??!
20 photos
Isuzu D-MAX

Isuzu D-MAX

RC.I, RA, RC.II
3.8 from 200 reviews

Reviews

3.8

200 reviews
5
(94)
4
(43)
3
(23)
2
(9)
1
(31)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (22)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (22)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (20)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (22)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (23)
  • Handling
    4.0 (23)
  • Braking
    4.1 (23)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (23)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.5 (23)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (23)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (22)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (18)
  • Features
    3.5 (22)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (23)
Previous
Next
Linda

Linda Illawarra, NSW

Tappet cover removal

published

Has anyone had trouble removing the tappet cover as mine is stuck and don’t want to force it. I have a 2010 Isuzu DMax 3 lt. Any recommendations for loosening it would be great don’t want to crack it.

Purchased in January 2010.

TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2010
Cab Type Dual
See all answers

3rd turbo in 73,000 kms

published

Purchased in May 2018 at Solar Power Victoria for A$39,995.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Harley

HarleyNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Dmax the great

published

I've just got my 3rd Dmax and just love it. We tow with it and just love going places. Haven't had any issues with any of em. Great for towing and good off road. Fully recommended Isuzu Dmax.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Cab Type Extra / Super
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bateup

BateupSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Tough and Reliable Ute

published

Purchased in November 2013 at Isuzu Dealers for A$38,490.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
DH

DHAuckland

  • 9 reviews

Improvement over the last model

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Drive4WD
Casey

CaseyPerth, WA

Poor gearbox and ilders high

published

From picking up from the dealership the gearbox clunks into 2nd and 3rd gear and down change back to 1st,The warranty is a waste of time,It ilders up to high and when slowing down with your foot off the accelerator it will take off by itself and may cause a accident

Purchased in January 2020 for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
RENE

RENESouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

SO HAPPY TO OWN TWO OF THEM

published

One for work and one for family transport...
no big issues but on the next service I will get checked gear shifting as it sometime holding in lower gear and higher rpm longer on my LS M , on my SX is perfect no matter if the aircon is on.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Peter

PeterCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Good but could be better with very little effort from Isusu

published

This truck is fully loaded all the time as it has a service body.
Problems specific with this truck are :
1/ Drive by wire throttle has way too much "DELAY OF THE MARK"
2/ Gearing is too tall making 6 gear useless under 110ks... I have to select hold in 5th to stop it hunting.
3/ Little Red display in the middle of the dash is unreadable for any person with over 50s vision.
Apart from the stuff above its great an I trust it to go forever.
The Auto Expert guy on YouTube recons the D-max is like a 10 year old Colorado and that upset me until I realized that he is correct, because I have a 10 year old Colorado and its is bullet proof, so we bought another one.

Purchased in January 2019 at melton isusu.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kezza

KezzaCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Won't be coming back

published

Purchased in February 2015 for A$54,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adam

AdamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

2017 X Runner Worst purchase I’ve made .

published

Purchased in April 2017 for A$65,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ric B

Ric BRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Tweed Heads Isuzu

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Isuzu Dealers for A$28,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Great Ute!

published

If you want a pretty ute at the sacrifice of reliability, don't buy a DMAX.
Bought my ute brand new in Jan 2019 after driving one for work for a few years and can't fault them!
If you're buying a Dual Cab 4x4 and your decision is influenced by its interior looks, you clearly haven't done your research!

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Wally

WallyMid North Coast, NSW

Very unhappy with the clutch

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Annie

Annie

  • 4 reviews

2017 Isuzu dmax

published

Vehicle is used mostly for highway driving and towing a boat. Overall I am very happy with my purchase. Truck engine so it is loud in the cabin, Bluetooth doesn't work very well. Fuel economy with mixture of highway local driving 850km to the tank. If you are looking for a reliable ute I recommend the dmax. Interior is cheap however it's not family vehicle. If you want pretty plastic I suggest you buy something else. If you want a work horse then it's a easy choice good old dmax

Purchased in April 2017 at Isuzu Dealers for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Deb.B

Deb.BSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Isuzu d max

published

My husband bought an Isuzu d max in 2013.
What a Ute. We use it for work and play.
We tow our 14ft Caravan with ease. A very comfortable 4wd to travel in.

Purchased in March 2013 at Hyundi gympie.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
James Lee

James Lee

  • 4 reviews

Noisy when dling bluetooth phone talk.

published

Use for work, a lot of 4wding and Highway. average 50k per year.
Bluetooth is really bad everyone that I am talking to, they all complain. Diesel noise is loud too in the cabin.

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Uncomfortable, slow and noisy

published

Seriously uncomfortable. I do long driving and this Ute is the worse vehicle for comfort. The engine is hideously noisy and the transmission is terribly slow. The engine is horribly noisy and underpowered. The road noise is dreadful. The ride will make you feel sick on poor rod surfaces. Other than that it is a great car : /

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sam L.

Sam L.Sydney

  • 5 reviews

It's got its good points and not so good

published

Purchased in April 2016 at Isuzu Dealers for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Disappointed

published

Purchased in November 2017.

TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
mike

mikePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Just great stuff

published

Now on my seventh Isuzu 4wd ute.

Just a real honest workhorse.

Great on fuel and great in boggy sand, even with a boat hanging off the back (gotta get the tyre pressure spot on though).

I know that luck is part of the game with any car and I sympathize with anyone who has had problems.

(Had 2 wb holden utes...................one did 400,000 k's and still ran like new........the other blew up at 150,000.........hey go figure that out)

Purchased in December 2018 for A$40,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

bryce d.

bryce d.asked

D-MAX

So I pull my abs fuse to turn on the speedometer as I have to pay for kms. Want to do it as I spend a lot of time off road but puts the truck into limp mode any way around?

No answers
BC C.

BC C.asked

D-MAX

Hi, we own two Isuzu’s one being a MU-X
And a D-MAX.
We were travelling up a hill and the M-UX went into a limp mode. This also happened in my D-MaX some months ago
Just wondering how to fix this problem. The engine light also came on.

3 answers
Harley
Harley

Auto or manual, late model 6 speed auto have a software upgrade to fix this.

BC C.
BC C.

They are both auto six speed

BC C.
BC C.

Great thank you

waeco

waecoasked

D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

when I put headlights on dash lights go of

1 answer
Jimbo
Jimbo

Its auto dimming the interior lights as it thinks you are driving at night. Normal.

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.