??!
10 photos
Mitsubishi Triton
3.5 from 429 reviews

Reviews

3.5

429 reviews
5
(156)
4
(98)
3
(46)
2
(43)
1
(86)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (63)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (61)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (60)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (62)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.4 (60)
  • Handling
    3.7 (60)
  • Braking
    3.8 (60)
  • Suspension
    3.4 (59)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (57)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (60)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (59)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (48)
  • Features
    3.6 (59)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (58)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Ben J.

Ben J.Sydney, NSW

blow up engine

published

car used only for family transport regularly serviced
engine blow up at 73000 km 5 years
terrible customer service ,they just ignore you
not a reliable car , dont waste your money

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Fuel cap issues

published

The car itself is great...but the fuel flap door will not open. It has taken 6 months already for them to order the part which is still another two weeks away. So I have a brand new car that I can’t put fuel into without first going to the dealer to have them open it for me. The 7 year warranty is no help with this apparently because the car goes, but still can’t leave town or head away on holidays in the new car in case it runs out of fuel.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Cab Type Dual
See all answers
Richard

RichardCentral, SA

I have not made up my Mind, Good, Bade ore indifferent

published

Purchased for A$22,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Handling
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mel E

Mel EPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Such a beauty!

published

Just bought our GLS Premium 4x4 yesterday. Such a beauty to drive! This is our first 4x4 and we find it easy to park with the help of 360deg camera. We'll be using it in 2weeks for our camping trip to Karijini so we're a bit excited.

Purchased in July 2020 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$50,754.90.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Cab Type Dual
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Pete

Pete

  • 26 reviews
  • 23 likes

Nothing Can Frighten a Triton is absolutely correct

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Jackson Motor Company for A$45,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew Compton

Andrew ComptonIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Been fantastic !

published

Purchased Dec 2018 with 150g km for 17g at Dealer. Now have 185g km not one single problem. Used to get 725 km until fuel light went on, fitted light bar and spot light on tub roof bar and it dropped to 680km When I fill up only takes 60 litres though. A great car to get around, very jumpy on the road over bumps, but very comfortable. My wife finds the passenger front seat uncomfortable for her back on long drives. Nothing has fallen off or stopped working. I am 54 and owned a lot of cars, this is a favourite for just loping along and chucking stuff in the back. I service it every 10g km through mechanic as I do all my cars. Hope this helps anybody looking at buying one. Cheers !

Purchased in December 2018 at harrigans for A$17,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
BrianVee

BrianVeeSydney, NSW

  • 23 reviews
  • 10 likes

Fantastic value - way better than competing dual cab utes

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Great drive

published

Great truck. Have completed 73000km with it. I Use the Ute on gravel roads over mountain passes all the time in NZ. I am using Four wheel drive daily. Also tow my 1.7ton digger over same roads. It’s been awesome. No real dramas apart from a sticky turbo waste gate. Seems to have fixed itself

Purchased in December 2017 for A$44,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Henry

HenrySydney, NSW

The biggest heap of junk you'll ever buy

published

We bought a Mitsubishi Triton only to be totally disappointed. It spent 91 days in its 1st year in Mitsubishi have multiple things fixed including a blown engine at 49000 km. The list is endless of problems it has had over the years. More recently it blew the new engine up so it has gone through 2 motors in only 170000 km. I would never recommend a Mitsubishi to anyone and have just forked out to but a new Isuzu which we certainly didn't plan after only 7 years owning the Triton. It was meant to last at least double that time but spent most of it on the back of a tow truck. It was always log book serviced etc.

Purchased in February 2013 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maria

MariaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

So happy with purchase

published

Recently purchased our first ever new car and chose a Mitsubishi Triton. What a surprise package. Know why it made ute of the year. Great looking ute. Very comfortable drive. So many safety features and automatic functions. It’s fantastic. Very easy to use giving you hands free communication.

Purchased in March 2020 at Zupps for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Rod

RodHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Has been a great ute

published

This Ute has been totally reliable for the 7 years of ownership. The only small issue was the usual turbo lag on take off (Which you get used to) and some rust in the roof, which Mitsubishi rectified for me. Otherwise very happy with the way it performed on road and off-road - so much that I bought a new MR 2020 Triton. Hope it’s as reliable!

Purchased in February 2013 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Anthony P.

Anthony P.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Warranty not worth paper its written on

published

Have done 15,000ks (6 months) on my $40k brand new car and the brakes squeak every time they are applied. Even though it clearly states brakes and linings are covered by a 20,000k 12 month warranty, Mitsubishi have refused to fix them (head office) not just the dealer. Apparently buying a new car and driving with squeaking brakes isn’t a major failure. Now they expect me to pay to have them fixed! Hate to think the battles I’ll have in future when any other warranty issues arise.
Wouldn’t buy another Mitsubishi ever again.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
See all answers
Ben Simmons

Ben SimmonsTasmania

Have had some issues.

published

Cracked head beyond repair @ 63000ks
Replaced under warranty.
The day after the car was returned to me the glow plugs failed.
Replaced under warranty.
I like the ute but the problems i have had hasn't given me much faith in the build.
Things like this shouldn't happen at 60,000ks.
Throttle response and turbo lag is terrible but can be fixed with a throttle controller.
Stock suspension is terrible needs to be replaced.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
SixSixSh33P

SixSixSh33PSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great ute for the price

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Zupps for A$32,888.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Stephen

StephenPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

BEST UTE EVER! TRY ME!

published

Totally effortless offroad. Very fuel efficient. Can keep up with anything offroad with ease. Plenty of aftermarket support. The Triton community is very welcoming if you're wanting to join. Cheers.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jason D

Jason DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the Triton

published

Triton was the best rated and best price. I chose the black( wrong choice) but the car is extremely comfortable and reliable with 7 year warranty and fixed price service

Purchased in April 2018 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$45,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
c purton

c purtonNorth-West & West coast, TAS

Good light weight workhorse

published

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Gavin Buchholz

Gavin BuchholzWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Overhearing, dealer takes over 5weeks to repair

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bay city auto for A$16,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Max

MaxPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A reliable and effective Ute

published

Purchased in October 2012 at Western Wholesale Commercials.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ryan C.

Ryan C.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value for money

published

I've set the vehicle up as a tourer and it's been going great. With a good fuel economy and soild performance. I haven't towed anything so can't comment on that but I have loaded it up with weight and it maintains a decent performance... though perhaps not as much as some of the other dual cabs on the market. For the price though, it's hard to beat and after 90000 km I've not had a single issue.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 22

Questions & Answers

Mick

Mickasked

Triton MK (1996-2006)

Hi wondering where my engine number is on my 2000 model Triton duel cab

No answers
Marius V.

Marius V.asked

Triton

Will a 2012 triton canopy fit a 2015 triton

No answers
Kym C.

Kym C.asked

Triton ML (2006-2009)

Can eny one please help me out are they any good the 2.4 turbo diesel

2 answers
Richard
Richard

Hi, I can only tell you that my 2.5 Diesel with 175000km has got an Electrical Problem with 5 Visits to Mitsibushi Dealers there have not found the problem as yet. That I have spent $2000 for all that nonsense is needless to say. However wen the bloody thing runs it is perfect, really good fuel consumption and uses no Oil.

Tobin W.
Tobin W.

The 2.4s? 2015 - current - yes very reliable.
The 2.5 2009 - 2015 in Australia - some had issues, i didnt.
The 3.2 ML 2006 - 2009 like your title, yes very reliable, bit noisy and rough but very reliable.

Get an answer from our members

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.