??!
3 photos
Laser STB-6000

Laser STB-6000

MPN: STB6000
2.4 from 35 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.6 (13)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (13)
  • Recording Quality
    1.3 (7)
  • Software
    1.7 (9)
  • Reliability
    1.4 (10)
Previous
Next

Not happy

published

Channels keep disappearing sub titles come on randomly constantly rescanning wouldn't recommend purchasing this crapola..

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dennis

DennisGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Multiple problems with Lasser stb 6000.

published

Switches on subtitles when not wanted.Looses stations.Sound out of sinc.Cheap and Nasty. Have had to reset to get all the channels but looses them within minutes.Will never buy this make again.

Purchased in November 2020 at Kogan.com for $34.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Aroma Starved

Aroma StarvedSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Its made in China and $39

published

Every corner of saving costs has been maximised. Including the micro manual. Older sensible and frugal ppl tend to hang on to old TV sets and use set boxes. This one is not suitable! Unless they are Sherlock holmes as the remote is micro. Fat thumbs, poor light and eyes ? Forget it. The on and off light can hardly be seen as others pointed out. Not expecting it to last too long but that's unproved atm. But it might work until my TV dies. Fingers crossed:)

Purchased in February 2021 at Harvey Norman for $39.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Laser STB-6000 compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
peter

peterVictoria

  • 2 reviews

Lemon

published

Died yesterday, less than 3 yrs old, ridiculous, should last years. Similar problem, dim led no remote conrol response and can't switch on or off and worst no reception. Only 1 year warrantry?

Purchased in April 2018 at Kogan.com for $40.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kerrilyne T.

Kerrilyne T.

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheap flimsy design

published

I do not recommend this in anyway and wish I read the reviews before I bought it. Hard to work, can’t tape and watch at same time no matter how many times I watch Utube to set up. Now I can’t get channels and picture and audio is all over the place so in less than a year it’s broken. Absolutely useless

Purchased at eBay for $39.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Avoid Like The Plague...

published

Acts Like it has poor reception but doesn't. Channels randomly disappear. Audio gets out of sync. Subtitles randomly just come on.

Picture attached illustrates how to fix all of these issues.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased at BigW for $30.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hungry Hippo

Hungry HippoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Unit failed

published

Unit has failed. Only dimly lit green LED, no output. No response from remote.
Would appreciate the manufacturer spending even $1 more on the design so these things last more than 2 years. Very disappointing.

Purchased for $40.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian

IanMelbourne, Victoria

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

I should have read the reviews more carefully...

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Big W for $39.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lebron720

lebron720Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 60 reviews
  • 26 likes
  • Verified purchase

Does the job. Saved me from buying a new TV

published

My TV is old, circa 2004. I haven't been able to get many digital channels with my old set top box. I was close to buying a new Smart TV but could not bear to throw a working TV away. Instead of spending over $1000, this $39 set top box did the trick. Now I can get all the digital channels which is what I wanted it for. I haven't used the record function. The remote is a little small but I am satisfied with the set top box. The only thing now is it keeps popping up with "software update" on the TV screen, even though I have updated it already. The set top is nice and small and doesn't take up a lot of space. Easy to setup.

Purchased in April 2020 at Big W Retail Stores for $39.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Laser STB-6000 compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
FD Estate

FD Estate

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Rubbish - stay away!

published

This product is absolute rubbish and I wish I hadn't wasted my money! It is very slow to respond to the remote and constantly needs re-booting as it freezes. Software updates are manual.

Purchased in September 2019 for $130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Laser STB-6000 Fails quickly

published

At first everything worked well, but within a month, despite software upgrade, loses channels, subtitles comes back on at every channel change. Did lots of research and tried everything. No change. Also, remote is very small and poorly designed. User Manual covers the product and functionality well (in tiny print), but you have to look around a lot (eg: USB2 (not 3) limited to 750GB formatted, which is enough space for me, but my external drives are all 1TB so have to use sticks). Files (movies/TV shows) saved are named by the box and cannot be changed, so difficult to know which movie/TV program a file is. I have not tried all the extra functions as I am returning the device.

