??!
22 photos
Isuzu D-MAX

Isuzu D-MAX

RC.I, RA, RC.II
3.7 from 210 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (31)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (31)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (29)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (31)
  • Braking
    4.1 (31)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (32)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.5 (32)
  • Suspension
    3.4 (32)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (32)
  • Handling
    3.9 (32)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (30)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (23)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (31)
  • Features
    3.4 (30)
Previous
Next
christo

christoPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Twin cab with canopy 2014 4wd auto SX

published

Bought for 27000 at about 130000kms done a couple of years ago.About 13000 cheaper than GX diesel Prado. 5spd auto 3 litre turbo diesel.Isuzu canopy .Rated 3500kgs towing but will have 1.2 tonne camper trailer Honestly use 9,2 litres per 100.I’d say between 800 to 900km range on 76 litre tank ( not towing).Very happy with it

Purchased in January 2019 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
jasmoonee

jasmooneeMid North Coast, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Test drive first

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Cab TypeSingle
See all answers
Bill Coombe

Bill CoombeHunter Region, NSW

Steering fails at 50 kph !

published

I purchased my brand new Isuzu Dmax on 16th October 2020.
On the 2nd December 2020, I was driving at 50 kph, when the electric steering failed, and I veered, out of control, onto the wrong side of the road. Extremely dangerous.
The response offered by Isuzu was appalling (with the exception of Dan, the excellent Service Manager at Taree Isuzu).
So my summary is that the Dmax is a good vehicle, let down by disgusting service.

Purchased in October 2020 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
neil g

neil gGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Now they tell me ......Isuzu big trouble .....

published

Well this looks like trouble !!! First springs rear broken well its going to be the Ute to bet the rest tops at towing will out run Toyota big fail ...... Now Turbo out it goes and only 13000Klms and 4 mths old well what will be next maybe a trade-in to a real ute at Hi Lux ... should of listened

Purchased in June 2020 at Mornington .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Marc

MarcGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Wow. What a ute.

published

Just bought my first max. 2015 ls-u high ride 60000km.
Still looks like new inside and out. 3 lt turbo desiel drives great.
Used for work daily and towing motorbikes on the weekend.
Love it.

Purchased in October 2020 at Genesis isuzu for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Joseph

JosephSydney Surrounds, NSW

What a lemon

published

I took a new D'max for a test run and what a piece of rubbish. the manual gearbox is still faulty as it crunches when going from first to second and second to third when cold. This is a problem with the previous models and Isuzu refuse to fix it. Also the consul between the seats is too high and my elbow hits it when trying to go around a corner. The suspension is still the same as previous models so therefore is unable to carry the stated load. Also the brakes are the same as previous so wont pull up the vehicle when fully loaded. Do not know how it received a 5 star safety rating. I suppose if you drive it MT and run into a concrete block then it may be ok but who does that.
Joseph

Purchased in December 2018 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Cab TypeSingle
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Lisa

LisaPerth, WA

Crap car

published

Faulty Bought 2 brand new Izuzu vehicles last year. D-Max and Mux. Mix all good. D-Max a freaking lemon! Was recalled for rear suspension. Dealership has stuffed me around constantly. My windows stopped working and they don't even have the parts to fix it. Car used 4l of oil between 1st and 2nd service and it has a rattle in engine bay that sounds like a bunch of loose bearings. After sale care non existent! Would not recommend Izuzu to anyone!! No after sale service.

Purchased in August 2019 for $50,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Justin

JustinSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

Isuzu D Max - DONT TRUST IT, what’s going wrong with it next?

published

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
See all answers

Hasnt let me down

published

Bought my 2011 Dmax second hand in 2013. Fuel economy is great. Never had any issues other than needing a new clutch after burning the original out on our driveway lugging trailer loads of pavers out in a trailer. Its now done 190,000km and hasnt let me down. Ive had loads of different trucks over the years and isuzu have been the most reliable ive found.

Purchased for $26.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ardy01

ardy01

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great truck apart from minor issues

published

Hi bought this in late 2017 to replace a Toyota Hilux I had owned for 10 years.
When I first test drove it I bought it. Suited me perfectly.
Only 2 issues one is important to me the other not so much.
1. The bluetooth connection to my phone is almost unusable, so I have a separate unit to make calls etc. This means I have an AUX cable to play music from my phone but that doesn't always work. It's a PITA.
2. Turn off the radio and the road noise is quite bad. This is a minor issue for me.
It's done 60ks with no issues. Great truck.

