??!
2 photos
MiniJumbuk Luxus Quilt

MiniJumbuk Luxus Quilt

Double, King, Queen, Single and Supa King
3.1 from 51 reviews

See the Best Quilts, Duvets & Doonas in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
18
4 star
4
3 star
6
2 star
9
1 star
14

Terrible waste of money

published

Purchased in May 2019.

1 comment
MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk

Do Nam T.

Do Nam T.Evatt 2617, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Excellent for winter! Very comfortable

published

I bought this at Myer before the winter. Very pleased with it. Warm and comfortable. Just need to hang out for about two days before use so that the smell of a new product disappear. Not inexpensive, but very worthwhile.

Purchased in March 2019.

1 comment
MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk
Sandman

SandmanHobart

  • 2 reviews

Glad I took a punt

published

After reading all the negative reviews suggesting odour issues, I nearly avoided purchasing this quilt. Luckily a friendly staff member let us smell the product before buying. We did not smell any adverse smells. Likewise, we did not notice any unpleasant smells when we slept with it for the first night. It was extremely effective and keeping us toasty warm. To quote Mr Molly Meldrum, "do yourself a favour and check it out".

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk
Carol

CarolAdelaide

Love my jumbuck

published

Hi, I have had my king size jumbuk for 20+ years. I love it. Still looks new. Purchased quilts for the kids yesterday. They are airing but to be honest there was hardly any smell. Not sure about these other reviews. Don’t put them in a waterproof quilt protector. Daughter’s 7 year old jumbuk has gone mouldy in it. Trying to work out how to get it out as quilt too much of an investment to just throw away, although the cat loves it. Thank you. Love supporting a great SA company. Pillows are awesome too.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk

Janelle

JanelleMelbourne

Product should be reviewed. Smell is much worse than years ago.

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
3 comments
MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk
Janelle
Janelle

Can you please clarify what the strong smell is that many are complaining of?
Thank you

MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk

Stinky

published

I've purchased the double for my daughter last year and had no problems so I was confident to buy myself one today... BUT oh my lord it stinks like I'm in a sheep shed. Very disappointed!

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk

Hi,
We are sorry to hear your unhappy with your purchase. Please contact our Head Office on 1800 088 834 and we can discuss further to resolve your issue.


ALS

ALSWollongong

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Potent Smell

published

The weight of the quilt, and functionality of it as a quilt, seems like it would be fine. The issue is the smell - it's rather potent, a very chemical type of smell. It's not too strong out of the box, which is deceiving, but once the quilt is out and unfolded, just wow, it really hits you. I've aired it, but when you lie under it, it's almost like you can taste it. Absolutely horrific. Mini Jumbuk, you guys need to fix this asap. What the hell causes this in your manufacturing process/production chain?

Date PurchasedJun 2018
4 comments
MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk

Hi,
We are sorry to hear you are not happy with your purchase. Please contact our Head Office on 1800 088 834 as we would love to resolve this issue.
Kind regards,
The MiniJumbuk Customer Support Team

ALS
ALS
MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk

Warmest of warm; saved loads on our heating bill

published

We bought a Queen size quilt for winter, we have never slept better, with just this quilt (the extra warm model) we can have a flannel sheet and sleep through minus temperatures without a worry. We just bought another one for our son. A great Australian made product too, a rarity these days. Not sure what people are saying about a smell, maybe a bad batch? We have two and no issue. I guess you don't get a smell when the competitors are making their quilts from plastic!!!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk

Hi Kieran,
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you are enjoying your new quilt during our cold winters.
Kind regards,
The MiniJumbuk Customer Support Team.

Linda

LindaMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

No odour, but a bit warm

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Smell is awful

published

After paying a pretty penny for this Australian king wool Donah l am so disappointed. It smells so bad that my sanctuary has now become infiltrated by this horrible smell. I have aired it for weeks but nothing has helped. Smells like wet dog..

