??!
7 photos
Holden Colorado

Holden Colorado

RG.II, RC and RG.I
3.2 from 281 reviews

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
67
4 star
72
3 star
42
2 star
37
1 star
63

grey

greyIpswich

  • 5 reviews

terrible car ,

published

new car burning more than 16lt per hundred , black smoke from the exhaust , the dealer said that's normal, it was returned to the dealer many many times , sold the car in discuss through action

Purchased in June 2010 at Llewellyn Motors.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Pascal

PascalSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

I love this ute

published

I love this ute, it handles well with comfort, great power, good on fuel, bought the 2018 LTZ, it's a winner. It now has 30,000 klms just had it's second service, could not fault it.

Purchased in June 2018 at Zupps.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Bryce

BryceMelbourne

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

So far I'm happy

published

Recently brought a Z71 colorado and so far I'm a happy camper. My friends have Hilux and Rangers and this thing keeps up with them all day. Found its better on diesel too. Couple things that could be improved are the collision alert is touchy, stall lock up is looser than old ones which I like the low rpm lock up with turbo diesels even If they do vibrate, and I wish it had heated mirrors and adaptive cruze (I'm picky).

Anyways will up date once I've put more kms on it

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Michelle t

Michelle tSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Disappointed

published

I have had my Holden Colorado for three an half years now it is only used for personal use and I have maintained regular services, I am a little disappointed that I had to have the motor replace in one of the rear back windows which hardly get used, I thought that I Shouldn’t have the need to spend $350 on a new motor on the window considering the car is only three and half years old. Just a little concerned about what else will start going wrong with this car.

Purchased in April 2015.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Michael C.

Michael C.

  • 2 reviews

It's a great truck that behaves like a car.

published

This is a fantastic truck. I can't believe how 'car-like' it is in it's handling. It really doesn't feel like you're driving a ute at all. The handling is smooth and the engine is very responsive. I'm constantly surprised how much get up and go this thing has. I have the base model LS Crew Cab and although pretty basic, it has all a really nice simple interior with Android Auto, which is pleasant to use.

A really great truck, highly recommend.

Purchased in June 2019 for $39,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

karen55

karen55Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 31 reviews
  • 19 likes

NOT TOP QUALITY

published

Purchased Colorado 2018 LTZ IN January 2018 new. Biggest issue is service staff not doing proper services and lying about it. So far Keycase broken supposedly replaced but wasn’t. Told tyres were rotated but not done. Aircon stopped working. Now travelling around Australia, so far turbo hose had hole burnt in it by radiator fault. Believe it’s a design fault. Darwin Holden incompetent taking 5 days to fix. Next halfway to Broome and battery leaking acid everywhere.. Broome Holden more helpful but $312 for battery only 18 months old not happy. Doubt I will buy Holden again.

Purchased in January 2018 at Holden Dealers for $46,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

sarah bain

sarah bainMurray Region, NSW

VERY dangerous when it comes to the safety of my family. Due to on-going issues, that Holden refuse to acknowledge

published

This is our family car, so every day use to and from work, weekends. Since purchasing this vehicle, we have had on-going issues with the fuel sensor, once fuel gets to a certain amount ( which we dont have any knowledge of knowing what this amount may be) the ute completely shuts down, losing all control of steering. This issue, has occured on more than 4 times. each time we have had to have the vehicle towed, and the issue looked at, the sensor being replaced once. The most recent nearly causing a major accident on a freeway. Holden refuse to deal with this issue seriously, given we are not under warranty anymore.

Purchased in November 2014 at Thompson Motor Group for $53,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers

JDA

JDASydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Best car we have ever owned

published

Holden Colorado 2011 LX. Dual cab 4x4 turbo diesel.

Very fuel efficient, is used as daily work and family car as well as some 4WDing. Hasn’t skipped a beat, smooth to drive. Has 3 anchor points and roomy. Loved it so much I learned to drive manual just to drive it. Will keep for myself when partner upgrades to newer model.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
EIC94

EIC94

  • 3 reviews

Such a great ute!

published

My fiance and I purchased the 2017 colorado Z71 after much deliberation. Having previously owned a 2009 Holden SV6 Thunder ute, we upgraded to the colorado as a future family and work car. We love this ute and it has heaps of great features! But there are some things we noticed that we weren't happy with until afterwards, for example the dual climate control in the Thunder is not in the Z71 (being that I always have the heater on while my partner has the A/C on). The seats in the Z71 are not very comfortable and after a road trip it's actually a bit painful... And the tub of the ute also had a leak, we took it back to the dealer who looked at the seal, but could not find any problem. Other than that we absolutely love this ute!

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
IDW

IDWGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

RG1 great for what it is

published

Purchased the RG1 as a workhorse in Oct 13. 5 years on, have replaced alternator (warranty @ 3 years 115k) and Air Con compressor @ 180k. 210k and just fitted 3rd set of tires (100k per set), drives great and auto is as smooth as any car I’ve driven. Towa 2 1/2 ton of boat beautifully. So happy with it, I bough a Z71 RG2 in Oct 2015 which is a bit smoother (110k) and no issues. I drive both of them hard and service when due. Neither leak or use oil. We do a lot of highway and interstate Ks and find both very comfortable on the road.