Purchased in September 2017 at Online for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Linda

Linda Illawarra, NSW

Tappet cover removal

published

Has anyone had trouble removing the tappet cover as mine is stuck and don’t want to force it. I have a 2010 Isuzu DMax 3 lt. Any recommendations for loosening it would be great don’t want to crack it.

Purchased in January 2010.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2010
Cab TypeDual
See all answers

3rd turbo in 73,000 kms

published

Purchased in May 2018 at Solar Power Victoria for $39,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Harley

HarleyNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Dmax the great

published

I've just got my 3rd Dmax and just love it. We tow with it and just love going places. Haven't had any issues with any of em. Great for towing and good off road. Fully recommended Isuzu Dmax.

Purchased in August 2019 for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Cab TypeExtra / Super
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Bateup

BateupSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

Tough and Reliable Ute

published

Purchased in November 2013 at Isuzu Dealers for $38,490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
DH

DHAuckland

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Improvement over the last model

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Casey

CaseyPerth, WA

Poor gearbox and ilders high

published

From picking up from the dealership the gearbox clunks into 2nd and 3rd gear and down change back to 1st,The warranty is a waste of time,It ilders up to high and when slowing down with your foot off the accelerator it will take off by itself and may cause a accident

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2020 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
RENE

RENESouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

SO HAPPY TO OWN TWO OF THEM

published

One for work and one for family transport...
no big issues but on the next service I will get checked gear shifting as it sometime holding in lower gear and higher rpm longer on my LS M , on my SX is perfect no matter if the aircon is on.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Peter

PeterCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but could be better with very little effort from Isusu

published

This truck is fully loaded all the time as it has a service body.
Problems specific with this truck are :
1/ Drive by wire throttle has way too much "DELAY OF THE MARK"
2/ Gearing is too tall making 6 gear useless under 110ks... I have to select hold in 5th to stop it hunting.
3/ Little Red display in the middle of the dash is unreadable for any person with over 50s vision.
Apart from the stuff above its great an I trust it to go forever.
The Auto Expert guy on YouTube recons the D-max is like a 10 year old Colorado and that upset me until I realized that he is correct, because I have a 10 year old Colorado and its is bullet proof, so we bought another one.

Purchased in January 2019 at melton isusu.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Kezza

KezzaCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Won't be coming back

published

Purchased in February 2015 for $54,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Adam

AdamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

2017 X Runner Worst purchase I’ve made .

published

Purchased in April 2017 for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Sean Cuffe

Sean Cuffeasked

D-MAX RA (2008-2012)

I'm chasing the roof load capacity, any ideas?

1 answer
christo
christo

The latest Ronny Dahl youtube video goes through this in a bit of detail. I believe the Dmax on road capacity for vortex bars fixed to a canopy is around 70kgs (pared back to 50kg for offroad driving). I believe both must include the weight of the actual roof rack. Total weight of my Batwing Compact and Kickass Shower awning is around 22kgs. I don't plan to put maxtrax on roof as they are prone to fading in the sun. I hope this helps a bit!! I sometimes load the Oztent RV5 but certainly nothing more.

Peter C

Peter Casked

D-MAX

My 2009 D-MAX will be running normally, not hot or anything but will randomly cut out and will start after wait of 5-10 minutes, any ideas why?

No answers
Ross R.

Ross R.asked

D-MAX RA (2008-2012)

i just brought 2009 4x4 it is in low 4 and wont change to 4 high or 2 high

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Details

Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price $38,513$53,369$51,097$55,230
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Steel17" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 2 to 442 to 42 to 4
Seats 2 to 552 to 54 to 5
Fuel Consumption7.7 L/100km7.7 L/100km7.9 L/100km7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 76 L76 L76 L76 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Engine Code4JJ1-TCX4JJ1-TCX4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC
Max Power140kW @ 3600 rpm140kW @ 3600 rpm130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque450Nm @ 1600-2600 rpm450Nm @ 1600-2600 rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Tray TypeCab Chassis and Pick UpPick UpCab Chassis and Pick UpPick Up
Cab Options Dual, Extra and SingleDualDual, Extra and SingleDual and Extra
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Payload1,300 kg1,040 kg1,034 kg1,029 kg
Ground Clearance225 mm235 mm225 mm235 mm
Manufacturer Warranty6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017
Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX

Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.