3 photos
Google Chromecast with Google TV

Google Chromecast with Google TV

MPN: GA01919-AU
3.7 from 29 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Networked Media Players in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Google? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

3.7
29 reviews
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Sapphiree
SapphireeAU
  • 32 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified

Can't live without it now though the remote is ....

published

Purchased in October 2020 for $99.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jay
JayNSW
  • 11 reviews
  • 15 likes

Best gadget I have ever bought.

published

I have had the Google Chromecast for 18 to 24 months. It was so easy to install, just plug it in and I have no had no trouble with it whatsoever. The last 2 weeks, I could work my around the TV screen while looking for a video to watch on YouTube, suddenly this handy little thing has disappeared, it was only there for about 2 weeks, I don't know if it's something they let us try out first, to saved getting up and walking to the computer and finding a video to watch,. Anyway, I have no complaints, it really is a great gadget. I noticed it went up 30 dollars since I bought it though. I paid $69.

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi for $69.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
m rupert
m rupertSydney, NSW

Better than previous models

published

I've been using google chromecast for a long time now. I like this better than the 3rd gen. Remote control is pretty convenient plus it casts perfectly on screen. Navigation is not a problem.

Purchased in December 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
PKCMVA
PKCMVAMelbourne
  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified

No input button control with Kogan TV's

published

I'm using my TV as a computer monitor and decided to get the Google TV to catch-up with any free to air shows I my have missed. All good setting up and lots of info video's online if you need help. Only problem is the input button on the Google remote isn't compatable with any Kogan TV's. So in my case if I wanted to go from HDMI 3 (Google TV) to HDMI 2 (computer), I need to use sources on original TV remote. Then back to Google TV remote for it's menu. I'm sure there's a universal remote code that works somewhere for Kogan TV's but at this time Google Chromecast/TV hasn't got it.

Purchased in November 2021 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $99.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Networked Media Players

Find out how Google Chromecast with Google TV compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ginnygin
GinnyginGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Has it all

published

Has just about very app you'd want including Apple TV. Works great and easy to navigate. The trick is to only have one subscription at a time. The only issue is that with so much choice it's hard to decide what to watch.

Purchased in June 2021 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $99.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Pushes unremovabel adds on homescreen

published

I wanted to express my gratitude for google tv putting adds on my homescreen, and pretending its all for my benefit. Whilst not being able to turn it off. They add apps without consent, but it is OK because I can remove them. They fill up homescreen with crap, but it can be modified. This last with u removable ads is not OK, I paid for my shield.

Purchased in June 2019 at The CPAP Clinic Physical store for $200.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ron
ron
  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

forced selling of google services

published

the product works but its bundled with netflix offer which in fact is very difficult to actually receive unless you additionally install google home.

basically its an offer that requires additional undeclared software to install which is illegal unless declared at point of sale which it isn't.

google service is abysmal and also forces installation of google home. trying to get your money back is like crawling down a razerblade and that is deliberate as well.

absolutely abysmal company and will not buy a google product unless its the only thing available.

Purchased in September 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Ian
IanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified

Chromecast with Google TV - Just a Sensational Little Unit!

published

Purchased in March 2021 at Officeworks for $99.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steve
Steve Victoria
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Saved me buying a new TV!

published

Purchased in May 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $99.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Networked Media Players

Find out how Google Chromecast with Google TV compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KGM
KGMSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Google Chromecast with Google TV

published

This system is well priced for the functionality when compared to competing products in this space.
The set up was easy to follow and the resulting outcome was inline with expectations.

Purchased in July 2021 at Google Store for $99.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suze
SuzePerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

So close, yet so far

published

Purchased in July 2021 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $99.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Richard SMITH
Richard SMITHPerth, WA
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Just what I needed

published

I have used several devices but this product has all the features and functions I need. So easy to use and makes searching easy. The support and instructions I received from the supplier was outstanding.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Networked Media Players

Find out how Google Chromecast with Google TV compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Melanie
MelanieSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Love it!

published

We love our Google chromecast. We had an Apple TV prior and this one is so much better! So easy to use. Love that I can ask it questions and if I’m looking for a show it shows a range of platforms that show is available. The interface is great. You can see all the shows you are watching from all different apps without going into the app separately. The only qualm I have is the buttons are super sensitive so we often accidentally change the channel. Best part is turning the tv on and off and the sound function from the remote so we don’t need two remotes.

Purchased in May 2021 for $100.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris
Chris
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Everyone should have one

published

For $99 this turns any TV into a smart TV.
Being able to watch free to air online and most of the TV shows on demand is really handy.
Then there is of course netflix etc which absolutely kills foxtel.
The interface and also the responsiveness of the remote control is dramatically improved over the Nexus box which was the beginning of Google TV.
For Apple fans, you also have Apple TV on this, so this offers far more flexibility than just having Apple TV.
Just buy it and thank me later. :)

Purchased in February 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $99.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DavidN
DavidNGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 108 reviews
  • 111 likes
  • Verified

Turns my monitor into a smart TV and much more

published

Purchased in June 2021 at Officeworks Physical store for $80.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Bronwyn
Bronwynasked

My CWGTV does not detect 4k on my 4k TV. It does for about 1 minute then goes back to 1080p. Reading between the lines it looks like CWGTV in 4k does not happen in Australia. Has anyone heard if that is true?

No answers
Tony
Tonyasked

Can you stream media to and from a NAS connected to your wifi network via a networked media player?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryNetworked Media Players
Release dateOct 2020
Visit official website
  • MPN: GA01919-AU

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.