Purchased in November 2013 at Barry Bourke Holden for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Angry19

Angry19

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Colin the Colorado

published

I bought this vehicle in 2009 and must admit to being a little apprehensive. I have owned 4x4s before but never a dual cab.
I so glad I did as this the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. It never complains, it’s just point and shoot and it works every time. After 257,000 klms it’s still as strong as it was the day I drove it out of the dealership.
Would I recommend this vehicle, without question!! I have been asked a few times why don’t you update and my answer is always, Why!!

Purchased in December 2009 for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

2019 Crew cab 4wd

published

Vehicle is used for work and Private, vibration through the car makes it unpleasant to live with. Have been told by the dealer the trans needs a triple flush? Then told could be an engine balance problem. Holdens customer service is awful. 3 months and still waiting.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Petar B

Petar BPerth, WA

6 speed automatic transmission vibration. Am told normal. What a disappointment

published

Purchase new LTZ with 276km. Right after purchase noticed transmission viberated through car between 90 - 110km. Took back to dealer and told was normal. Test drove another demo and same vibration.
Been searching Chevy colorado US sites and there has been warranty replacements on 8 speed auto trans torque converters with same issue. Unable to find solution here in OZ. What a disappointment.

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Dalco

DalcoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Do your home work

published

My 2018 Colorado has a shudder problem. I do 800 Klm’s a week and Holden say it will get better. It is the same in all Colorado’s. I have had Holden engineers drive the car and all they could do was offer me gifts.well, the car has now done 35000k and is still a shudder bucket. Biggest piece of rubbish I have owned. The torque converter locks way too early which causes the car to labour. I have driven a few different Colorado’s now and none are as bad as mine.save your money and do your research before you make a choice.

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Woz

WozAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

LTZ RG Colorado 2012 - 2013

published

Vibration throughout the car
Who's pinion seal doesn't leak?
Who's passanger seat doesn't wobble like a mofo without a body sitting on it?

New valves needed just before 100,000km shat itself.

Wish I kept in and put a gen3 in it tho. Other than that.... They're POX be cautious if you're buying one aye.

BadgeLTZ
BodyCrew Cab Pickup
Engine Size2.8L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013

2019 Colorado LS

published

Ive just picked up today a Brand new 2019 Colorado Ls, { company car not my choice } if you want a comfortable work ute / office, keep away. This is by far the most agricultural vehicle I have driven apart from a John deere tractor.
It's uncomfortable, basic, terrible handling and the brakes are borderline dangerous. Even the handbrake goes straight to the roof and it's only travelled 75klm. Our company bought Two and they are both like it.
Save your money.
It's not good when you pick up a new work ute and even the
salesman says you won't like it.

BadgeLS
BodyCrew Cab Pickup
Engine Size2.5L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Drive4WD

Please help Ute makes wining and strong ridgey shakes when driven

published
BadgeLX
BodyCrew Cab Chassis
Engine Size3.6L V6 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
DriveFWD

Wayne

Wayne

  • 2 reviews

Good Reliable Truck

published
BadgeLS
BodyCrew Cab Pickup
Engine Size2.8L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD

Spot on

published

Have had other models of Holdens previously that we had major issues with, so we were reluctant to buy another Holden. But can happily say that our 2017 Z71 is spot on. We test drove the top of the range Tritan and they really don’t even compare to each other. They drive on road like a dream, off road great, tow like there is nothing on the back. we haven’t had a single issue yet. Though, a slight near the back wheels that we will get checked. Only thing I could suggest, is a better sound system. Coming from a SRI-V Cruise (complete lemon of a car other than the sound system) If the Crusie could have a really good sound system you’d think for the price of the Z71 it could be better. All in all we love it!

BadgeZ71
BodyCrew Cab Chassis
Engine Size2.8L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Drive4WD

Last Holden ever very disappointed in Holden’s service

published

Purchased this ute from new the aircon was permanently on cold, have a vibration that goes through the Ute at 1500 revs which has been there since the day we got it and numerous visits back to the dealer with no joy and at just over 12 months old has rust along the top of the windscreen. Ute has only done 21000k’s and is only used for commuting to work.

BadgeLTZ
BodyCrew Cab Chassis
Engine Size2.8L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Christian S.

Christian S.asked

Have a 2015 RG didn't start replaced the battery but still not starting says check ESP and 4wd system and telling me fuel is low when it has over 1/2 tank.

No answers

Geoff R

Geoff Rasked

Colorado RC

I have had my Colorado LS for about 6 weeks, and just got to drive in the country at night. The high beam is awful - just made the signs glare but provided absolutely no benefit for the drive. Could not see the edge of the road! Was better on low beam. Is this a Colorado thing? Is it fixable with different bulbs, or do I need auxiliary lights for high beam?

2 answers
Pascal
Pascal

I used 22 inch light bar from Stedi on my nudge bar, if you get one of these you will never complain about high beam again. It is the brightest you will ever want.

Geoff R
Geoff R

Thanks Pascal. Thought this may be the best alternative.


Daniel C.

Daniel C.asked

I have a 2015 holden colarado ltz and drive lights keep blowing

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

Details

Holden Colorado RG.II

Holden Colorado RG.II

3.0
(174)
Holden Colorado RC
  • Discontinued

Holden Colorado RC

3.5
(45)
Holden Colorado RG.I
  • Discontinued

Holden Colorado RG.I

3.1
(55)
CategoryUtesUtesUtes
Release dateOct 2013Jul 2008Jun 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2011Sep 2013
Replaced byHolden Colorado RG.IHolden Colorado RG.II

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.