??!
1 photo
Hema HX-1 Navigator

Hema HX-1 Navigator

1.8 from 57 reviews

See the Best GPS Navigation Systems in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
2
4 star
4
3 star
7
2 star
10
1 star
34

Ripoff

published

Need wifi to do anything with it, try that in the middle of nowhere. Makes my 8 year old garmin with topo maps look like god! Need about 53 32g micro sd to be able to store maps to be practable. Bluetooth can't use phone for internet. But an ipad with a gps tracking. Overpriced piece of junk.

Purchased in November 2019 at RAA Motoring for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use

JimSutt

JimSuttSydney, NSW

Rubbish ....

published

Purchased in May 2015 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Features / Functions
Route Choice
GPS Location Accuracy
Battery Life
See all answers
meeeh

meeehSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Keep your money do not bother

published

Waste of money. Only had the unit for half hour and already hate it. "explore maps" are useless totally NOT user friendly, GPS keeps falling off line. Even the 389 page user guide that you have to find and download is not helpful. Just buy a $30 paper map and use a cheap android or ipad with gps to get you there.

Purchased in November 2019 at BCF Physical Store for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Features / Functions
Route Choice
GPS Location Accuracy
Battery Life
See all answers
Tan

TanPerth, WA

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Do not buy this unit!

published

We have had 2 x HX1's and both have same issue of overheating. There is a major issue by the looks of all the forums stating the same issue. Do your homework thoroughly before buying this unit.

Purchased in June 2017 at Action 4wd for $650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Features / Functions
Route Choice
GPS Location Accuracy
Battery Life
See all answers

CHRIS

CHRISSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Very Disappointed Buyer

published

Long time locating satellites.Explore mode map drop out so need to zoom out & in to fix.Coolah NP & Mt Moffit missing tracks, points of interest wrong spots, freezes, & hard deleting tracks.

Purchased in July 2019 at BCF Physical Store for $579.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Features / Functions
Route Choice
GPS Location Accuracy
Battery Life

Grunf G.

Grunf G.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Complete crap

published

Did the High Country trip and when on explore mode map layers were mixing up (half a screen would be one resolution, other half the other resolution). Then it would just show blank white screen with grid lines.
Required numerous restarts. Was searching for GPS forever most of the time. Auto mode for day and night screen colours was not working etc etc
Sold it two weeks after at a $200 loss.
Went back to my faultless Garmin with topo maps and wikicamps when offroading.

Hema, thanks for nothing! Stick to what you do best - paper maps!

Purchased in September 2019 at BCF Physical Store for $559.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Features / Functions
Route Choice
GPS Location Accuracy
Battery Life
See all answers

Unsatified

UnsatifiedQueensland

Battery issue

published

The maps are great easy to use. Issue with batteries swelling up and opening case up, I know of 3 people with this issue, they will fix for zero dollars if you push issue

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Features / Functions
Route Choice
GPS Location Accuracy
Battery Life
See all answers

Scibbo

ScibboFar North Queensland, QLD

nothing but problems since bought

published

first problem straight out of the box, wouldn't charge. eventually after 5 days it started to except a charge.
second problem, showed problem showed intersections or turns after you passed them
third problem after 2 1/2 to 3 hours machine gets too hot and screen goes funny, let it cool down and some times it will come back on with normal screen, lately have had to do reboot and sometime it will fix it, there is something wrong with these machines, I would not recommend spending this amount of money on these machines, have had to revert to my Garmin as it is more reliable.

Purchased in June 2017 at Johnny Appleseed GPS Online store for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Features / Functions
Route Choice
GPS Location Accuracy
Battery Life
See all answers
GoldAu

GoldAuCentral, SA

Too many problems

published

The first problem is that the HX1 cannot be turned off while there is power connected. To turn it off there is only one option, disconnect the power lead or turn off the power source. The SD storage cannot be above 32gb as no testing has been done by Hema. There are more problems as seen by the reviews.

Purchased in June 2019 for $540.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Features / Functions
Battery Life
See all answers

PRO’S & CON’S Product operational deficiency’s not initially apparent!

published

PRO’S
1 Excellent correlation of Hema paper charts with Hema HX1 data base greatly aids planning and big picture view.
2 Excellent, reliable GPS
CON’S
1 Inability to delete tracks or routes on the go. Can only be deleted when you are synced to your account. This makes using it remotely in the field annoying if trying to delete un-required noise. A major oversight.
2 Inability to adjust font size makes reading names on the go difficult and especially for anyone without perfect eyesight.
Overall this is a very useful tool supported by excellent reliable mapping but there is massive scope for improvement of the operator interface. It’s very disappointing in that regard.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use

alex crunn

alex crunn

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

What a horrific waste of money !!!!!!

