?
? !
2 photos
L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss

L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss

500 Medium Brown, 535 Chocolate, 300 Darkest Brown, etc...
2.7 from 153 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Ammonia-free

  • Semi-permanent and lasts up to 28 washes

  • Leaves hair looking shiny

Cons

  • Contains peroxide

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

What happened to the beeswax conditioner?

published

Disappointing that the beeswax conditioner has been replaced by a coconut cream conditioner that leaves hair DULL and such a TANGLED MESS it is difficult to comb out. The beeswax conditioner left hair beautiful and shiny. Are you bringing the beeswax conditioner back, or should I look for another product?

Incentivised ReviewNo
Prior Hair ColourBrown
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
KrofnaLady

KrofnaLady

  • 3 reviews

Weird static hair after application but otherwise not a bad hair dye

published

Purchased in December 2020 for $12.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
1 comment
KrofnaLady
KrofnaLady

It may in fact be the Argan Oil that makes the hair static though. Not 100% sure. I did apply both in the same hour so I can't tell yet what is doing it...

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cratsky

CratskySydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Tried to tone orange out of level 7 brown highlights

published

My hair is shiny and soft after colouring. The orange is slightly toned out but I am pairing it with a blue shampoo to get it where I want. There is a sizeable amount of conditioner left over for ongoing maintenance. Very easy to apply as the creme prevents dripping and even saturation. Make sure you use a rat tail comb to section your hair to ensure you get to the roots all over.

I removed a star because it did slightly lighten the roots even though it says it doesn't. I have highlights through black hair and the black hair is noticeably slightly lighter after colouring.

Purchased in December 2020 for $15.99.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hair Dyes

Find out how L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss compares to other Hair Dyes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Darker than expected

published

I coloured my natural medium brown hair, leaving it on for 20 minutes. It did a good job at covering my grey hairs, didn't stain, but the hair colour is visibly darker. I hope it washes out

Purchased in November 2020 at Supermarket.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Fabulous!

published

I used Light Brown 600, it came as a very lovely, natural looking, rich brown colour. Very smooth and shiny too. I'm loving it! And despite the other reviews, the new hazelnut conditioner made my hair look healthy, sleek and shiny. The smell really isn't that bad in my opinion. Overall, super happy and I had lots of positive comments about my hair. I wish I used it sooner.

Ease of Application
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mich

MichSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not the one in this picture but Silky Blonde 801 is a beautiful colour!

published

The Silky Blonde 801 is by far the most natural blonde colour without it looking bleached and white nor orange. I have tried other Blonde colours in the Loreal range over the years and this is the nicest colour yet. It leaves your hair feeling soft, silky and is not a strong smell but pleasant scented when applying and afterwards. Love this product and please keep making it forever! I am a dark Blonde to light brown natural hair colour.

Purchased in January 2020 at Chemist Outlet for $10.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anna K

Anna KMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very happy with the product

published

Love the product and am a happy user. Google reasons why colour doesn't take to hair, you'll understand. It's a very common problem. Some hair types are resistant to colours, hair pigments, excessive overuse of hair dyes etc. So you can't always blame the product. Also the colour takes better if washing hair a day or two prior. In addition prepare hair before with protein conditioning treatment.

Purchased at Woolworths.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Caz1310

Caz1310Melbourne

  • 33 reviews
  • 21 likes

Auburn not Amber 645

published

Fortunately I like dark red hair - that's what the 2 stars are for. This is what I ended up with. Absolutely nowhere near amber. The product was super easy to use and my hair is in great condition.

Purchased for $15.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kerri C.

Kerri C.Sydney, NSW

Colour same as shown on box

published

Use this on my med-long hair that I had been getting blonde foils in for most of my life. Felt like a change as I hadn’t done my foils for over 12mths and they had grown out and my hair looked horrible. Colour is beautiful and rich just like shown on the box. The colour is evenly spread even over the blonde left in my hair. Loving my new colour and how much healthier my hair looks

Purchased in April 2020 at Chemist Warehouse for $15.99.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hair Dyes

Find out how L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss compares to other Hair Dyes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Didnt make a difference!!

published

Absolutely disgusted with this product did as it said & when I rinsed it out was no different to before the color didn't take at all. Won't be using again. Won't recommend ever no.

