??!
1 photo
Haydenshapes Hypto Krypto Custom

Haydenshapes Hypto Krypto Custom

2.9 from 37 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
Grace

GraceSydney, NSW

Amazing to ride but way too fragile

published

You will seriously up your wave count with this board but beware - creases, compressions and dings will have you spending much more than the massive $1,000 you first dropped on this baby. Tiny 2ft swell collision with NSP epoxy and literally ate the side of my hypto. On the plus side I love riding it but was very very difficult to fix the rail. Buyer beware

Purchased in April 2020 for $1,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Poor materials and bad customer service

published

I bought this surfboard for my partner’s birthday after his first surf the actual case of the fin box, cracked while changing fins. We put a complaint and asked to Hayden shapes to change the surfboard. They replayed after a month saying that it was deemed user error with force making the damage around the fin area and it is absolutely not true. I read few similar reviews the Hayden shapes cracks and breaks really easily.
Generally bad customer service from the company.

Purchased in April 2020 for $899.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Great allrounder

published

If you struggle to get the wave count up on a shortboard this board is easy to catch waves on and is very forgiving to ride. If you could only have 1 board in your quiver this is a good one to have.

Purchased in March 2017 for $899.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Surfboards

Find out how Haydenshapes Hypto Krypto Custom compares to other Surfboards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Thomas

ThomasPerth, WA

Creased on first surf

published

Board creased right across the front on my first surf ... while duck diving a wave. Not the best quality. But was fun to ride while it lasted. Would get something else that's similar style but better made

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2019 at Quiksilver Physical store.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Bill M

Bill MHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Deadset best board ever!

published

I have two of these boards. As far as shape goes… They just work for me. I have a 6’4 and a 6’6
I am 6’4, 105kg
The 6’4 is the magic size for me. I have found both boards are built well, and despite being heavy footed, the boards have lasted well and I find are durable, despite A lot of critics saying otherwise.
I bought the 6’6 During a slightly heavier period! I caught a lot more waves and it got me fit again but I found it just to Stiff.
I’m sure, like anything, from time to time you might find one with a light glass job and have troubles… But personally, I highly recommend these boards.

Purchased in February 2016 for $799.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
billythekid

billythekidSouthwest, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Good if you go short, beginners steer clear

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
billythekid
billythekid

Follow up two years later:

My hypto is practically indestructible. Barely any compression marks. But I kind of regret not just getting a standard shortboard and at this point, that's what I really want. Overall I wouldn't buy another one

Actually a super solid board

published

I bought a 5'7 custom, second hand with JJF fins (large) for $550. After the reviews i had read here, and when it arrived i thought id snap it in one sesh. i took it to sri lanka, surfed all over the east coast and the damn thing is great. solid as. had tons of kooks to miss in some spots, a couple of collisions, and nothing. no dings, nothing. I prefer the speed of a quad, but this thing is sick, and i probably would go shorter if you're rider head high or over. (im 60kgs, 5'10).

Date PurchasedJuly 2018

Great board. Ride it short with Future flex

published

I have owned two Hypto's over the past 5 years. It is my go to board for surf between 1-4ft. Highly recommend the Future flex over, the PE. It's a subtle difference; Feels more solid, yet light-weight. I'd also stress sizing correctly. I am 5'9", 160lbs. and ride the 5'4" HK. This board works great when your front foot can sit right in the center of the board, allowing you to weight it down and gain speed. The back foot then sits right on the tail pad, ready to engage turns. That said, resist the urge to go too long, thinking the volume will help. Only down side of this board is the price point, which seems to have gone up recently. However, it ultimately an outstanding board.

Date PurchasedAug 2014
R G

R GTuross

Snapped hypto krypto.

published

This is my second hypto that has snapped in exactly the same spot!!
And on a 3 ft swell.

I’ve loved surfing these boards, super fast and responsive, but am really disappointed with the strength of them.

The first one snapped in solid 8ft, so I could wear that one, but 3 ft!!!!’

I have a range of boards in my quiver, and over 27 years of surfing have never snapped one of them——
Sorry I lied,2, both of them hyptos!!!

Anyone recommend a board that handles the same as the hypto but actually has some strength?

