??!

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
148
4 star
95
3 star
44
2 star
42
1 star
83

Ryan C.

Ryan C.

  • 2 reviews

Great value for money

published

I've set the vehicle up as a tourer and it's been going great. With a good fuel economy and soild performance. I haven't towed anything so can't comment on that but I have loaded it up with weight and it maintains a decent performance... though perhaps not as much as some of the other dual cabs on the market. For the price though, it's hard to beat and after 90000 km I've not had a single issue.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

paul

paulhowrah tasmania

  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

BEFORE you buy read the many road tests first.

published

Triton is the third biggest selling vehicle [& ute] in Aus; after the Ranger 1st & Hilux 2nd. Some road tests rate them in that order too, ahead of all the others. Tritons are a bit cheaper than the many overpriced 4x4s & now have a 7 year warranty as not much goes wrong [same as with MOST new cars these days. Just ensure you read the ANCAP 5 star safety tests & buy the most safety extras you can get. Your family deserve to be safe. I test drive several makes before I decide. Make sure you do too.

Purchased in December 2019 at McGrath Mitsubishi Liverpool for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Excellent

published

Had my 2018 exceed for 12 months. Used off road, beach and around city. Brilliant value for money. Can still buy new 2 of these for the price of a Toyota or Ford. To selling new for $38000. Have had zero problems with it. More extras as standard than most other 4wd's. 5 star safety rating.

Purchased in January 2019 for $39,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Not happy jan

published

Got brand new , serviced regularly, looked after, never towed weight, only five years old and massive overheating problems, water pump , coolant, radiator cap. Viscous fan, thermostat all replaced and still overheating, in the end it was a cracked head and needs new motor, Mitsubishi didn't give a crap only said ohh we don't cover the motor, what an annoying poor company response especially when they knew it had overheating problems in that model and should have recalled them all. I'll never buy this brand again and will tell everyone that Mitsubishi dont really give a crap.

Purchased in May 2014 for $26.90.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

coli60simmons

coli60simmonsPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

boiling

published

The MN 2.5 Triton had a casting problem in the block between the head and Mitsubishi know this and have motors sitting around Australia to replace defective motors but it has a lot to do with the dealer whether they want to rip you off or not and what sort of a repor they have with Mitsubishi Aust.
They have been great with my issue new motor all good no cost.

Colin

Purchased in March 2014 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $29,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

David Rich

David RichSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Poor quality including that of the factory fitted genuine accessories

published
  • +2

Purchased in October 2016 for $53,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

choc

chocVictoria

  • 2 reviews

Engines are boat ankers

published

All mn tritons should have been recalled due to having such engine problems never buy one all ways serviced and looked after also leaking suspension which was checked out by a dealer they told me they were weaping not leaking I told him I would be back to see him when I needed a roadworthy certificate

Purchased in January 2015 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Justin

JustinSouth East Queensland, QLD

Never buy a triton

published

Rust discovered in doors after weeks of delivery. Countless warranty repairs later engine terminated at 60,000kms. Extremely limited assistance from Mitsubishi despite factory servicing. 1st new car, never again Mitsubishi

Purchased in July 2011 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
craig64baird

craig64bairdGordon 2906, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Absolute rubbish

published

Dont buy!

Fuel economy is atrocious, double what the Mitsubishi suggest. Mitsubishi wont accept responsibility. Put a bull bar on the front and the entire vehicle shakes.

They are cheap for a reason, but they also depreciate quicker than any of their competitors.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Arb boi

Arb boiNortheast, VIC

Worst 4x4 to drive on market no suspension travel loud engine and road noise poor build and design

published

Work for a accessory company and have one company car and fit accessories to multiple dealers drive all brands and this is the worst on market carnt say anymore on how bad these drive on and off road

Purchased in June 2019 for $39,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers

jasonzammit22

jasonzammit22Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Awesome 4wd, haven't had an issue

published

Car has been great and can't fault it at all in the past 18 months of owning it. Definitely glad I saved the money by going a triton rather than a more expensive ute

Purchased in June 2018 for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Dave

DaveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Can’t complain great ute

published

I bought my MQ end of July 2017 new only problems I have had have been with dealers but I have that sorted now. Mitsubishi was very helpful in solving my issues. I have done 50k in two years trouble free motoring this vehicle is used in 4x4 to climb up to my house every day and has never been a problem. Averages 7.8 l/100 on hi way and has achieved 6.6 on trip from Sunshine Coast to Brisbane and around Brisbane as well not being driven hard but not sitting still either, 110 on hi way. I can,t complain and believe me I would if I had reason to do so.

Purchased in July 2017 at Dealer Caloundra for $32,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Caambo

CaamboGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

A very good vehicle for a very decent price.

published

Purchased in June 2016 at Mitsubishi Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Popeye

PopeyeGoulburn Valley, VIC

Very disappointed with this triton

published

3 call backs first 36k, radiator,power steering pump,indercators,42k clutch burn out had to go to v.cat , 110k injectors gone my cost to replace 3500 for the 4 of them .tow 17ft van 3 times a year and use for shopping weekly

Purchased in February 2014 at Car dealer shepparton for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Very very good unit

published
ACSIS Aircon

ACSIS AirconPerth, WA

You get what you pay for

published

I use this vehicle daily for business and after doing 15,000 kms I had the required service done, I was told the brakes needed to be machined & the diff needed 1 litre of oil added to it. I think this is very poor for a vehicle that is less than a year old.

Purchased in November 2018 at Southside Mitsubishi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The-Ethical-Reviewer

The-Ethical-ReviewerAustralian Capital Territory

  • 3 reviews

MQ Triton best value, true 4WD Off Road Beast.

published

45,000km in 18 months and still loveing it. Comfort, drivability, handling & off road capabilities are outstanding. After test driving all makes/models in this class Triton just ticks all the boxes.

Purchased in October 2017 at NCM Mitsubishi Belconnen.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

John

JohnIllawarra, NSW

On going EGR issues.

published

Bought new, constant issues with EGR seal blowing out. Replaced in warranty.
Just out of warranty same symptoms have started again have been told it’s EGR pipe now. $1500 not happy.

Purchased in March 2014 for $32,500.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013

Russ R.

Russ R.South East Queensland, QLD

Keeps doing everything I ask of it...

published

Purchased in October 2016 for $44,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

carbon issues

published

Purchased in April 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Page 1 of 21

Questions & Answers

Bob

Bobasked

Have a 2009 Ml Triton, fitted a light bar & now vehicle won't start. Have disconnected light bar, checked fuses etc & still no luck. Am wondering if it's the engine relay. Anyone else had this problem or have any suggestions?

No answers

Damien

Damienasked

Where is the thermostat located on my 2008 Triton 2.4 ute petroleum???

No answers

Terry B.

Terry B.asked

Will this gear box number me580807 fit my 2004 mk 2.8 ltr turbo intercooled 4m40 motor

1 answer
paul
paul

No idea Terry, to find out it's best to go into a Mitsu parts dept. & ask if they [or an older mechanic] would kindly look it up for you. Whether they have the dimensions listed in doubtful, so you may have to pull your old box out to compare everything, including shaft sizes etc. Good luck with it.


Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.