??!
2 photos
Maxwell & Williams Cashmere

Maxwell & Williams Cashmere

1.7 from 50 reviews

Reviews

(6)
(1)
(1)
(8)
(34)
Elizabeth C

Elizabeth CSydney, NSW

Poor quality

published

After many years of service, decided to replace “White basics” dinner service. Opted for the cashmere range as I was told it’s better quality and will last longer. After 2 months the glaze has worn of at least half of the plates and knife marks can be seen on most of the dinner plates. Wanted to return the whole lot, but the shop will only replace the damaged ones (as I bought them individually). Waste of money. Going back to trusty White Basics.

Purchased in December 2019.

Stell

StellGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Maxwell Williams Cashmere - Terrible !!!

published

I have gone through 2 lots, returned the first after the glaze on the dinner plates basically disappeared after 2 months... tried another lot wondering if it was a bad batch exactly the same after only a month. The shop assistants can't believe they say they've never had any returned, either they're not being truthful or people just don't bother to return an inferior product. Don't get me wrong, the staff were awesome and could definitely see the problem and had no issues refunding.

Purchased in January 2020 for $110.00.

Shanon

ShanonDarling Downs, QLD

crazing & cutlery marks on glaze

published

Suddenly I don't feel so alone. Bought Cashmere 12 place setting (not cheap) and glaze has vanished leaving horrid marks on the china. Particularly bad in cups and bowls. On top of that, I have only 4 cups and bowls left - wonder why? Took photos as sad reminder of money down the drain. Wrote to M&W, waiting for reply.

Serveware Products

Find out how Maxwell & Williams Cashmere compares to other Serveware Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter L.

Peter L.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Shame Maxwell Williams

published

We bought two of the cashmere fine china dinner sets approximately 2 years ago. Looks like we have the same problem as others. Bad crazing on plates and bowls . The product is really bad and I'm not surprised they haven't had a product recall as I think it's warranted. Never again would I buy them and certainly steer others clear of their products.

Dee

DeeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 6 likes

I love this design of Cashmere Mansion

published

I really like the design of this dinner set. I don't know if it's just me but I find the plates with the flat bottom so easy to eat from and the little lip helps with run away peas etc. The bowl shape is also nice and fits more than it looks like it should so is great for curries etc.

Purchased in August 2019 at Catch for $69.00.

Suzi K

Suzi KSouth East Queensland, QLD

Deglazed

published

Cashmere double dinnerset has completely deglazed on certain plates and bowls, pattern has all but disappeared. I too have had recurring lip irritation which GP initially thought was skin cancer! Chuck this stuff out! What a waste of hundreds of $$$

Suz1974

Suz1974Teesdale

  • 4 reviews

Never again

published

I was washing a plate from their Kimono range which snapped in my hand and sliced down into my thumb joint which needed medical treatment. Proper sensation has still not returned after six months. I noticed some plates look like they've had cracks and have been repaired. Tonight i have discovered another bowl that is still together but has a huge crack. Very dangerous. If this was as an elderly person with thin skin i believe the injury would have been much worse.

Brennie

BrennieLake Macquarie

Would not recommend as true fine china should stand up to the test of time

published

Disappointed yest again!

published

This is the second Maxwell Williams dinner service I have bought, and I decided to buy the more expensive Cashmere range, I had the basic range previously. After just a few months I have stains and streaks on most of my plates.
I will return these to Myer, but not sure what to buy that is better quality? Any suggestions??
Thanks

Serveware Products

Find out how Maxwell & Williams Cashmere compares to other Serveware Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified purchase

Serious health concern

published
Ally

AllyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love this item

published

Great dishes. Light weight and strong. Very happy with the quality and will buy them again. Wash up perfectly and slim line . Great item highly recommended for everyday use

Not a durable product

published

I bought two dinner sets 3 years ago. Sadly the glaze is very cracked on at least half of the set.. I'm unwilling to replace the pieces with more MW/Cashmere and feel like I need to start again! Very disappointing.

Nice...

published

13 March 2018

I bought two M&W Charming dinner sets as well as a few extra pieces...eight each of noodle bowls, sweet dishes and entree plates. I am a bit disappointed that the entree plates are noticeably a different colour.

