??!
10 photos
Le Creuset Casseroles

Le Creuset Casseroles

4.6 from 34 reviews

See the Best Baking Dishes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
28
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
1

Moonie Michael

Moonie MichaelSouth West, WA

  • 35 reviews
  • 19 likes
  • Verified purchase

Le Crueset, it's french for perfection.

published

Le Crueset, what can I say other than it's well worth the money.
I've always wanted to fill my kitchen with their fine products since I was a child.
After so many years I saved up and splashed out on a treat for myself.
Tough, durable and cleanup is a breeze. I'm so glad I splurged, life is too short for anything else.
Home cooking has never been more fun, easy and elegant.

Purchased in January 2019 at Kitchen Warehouse.


esp

espMelbourne

  • 33 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified purchase

Magnifique!

published

Have 22cm orange casserole, and have just saved to get the blue 28cm. 22cm was a bit small for a family. Wanted something for stove to oven, and couldn’t find anything else that would take high enough temperature. Got the steel knob. Cooks beautifully, no evaporation with the tight fitting lid. Food does catch on the bottom, but soaks & cleans easily. I wanted specifically for baked risotto, which needs a good non stick pan. Like the colour choice, and that it’s pretty enough to be used as servingware. The price is expensive, but I like the idea of passing it down to the next generation.

Purchased in July 2019 at Flybuys.

WilgaFaye

WilgaFayeSouth West, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent customer service - cannot fault prompt reponse; courteous and considered explanations.

published

I contacted Le Creuset when my much valued oval casserole chipped during use. I was given the benefit of the doubt as to why this happened. Today I received a replacement - like for like. Very impressed that they are as good as their word. This is a great product, I have others as well - this one was a gift from food-loving family and quickly became my favourite so it has been much missed. Thank you Le Creuset.

Date PurchasedNov 2007
MoU

MoUSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Product!

published

I was unsure at first to buy this French oven when I saw the price. However, my husband often tells me, 5 years down the track, that it has been a great investment. It turns a meat stew into an extraordinary dish due to its ability to seal in the vapours during cooking time. Meat is exquisitely soft and full of flavour. It is a heavy pot but I don't mind that because of the quality dishes that it produces. The other great thing about it is that you just have to throw all the ingredients into the casserole and forget about it for 2 to 3 hours. It is easy to clean and is best used with low cooking temperature otherwise food easily catches at the bottom and burns. Great, great product! Mo U.

Date PurchasedSep 2014

Johnson

JohnsonMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Great product for all purpose cooking

published

The quality of this product is second to none. The cast iron material retains heat so well and cooks very evenly. I have also dropped the lid a number of times on tiles and it has never broken! They are reasonably priced when on sale, would highly recommend.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Fussy Pants

Fussy PantsBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Le Creuset is the perfect pot

published

Le Creuset boils, roasts, stews, casseroles and also looks good on the dinner table. I still have mine after 40 years. I have two and they both look the same as the day I bought them. No scratches on the base. Still pristine. I recently contacted Le Creuset with a query and they couldn't have been nicer. So nice I purchased another. There were emails back and forth and enquiries made on my behalf and an agreeable solution made. Not only are the casserole dishes perfect, so is the company.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

MTM

MTMBrisbane

  • 3 reviews

Le Creuset is one of my favourite brands out there

published

I must commend Le Creuset for their consistent quality: I've never bought anything from them that I haven't loved. They are sturdy, conduct heat beautifully, and are always easy to wash. Even burnt food on oven dishes, that usually can be difficult to fully get rid of, come off with ease. Even the 30 year old dishes I got from my parents are still spotless and great to use. Highly recommend

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Cindy

CindyMelbourne

  • 8 reviews

Perfect!!

published

Cant live without it!! It is so useful for cooking, boiling, frying, any type of dishes. Anyway, I use it for all uses and it turns out so great. Perfect!!

Date PurchasedJun 2016
MonkeyBaby

MonkeyBabyPerth, WA

  • 55 reviews
  • 21 likes

Loving it so far

published

We've purchased a Le Creuset 5.2L pot for over a month now.

So far we're loving it.

It's not too difficult to wash as long as you regularly maintain it.

The pot retains the moisture extremely well when cooking sauce type of food.

