??!
10 photos
Mitsubishi Triton

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
146
4 star
94
3 star
44
2 star
40
1 star
82

choc

chocVictoria

  • 2 reviews

Engines are boat ankers

published

All mn tritons should have been recalled due to having such engine problems never buy one all ways serviced and looked after also leaking suspension which was checked out by a dealer they told me they were weaping not leaking I told him I would be back to see him when I needed a roadworthy certificate

Purchased in January 2015 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Justin

JustinSouth East Queensland, QLD

Never buy a triton

published

Rust discovered in doors after weeks of delivery. Countless warranty repairs later engine terminated at 60,000kms. Extremely limited assistance from Mitsubishi despite factory servicing. 1st new car, never again Mitsubishi

Purchased in July 2011 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
craig64baird

craig64bairdGordon 2906, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Absolute rubbish

published

Dont buy!

Fuel economy is atrocious, double what the Mitsubishi suggest. Mitsubishi wont accept responsibility. Put a bull bar on the front and the entire vehicle shakes.

They are cheap for a reason, but they also depreciate quicker than any of their competitors.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Arb boi

Arb boiNortheast, VIC

Worst 4x4 to drive on market no suspension travel loud engine and road noise poor build and design

published

Work for a accessory company and have one company car and fit accessories to multiple dealers drive all brands and this is the worst on market carnt say anymore on how bad these drive on and off road

Purchased in June 2019 for $39,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers

jasonzammit22

jasonzammit22Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Awesome 4wd, haven't had an issue

published

Car has been great and can't fault it at all in the past 18 months of owning it. Definitely glad I saved the money by going a triton rather than a more expensive ute

Purchased in June 2018 for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Dave

DaveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Can’t complain great ute

published

I bought my MQ end of July 2017 new only problems I have had have been with dealers but I have that sorted now. Mitsubishi was very helpful in solving my issues. I have done 50k in two years trouble free motoring this vehicle is used in 4x4 to climb up to my house every day and has never been a problem. Averages 7.8 l/100 on hi way and has achieved 6.6 on trip from Sunshine Coast to Brisbane and around Brisbane as well not being driven hard but not sitting still either, 110 on hi way. I can,t complain and believe me I would if I had reason to do so.

Purchased in July 2017 at Dealer Caloundra for $32,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Caambo

CaamboGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A very good vehicle for a very decent price.

published

Purchased in June 2016 at Mitsubishi Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Popeye

PopeyeGoulburn Valley, VIC

Very disappointed with this triton

published

3 call backs first 36k, radiator,power steering pump,indercators,42k clutch burn out had to go to v.cat , 110k injectors gone my cost to replace 3500 for the 4 of them .tow 17ft van 3 times a year and use for shopping weekly

Purchased in February 2014 at Car dealer shepparton for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Very very good unit

published
ACSIS Aircon

ACSIS AirconPerth, WA

You get what you pay for

published

I use this vehicle daily for business and after doing 15,000 kms I had the required service done, I was told the brakes needed to be machined & the diff needed 1 litre of oil added to it. I think this is very poor for a vehicle that is less than a year old.

Purchased in November 2018 at Southside Mitsubishi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The-Ethical-Reviewer

The-Ethical-ReviewerAustralian Capital Territory

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

MQ Triton best value, true 4WD Off Road Beast.

published

45,000km in 18 months and still loveing it. Comfort, drivability, handling & off road capabilities are outstanding. After test driving all makes/models in this class Triton just ticks all the boxes.

Purchased in October 2017 at NCM Mitsubishi Belconnen.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

John

JohnIllawarra, NSW

On going EGR issues.

published

Bought new, constant issues with EGR seal blowing out. Replaced in warranty.
Just out of warranty same symptoms have started again have been told it’s EGR pipe now. $1500 not happy.

Purchased in March 2014 for $32,500.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013

Russ R.

Russ R.South East Queensland, QLD

Keeps doing everything I ask of it...

published

Purchased in October 2016 for $44,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

carbon issues

published

Purchased in April 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Alan Stanley

Alan StanleyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great car would never be without my ute.

published

Bought My 3.5Lt Petrol Triton in 2007 new from the manufacturer (worked for them from 1971-2008) and never has any major problems apart from the paint, had to get the bonnet and wheel arch flares repainted, done just over 100,0000 and will be going in for a new timing chain. I have the car service on time and the car has never let me down Had to replace the Manifold it got a small crack in it replaced it with extractors which improved the performance. overall very happy with the car preforms well off road and tows my van without any problems.

Purchased in November 2007 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Davide A.

Davide A.Launceston, TAS

Great workhorse

published

I have owned my 2010 triton for the last 5 years. Purchased with 80,000 on it, It now has 290,000. The only things I have replaced are an air flow sensor common problem and replaced at 200,000 and shockys at 240,000. I service every 5000 and would highly recommend a triton to anyone. I tow a trailer regularly and drive long ks daily and the ute handles everything I have thrown at it.

Purchased in March 2014 for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jeremy

JeremyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worst fuel economy ever..

published

I bought my MQ after owning an old Pajero for many years. The label on the window read 7.3l/100km. Now I k is I will never get that but I'm using 100% more than that on the freeway. And the dealer wont help. Don't by one they are crap...

Purchased in June 2017 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Great car but poor audio

published

Car audio keeps dropping in and out of Bluetooth seriously want to change systems but not sure of audio screen size and what can be compatible as I’m not feeling the system that is stock standard and have had numerous reports of this same issue

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Good all rounder

published

Purchased in October 2009 for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Cheap for a reason.

published

Bought 2016 dual cab manual brand new $35k (with extras) and with in 40000km:

-Drivers side outside door handle fell off. Literally fell off. Dealer said it had just been shaken loose!
-Rear suspension bushes wore out after 20000kms.
-Stereo only connects to my ipod sometimes and only after approx 3 minutes.
-Gutless as buggery. Overtaking anything is scary as hell.
-Rides like youre an epileptic in a washing machine.
-Traction control takes years to kick in.

Although i dont consider $35k as cheap,it is compared to the other manufactures.
Even so, dont buy these Thailand made, plastic, poorly designed things.

Purchased in November 2017 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Page 1 of 21

Questions & Answers

Rod Beck

Rod Beckasked

Triton MN (2009-2014)

hi everyone from Rod,i have a 2017 mitsubishi triton 4x4, yesterday i damaged the abs wiring connectors above the rear diff! I've now repaired them but have several warning lights now on the dash! also it won't engage L4! any help would be greatly appreciated! regards Rod

No answers

Nicholas C.

Nicholas C.asked

Triton MK (1996-2006)

I own a 1998 Mitsubishi Triton GLS (4x4) MK V6 petrol. Just recently I have left my lights on and ruined/shortened my battery life. Turns out that the once functioning "headlights are on chime" stopped working. I was unaware of this and after calling the NRMA to get me going again I then replaced the battery as it was failing. Upon replacing the battery I then noticed that as I turned of the engine the chime was not working. I made my wife aware of this although yesterday she went to the underground carpark at Coles and left the lights on when she got home. Same thing happened, a completely flat new battery.
Can someone please tell me where this thing is located or if it is just a fuse, or how to replace it?
I can only see a fusebox near the battery, are there any other fuse I can check or relays for that matter?
Any input would be appreciated
Regards
Nick

No answers

David L.

David L.asked

Triton MK (1996-2006)

The hold light on my 97 mk triton is on can someone please tell me what it does and how to turn it off please

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.