I am also disappointed that I couldn't get extra entree and sweet plates to make 12 settings...I didn't think they'd be discontinued so quickly.

My product is standing the test of time...to date: two breaks, one chip, no scratches, no crazing...I got it November 2015.

Moxie

MoxieNSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sadly had to return - glaze is the problem.

published
Helen L

Helen LAdelaide

Knife marks and dark stains

published

Purchased M W Casmere Miami Beach for beach house. In spite of occasional use glaze quality dreadful. Grey knife marks and grey marks on outside of bowl. Not fit for purpose.

Serveware Products

Find out how Maxwell & Williams Cashmere compares to other Serveware Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tim53

Tim53Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Lovely and brand new

published

I too had a variety of Maxwell and Williams basics that were old and worn.

So I just purchased two "Maxwell & Williams Cashmere Classic 16 Piece Coupe Dinner Set" sets and 8 entree plates. One bowl broken on delivery, being replaced now. Other than that they look great. Based on other reviews here, I will watch their condition over a couple of weeks and I will take photos to track their condition. At the moment I am very happy, they look lovely.

Heather

HeatherMelbourne

Disappointed with white cashmere china

published

My White cashmere china has what looks like grey cutlery markings on dinner & bread & butter plates . I do not have any cups/ mugs - fortunately!! Very unsatisfactory product.

Jenni Love this product

Jenni Love this product

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

cashmere set great

published

I must be the only one who loves this dinner set,I purchased mine about 8 years ago and it is still shiny,all in tact even after a few bangs and looks brand new,Maybe the quality has changed since then?But i am very happy with my set

Maxwell Williams basic white

published

Maxwell white classic dinner sets are pathetic, my children gave me 2 four piece setting for Mother's Day last year and now they have chips on nearly every second item as my children are adults there is no reason for the chips and I am very disappointed. My name is Jeannine mansell [private information removed] phone number 0407486973 .

Larry Bel

Larry BelSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed

published

I purchased 2 Cashmere dinner sets as I really liked the style, not on sale either, unfortunately most items have lost their sheen, they have a developed a bluish opal like mark and worst of all they stain, I always rinse before placing in dishwasher, only use liquid, but they still come out stained. The mugs have black marks from stirring with a spoon. I will NEVER purchase a Maxwell and Williams product again.

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Harry

Harryasked

Does anyone know if its only on the cashmere dinner sets that craze and the shine comes off? And will Myers or the company always refund your money even without a receipt?

2 answers
Peter L.
Peter L.

Not sure but when i mentioned it to House who i got mine from they said to bring one in to show them . I got the impression that it wasn't going to make a difference so we didn't bother. We bought two sets that ended up being thrown out . I wouldn't buy anything from Maxwell Williams again .

Peter L.
Peter L.

I notice that Maxwell Williams repesentitives monitor this page but they seem mute on this topic .

Babs

Babsasked

I have just purchased a 12 setting Cashmere dinner set. After reading these reviews I'm really disappointed. I destroyed the receipts after purchasing as I never thought I would need them. I have had my last every day dinner set for 45 years (Royal Alma with big family using every day) and apart from a few breakages it never chipped or stained. It was never meant for dishwasher or microwave and has just recently started to craze. I'm now thinking I have done the wrong thing with my purchase of the Cashmere set.

3 answers
Suzi K
Suzi K

Mine is from the coloured Enchante range. The yellow and blue pieces have lost their glaze, red and pink pieces still okay ( I purchased a mix of pieces for casual dining) I don’t have white so don’t know if it stands the test of time. I hope this is helpful Babs

Babs
Babs

Thank you Suzi K. How disappointing for you! I have never had that happen to any china I have owned! Looks as though I'm going to have to wait and see what happens to my white Cashmere set.

Luigy E.
Luigy E.

Hi Babs, how has your cashmere set stood up 8 months down the track? I was going to get a set but am reluctant after reading these reviews.

Norma

Normaasked

Can you buy side plates to match cashmere floral cups &saucers?

2 answers
Gregm
Gregm

I believe so. Try Myer they might have stock

Norma
Norma

Thank you for your prompt attention to my query

Get an answer from our members and Maxwell & Williams representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.