1 photo
Gillette Mach3 Turbo

Gillette Mach3 Turbo

3.0 from 20 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.3 (9)
  • Causes Irritation Yes (3) · No (6)
Previous
Next
Peter S.
Peter S.
  • 2 reviews

Inconsistent quality.

published

I have been using this razor for years. I find that the razors are very inconsistent in quality. Some blades work well for many shaves. Others are useless after two or three shaves. Why is it so ?

Purchased in June 2021 at Costco NSW, Casula for $5.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo

Blade base housing keeps snapping beneath the blades and the blades blunt within days

published

The blade base plastic that then attaches to the stem handle appears to be very thin and hydroscopic, i.e. it rapidly absorbs water then tears and fails after only a few shaves. So if you push down a little with a wet blade as you shave (on thin layer of shaving cream) within a couple of days the entire blade "pops" off and can't be reattached to the handle as the very thin connector plastic at the bottom of each blade tears and can't be reattached. You are then forced to replace the head with a new blade and if you are lucky try again to get another few days out of it. I will also be changing to a different brand after this experience.

Purchased in August 2020 at Coles.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo

Package problem

published

The packaging is a sealed plastic casing. It's not easy to remove.
It requires cutting with scissors. The plastic is relatively thick and the cutting creates sharp corners and edges.
The outcome is that its a hassle.
Why does the packaging need to be this style, with such an outcome?
Steve, Auckland, New Zealand

Purchased in July 2020 at CountDown Deals for $18.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationYes
Men's Shavers / Razors

Find out how Gillette Mach3 Turbo compares to other Men's Shavers / Razors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ezy51
ezy51Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Better than most.

published

I have been using the Mach 3 for years, recently tried other brands and blades as an experiment ( 2 and 5 blade Gillette and Oscar) I have heavy whiskers and find this razor gives the closest shave with no irritation. Never had a problem with dull blades or faulty handle. Not the cheapest but you get what you pay for.

Purchased in January 2010 at Woolworths Physical store for $30.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
Greg B
Greg BSydney, NSW

Better off with cheap Twin Blades!?.

published

I,Thought "I",would try ,the Turbo Razor,for one last try,but was appalled,by the results!.Is there anything any good,anymore?,in the Gillette Range of Shaving Products anymore?.Not to my Experiences!.From now on,it's Bix Stick or Aldi Razors!?.

Purchased in March 2020 at Big W for $7.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
Jared Chinski
Jared ChinskiSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Leaves no cuts & easy to clean

published

I have used Gillette razors for 30 years. I have tried other brands too, but they would always prove inferior in that they would leave more cuts on my face and were harder to clean. However, only Mach 3 felt like a real breakthrough for me: it NEVER cuts my skin and NEVER gets clogged with my bristle. I should mention that my facial hair of less than average density and thickness.

Purchased in June 2017 at Coles for $10.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
Michael C
Michael CPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Razor very flimsy and breaks easily

published

I have broken 5 Mach 3s in just over 2 months. I don't press hard but the razor plastic ends are so flimsy they break very easily. I persisted because I had lots of Mach 3 blades but will now go back to my old Schick. For the price it's a ridiculously expensive product that is so poorly and cheaply made and the the company must be aware of the problem.

Purchased in December 2019 at Coles for $9.65.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo

Wow use less rubbish

published

I have used your razors for a long time i have never complained about the price as the quality was there and durability was long . The new blades are blunt to start with and useless will never buy again overpriced rubbish from china.

Purchased in April 2019 for $171,717.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationYes

The new plastic packaging is a joke

published

The refills are expensive especially as at least two in every pack have been blunt, and cut me straight away, but what is worse the ridiculous idea to replace cardboard packaging with tough impenetrable plastic packaging, when plastic waste is one of the biggest environmental dis
asters marine life and the human race faces today.

Purchased in April 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for $16.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationYes
Men's Shavers / Razors

Find out how Gillette Mach3 Turbo compares to other Men's Shavers / Razors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt G
Matt GMelbourne, Melbourne, Victoria

Mach3 Turbo blades are blunt out of the pack

published

Have been a long time Mach3 user - have noticed a significant decline in the quality of replacement blade heads of late - to the point of them being blunt (and painful to use) out of the pack
Will have to change brand I feel - disappointed

  • Verified

Very disappointed

published

Long time mach3 user but the last batch of blades I bought at Cosco was blunt.. brand new blades and they simply blunt, also I found that the plastic clips are very flimsy and weak and break.

John
JohnSydney, nsw
  • 47 reviews
  • 39 likes

Best product ev

published

Best product ever! clean close shave every time, no cuts and each blade last over a month of shaving every day!

brian
brian
  • 273 reviews
  • 75 likes

Not bad at all

published

I bought this mach 3 turbo shaver from the gold cross chemist and started to use it to shave and found that it glided pretty easily over the skin while using the quality shaving cream gel however, the handle itself proved to be weak and easily snapped so I couldn't use the shaver anymore

2 comments
brian
brian

The handle where the razer sits into snapped easily when tapping on the side of the same sink otherwise great shaver though can be fixed by dipping the shaver into a small bucket of hot water each time use the shaver across the skin

brian
brian

I recently bought another Mach 3 turbo shaver setup and it's excellent as the hairs don't get stuck in between the blades and it does a very good job
Conclusion : Mach 3 turbo shaver setup does a good job and is reasonably priced

remi1au
remi1auPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

At last .. thank you

published

I've been looking for a replacement for my schick quatttro razor/blades for a while, which used to be great but are now useless. I suspect they moved the place of manufacture. The Gillette Mach 3 turbo is what the Quattro used to be .. very sharp out of the pack and stay that way for multiple shaves. I notice tho that the ones I'm using at the moment are made in Germany, but the ones I see on the shelves at the supermarket just lately are made in Poland .. hopefully not the same thing that happened to the quottro's .. you're on notice Gillette, don't mess with the quality !

false advertising.

published

It turns out that this razor isn't actually turbocharged. I am shocked and appalled. Gillette will soon be receiving a strongly worded letter expressing my disappointment.

Men's Shavers / Razors

Find out how Gillette Mach3 Turbo compares to other Men's Shavers / Razors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

craig l.
craig l.asked

just bought a pack of the Gillette Mach 3 Plus blades and i can tell you that trying to open this is a very tough job and you have to watch that you do not cut yourself in the process. Bring back the cardboard packaging please.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features

  • Spring-mounted blades are made to respond to the surface of the skin that you’re shaving.
  • The blades are designed with a pressure-adjusting pivot, which easily follows the contours of your face for more precision in shaving.
  • A comfort gel bar above the blades provides added lubrication while shaving, for added comfort.
  • Gillette Australia offers an online subscription service. Starting at $20 per month, you can order 5 new razor cartridges delivered to you each month.

Here’s what reviewers thought:

Reviewers' opinions were split down the middle when it came to the Gillette Mach3 Turbo.

Those who were satisfied with this Gillette razor said that it provided a close shave, with no irritation and cuts. They reported blades were sharp, straight out of the pack.

Other reviewers who didn't like the Mach 3 Turbo stated that the razors were blunt out of the pack. They also observed that the plastic parts on the razor were flimsy, including the plastic section that houses the blades.

The differing reports by reviewers about whether blades were sharp or blunt may point to inconsistency in the quality of Gillette’s product batches. Regardless of the cause, this inconsistency makes it more difficult to know whether buying a Gillette Mach 3 Turbo razor is worth it.

However, considering a one-time purchase of 4 razor blades and a handle costs $28 from the Gillette Australia website, it may be worth finding out.

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.