Purchased in February 2020 at Officeworks Physical store for $39.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Wouldn't recommend

published

Bought this yesterday from Big W. Instruction manual not clear and precise. Remote flimsy and too small. Attached all cables, plugged it in. Followed the instructions; turned both tv and stb on...no installation guide appeared on the screen. Looked up troubleshooting in the back of the manual but couldn't find the issue I needed to fix. Taking it back

Purchased in December 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $39.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Debbie

DebbieCentral Queensland, QLD

Absolute rubbish

published

I have owned my STB-6000 and it has continually gone out of sync. Voice does not match the picture. Will lose the voice completely and you have to turn it off and restart which is a pain when you’ve taped something and lose the voice halfway through. Now it has turned itself off and won’t turn back on.
And because I don’t have my receipt I can’t take it back for refund.

Purchased in January 2019 at Big W Online Store for $50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Techgeek

TechgeekPAKENHAM

Good little STB/PVR, great for recording.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Annoyed

AnnoyedCaboolture

It is always stopping and sometimes for quite a long time

published

Not satisfied at all it keeps stopping and sometimes for long periods of time, it is very frustrating when you are watching something and it stops you miss out on quite a bit of the programs. I do not recommend this product as it is in my opinion very unreliable

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Laser STB-6000 compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mat

MatSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Absolute rubbish

published
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BuyGeorge

BuyGeorgeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 29 reviews
  • 45 likes
  • Verified purchase

Does it all

published

Recently purchased mainly for the usb media player. It plays back my usb recordings made on my hisense tv. Like if I record the news on my lounge room hisense tv via usb, and I want to watch it in the kitchen later on, I just move the hisense usb into the laser usb slot (and vice-a-versa). For $30 I'm very happy with it.Has HTMI and composite outputs.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not worth buying it

published

Slow response while changing channels and the channel legend didn't update.
Old and bad quality remote control.
I used it 3 times and now it is not working. To repair it or buy a new remote control to try is more expensive. Better to buy good quality and spend a little more.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Merc250

Merc250Adelaide

  • 2 reviews

A budget item, but it does the job!

published

The Laser STB-6000 is really easy to use & set up and updating firmware is a doddle too. All quite intuitive. The unit itself is pretty basic, but it does play every media type I've been able to throw at it & it does double up as a DVR and digital set top box. What it doesn't do is connect to the internet, so will not stream anything. So if you want to stream video & network a media player, this is not the one to buy. But if all you want is a very affordable set top box come media player & DVR, then at the price point for this item, it offers great value for money.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Merc250
Merc250
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rosemary B

Rosemary BMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Happy with purchase

published

Because this unit was so cheap I thought it wouldn't work as well as more expensive ones but that isn't the case. I'm happy with the unit. It records reliably is easy to use and quality is good. I would recommend it. The storage space is adequate for my purpose.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Horst janssen

Horst janssenasked

Why does my laser stb 6000 only record channel 96 no matter which chanel I SET It TO RECORD?

1 answer
Robag
Robag

For me the following worked: delete the recordings and the directory, switch off unit completely, few mins turn it back and set up the recording again. I hope it work for you too.

Sandra M.

Sandra M.asked

The Laser set top box remote control is not working all buttons on the left hand side don't do anything...we need the menu to get all our channels back can I get just a new remote or do I have to buy the whole package thank you

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Suggest you following instructions in your manual first

Graham C.

Graham C.asked

Why does my laser keep turning the subtitles on, I could be watching a show and with out touching anything the screen flickers and the subtitles turn on

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Contact the service number as we are just consumers.

See all Laser STB-6000 questions

Get an answer from our members and Laser representatives

Details

CategorySet Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs
Price (RRP)$39.95
USB Ports1
Height105mm
Width125mm
Depth30mm
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9335432024265
  • MPN: STB6000

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.