??!
10 photos
Mitsubishi Triton
3.5 from 422 reviews

Reviews

3.5

422 reviews
5
(153)
4
(97)
3
(45)
2
(42)
1
(85)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (57)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (55)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (54)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (56)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.4 (55)
  • Handling
    3.8 (54)
  • Braking
    3.8 (55)
  • Suspension
    3.4 (53)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (52)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (54)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (52)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (42)
  • Features
    3.6 (52)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (52)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Maria

MariaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews

So happy with purchase

published

Recently purchased our first ever new car and chose a Mitsubishi Triton. What a surprise package. Know why it made ute of the year. Great looking ute. Very comfortable drive. So many safety features and automatic functions. It’s fantastic. Very easy to use giving you hands free communication.

Purchased in March 2020 at Zupps for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Rod

RodHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Has been a great ute

published

This Ute has been totally reliable for the 7 years of ownership. The only small issue was the usual turbo lag on take off (Which you get used to) and some rust in the roof, which Mitsubishi rectified for me. Otherwise very happy with the way it performed on road and off-road - so much that I bought a new MR 2020 Triton. Hope it’s as reliable!

Purchased in February 2013 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Diggy.

Diggy.Perth, WA

Grain Of Salt reviews

published

Most negative reviews I have read miss all of the hints which are above the text box when you write a review. They also lack a lot of important context, seem very un-reasonable or are on a used purchase and have no history on the car.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anthony P.

Anthony P.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Warranty not worth paper its written on

published

Have done 15,000ks (6 months) on my $40k brand new car and the brakes squeak every time they are applied. Even though it clearly states brakes and linings are covered by a 20,000k 12 month warranty, Mitsubishi have refused to fix them (head office) not just the dealer. Apparently buying a new car and driving with squeaking brakes isn’t a major failure. Now they expect me to pay to have them fixed! Hate to think the battles I’ll have in future when any other warranty issues arise.
Wouldn’t buy another Mitsubishi ever again.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
See all answers
Ben Simmons

Ben SimmonsTasmania

Have had some issues.

published

Cracked head beyond repair @ 63000ks
Replaced under warranty.
The day after the car was returned to me the glow plugs failed.
Replaced under warranty.
I like the ute but the problems i have had hasn't given me much faith in the build.
Things like this shouldn't happen at 60,000ks.
Throttle response and turbo lag is terrible but can be fixed with a throttle controller.
Stock suspension is terrible needs to be replaced.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
SixSixSh33P

SixSixSh33PSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews

Great ute for the price

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Zupps for A$32,888.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Stephen

StephenPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

BEST UTE EVER! TRY ME!

published

Totally effortless offroad. Very fuel efficient. Can keep up with anything offroad with ease. Plenty of aftermarket support. The Triton community is very welcoming if you're wanting to join. Cheers.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jason D

Jason DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the Triton

published

Triton was the best rated and best price. I chose the black( wrong choice) but the car is extremely comfortable and reliable with 7 year warranty and fixed price service

Purchased in April 2018 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$45,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
c purton

c purtonNorth-West & West coast, TAS

Good light weight workhorse

published

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gavin Buchholz

Gavin BuchholzWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Overhearing, dealer takes over 5weeks to repair

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bay city auto for A$16,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Max

MaxPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A reliable and effective Ute

published

Purchased in October 2012 at Western Wholesale Commercials.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ryan C.

Ryan C.

  • 2 reviews

Great value for money

published

I've set the vehicle up as a tourer and it's been going great. With a good fuel economy and soild performance. I haven't towed anything so can't comment on that but I have loaded it up with weight and it maintains a decent performance... though perhaps not as much as some of the other dual cabs on the market. For the price though, it's hard to beat and after 90000 km I've not had a single issue.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
paul

paulhowrah tasmania

  • 13 reviews
  • 10 likes

BEFORE you buy read the many road tests first.

published

Triton is the third biggest selling vehicle [& ute] in Aus; after the Ranger 1st & Hilux 2nd. Some road tests rate them in that order too, ahead of all the others. Tritons are a bit cheaper than the many overpriced 4x4s & now have a 7 year warranty as not much goes wrong [same as with MOST new cars these days. Just ensure you read the ANCAP 5 star safety tests & buy the most safety extras you can get. Your family deserve to be safe. I test drive several makes before I decide. Make sure you do too.

Purchased in December 2019 at McGrath Mitsubishi Liverpool for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
paul
paul

Excellent

published

Had my 2018 exceed for 12 months. Used off road, beach and around city. Brilliant value for money. Can still buy new 2 of these for the price of a Toyota or Ford. To selling new for $38000. Have had zero problems with it. More extras as standard than most other 4wd's. 5 star safety rating.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$39,900.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Not happy jan

published

Got brand new , serviced regularly, looked after, never towed weight, only five years old and massive overheating problems, water pump , coolant, radiator cap. Viscous fan, thermostat all replaced and still overheating, in the end it was a cracked head and needs new motor, Mitsubishi didn't give a crap only said ohh we don't cover the motor, what an annoying poor company response especially when they knew it had overheating problems in that model and should have recalled them all. I'll never buy this brand again and will tell everyone that Mitsubishi dont really give a crap.

Purchased in May 2014 for A$26.90.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
coli60simmons

coli60simmonsPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

boiling

published

The MN 2.5 Triton had a casting problem in the block between the head and Mitsubishi know this and have motors sitting around Australia to replace defective motors but it has a lot to do with the dealer whether they want to rip you off or not and what sort of a repor they have with Mitsubishi Aust.
They have been great with my issue new motor all good no cost.

Colin

Purchased in March 2014 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$29,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
David Rich

David RichSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Poor quality including that of the factory fitted genuine accessories

published
  • +2

Purchased in October 2016 for A$53,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
choc

chocVictoria

  • 2 reviews

Engines are boat ankers

published

All mn tritons should have been recalled due to having such engine problems never buy one all ways serviced and looked after also leaking suspension which was checked out by a dealer they told me they were weaping not leaking I told him I would be back to see him when I needed a roadworthy certificate

Purchased in January 2015 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Justin

JustinSouth East Queensland, QLD

Never buy a triton

published

Rust discovered in doors after weeks of delivery. Countless warranty repairs later engine terminated at 60,000kms. Extremely limited assistance from Mitsubishi despite factory servicing. 1st new car, never again Mitsubishi

Purchased in July 2011 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$37,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
craig64baird

craig64bairdGordon 2906, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Absolute rubbish

published

Dont buy!

Fuel economy is atrocious, double what the Mitsubishi suggest. Mitsubishi wont accept responsibility. Put a bull bar on the front and the entire vehicle shakes.

They are cheap for a reason, but they also depreciate quicker than any of their competitors.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 22

Questions & Answers

sebrent86

sebrent86asked

Triton MK (1996-2006)

Mk 2003 petrol auto
Bloody thing wont start will crank just wont start done a service not long ago. Checked fueses and plugs all good

No answers
Robbie

Robbieasked

Triton MN (2009-2014)

Hey guys I have just replaced turbo with a brand new one, and it still is blowing grey smoke out the exhaust and turbo smoking cause of oil leak, does anyone have any ideas?

No answers
Slav

Slavasked

Triton

Will an 2007 Triton bull bar fit on a 2014 Triton?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.