Purchased in May 2020 for $6.80.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Didn’t work at all

published

Did not change the colour of my hair at all and I used it exactly as instructed, my hair naturally is a darker blonde so it should have worked, it was a complete waste of money

Purchased in March 2020 at Superdrug.

Ease of Application
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Awful

published

I have my hair professionally coloured -2shades of blonde and one brown every six weeks. Due to lockdown I have bad roots - fancied a temp change so tried Black Cherry thinking it would come out pinkish on the blonde bits. Strangely it did come out very dark in places and brown in others. Hair looks horribly dull though and I can hardly get a brush through it. V disappointing as I've used Castings in the best with lovely results- won't be using it again:(

Purchased in April 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michelle1180

Michelle1180Perth, WA

  • 17 reviews
  • 6 likes

Misleading for some

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Woolworths for $9.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Elise I.

Elise I.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

Great results

published

The colour lasts in tone for 5 to 6 weeks.
I wash my hair three times a week.
It will stain if you do not emosify the hairline when washing it. I put paw paw ointment on my hairline to prevent staining.

Purchased in February 2020 for $15.00.

Ease of Application
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GiftBaskets Joy

GiftBaskets JoySydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 19 likes

lovely colour

published

like it how it does not damage my hair the colour is beautiful would suit most people as the colour looks very natural. Easy to apply. Smells nice would repurchase

Purchased in February 2020 at Chemist Warehouse for $15.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hair Dyes

Find out how L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss compares to other Hair Dyes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Didn’t work well

published

I used this on my hair, kept it for 25 minutes to be sure it would work and was so disappointed by the result. Didn’t work well at all. It didn’t cover the grey areas and I am never wasting my money on it again.

Purchased in February 2020 for $10.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Red to Dark Brown

published

I recently dyed my red hair with 645 to even out some brassy roots which resulted from stripping out a previous colour. I have used this colour previously and for this exact same purpose. This new formula turned my red hair a warm but dark brown. This product is completely ridiculous and totally misleading.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2020 at Big W.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Prior Hair ColourRed
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Followed the instructions, and it did absolutely nothing.

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2020 at Countdown NZ for $14.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
1 comment
unhappy
unhappy

the first image is before, the second is after.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Uselessly

published

It is not the same colour as it shows on the box and left my hair feeling dry and knotty. Has quite a bright red colour on the box, turns out really dark brown with a very slight red tinge.

Purchased at Chemist Warehouse for $15.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Karie

KariePerth

  • 2 reviews

Why do I have to buy it cheaper online?

published

1. I can buy this product online for $8.00 at Woolworths or Coles
2. I dont like to shop online prefer the in store experience
3. So therefore I feel discriminated against
Why dont the store offer shoppers like me the same discount?

Only buy when on special $8.00 or $16.00 normal price

Been using this product for many years ...looks like I will have to change

Purchased in September 2019.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Suzan A.

Suzan A.asked

L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss

I used cadtings 300 twice but colour has no depth to it. Don't know why it used to work well before. Any suggestions?

No answers
Lynne

Lynneasked

L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss

I originally was using Iced chocolate but decided to go darker. I used darkest brown but it looks black I wanna go lighter to a chestnut brown what colour would you suggest. And will it lighten if I use a lighter colour ? I don’t like this at alll please help me

No answers
tweety b.

tweety b.asked

Casting Creme Gloss 1021 Very Light Pearl Blonde

I colour my hair using light ash blond.l'd like to know what colour will l get,if l use 1021 colour on my hair...?..l'm actually a medium brown by nature,and when l use a mixture of light ash blond and ultra ash blond l get that ashy white tone..l'm getting bored of the colour and l'd like a more blondy colour without it being orangy...

No answers
See all L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss questions

Get an answer from our members

L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss

Details

L’Oreal’s collection of semi-permanent hair dyes covers greys and provides full glossy colour without the use of harsh chemicals such as ammonia. It lasts for up to 28 washes and is available in an array of 21 natural, high shine shades.

Features:

  • Lasts for up to 28 washes
  • Natural Caring Conditioner provided which is tailored to your shade
  • Blends away greys
  • Leaves hair full of visible shimmering tones
  • No ammonia for a pleasant smell

What reviewers thought:

Reviewers felt that the shades were slightly misleading and the actual shade ended up being darker than advertised. However, the product is soft on the hair and skin, leading to minimal irritation.

Compare all 35 L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss
Compare all 35 L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.