Ryan fisher

Ryan fisherasked

Ranger PJ (2007-2009)

I have a problem with a 2008 3l ford ranger. When you turn the key you only get the battery light, oil persure light and its takes about 10 turn of the key to get the glow plug light and the check engine light. We have checked the glow plugs and all fine and still have the problem and its getting worse just seeing if someone could help me out cheers

No answers
See all Ford Ranger questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Ranger

Details

Compare all 14 Ford Ranger
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price $65,617$70,707$85,755$53,067
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy16" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 2 to 4442 to 4
Seats 4 to 5552 to 5
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km8.2 L/100km8.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L80 L80 L80 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L Bi-Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 2.0L Bi-Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 2.0L Bi-Turbo Diesel5 Cylinder 3.2L Turbo Diesel
Max Power157kW @ 3750rpm157kW @ 3750rpm157kW @ 3750rpm147kW @ 3000rpm
Max Torque500Nm @ 1750-2000rpm500Nm @ 1750-2000rpm500Nm @ 1750-2000rpm470Nm @ 1750-2500rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg2,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Tray TypePick UpPick UpPick UpCab Chassis and Pick Up
Cab Options Dual and ExtraDualDualDual, Extra and Single
Maximum Payload1,003 kg954 kg758 kg1,313 kg
Ground Clearance237 mm237 mm283 mm232 mm
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance237 mm237 mm283 mm232 mm
Release dateJuly 2015July 2015July 2015July 2015
Compare all 14 Ford Ranger

Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next

See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.