??!
20 photos
Isuzu D-MAX

Isuzu D-MAX

RC.I, RA, RC.II
3.8 from 206 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.8

206 reviews
5
(96)
4
(44)
3
(23)
2
(10)
1
(33)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (28)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (28)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (26)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (28)
  • Braking
    4.1 (28)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (29)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.4 (29)
  • Suspension
    3.4 (29)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (29)
  • Handling
    3.9 (29)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (27)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (21)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (28)
  • Features
    3.4 (27)
Previous
Next
Marc

MarcGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Wow. What a ute.

published

Just bought my first max. 2015 ls-u high ride 60000km.
Still looks like new inside and out. 3 lt turbo desiel drives great.
Used for work daily and towing motorbikes on the weekend.
Love it.

Purchased in October 2020 at Genesis isuzu for A$29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Joseph

JosephSydney Surrounds, NSW

What a lemon

published

I took a new D'max for a test run and what a piece of rubbish. the manual gearbox is still faulty as it crunches when going from first to second and second to third when cold. This is a problem with the previous models and Isuzu refuse to fix it. Also the consul between the seats is too high and my elbow hits it when trying to go around a corner. The suspension is still the same as previous models so therefore is unable to carry the stated load. Also the brakes are the same as previous so wont pull up the vehicle when fully loaded. Do not know how it received a 5 star safety rating. I suppose if you drive it MT and run into a concrete block then it may be ok but who does that.
Joseph

Purchased in December 2018 for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Cab TypeSingle
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Lisa

LisaPerth, WA

Crap car

published

Faulty Bought 2 brand new Izuzu vehicles last year. D-Max and Mux. Mix all good. D-Max a freaking lemon! Was recalled for rear suspension. Dealership has stuffed me around constantly. My windows stopped working and they don't even have the parts to fix it. Car used 4l of oil between 1st and 2nd service and it has a rattle in engine bay that sounds like a bunch of loose bearings. After sale care non existent! Would not recommend Izuzu to anyone!! No after sale service.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$50,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Justin

JustinSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

Isuzu D Max - DONT TRUST IT, what’s going wrong with it next?

published

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
See all answers

Hasnt let me down

published

Bought my 2011 Dmax second hand in 2013. Fuel economy is great. Never had any issues other than needing a new clutch after burning the original out on our driveway lugging trailer loads of pavers out in a trailer. Its now done 190,000km and hasnt let me down. Ive had loads of different trucks over the years and isuzu have been the most reliable ive found.

Purchased for A$26.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
ardy01

ardy01

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great truck apart from minor issues

published

Hi bought this in late 2017 to replace a Toyota Hilux I had owned for 10 years.
When I first test drove it I bought it. Suited me perfectly.
Only 2 issues one is important to me the other not so much.
1. The bluetooth connection to my phone is almost unusable, so I have a separate unit to make calls etc. This means I have an AUX cable to play music from my phone but that doesn't always work. It's a PITA.
2. Turn off the radio and the road noise is quite bad. This is a minor issue for me.
It's done 60ks with no issues. Great truck.

Purchased in September 2017 at Online for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Linda

Linda Illawarra, NSW

Tappet cover removal

published

Has anyone had trouble removing the tappet cover as mine is stuck and don’t want to force it. I have a 2010 Isuzu DMax 3 lt. Any recommendations for loosening it would be great don’t want to crack it.

Purchased in January 2010.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2010
Cab TypeDual
See all answers

3rd turbo in 73,000 kms

published

Purchased in May 2018 at Solar Power Victoria for A$39,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Harley

HarleyNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Dmax the great

published

I've just got my 3rd Dmax and just love it. We tow with it and just love going places. Haven't had any issues with any of em. Great for towing and good off road. Fully recommended Isuzu Dmax.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Cab TypeExtra / Super
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bateup

BateupSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

Tough and Reliable Ute

published

Purchased in November 2013 at Isuzu Dealers for A$38,490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
DH

DHAuckland

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Improvement over the last model

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Drive4WD
Casey

CaseyPerth, WA

Poor gearbox and ilders high

published

From picking up from the dealership the gearbox clunks into 2nd and 3rd gear and down change back to 1st,The warranty is a waste of time,It ilders up to high and when slowing down with your foot off the accelerator it will take off by itself and may cause a accident

