??!
17 photos
Holden Colorado

Holden Colorado

RG, RC
3.2 from 297 reviews

Reviews

3.2

297 reviews
5
(71)
4
(77)
3
(44)
2
(39)
1
(66)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (31)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (30)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (26)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (29)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (31)
  • Handling
    3.6 (30)
  • Braking
    3.7 (32)
  • Suspension
    3.6 (30)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.5 (30)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (31)
  • Interior Design
    3.3 (30)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (24)
  • Features
    3.5 (30)
  • Comfort
    3.4 (29)
Previous
Next
Samantha W.

Samantha W.

  • 2 reviews

The car with the most warranty repairs I have had.

published

Use my Colorado mostly for commuting, running the family around, towing a small trailer and a bit of gentle off road when on holiday.
The car has been serviced regularly and by a Holden Dealer.
Many issues since new - electric window problems, DPF brackets (a few of these), gear box triple flush and initial problem has returned so now expecting a new torque converter, a new gear stick due to not being able to take the ignition key out, oil filler cap melted..... and they are the issues I can remember.
Dealer has been okay sorting the issues out although they still have to go through the step by step fixes even when there is a known issue such as the torque converter. Could save time and money by going straight for the final fix.

Purchased in September 2016 for A$65,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
BPH

BPHRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Wouldn't recommend

published

Purchased in May 2017 at Von Bibra for A$62,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Dangerous fault

published

Purchased in August 2017 for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Holden Colorado compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
rpolman

rpolmanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great car, no troubles

published

The car is used mainly for highway driving with a bit of 4x4 thrown in, it runs really well and has not caused any troubles yet. It is regularly serviced (oil every 7000km) and is now at 105000km. Would recommend.

Purchased in December 2017 for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Cab Type Single
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Stacey

StaceySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Loved it so much we bought 2!!

published

We purchased a 2016 LTZ, we found the car so reliable, we owned it 4 years and never had a problem. It towed our large caravan like it wasn’t there.
We have now upgraded to the 2020 LTZ and are loving the additional features and cosmetic improvements.

Purchased in March 2020 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Certainly works for me.

published

Previous car was rear ended and written off. Bought this 2nd hand as was last of the RC models @ 70000km.
Service myself, brakes, Diff oil etc. No Dealers, No probs.

Purchased in October 2016 for A$28,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
See all answers
Matthew

MatthewSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Tourque converters

published

I bought the car with low klms and the Torque converter was no good causing the car to change gears really harshly. Apparently there is a manufacturing issue. Had to wait for so long on the part due to Holden not being able to keep up with the amount of converters needing replacement

Purchased in January 2020 at Zupps.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewIllawarra, NSW

Dangerous wet weather handling HSV Sports Cat SV

published

Purchased the car from Kelly Holden Newcastle in September 2019
The car in wet conditions aquaplanes, understeers ,poor traction under acceleration and under heavy braking locks up rendering the ABS System inoperable. The issue being the Cooper Tyres fitted to the Vehicle. I brought my concerns to the dealer in October 2019 with no response from Holden or HSV. I raised my concerns again in February 2020 and referred to HSV to be told "we don't make the tyres so we carnt warrant them". The car is dangerous to the point I will not drive it in the wet.

Leaves a bad taste considering I payed $75 K for the car

My advise to anyone considering buying one of these to budget on replacing the tyres so you your family and other road users are safe.

Purchased in September 2019 for A$75,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Wally

WallySouthern and Hills, SA

  • 3 reviews

Good ute but trade in value pathetic

published

Bought LS ute in 2015. Had engine replaced under warranty after 30000kms due to excessive oil use, with good service by Holden. Ute now has only done 66000kms which is about half red book estimate (motor has only done 35k), has still got 5 months warranty left and has over $7000 worth of accessories fitted, but Holden will still only offer red book value of $20k as a trade in on a new ute. So I won't be buying!

Purchased in July 2015 for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Holden Colorado compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mick D

Mick DHunter Region, NSW

Good Ute, offering great value for an entry level truck

published

Great value for money, impressed with level of refinement for an entry level Ute. Tows the boat and caravan well (both approx 2.8 ton). 7 years free service great bonus.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Miller

MillerSydney Surrounds, NSW

Pathetic service

published

I was told early in 2019 tha torque converter needed replacement - after much denial about any problem at all.
Holden state parts delay but it is now nearly 12 months and car runs like travelling over a badly corrugated road.
Cannot accept parts take so long to be available.
Wait your turn is the standard response.

