??!

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
90
4 star
72
3 star
30
2 star
34
1 star
58

Ford Ranger engine issues

published

Regularly serviced XLT, taken great care of my car. I have had minor issues such as loose gear shift. But this is ridiculous, oil lamp lights up and on the way to the mechanic, 2 min drive away, I hear a thumping noise in the engine....
Mechanic tells me Ive done the engine.
Low oil pressure due to variable flow oil pump. Im finding out that this is a very common issue. A known defect that Consumer Affairs knows about and Ford Australia will not help due to vehicle being out of warranty...
NOT HAPPY

Purchased in April 2012.

TransmissionManual

Absolutely rubbish

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Ford Dealers for $53,000.00.

Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
See all answers

Good car BUT most dangerous I have ever owned.

published

This is 2019 model Wildtrack with auto emergency braking. This system recently activated while overtaking a semi trailer at 105 Kph on a straight road (with a 110 Kph limit). This caused a very serious situation with the computer taking control of the vehicle. I have reported this to ford and it wasn’t given the appropriate attention it deserved given the serious natural of this incident.
Other than this problem, I have enjoyed and been happy with vehicle. If I could permanently override this auto system I would be happy to keep the car. Otherwise I am considering selling.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ford Ranger PX Auto FAILURE

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Paul M.

Paul M.Central, SA

  • 3 reviews

Great value allrounder

published

I have the super cab, 3.0L TDi, 5 speed manual, 4x2 Hi-Rider 2008 model. Never owned a diesel vehicle before & I can't believe how smooth & punchy this engine is, especially considering the ute weighs over 1700 kg & can tow 3 tonne. I'm getting 8.8 to 9.5 L/100km regularly in the country depending how I drive it. Probably can't expect much better from an 11 year old vehicle with similar load carrying & towing capabilities. From the research I've done, sounds like the 3.0L motor may have been one of the best in the range.

Purchased in March 2019 for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Buddha

Buddha Victoria

Others are better

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers

mark

markNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 5 reviews

Rear Seal

published

Son one may help got my 2017 Ranger back from a 75000 service would the main rear seal be under warranty as I have a 5yr warranty so one would assume it would be .When picked up the truck no service people there to ask only salespeople was planning to go up to Broome on Monday morning towing a caravan?? Maybe

Purchased in December 2017 at Cardiff Ford for $54,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Tales04

Tales04Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

A must for a tough truck

published

We have had our mk2 2017 ranger wildtrack now for 6 months and must say for looks grunt leisure and ease of drive I can’t stress enough this is a must! We use it everyday to work an back to kids sports and it never misses a beat. It drives smooth and sweet on the road has all the mod-cons and more to make your daily commute a dream.on weekends we off-road and the fun and excitement it brings is enormous.so if your after a all round versatile stylish truck this ones for you!

Purchased at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Greg

GregHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Ute

published

I have just purchased the Ford Wildtrac after owning Holden utes, and this is a nice Ute to drive on or off road. I have towed a mini excavator to site and it has a lot of grunt. This would match if not exceed my Holdens performance.

Purchased in December 2018 for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

The ute of the decade

published

This is the best ute ever.Very good on the diesel. And how's our 20 foot caravan with no problems at all with 5 of us included.Low maintenance and the reliable.

Purchased in January 2019 at Brighton Ford for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mark Barnes

Mark BarnesDarwin, NT

  • 3 reviews

Great value for money Ute.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Chadstone Ford for $58,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Had enough

Had enoughIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Heap of crap should have kept 2013 BT50

published

2017 XLT ranger Cold start engine knock from 33000km done 60000km now ford can’t find a problem after several check I have recording of the knock and have been told by ford that it’s overfueling 12-13 km/l and towing a 3t van over 6000km 22.7km/l average

Purchased in July 2017 at Harrigan ford.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Had enough
Had enough

elizaross

elizarossGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

I love this car but.........

published

I have the new Ford ranger bi-turbo which I am very happy with. Only fault is I've just clocked up my first 1000 kms and the stop-start does not work anymore. Off to Ford I go.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
See all answers

Buy Toyota.....

published

Purchased in January 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
pickles

picklesHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

poor reception

published

Purchased in February 2019 at singleton for $30,000.00.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Gigi C.

Gigi C.Alice Springs, NT

2012 2.2L Ford Ranger PX - Transmission problems

published

Own a 2012 ford ranger PX 2.2L, started having problems with my gear box so booked it into Ford dealership. They said it was a control sensor selector, replaced that at $3200. Only just got our car out last week Friday from a Ford dealership and was told to drive around for a few days to allow for the new gear control selector to start to work and finds its place .....4 days later driving along at 100kms and transmission shifts down to first gear, wheels lock up, cars revs out and engine and traction control lights comes on. Straight back to ford dealership and was quoted for a new re- conditioned transmission at $6000. Not sure what’s happening but Ford need to own up. This is wrong.

Purchased in February 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
See all answers

Phil L.

Phil L.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great Ute and better than expected

published

Never had a dual cab always had 4x4 wagon , but since driving the Ranger i am converted , goes really well , tows our 2.7 ton van really well and gives great fuel economy

Purchased in June 2018 for $38,996.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

HONEY.

HONEY.Far North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

FORD PX RANGER R.I.P. @ 74,511klms.

published

Purchased in August 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Noam

NoamMurray Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It’s not a raptor it’s Trex

published

Wildtrack with raptor engine and gear box is the way to go
Very comfortable and quiet driving, with great fuel efficiency, very fine finish, clear and nice display, and great safety features, the self park it’s a nice bonus

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mat

MatSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Best care ever!!!

published

Awesome work and towing ute with heaps of space for the family, luggage/tools. Traveled with 5 adults for a 700k round-trip with no complaints.

Recently towed a 2.2 tonne caravan from Canberra to the Gold Coast (return) and average 15l/100k. Typically averages 10l/100k for city and highway driving combined.

Have had no concerns electrically or mechanically. Never misses a beat.

BodyUte
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeWildtrak
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Werner

Wernerasked

i have a 2.2 diesel ford ranger my back right hand side indicator, not working i did put a new lamp. Any help?

No answers

Steve

Steveasked

I have a 2017 Wildtrak 3.2l in an auto and just went in for the brake line recall a week ago and now have been driving it and today noticed on the freeway when u accelerate and it kicks back a gear it starts slipping in and out of gear is this something related to a program update at its last service or a common thing that happens??

No answers

baz

bazasked

How many litres of transmission fluid goes into a 2007 ford ranger transmission 4x4

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.