Purchased in January 2020 for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
RENE

RENESouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

SO HAPPY TO OWN TWO OF THEM

published

One for work and one for family transport...
no big issues but on the next service I will get checked gear shifting as it sometime holding in lower gear and higher rpm longer on my LS M , on my SX is perfect no matter if the aircon is on.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Peter

PeterCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but could be better with very little effort from Isusu

published

This truck is fully loaded all the time as it has a service body.
Problems specific with this truck are :
1/ Drive by wire throttle has way too much "DELAY OF THE MARK"
2/ Gearing is too tall making 6 gear useless under 110ks... I have to select hold in 5th to stop it hunting.
3/ Little Red display in the middle of the dash is unreadable for any person with over 50s vision.
Apart from the stuff above its great an I trust it to go forever.
The Auto Expert guy on YouTube recons the D-max is like a 10 year old Colorado and that upset me until I realized that he is correct, because I have a 10 year old Colorado and its is bullet proof, so we bought another one.

Purchased in January 2019 at melton isusu.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Kezza

KezzaCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Won't be coming back

published

Purchased in February 2015 for A$54,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adam

AdamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

2017 X Runner Worst purchase I’ve made .

published

Purchased in April 2017 for A$65,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Ric B

Ric BRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 13 likes

Tweed Heads Isuzu

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Isuzu Dealers for A$28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Great Ute!

published

If you want a pretty ute at the sacrifice of reliability, don't buy a DMAX.
Bought my ute brand new in Jan 2019 after driving one for work for a few years and can't fault them!
If you're buying a Dual Cab 4x4 and your decision is influenced by its interior looks, you clearly haven't done your research!

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Wally

WallyMid North Coast, NSW

Very unhappy with the clutch

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Annie

Annie

  • 4 reviews
  • 11 likes

2017 Isuzu dmax

published

Vehicle is used mostly for highway driving and towing a boat. Overall I am very happy with my purchase. Truck engine so it is loud in the cabin, Bluetooth doesn't work very well. Fuel economy with mixture of highway local driving 850km to the tank. If you are looking for a reliable ute I recommend the dmax. Interior is cheap however it's not family vehicle. If you want pretty plastic I suggest you buy something else. If you want a work horse then it's a easy choice good old dmax

Purchased in April 2017 at Isuzu Dealers for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Annabel

Annabelasked

D-MAX

Husband bought a D-Max Single Cab 4×4 Tray Back. The Evaporator failed on the Air Conditioning Unit (our Auto Electrician says this is quite common with the Isuzu D-Max). Isuzu says we have to take it to the nearest dealer which is over 400klms away. Surely we can have it done by our fellow and send them the bill. Has anyone else had this problem?

No answers
Sean B

Sean Basked

D-MAX

The airbag sensor/module in my 2015 mux has been damaged by water,can I use one out of a dmax, any particular year?Thanks

2 answers
Joseph
Joseph

My first question is, how did water enter the airbag module as they are sealed and secondly your MUX should still be under warranty so I would try this line first. Good luck

Sean B
Sean B

No ,no longer under warranty,airbag module damaged when car got stuck in very deep puddle

brian wood

brian woodasked

D-MAX RC.II 4x2 (2017-2020)

can i get a roobar to suit my 2017 sx 4x2 low ride single cab ute

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Details

Compare all 10 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price A$42,649A$26,990A$52,298A$48,367
TransmissionAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Steel15" Steel18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 2 to 4244
Seats 2 to 5255
Fuel Consumption7.7 L/100km7.2 L/100km7.7 L/100km7.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 76 L76 L76 L76 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Engine Code4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm130kw @ 3600rpm
Max Torquee 430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Tray TypeCab Chassis and Pick UpCab ChassisPick UpPick Up
Cab Options Dual, Extra and SingleSingleDualDual
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg2,500 kg750 kg750 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg750 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Payload1,029 kg1,349 kg1,014 kg1,024 kg
Ground Clearance225 mm190 mm235 mm235 mm
Manufacturer Warranty6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017
Compare all 10 Isuzu D-MAX

Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.