Purchased in January 2018 for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mike

Mike

  • 2 reviews

Holden Colorado = Rubbish on wheels

published

We have learned to hate our 2015 Colorado and will never buy a Holden again. It is tinny, the plastics inside have been falling apart, the “heavy duty” clutch failed and cost nearly $6000 to repair - out of warranty! Various other faults that the dealership found and “fixed” after warranty finished - I’m suspicious some were made up faults. Today the power steering failed while my wife was driving with our kids on a steep windy mountain road. Headlights are like dim candles. Too highly geared for proper 4WDing.
Not an enjoyable car to drive.
My advice is don’t go near a Colorado.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Rick F.

Rick F.

  • 2 reviews

Colorado the decent all rounder

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Trouble

published

Had 3K ON the car and it overheated. Car smelt like burnt plastic every time it was started. Was told by the dealer the heater box was cracked and had leaked coolant on the carpet and they replaced the carpets,took them a month. Next the radio was possessed and had to be replaced. Then the exhaust split and needed replacing. Now the transmission shudders and was told 3 months ago parts were on order meanwhile what damage are we doing to it. Was told torque converter. Now they want to triple flush the transmission to get it through. Never buy another holden it's a joke. Car has 27k on it. 2016 model

Purchased in January 2017 for A$47,900.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Perfect

published

Tows well and is a pleasure to drive. Great value for money. Looked at many dual cabs but liked the feel of the Colorado. She is a beast up the beach as well - just disable esc. Even got 7 years free service as part of the deal - can't go wrong.

Purchased in November 2019 for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Holden Colorado compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Brake Failure

published

On the 21.11.19 my brakes failed on my 2018 Colorado it has only done 28000km and only been serviced by Holden.
it is taking 5 weeks for Holden to get the new master cylinder into stock.
The worst part is that they think its from contaminated fluid and it is taking 4 weeks to get it tested. If the results come back positive to contaminated fluid it could possibly mean a complete over haul and possibly an argument over who foots the bill so I have been 4 weeks without a car and waiting I can definitely say I wont buy a Holden again poor service.
I can understand problems but its the way they are handled that counts poor effort holden

Purchased in October 2018 for A$40,000.00.

TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Simon smith

Simon smithNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Great ute

published

Performance unreal toes big loads with ease comfy interior fitted great economical benefit looks tuff , tyres from factory could be improved but I changed anyway would recommend to those looking at upgrading

Purchased in November 2018 at Holden Dealers for A$52,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
grey

greyIpswich

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

terrible car ,

published

new car burning more than 16lt per hundred , black smoke from the exhaust , the dealer said that's normal, it was returned to the dealer many many times , sold the car in discuss through action

Purchased in June 2010 at Llewellyn Motors.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Pascal

PascalSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

I love this ute

published

I love this ute, it handles well with comfort, great power, good on fuel, bought the 2018 LTZ, it's a winner. It now has 30,000 klms just had it's second service, could not fault it.

Purchased in June 2018 at Zupps.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Bryce

BryceMelbourne

  • 13 reviews
  • 24 likes

So far I'm happy

published

Recently brought a Z71 colorado and so far I'm a happy camper. My friends have Hilux and Rangers and this thing keeps up with them all day. Found its better on diesel too. Couple things that could be improved are the collision alert is touchy, stall lock up is looser than old ones which I like the low rpm lock up with turbo diesels even If they do vibrate, and I wish it had heated mirrors and adaptive cruze (I'm picky).

Anyways will up date once I've put more kms on it

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Michelle F.

Michelle F.asked

Colorado RG (2012-2020)

Driver's seat won't go back up

No answers
Michelle F.

Michelle F.asked

Colorado

Colorado 7 ltz 2013.drivers seat won't go back up. How to fix

No answers
Lea

Leaasked

Colorado

I have just purchased a 2014 Colorado7...it has dust build up and condensation in tailight assembly. dealer says it's normal nothing to worry about..I disagree, where do I stand. This is Western Australia..I still have more than 2 months warranty left. Any advice, please..regards Lea

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.