??!

Reviews

(92)
(74)
(31)
(36)
(60)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (25)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (25)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (25)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (26)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (26)
  • Handling
    3.7 (25)
  • Braking
    4.0 (25)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (25)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.5 (26)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (25)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (25)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (20)
  • Features
    3.9 (24)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (25)


Great work vehicle.

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Dom

DomHobart, TAS

Clutch slave cylinder

published

Purchased in November 2015 at Ford Beaudesert for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Peter

PeterCentral Queensland, QLD

Sold as quiet but makes noise after 4k replaced trans same again

published

I bought the 2.0 bi-turbo Wildtrak as sold as quiet smooth etc after owning a Amarok. After 3-4k it started to make a horrible vibration like noise. After it's 15k service the transmission was replaced. A further 3k and the noise is back again. This time Ford's response is "Oh it's a commercial vehicle and that noise is acceptable." Even though prior salesman and service supervisor agreed it wasn't right and after all we sell this vehicle as being quiet and comfortable and fit for purpose of driving like a sedan to being a basic laborers hack depending on the model you buy.

Purchased in March 2019.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Brenden

BrendenAlice Springs, NT

  • 7 reviews

Seriously reconsider if buying a Ranger for towing.

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Jarvis Cars for $70,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

This is a big ?

published

Had a colorado previously lease was up looked at all reviews on YouTube ranger was The winner most of the time . So I got one .
Very car like suspension to soft to dangerous when loaded and very dangerous when towing 3.5 ton it's like you in a boat. It's like a bodybuilder on steroids ford ranger . In 45 degree heat day it's like the car starts to buckle opening doors making noise. To get car up to good tow stability you have to spend thousands why . I miss my Hercules colorado.

Purchased in September 2019 at Ford Dealers for $62,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

SMO

SMOHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

2019 Bi Turbo Wildtrak 10 speed auto

published

I previously had a 2016 model Ford Ranger Wildtrak with 3.2L 6 speed transmission. Whilst I was very happy with it for the 3 years it did get a few electronics gremlins.
So I traded it in for the 2019 bi turbo 2L with 10 speed auto Wildtrak.

At first I had doubts about the small 4 cylinder but they were quickly dispelled. It out performs the old 3.2L by a country mile...much more responsive engine and so much quieter. The real difference is noticeable when towing. The 2L bie turbo simply out performs the 3.2 in all aspects. Gear ratios perfect.

Purchased in September 2019 at Ford Dealers for $62,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Tyler M.

Tyler M.Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews

engine and transmission light on

published

i have the ranger px 2012 2.2 6 speed manual both lights are on but doesn't seem to have issue shifting gears on has no power in the top end about to take her in only 4 months after the slave cylinder went and about 8 months after the carbon emission censor and lights wiring needed to be fixed ive probably spent almost as much as the car whilst paying it off whats anyone opinion on a reliable car these days.

Purchased in June 2016 for $32,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Lindsay

LindsaySouth East Queensland, QLD

Great ute so far, dealer is rubbish

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Ford Dealers for $44,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
goose2001

goose2001Perth, Western Australia

  • 6 reviews

Great vehicle

published

Daily commute to cbd weekends and to farm. Had hilux previous but the ranger rides so much better off road on corrugated roads. It is more comfortable interior and feels like a car. Adaptive cruise is amazing, use it everywhere, though lane assist is stupid and never use that. Got the wildtrak, pricey but love it so far.

Purchased in January 2018 at Nuford for $69,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ford Ranger engine issues

published

Regularly serviced XLT, taken great care of my car. I have had minor issues such as loose gear shift. But this is ridiculous, oil lamp lights up and on the way to the mechanic, 2 min drive away, I hear a thumping noise in the engine....
Mechanic tells me Ive done the engine.
Low oil pressure due to variable flow oil pump. Im finding out that this is a very common issue. A known defect that Consumer Affairs knows about and Ford Australia will not help due to vehicle being out of warranty...
NOT HAPPY

Purchased in April 2012.

TransmissionManual

Absolutely rubbish

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Ford Dealers for $53,000.00.

Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
See all answers

Good car BUT most dangerous I have ever owned.

published

This is 2019 model Wildtrack with auto emergency braking. This system recently activated while overtaking a semi trailer at 105 Kph on a straight road (with a 110 Kph limit). This caused a very serious situation with the computer taking control of the vehicle. I have reported this to ford and it wasn’t given the appropriate attention it deserved given the serious natural of this incident.
Other than this problem, I have enjoyed and been happy with vehicle. If I could permanently override this auto system I would be happy to keep the car. Otherwise I am considering selling.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ford Ranger PX Auto FAILURE

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Paul M.

Paul M.Central, SA

  • 3 reviews

Great value allrounder

published

I have the super cab, 3.0L TDi, 5 speed manual, 4x2 Hi-Rider 2008 model. Never owned a diesel vehicle before & I can't believe how smooth & punchy this engine is, especially considering the ute weighs over 1700 kg & can tow 3 tonne. I'm getting 8.8 to 9.5 L/100km regularly in the country depending how I drive it. Probably can't expect much better from an 11 year old vehicle with similar load carrying & towing capabilities. From the research I've done, sounds like the 3.0L motor may have been one of the best in the range.

Purchased in March 2019 for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Buddha

Buddha Victoria

Others are better

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers
mark

markNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 5 reviews

Rear Seal

published

Son one may help got my 2017 Ranger back from a 75000 service would the main rear seal be under warranty as I have a 5yr warranty so one would assume it would be .When picked up the truck no service people there to ask only salespeople was planning to go up to Broome on Monday morning towing a caravan?? Maybe

Purchased in December 2017 at Cardiff Ford for $54,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Tales04

Tales04Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

A must for a tough truck

published

We have had our mk2 2017 ranger wildtrack now for 6 months and must say for looks grunt leisure and ease of drive I can’t stress enough this is a must! We use it everyday to work an back to kids sports and it never misses a beat. It drives smooth and sweet on the road has all the mod-cons and more to make your daily commute a dream.on weekends we off-road and the fun and excitement it brings is enormous.so if your after a all round versatile stylish truck this ones for you!

Purchased at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Greg

GregHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Ute

published

I have just purchased the Ford Wildtrac after owning Holden utes, and this is a nice Ute to drive on or off road. I have towed a mini excavator to site and it has a lot of grunt. This would match if not exceed my Holdens performance.

Purchased in December 2018 for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

The ute of the decade

published

This is the best ute ever.Very good on the diesel. And how's our 20 foot caravan with no problems at all with 5 of us included.Low maintenance and the reliable.

Purchased in January 2019 at Brighton Ford for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mark Barnes

Mark BarnesDarwin, NT

  • 3 reviews

Great value for money Ute.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Chadstone Ford for $58,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

brett

brettasked

I’m about to upgrade my ranger and I’m looking at the 2 lt biturbo model
Question I have is in regard to towing with this engine
My 2015 px11 xlt 3.2 tow fantastic and has been great

1 answer
Peter
Peter

The Vehicle is Fantastic for towing, absolutely no complaints there...


Adam

Adamasked

hi everyone,i have 2019 px.III wildtrak.i bought 14 months ago got 28k on the clock.recently i have seen puddle of clear hot water leak underneath the car when i use the heater.pressure checked and serviced everything seems normal they said (ford service) anyone having same problem as mine with their ranger?did’t have this water leak in 14 months and started happening a week ago.

No answers

Boeta

Boetaasked

Where do I get the starter relay (location)?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.