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Surfboards

Find out how Haydenshapes Hypto Krypto Custom compares to other Surfboards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kauroanz

Kauroanzsydney

Good ride, but first surf in 2-3 ft compromised

published

Good ride, nice and stable on the take off and easy to paddle. The deck has many compression after my first surf in 2-3 ft surf at cronulla which looks to be from the duck dive, and one near the nose. Surprised how easy this occurred as my old board of 5 years does not have this. Nice board but expect more from a $$$$ board.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Good shape but lasted 3 sessions only

published

Bought a 6´2 HK last January in a Bondi surf shop.
Intermediate level. Loved surfing that board as soon as I used it. Easy paddling, good acceleration, increased my level.
BUT, the HP almost snapped at 3rd session, Duckdiving into a 5ft swell. Result a wide crack on the ⅔ of the below and one carbon rail. (Nothing on the deck)
Really disappointed to have spoiled 900$ for a board I dreamed about.
NB my other boards are 2 Firewire and 1 DHD, and after several years of using them, they still are in full shape...

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Damo

DamoSouth Coast WA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Wasn't obvious immediately but is an epic board

published
Date PurchasedSept 2017

Went amazing but super fragile

published

Loved the board until it creased in half in my hand duck diving a 2ft wave. Thousand bucks for a dozen sessions. Not happy.
Anyone have any luck on a refund? From what I understand it doesn't stack up to Australian consumer law.
I would have stuck with HS's because it went so well but now I'll never get another one.

Date PurchasedJune 2017

Hydro cryptos snap!!!

published

I have never seen so many of the same brand (Hayden shapes) boards snapped in surf shops. Any board that is light, full of volume and a tapered tail will catch waves and turn for the average joe surfer.
If you HS hasn't snapped its only a matter of time is what I have been seeing and been told by others. It's refrigeration foam covered in fibreglass and you pay ridiculous money for that!!!!

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Poor construction leading to product failure in a brand new board - gutted

published

Purchased a new Hypto Krypto 6 ft 2 in June 2017. Surfed it 3 times in 2 to 3ft surf and on the third surf the board creased in half. Didn't fall on it, wasn't leg rope damage or wave damage, it just failed.
From reading the info on this blog this appears to be a fault that others have experienced and on inspection of the amount of glass used in construction or lack of it I can see why. Great surfboard when undamaged but not durable. At $900 dollars a complete waste of money.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Surfboards

Find out how Haydenshapes Hypto Krypto Custom compares to other Surfboards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Shocking quality

published

Bought my 6' PU hypto new almost 2 years ago now and for the last year have watched the blank dissolving on itself with the ultra thin fiberglass following suit - bottom of the board has corrugations like a country road - could have been a great board but every time I feel like taking it out it just annoying too much when I see how much further it is imploding. Worst board purchase I have ever made!

Date PurchasedFeb 2015

good performance, poor quality

published

The feeling you get when surfing this board is awesome, fast, responsive and light; but its quality is very disappointing. Deck laminated is pretty thin and therefore pressure dings are common after a few waves. Also, the tail is very fragile and tends to get damaged even with the tension of the leash. In brief, too expensive for its quality.
BTW, mine was bought in California..

Date PurchasedMay 2016

too expensive and breaks easily poor quality and overpriced. remember: pros get free replacements bu

published

mine completely buckled after just a few surfs. i would never but these boards again. apparently to keep up with their huge demand they had to make the boards in China and Thailand.it's as bad as those made in China. And overpriced anyway. If they were $400 would be OK.

Poor durability

published

My son managed to snap his Haydon shapes board within two months of purchasing it. I sold mine after ten months due to excessive deck depressions. I have many other boards and the future flex is the least durable board I have ever owned. I will not be making the same mistake again.

First Impression

published
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

rick.durkin.334

rick.durkin.334asked

Dimensions for 75kg?

1 answer
Botsaaay
Botsaaay

You'd get away with a 5'6 if you're of intermediate level. If you're a bit behind intermediate a 5'8 would be fine. I'm 88kg at the moment and the 5'8 hammers in all conditions for me.

Swinno

Swinnoasked

Does Anyone know if the Hypto with the Stringer has issues with the dings/pressure points in the Deck etc - from most of the comments it seems that the issue is with the Durability?? - I've had other boards for at least 4 or 5 years before even getting any deck sink - so after reading reviews I'm now in 2 minds to order one with extra Strength Glassing through the website or my local surf shop that deals in them. Any suggestions??

1 answer
Botsaaay
Botsaaay

The stringer is the carbon rail (if you order a future flex) and they do pressure dent quite easily the first few times you surf them but once they dent they stay that way. They do generally ding quite easily. Mine was made in Thailand and the quality felt a bit bad but then I ordered a psychedelic germ custom and that was made in Australia and it felt like a much tougher build yet still light.
Go a custom order and get an aussie made one for sure. Costs the same but it's yours and it'll be stronger and not mass produced in Thailand.
If you get an epoxy one it'll have a traditional stringer down the middle and won't dent as much but I'm not sure how they surf in comparison.
hope this helps

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.