Will provide an update on this review in a years time if I remember to let you know how it's going.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Tania

TaniaCanberra

  • 21 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great Easy Slow Cooking

published

I have 3 Le Creuset Casserole Pots of different sizes, and I use them all and often. They are dishwasher proof, oven proof, usable on the hobs and are robust for a lifetime of cooking. I have had some of them for a decade and they are just as good as the day I got them. Only downside they are expensive - but I do feel I got good value from them.

Date PurchasedJan 2006

Sam

SamMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Mum got this for me and now I dont cook with anything else!

published

Its got a good weight to it which was the first thing I noticed that impressed me with the quality. Retention of heat was another thing that I was concerned about but especially when cooking over many hours this thing was great. I think I don't even need to use my other pans anymore.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015

TonyaCarters

TonyaCartersMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great fit for the kitchen with many uses

published

I discovered this brand in Myer a while back and have been recommending it to my friends ever since. It is extremely durable and has worked on both my induction stove and ceramic plate heaters. It works fantastic and even tho the enamel has slightly worn away after 6 years, its got a life that will last longer than me it seems


Audrey

Audrey

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The one pot everyone should have

published

sophie

sophieNoosa

  • 38 reviews
  • 9 likes

Absolutely love it! Make family cooking easy and healthier!

published

Never too late to buy a Le creuset

published

Bought the Marseille Blue a few weeks ago. Just to find out I must have done this years ago.
Works as good in an oven and on inductie. The only thing that keep me off buying was its price. Took me more than a year and a half to find the right colour and the right price
th easy way to clean
There were a few pits in the inside. But was replaced by a good one

Marion Winchester

Marion WinchesterGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not impressed, selective warranty

published

bron1305

bron1305AU

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Brilliant Customer Service

published

Jamie B

Jamie BMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 14 likes

WARRANTY VOID IF YOU COOK WITH IT

published
2 comments
Jamie B
Jamie B
misguided
misguided

Shouldn't you change the ratings then?


Skyepocketrocket

SkyepocketrocketAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

3rd Generation Le Creuset

published

stevei

steveiSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes

Just Amazing!

published

I have 3 of the Cocottes (French Ovens) in various sizes, 2 Frypans (Cast Iron), 2 Saucepans, and the grilling pan. All in Cast Iron. The Cocottes and Saucepans are Enamelled. This is amazing cookware. Expensive, but well worth it. I use it on Induction which it is perfectly suited for. I love the way it stews, braises, frys, and generally gives professional results.
The Brand, the way it cooks, the quality, ease of cleaning.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Allyson

Allysonasked

Hi, I'm thinking of purchasing a 26cm French oven can you please advise between the ones with the metal knob and the black knob on the lids what'ss the difference between the two? as there seems a price difference as the metal knob is more expensive.Also is there any advantage of the shape round or oval or just personal choice? Thanky ou in advance.

3 answers
bron1305
bron1305

Hi Allyson,

I am not an expert, but I think that the black handle doesn't get as hot as the metal handle if you have the pot on the stove top - it will still get hot if the pot is in the oven. I prefer the black handle but it is a personal choice. With respect to the shape, as you said it is a personal choice - but also think about what you are likely to want to use the pot for. If you are going to be slow cooking meats like lamb shoulder, leg then the oval may fit the meat better - I mainly use mine for casseroles / stews etc so am happy with the round.

Happy Cooking!

Jamie B
Jamie B

The metal knob can tolerate a higher temp in the oven. If the metal screw that fastens the black knob gets too hot it can cause the knob to break/chip. I have one of each and I prefer the metal knob. Round or oval, whatever rocks your boat!
Le Creuset Casserole (round or oval) is a must have for anyone who enjoys their cooking.

stevei
stevei

Hi Allyson,

I agree with both posts above. metal handle can possibly withstand a higher temp, but from memory the black withstands 220 degrees celsius. The Oval Casserole would be great for roast meats and chicken (as mentioned above). I just have have the round ones...and love them.


Kim

Kimasked

Can the casserole be used on the stove top, for example gas or hotplate?

3 answers
MetalMick
MetalMick

Hi Kim, yes, they can. we have used them mainly on gas for over 30 years now, but they work fine on electric hotplates as well.

stevei
stevei

And they are brilliant with Induction

Ken Cooper
Ken Cooper

Sure can!


Get an answer from our members and Le Creuset representatives

Details

CategoryBaking Dishes
Oven Safe (ºC)190
Dishwasher SafeYes
Release dateFeb 2009

Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 024147086109, 024147159131, 024147162544 and 024147173946

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.