2 photos
Garnier Olia
2.3 from 90 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hair Dyes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Garnier? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Awful

published

Red roots and too dark ends. Neither colour like the picture on the box. Not happy. My hair is mid to dark brown and the whole lot seems to have gone really dark but I have red roots. Terrible. Off to buy clarifying shampoo hope it works :(

Purchased in September 2021 at Superdrug for $6.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Application
3/5

Didn't cover the grey roots

published

I used the product as directed but the grey roots are still there. And according to their instructions, I can't use it for another 4-6 weeks! Not happy the grey wasn't covered and not happy to wait so long to re-apply.

Purchased for $9.00.

Ease of Application
3/5
Incentivised Review No

Other Hair Dyes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Kimberley W.
Kimberley W.Southwest, VIC

Product left my hair dry and limp

published

I tried Garnier Olia 4.62 Dark Garnet Red recently. The colour is lovely, but the product itself, left my hair dry and in some areas, limp. My hair is naturally curly. It's taken almost a week for my hair's moisture and curl to return. The product needs some sort of protector or bond repair added to help nourish, repair and protect the hair during the colouring process. The developer that comes with the product is too strong, which is also partly to blame. The packet says the developer contains 90ml/ml hydrogen peroxide, which indicates it is 30 vol developer. This strength is too strong for regular colouring. 20 vol developer is all that's needed.

Purchased in July 2021 for $14.99.

Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Application
5/5

didn't cover grey hair

published

I bought 2 sets of dark brown hair dye. The first time it didn't cover the grey hair. I thought it might be my fault. Second time it's the same. Very disappoint.

Purchased in March 2021 at Woolworths for $20.00.

Ease of Application
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Dyes

Find out how Garnier Olia compares to other Hair Dyes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Flat color and immediate damage

published

I followed each step, watch the time and when I washed it out my hair felt dry as hell the color was flat, no shine and scalp it is horrifying.

Stay away from this grand, it will wreck your hair

I know I am gonna need a trip to the salon now.

Ugh,, sooooo disappointing

Purchased in August 2021 for $8.99.

Ease of Application
4/5
Incentivised Review No
MEA
MEAGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Rash on arm, stomach and back after use.

published

I have previously used this product for 2 years after not seeing a hairdresser during covid lock down.

Had no issues until today. Developed a raised rash on my arm, stomach and back immediately after rinsing the colour from my hair.

I have contacted Garnier to confirm if the ingredients gave changed since I first started using the product. Yet to receive a response.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2021 at Woolworths.

Incentivised Review No
Prior Hair Colour Brown
Side effects Yes

Horrible and damaging, don't buy this.

published

I used to have long healthy shiny hair before I messed it up with this product, I'm quite Impressed, I have bleached my hair uncountable times and dyed it with many different box dyes and not anything I've done to my hair has ever damaged it the way this did. It's now super dry, no shine whatsoever. I almost wanted to shave it, but ended up cutting half of it. And on top of it, it came out a different color than it should have, it ended up dark red/brown. And now: the top of my head is dark red, and the bottom is light brown. The red bit just won't fade off, not even hair stylists can fix it. Absolutely terrible, please trust me and don't buy this ever, save your money and hair!

Purchased in March 2021 for $8.62.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Application
3/5

Related Articles

Previous
How to use box dye to colour your hair at home like a pro

If your regular cut and colour appointment is on hold, or if you just want to change up your look while saving some money, we’ve got a handy little guide to help you dye your own hair at home to make your hairdresser proud.

Clara V.
Clara V.17 Aug 2021
how-to-use-box-dye-to-colour-your-hair-at-home-like-a-pro
Next
CandyFairy
CandyFairyDarling Downs, QLD
  • 30 reviews
  • 2 likes

Permanent Colour & Shine!

published

I have naturally dark brown hair and being 37, quite a few greys! I used this on my lightened hair and it was fantastic. It gave the more beautiful deep dark down shade better than my natural shade and my hair was SO shiny afterwards, best hair dye ever!

  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Application
5/5

Other Hair Dyes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Hair Dye and Color are Great - New Packaging is Horrible

published

Purchased in January 2021 for $10.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Application
1/5
Hair Dyes

Find out how Garnier Olia compares to other Hair Dyes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Hair is so damaged:(

published

Purchased in December 2020 at superdrug for $6.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Application
4/5

Horrendous swelling on face and eyes

published

First use with this just returned from clinic with severe swollen eyes, forehead and temples. Never seen anything like it always used colours with ammonia thought this would be better, terrifying waking up with this reaction. Be careful with this.

Purchased in December 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Prior Hair Colour Blonde

Other Hair Dyes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Gloves that won't fit

published

A good product using oils instead of chemicals and leaves a nice smell HOWEVER its let down by the extra small gloves that will only fit my 5 year old granddaughter. I end up with product all over my hands because I can't use the gloves

Purchased in November 2020 for $15.00.

Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Application
1/5
Hair Dyes

Find out how Garnier Olia compares to other Hair Dyes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Much darker than box shade

published

Naturally shade on box, but this dye within 6 minutes begun turning my white hair very dark -- much darker than the box shade. Scary how quickly it turned very dark. Do not recommend.

Purchased in November 2020.

Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Fobbed
FobbedSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Nightmare packaging

published

The first issue is the grey coverage. It doesn't do a thing in the prescribed time so I left the tint on for extra few minutes that resulted the colour over-developing to black everywhere else but the roots where it remained kind of orangey-brown. The second issue is the packaging: with osteoarthritis in the hands, it's impossible to squeeze the stuff out of the slippery over-sized (to look more) and rigid plastic container, so I have to cut the end off with a scissor and scoop the developer cream out with a pop stick. The gloves are very slippery too and one pair is not enough. When it's on sale for half price I still buy it because it doesn't contain ammonia, smells nice and the conditioner makes my wrong colour hair shiny at least.

Purchased in November 2020 at Coles for $11.00.

Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Application
2/5

Pink joke

published

Thank goodness we are in lockdown I wouldn’t like to be seen in public with this awful colour that looks like I have done it for a bet. I am in my 70s but have a young image. My hair has come out a pale shade of lilac so you can imagine that I now look like a member of the blue-rinse set. It was supposed to be very light beige blonde. I recommend you avoid this hair colourant like the plague. Rubbish! As for does my hair shine well it’s totally irrelevant.

Purchased in November 2020.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Application
2/5

Questions & Answers

Dianne
Dianneasked
Olia

#4 Dark brown was too dark so I am trying #5 medium brown I have thin hair on top due to cancer so on top the scalp and grey show a lot
After leaving the color on the top for 30 minutes do I just comb through the rest of the hair then rinse off as the hair is long and thicker
I am afraid that the bottom of the hair will be a different color from the top
Can you advise

Thank
You

No answers
Jayde S.
Jayde S.asked
Olia

Hi I have brought some deep red colour hair dye to dye my hair and I’ve been reading some of the reviews and now I’m unsure I know that everyone’s hair is different but would like a second opinion

No answers
silver
silverasked
Olia

why is light blond hair color being discontinued? I was using with level ten developer for silver/white hair and it works perfectly.

No answers
See all Garnier Olia questions

Get an answer from our members

Garnier Olia

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.