published

Turns itself on, wont turn off, started going thru screen changes with no one touching it, making weird noises, I think the thing is possessed! When I needed it most and clicked on my home address it just drew a bright red line direct to my place.... great if I had a helicopter. I wish I read the reviews before purchase

Purchased in June 2019 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Features / Functions
Route Choice
GPS Location Accuracy
Battery Life
See all answers

Dan

DanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolute Crap House

published

Where to start...
Glitchy, always freezing up
Touch screen is terrible and often doesn’t recognise touch
Boot up is slow
Regular updates that never seem to fix the problems
Save your money, just buy the map for your device, there is zero benefit to the HX1 over your phone

Purchased in May 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Features / Functions
Route Choice
GPS Location Accuracy
Battery Life
See all answers

Andre Mark

Andre MarkDarwin, NT

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

A good idea poorly executed

published

Zooming is woeful and there is no Apple MAC update software. They don't warn you BEFORE you pay for the upgrade. Reflective screen requires another AUD$45 for flimsy screen visor.

Purchased in December 2018 at The Chart and Map Shop for $559.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Features / Functions
Route Choice
GPS Location Accuracy
Battery Life
See all answers

DUKU

DUKUperth

RUBBISH

published

We are up to unit (GPS) # 3. Finally this unit (GPS) will accept a charge from the cigarette lighter adaptor supplied. The GPS will 'crash' when in trees and won't even fix to a satellite in our carport. The satellite position fix is very slow and constantly loses a signal. When 'off the beaten track' the free app Mapme is generally better.
In summary the HEMA HX-1 is expensive rubbish.

Bin it

published

If I turn it off so it will charge faster, it turns itself back on with no provocation whatsoever.
There does not seem to be any way to edit a saved location once you have saved one.
The maps of large cities seem ok. Bought it for the maps of way out in the middle of nothing, which I doubt it will last long enough for us to try.

Charlie

CharlieBrisbane

Buy a Garmin instead

published

Reliable maps not reliable positioning on maps takes forever to get gps signal. constantly loses signal. battery life dies I've tried many different gps units from unidens to ultra cheap android based systems. This has to be the worst GPS ever sold should be recalled by Hema I'm seeking a refund


Worst online company ever

published

Attempted to purchase a HX1 from Hema online store. 15 days later and it has still not been shipped. Have rang repeatedly to be told there is a computer problem and nothing can be done. There was no problem taking the money. I am now trying to get the money refunded. Not at all hopeful but have to try. The worst online purchase ever. Avoid this company or be ripped off.


Camera fail

published

I had the camera fail after about twenty months. I open a ticket in the tech support section on the website and received timely replies to my queries, when we were unable to resolve the issue the technician requested that I return the device. The camera was replaced, new charger supplied and software update under warranty.
I suspect that the HX1 is like most if not all software and electronic devices (i.e. mobile phones) where new models are put on the market too soon without detail testing to beat the opposition into the market place, then identify any issues bugs etc. And fix under warranty.
However, they fixed mine in a timely manner without charge and I was impressed with the service.


Paul

PaulSydney

absolute junk

published

Kept overheating and shut down. Was told not to mount on dash as sunlight affects it!!! What's the point of the dash mount kit and how do I use it and drive then??. Not fit for its purpose and dangerous as it left me without navigation for three months in the Outback. Had to buy reliable paper maps at Alice Springs.


Darrin

Darrin

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Rubbish Product Not Fit For Purpose.

published

Even though I read the mostly bad reviews, I decided to buy this unit as I do a lot of outback touring. Difficult to use, hopeless in Explore mode. Street GPS is OK. I have now had this unit for 15 Months and on a recent trip to Cape York the battery failed, leaving me without a navigator. Not good enough!


Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

sarg.07

sarg.07asked

Does the hx-1 have a socket for a reversing camera

3 answers
HemaUser
HemaUser

No it does not

GoldAu
GoldAu

There is no input port for any external camera

sarg.07
sarg.07

Thank you


Jman

Jmanasked

Noob question from a paper map user.
What happens when drive mode 3yr updates expire? Can the unit still be used or do you need to pay for something more?

1 answer
HemaUser
HemaUser

It's 3 years of free updates. You can still get a Drive Mode update, but they charge at iGO cost.


Colin Mann

Colin Mannasked

Why will my HEMA HX-1 not talk. Always comes up ‘muted’?

4 answers
HemaUser
HemaUser

Press and Hold the 'H' floating widget and you can adjust the sound there.
Also in the Drive Mode settings, you can tap to change the sound settings with the Speaker Icon.

Gem
Gem

Tried both of those, still won't talk.

kim
kim

These reviews are great. I wanted to buy now wont
Kim


Get an answer from our members and Hema Navigator representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.