17 photos
Holden Colorado

Holden Colorado

RG, RC
3.2 from 300 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Holden? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.4 (34)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (33)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (29)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (32)
  • Braking
    3.7 (34)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (33)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.6 (32)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (33)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (34)
  • Handling
    3.6 (33)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (33)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (26)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (32)
  • Features
    3.5 (32)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
merlin
merlinSydney, NSW
  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

Under rated work horse diesel.

published

This is an excellent motor, the last Japanese built in the GMH series.
The vehicle is well built and solid as a brick loo.
The parts are cheap and plentiful.
Everyone knows them well, mechanics know them, parts houses know them.
Not fast and furious but a long lasting slow old plodder, sipping the fuel.
Well designed middle of the road vehicle for those are humble.

Purchased in September 2018 for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wynny
Wynny
  • 2 reviews

Terrible Purchase

published

Purchased in February 2021 for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hannah
Hannah North Queensland, QLD

Great Car

published

The car has done a lot of heavy duty work throughout its life, we have had it since 2012 and it has been great. never had any dramas with the car except for a blown diff but that is about it. would definitely recommend the car. Absolutely love it. it can definitely handle off road stuff. we have got a camper trailer that we tow around a lot and it definitely handles it well on and off road.

Purchased in June 2012 at honey combes ayr for $24.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Utes

Find out how Holden Colorado compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Samantha W.
Samantha W.
  • 2 reviews

The car with the most warranty repairs I have had.

published

Use my Colorado mostly for commuting, running the family around, towing a small trailer and a bit of gentle off road when on holiday.
The car has been serviced regularly and by a Holden Dealer.
Many issues since new - electric window problems, DPF brackets (a few of these), gear box triple flush and initial problem has returned so now expecting a new torque converter, a new gear stick due to not being able to take the ignition key out, oil filler cap melted..... and they are the issues I can remember.
Dealer has been okay sorting the issues out although they still have to go through the step by step fixes even when there is a known issue such as the torque converter. Could save time and money by going straight for the final fix.

Purchased in September 2016 for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
BPH
BPHRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Wouldn't recommend

published

Purchased in May 2017 at Von Bibra for $62,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Dangerous fault

published

Purchased in August 2017 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
rpolman
rpolmanSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Great car, no troubles

published

The car is used mainly for highway driving with a bit of 4x4 thrown in, it runs really well and has not caused any troubles yet. It is regularly serviced (oil every 7000km) and is now at 105000km. Would recommend.

Purchased in December 2017 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Stacey
StaceySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Loved it so much we bought 2!!

published

We purchased a 2016 LTZ, we found the car so reliable, we owned it 4 years and never had a problem. It towed our large caravan like it wasn’t there.
We have now upgraded to the 2020 LTZ and are loving the additional features and cosmetic improvements.

Purchased in March 2020 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Muzz10
Muzz10
  • 2 reviews

Certainly works for me.

published

Previous car was rear ended and written off. Bought this 2nd hand as was last of the RC models @ 70000km.
Service myself, brakes, Diff oil etc. No Dealers, No probs.

Purchased in October 2016 for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Utes

Find out how Holden Colorado compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matthew
MatthewSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Tourque converters

published

I bought the car with low klms and the Torque converter was no good causing the car to change gears really harshly. Apparently there is a manufacturing issue. Had to wait for so long on the part due to Holden not being able to keep up with the amount of converters needing replacement

Purchased in January 2020 at Zupps.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Andrew
AndrewIllawarra, NSW

Dangerous wet weather handling HSV Sports Cat SV

published

Purchased the car from Kelly Holden Newcastle in September 2019
The car in wet conditions aquaplanes, understeers ,poor traction under acceleration and under heavy braking locks up rendering the ABS System inoperable. The issue being the Cooper Tyres fitted to the Vehicle. I brought my concerns to the dealer in October 2019 with no response from Holden or HSV. I raised my concerns again in February 2020 and referred to HSV to be told "we don't make the tyres so we carnt warrant them". The car is dangerous to the point I will not drive it in the wet.

Leaves a bad taste considering I payed $75 K for the car

My advise to anyone considering buying one of these to budget on replacing the tyres so you your family and other road users are safe.

