??!
5 photos
Isuzu D-MAX

Reviews

(92)
(40)
(23)
(9)
(31)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (14)
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (16)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (17)
  • Handling
    3.9 (17)
  • Braking
    3.9 (17)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (17)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.6 (17)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (17)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (16)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (15)
  • Features
    3.5 (16)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (17)


Kezza

KezzaCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Won't be coming back

published

Purchased in February 2015 for $54,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Adam

AdamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

2017 X Runner Worst purchase I’ve made .

published

Purchased in April 2017 for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ric B

Ric BRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Tweed Heads Isuzu

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Isuzu Dealers for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Great Ute!

published

If you want a pretty ute at the sacrifice of reliability, don't buy a DMAX.
Bought my ute brand new in Jan 2019 after driving one for work for a few years and can't fault them!
If you're buying a Dual Cab 4x4 and your decision is influenced by its interior looks, you clearly haven't done your research!

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Wally

WallyMid North Coast, NSW

Very unhappy with the clutch

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Annie

Annie

  • 4 reviews

2017 Isuzu dmax

published

Vehicle is used mostly for highway driving and towing a boat. Overall I am very happy with my purchase. Truck engine so it is loud in the cabin, Bluetooth doesn't work very well. Fuel economy with mixture of highway local driving 850km to the tank. If you are looking for a reliable ute I recommend the dmax. Interior is cheap however it's not family vehicle. If you want pretty plastic I suggest you buy something else. If you want a work horse then it's a easy choice good old dmax

Purchased in April 2017 at Isuzu Dealers for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Deb.B

Deb.BSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Isuzu d max

published

My husband bought an Isuzu d max in 2013.
What a Ute. We use it for work and play.
We tow our 14ft Caravan with ease. A very comfortable 4wd to travel in.

Purchased in March 2013 at Hyundi gympie.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

James Lee

James Lee

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Noisy when dling bluetooth phone talk.

published

Use for work, a lot of 4wding and Highway. average 50k per year.
Bluetooth is really bad everyone that I am talking to, they all complain. Diesel noise is loud too in the cabin.

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Uncomfortable, slow and noisy

published

Seriously uncomfortable. I do long driving and this Ute is the worse vehicle for comfort. The engine is hideously noisy and the transmission is terribly slow. The engine is horribly noisy and underpowered. The road noise is dreadful. The ride will make you feel sick on poor rod surfaces. Other than that it is a great car : /

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sam L.

Sam L.Sydney

  • 5 reviews

It's got its good points and not so good

published

Purchased in April 2016 at Isuzu Dealers for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Disappointed

published

Purchased in November 2017.

TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017

mike

mikePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Just great stuff

published

Now on my seventh Isuzu 4wd ute.

Just a real honest workhorse.

Great on fuel and great in boggy sand, even with a boat hanging off the back (gotta get the tyre pressure spot on though).

I know that luck is part of the game with any car and I sympathize with anyone who has had problems.

(Had 2 wb holden utes...................one did 400,000 k's and still ran like new........the other blew up at 150,000.........hey go figure that out)

Purchased in December 2018 for $40,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ross

RossSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Dmax Auto

published

Purchased in June 2014 for $48,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Dave C

Dave CPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Is the D-Max a genuine tradesman type vehicle

published

Purchased in March 2016 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
sue

sueCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

BUYING A NEW D-MAX SX SPACE CAB UTE

published

It was obvious that Doug at Harrison Isuzu believed in the product he was selling, listened to our questions and was very helpful in the lead up to our eventual purchase of our new D-MAX SU ute.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ahhhhhh Retirement.

Ahhhhhh Retirement.Victoria

  • 2 reviews

Nothing to write home about

published

I brought my MUX early 2017 (Auto) after previously owning 2 D Max's, (Manuals). If I don't start the car at least once in 2 to 3 days it takes about a dozen pushes of the start button. Transmission lousy. Trading at the end of the year.

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Peter c

Peter cGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

3 months and counting. What a joke. You buy a new ute so you dont have problems. Not happy

published

Hi i haven't even had my ute for more than two years yet and it been sitting at the dealer for the last 3 months. It continues to go into limp mode when you first start it in the mornings. They still cant give me answers to why this is occurring. I can't believe that with technology they have these days, you would think that the problem could be found. Izuzu Australia haven't even had the courtesy to call me back. It shows that they just want your money when you purchase a vehicle. But when there's a problem they dont care if it jeopardises you're likely hood. I really on my ute. But i can't really on izuzu

Purchased in May 2017 for $50,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Barry L

Barry LCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Updating previous post.

published

Further to previous listing of serious problems with 2017 6 spd auto not changing properly when towing, and overheating transmission light coming on if in manual mode etc, last years trip towing same caravan, well within weight ratings, proved to be more like should be, even using 5th gear instead of going straight from 4th to 6th. 3 Isuzu dealerships failed to find a problem, and blamed the driver. Last trip vehicle had reached 16.000km before setting out. Still has overheating light problem, but returned a burn rate of 15 ltrs per 100km instead of the previous trip of 16.5. Still, when travelling without trailer using cruise control, vehicle constantly changing from 6th to 4th on shortest and slightest rises.
Hope this is helpful.

Purchased in June 2017.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew

jenandcol

jenandcolvic, 3463

  • 3 reviews

d max

published

hi, the isuzu d max 2016 model it is tuff and rough not a family 4x2 or 4x4. i tow for living 5000 km a week ,i did 250000 km before i got some very bad fuel and the motor went bang. one thing that i learnt about dmax push them hard ,change oil/ filter at 15000 k ,auto 30000k diff 30000k

BadgeSX High Ride
Bodyspace cab
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

allan

allanwarragul, vic, 3820

  • 2 reviews

Isuzu canopy

published

the Isuzu canopy is no good , after 3 years the side glass on the r h side of lift up window started to come out of holder, Isuzu would not fix it as canopy is warranted for 3 years or 100,000 km, the repairer told me the frame is buckled and needed a new one. so I will have to keep window closed.not good enough when vehicle is 5 years warranty ,I had it back to Isuzu a few times to stop it leaking .

BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD

Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Grahame F.

Grahame F.asked

Oil coming out of the open oil filler cap at idle is that a problem

No answers

wattsometer

wattsometerasked

Hi all,
I’ve recently spend 7 months working in a dusty environment and the Speedo/ tachometer display had dust in it. It seemed easy enough to pull out and clean, so I did, but now my tacho and speedo are not working correctly! Is there a way to rest these two or re-calibrate?

1 answer
Kezza
Kezza

My experience from past tells me you have disrupted a small and unseen copper wire that is put there to stop people tampering with speedo readings, the only way i was told to fix it was to take it a dealer to have it repaired.


Colin m

Colin masked

Automatic will not trying to get it in drive

2 answers
Adam
Adam

Been spelling long ....

Kezza
Kezza

What is your actual question mate??


Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.