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk

Hi,
We are sorry to hear you are not happy with your purchase. Please contact our Head Office on 1800 088 834 as we would love to resolve this issue.
Kind regards,
The MiniJumbuk Customer Support Team


Tony

TonyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quilt

published

My initial quilt stunk. The Customer Support Team were very helpful and apologetic of the smell of my first quilt. They have replaced it and guess what? This one does NOT stink. So I'm happy with that. Perhaps just a bad batch which I received. Quickly picked up and quickly replaced by MiniJumbuk. If you are purchasing the product in store make sure you open it up and smell it. If you are buying directly from the company just tell them to open it up and smell it and make sure it does not have a foul smell. Looking forward to getting cosey with the quilt!

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Should've read the reviews

published

It stinks!!! Are these people normal selling smelly quilts like this? Would they allow their kids to sleep in a quilt that smells like homeless people? Calling customer service as soon as Monday comes!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk

Hi,
We are sorry to hear you are not happy with your purchase. Please contact our Head Office on 1800 088 834 and we are happy to discuss your issue with our product.
Kind regards,
The MiniJumbuk Customer Support Team


mopk47

mopk47Kingsley

  • 2 reviews

Excellent product. Definitely improved sleeps.

published

Initially a bit hesitate about the smell due to many reviews. Happily report it is non noticeable at all. Both my wife and I love it. Should've got it 10 years ago!

Date PurchasedMay 2017

terrible smell

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Very very happy

published

Purchased a new quilt for Canberra winters. I'm really happy with my quilt, light in weight but very warm. Have had no problems with any bad odours. Love it

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Til25

Til25Brisbane

Too hot

published

I bought a king size jumbuck quilt and it sits in the cupboard. If I use it, even in winter, I get so hot and sweaty and get nightmares. I spent a premium on this quilt as I wanted something 100% for the very reason that I didn't want to get too hot. I already have a wool quilt on our bed and it can be used all year round, but it getting old so I bought the jumbuck as a replacement. I still have my old quilt on the bed and trying to find another brand of wool quilts that actually acts like a wool quilt, not a polyester one... just saying.

Date PurchasedMay 2014

etk

etkPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bad smell

published

I purchased this quilt for my daughter last year from Adairs and it smells terribly even after all this time. I'm glad I have read these reviews & found that this is not normal or acceptable for a product particularly of this expense. Every time I walk in her room that yucky smell just hits me.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Grommit

GrommitSouthwest, VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great product

published

I’ve owned 3 pure wool Mini Jumbuck quilts for many years and while they are very well made, warm and comfortable, the cleaning – manufacturers recommend only dry cleaning – costs about $50 each which over the years has really mounted up.

As they are so old, I thought I’d try washing one on a COLD cycle at the launderette. Bingo – perfect result for $6.

I’m not recommending doing this with a brand new quilt, as I may just have struck lucky. My quilt was so old it really didn’t matter, however, I will certainly do it again.

Date PurchasedOct 2000

Dave

DaveMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best Purchase I ever made

published
Date PurchasedMar 2007

long lasting quality product and wonderful customer service

published
Date PurchasedMar 2010

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Lisa

Lisaasked

Hi Does a a 'king single' quilt size exist?

1 answer
MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk

Hi Lisa,
Unfortunately we do not make king single quilts, we only make this size in mattress toppers. We would suggest fitting a king single bed with a double size quilt.
Kind regards,
The MiniJumbuk Customer Support Team.


darleen

darleenasked

Luxus Queen

I want to buy a MiniJumbuk but after reading the reviews not sure. Obviously there is a problem with the smell and this is not just a batch issue as the problem has been reported since 2013 until present. For what I can see the response from the company is to contact customer support but no info as what the real issue is... I will be buying online so no chance to 'smell before you buy'
Any info would be highly appreciated?