Purchased in September 2019 for $75,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Wally
WallySouthern and Hills, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good ute but trade in value pathetic

published

Bought LS ute in 2015. Had engine replaced under warranty after 30000kms due to excessive oil use, with good service by Holden. Ute now has only done 66000kms which is about half red book estimate (motor has only done 35k), has still got 5 months warranty left and has over $7000 worth of accessories fitted, but Holden will still only offer red book value of $20k as a trade in on a new ute. So I won't be buying!

Purchased in July 2015 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mick D
Mick DHunter Region, NSW

Good Ute, offering great value for an entry level truck

published

Great value for money, impressed with level of refinement for an entry level Ute. Tows the boat and caravan well (both approx 2.8 ton). 7 years free service great bonus.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Miller
MillerSydney Surrounds, NSW

Pathetic service

published

I was told early in 2019 tha torque converter needed replacement - after much denial about any problem at all.
Holden state parts delay but it is now nearly 12 months and car runs like travelling over a badly corrugated road.
Cannot accept parts take so long to be available.
Wait your turn is the standard response.

Purchased in January 2018 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mike
Mike
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Holden Colorado = Rubbish on wheels

published

We have learned to hate our 2015 Colorado and will never buy a Holden again. It is tinny, the plastics inside have been falling apart, the “heavy duty” clutch failed and cost nearly $6000 to repair - out of warranty! Various other faults that the dealership found and “fixed” after warranty finished - I’m suspicious some were made up faults. Today the power steering failed while my wife was driving with our kids on a steep windy mountain road. Headlights are like dim candles. Too highly geared for proper 4WDing.
Not an enjoyable car to drive.
My advice is don’t go near a Colorado.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Utes

Find out how Holden Colorado compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Dean C.
Dean C.asked
Colorado

Hi ,I just replaced my alternator but still not getting any charge. Battery is good . Does anyone know if there is a fuse for voltage regulator? 2013 Holden Colorado 2.8 diesel LS

2 answers
merlin
merlin

Make sure all battery connections clean to shiny metal including pins on plugs clean n shiny. Check earth lead for solid n clean connection at engine. Check battery under load, they can collapse very quickly if maintenance free battery. Volt. Regulator in onboard alternator. Make sure you have correct alternator.

Dean C.
Dean C.

Thanks Merlin for quick reply. I have done all above and had auto electrician tested. No joy yet . Also just had alternator bench tested and it is good. Has to be the two wires that plug into back of alternator. Trying to find out if they run to a fuse? I have it booked in Friday to auto electricians , will report back with any findings.

Steve R
Steve Rasked
Colorado RG 4x4 (2012-2021)

Has anyone else had trouble with the motor sitting on 2100 rpm when doing 100km/h

2 answers
merlin
merlin

What sort of trouble?
The motor is designed to operate at this low revs to economise on fuel. Make sure you drive it at highway speeds every couple of weeks to activate the regen cycle.

Steve R
Steve R

I drive it on a highway every day it won’t change up a gear unless I tape the aselarator then I will drop to 1700rpm could it be the talk converter

Desmond W.
Desmond W.asked
Colorado RG (2012-2021)

How to replace headlight bulb

No answers
See all Holden Colorado questions

Get an answer from our members

Holden Colorado

Details

Compare all 9 Holden Colorado
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price $36,690$41,190$44,690$47,190
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Steel17" Alloy18" Alloy16" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.6 L/100km8.6 L/100km8.7 L/100km8.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 76 L76 L76 L76 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.8L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 2.8L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 2.8L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 2.8L Turbo Diesel
Max Power147kW @ 3600rpm147kW @ 3600rpm147kW @ 3600rpm147kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque500Nm @ 2000rpm500Nm @ 2000rpm500Nm @ 2000rpm500Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Tray TypeCab Chassis and Pick UpPick UpPick UpCab Chassis and Pick Up
Cab Options Dual, Extra and SingleDualDualDual, Extra and Single
Maximum Payload1,326 kg1,145 kg1,114 kg1,078 kg
Ground Clearance215 mm215 mm215 mm215 mm
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance215 mm215 mm215 mm215 mm
Release dateJune 2012June 2012June 2012June 2012
Compare all 9 Holden Colorado

Other Utes

Previous
Next
See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.