??!
1 photo
Kitchen Couture Induction Cooker

Kitchen Couture Induction Cooker

MPN: BDT-INDCTNCKD
3.5 from 13 reviews

See the Best Portable Cooktops in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
3

Jason L.

Jason L.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Works well but loud

published

This is a solid induction cooker that has plenty of heat settings. The biggest issue is the fan is always on so if your using it and trying to watch TV or listen to music, it's difficult as the fan is loud. Maybe having the loud fan means the unit will last awhile since it shouldn't overheat but only time will tell. For what it's worth, I've had it for about a year with no issues. On a side note, the pot that comes with it is quite thin but you can make broth in it.

Purchased in June 2018 at Kogan.com for $39.00.


Toxic plastic smell.

published

I bought one a few months ago not intending to bother to return it if there was a problem so I have no idea where the receipt is. Now I wish I knew. There is and always has been a toxic plastic smell coming from the unit before you even turn it on. I don't feel safe using it so it's sitting out on the back porch doing nothing. I'm planning to put it in hot direct sunlight to see if that gets rid of it but meanwhile I'll search for that receipt. It's a matter of principle. Also I found that it doesn't go low enough for a gentle simmer. Otherwise it's great.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
mz_dvs

mz_dvsSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great product!

published

Didn't have very good expectation after opening the box and first seeing the free pot it came with, which is very very poor quality. So I was quite surprised that it's quite powerful, with a great range for power or temperature settings. It is very easy to use and portable.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Len

LenPort Broughton

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent product and price

published

this technology is incredible, a step up from microwave.
Instant on -off no waiting for heating elements and heating up the kitchen.
No burning spills on hot burners
Efficiency is Gas 40% Induction around 90% saving time and electricity therefore cost.
Always test your cookware to ensure they are magnetic otherwise the cooker will not operate as it is a magnetic coil based technology

Date PurchasedJul 2018

So annoyed with Harvey Norman

published

Purchased the KC induction cooker, have tried all my scan pan and Bessemer to find it won’t work, I only have one frypan that will work. What a waste of money

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Bruce H

Bruce HSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 33 reviews
  • 29 likes

Im impressed

published

Recently purchased this induction cooker and to-date I am impressed. Power settings are variable from 200 - 2000 watts in 200 w increments or temp 60 - 270 in 20 deg increments. The cooker will hold a simmer at the lower settings. I trialed this will 500 ml of water only in a covered saucepan. Unit seems to work with my small coffee maker to large fry pans. The unit will not heat-up unless there is an appropriate metal cookware on the hotplate.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Didn’t work

published

Arrived! Not impressed with the packaging!!! Then turned the cooker on, work for a couple of minutes then
Went in a E 5 code try a few more times still went in E5 code went to the trouble shooting guide try everything still would not work.

Have now sent it back. Hope I can get a refund. Thank you. Mary Bugden

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Floss62

Floss62Gippsland, VIC

  • 5 reviews

perfect

published

I needed it for stir frying as my electric hotplate isn’t powerful enough to get the wok really hot. It does the job perfectly and I had the added benefit of an excuse to get a new pan.I’m very pleased with it. I would recommend it. It also is useful as a portable device and if you need that extra cooking plate.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Pat

PatAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Unfortunately, a big disappointment!

published

Bought it through Kogan. No problem with them....the item arrived quickly. But...
1. The free pot had a dent in it.
2. The cooker itself worked a couple of times and then the heat input went out of control. The cooker starts at a default heat input of 1600W, and there is a dial which you use to adjust the heat settings up or down from that. Unfortunately, after a couple of days, when you tried to reduce the heat input below 1200W, then it would jump up to the maximum setting of 2000W, time and time again.
3. As an added bonus, the timer stopped working soon after that.....again, if you use the dial to try to set the time for the cooking, the timer would start generating random numbers.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Greg R

Greg RWollongong

  • 22 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified purchase

Early Days - so far so good

published

Look, this is a $50 experiment. Picked this up on Groupon for $49 plus $8 postage.
I like the idea of trying to get a consistent temperature for deep frying and also slow cooking. Slow cooking on a gas cooktop is hard because even on low heat is just too high and the item requires constant attention.
So far, we have tried cooking deep fried frozen mini spring rolls on 180 degrees. 8.5 out of 10. They cooked well but needed to cook till a bit overdone of the outside so they were not cold in the middle.
My wife tried steam coconut cakes this afternoon and they were a great success. That's it so far and 2 out of 2 is a good start. I will add to the review later if we find performance or quality issues.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Veronica

VeronicaEpping, Victoria

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Love this little Induction Heater!!!

published

Don

Don

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed, No resolution to date since 11/10/2015

published

Rose

Rosepacsoe vale

  • 2 reviews

great portable cooker

published

I was sceptic about this type of cooking but am now a huge fan.induction is fantastic.its fast to heat up and cook.so versatile.i can take it to my outdoor area where we have power and cook outdoors with ease.no wind problems which blow out gas either.i love it.the timer is a great feature but havent used it yet.

Questions & Answers

Dan3aka28

Dan3aka28asked

Why is the cooker going to E5 all the time Why ???

4 answers
Greg R
Greg R

Probably because your cookwear is not stainless steel. The saucepan,frypan etc myst be compatible for induction cooking.

Dan3aka28
Dan3aka28

I used the the proper compatible cook ware.

Veronica
Veronica

You need to use proper cooking equipment... If they supplied you with a cooking pan, put a magnet underneath it and magnet will attach. This is the correct cookware.... When you put magnet to normal stainless steel cookware magnet will not attach, so its no good for this induction cooker.... I use the one they supplied and that's all I need... Otherwise you need to buy one compatible....I love mine, hope this helps...


Floss62

Floss62asked

How is it for wok cooking?

3 answers
Don
Don

It works very well.

Greg R
Greg R

Hi, as long as the wok is induction cooking compatible, it works fine.

Floss62
Floss62

I guess I'll add a wok to my purchase. The stove I have here is crap and certainly won't heat up a wok enough for stir fry


peter

peterasked

I am not seeking this device for cooking. I need to keep a constant temperature of 65 c. Is that possible with this type of cooker? Ta Peter

1 answer
Greg R
Greg R

Peter, it only goes 40,60,80 etc. It has 10 preset heat settings. I did some deep frying @ 180 degrees and it seemed to be constant. cheers Greg


Get an answer from our members and Kitchen Couture representatives

Details

CategoryPortable Cooktops

  • GTIN13: 9348569001818
  • MPN: BDT-INDCTNCKD

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.