2 answers
Rae
Rae

Hi Darleen

There's no doubt there has been a problem with the issue of the smell of the quilts at various times. I had purchased two Supa King quilts which I believe were from different batches and both had the problem of the offensive smell that would not dissipate no matter how long they were aired for. In the end I contacted the Minijumbuk Customer Service team direct who were very happy for me to return them to Harris Scarfe (where I purchased them from) for either replacement or refund. I chose to have them replaced because Minijumbuk were absolutely confident that the replacements would not have this problem. I have purchased Minijumbuk quilts over the years and never had this problem before so was happy to give it a try. Both quilts were replaced, both were absolutely perfect and I'm really happy with the result.

With regard to smelling them first, in my experience it wasn't until I had fully unpacked the quilts that the smell became apparent after about 10 minutes so smelling them first in the box in the shop wouldn't have made the extent of the problem obvious. If you are buying them online and are concerned about this potential problem I would get in touch with the Minijumbuk Customer Service team first to see what options would be available to you if there is a problem. I just phoned and spoke to a couple members of their team as we were sorting out the problem I was having and found they were very helpful and friendly and happy to sort the problem out to my satisfaction. Best customer service I have had in a while.

Rae

Boof
Boof

Darleen
I can confirm the company stand by their products but are in denial about the problem. Although I was able to return my quilt to Harris Scarfe I was too wary to take another as having smelt the smell and not being given an explanation as to the cause was not interested. The staff at Harris Scarfe encouraged me to smell a fresh quilt in the box but like I said once you have smelt the smell it is hard to disassociate from it. The staff at Harris Scarfe tried to assure me the smell is regular sheep smell [Lanolin] but as a lanolin user I can attest it is not at all the same smell I have questioned. The smell is very much a reminder of a product called Phenyle which is an olden day but still available product for cleaning/disinfecting and I believe after doing some research as to the chemicals used to treat the wool that it is likely a very similar product.


Deb

Debasked

Luxus King

Hi guys!
I just bought the Minijumbuk Luxus, I just need clarification with usage. The sales rep told me that this blanket will keep me cool in the summer (This is the first time I've had to buy a quilt) could someone please confirm this?
In winter i know this will get me warm but I sweat and overheat in summer

3 answers
KT
KT

In summer we have the cool cotton side facing up, and in winter the cosy wool side faces up ...
Still very happy with this underlay year round. Thank you :)

MiniJumbuk
Kate G.MiniJumbuk

Hi Deb,
Please confirm your product, is it a Luxus Quilt or Underlay? Where was the product purchased?
Our Luxus quilt is part of our winter range and is roughly a 2 1/2 - 3 blanket warmth.
Our Luxus underlay is one of our reversible products and can be reversed to the cotton side for the warm summer month.
Kind regards,
The MiniJumbuk Customer Support Team.

Deb
Deb

It's the luxus King quilt, this is the first time I've had to purchase a quilt (nan is usually the one that buys them all) so I'm not too sure 2 1/2 - 3 quilt warmth is. I generally heat up pretty quick so I'm hoping that it won't be a sauna in winter


Get an answer from our members and MiniJumbuk representatives

Details

MiniJumbuk Luxus Double

MiniJumbuk Luxus Double

4 reviews
MiniJumbuk Luxus Queen

MiniJumbuk Luxus Queen

12 reviews
MiniJumbuk Luxus King

MiniJumbuk Luxus King

10 reviews
MiniJumbuk Luxus Supa King

MiniJumbuk Luxus Supa King

2 reviews
MiniJumbuk Luxus Single

MiniJumbuk Luxus Single

6 reviews
CategoryQuilts, Duvets & DoonasQuilts, Duvets & DoonasQuilts, Duvets & DoonasQuilts, Duvets & DoonasQuilts, Duvets & Doonas
Price (RRP)$379.95$449.95$599.95$589.95$319.95
Release dateJun 2010Jun 2010Jun 2010Jun 2010Jun 2010

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.