?
? !
10 photos
Mitsubishi Triton
3.4 from 446 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (78)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (76)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (73)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (75)
  • Braking
    3.8 (72)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (72)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (69)
  • Suspension
    3.3 (71)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (72)
  • Handling
    3.7 (72)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (70)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (56)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (70)
  • Features
    3.6 (70)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Jarrad

Jarrad

  • 3 reviews

Very happy

published

Very happy with my triton. Far cheaper than all competitors. A little rough around the edges. If a few small things were fixed it would be perfect. An example is the inbuilt media system. Can be unreliable sometimes and the text translation is terrible.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jmg

Jmg

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Triton all the way

published

I have driven many MN Tritons both overseas on job sites and here in Australia and they have never let me down. I bought a 2012 MN GLXR with 105,000 on the clock 18 months ago and have since put 25,000kms on it around the NT for work and play ; hunting and camping etc. They are fairly basic compared to new utes but I like that and I find mine comfortable and plenty strong enough for towing a full laden 8x6 box trailer. Only thing i can nitlick is the fuel consumption which is horrible at 13l/100kms

Purchased in April 2020 for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CJo8

CJo8South East Queensland, QLD

MR triton why so bad?

published

Headlights - are these legal. Not sure if legal. Can't decide if low beam is better than high beam soft yellow light. Feels like driving an XC falcon with a flat battery.
Seats - woeful. Feels like I am sitting on a park bench. No support. I keep pushing back into the seat trying to get comfortable. 176cm and 95kg.
Suspension - hahahahahaha really. Ok in town very good. On a typical country bitumen road this thing is attrocious.

Engine and Auto - Excellent, no turbo lag. Enjoyable!
Looks - amazing interior and exterior.

Purchased in April 2021 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bry

BryHunter Region, NSW

Great car... for the price

published

Have had my 2018 triton now for almost 3 years. So far it has been trouble free.
I often tow a boat or use it for commuting up and down the highway with my family and the car runs faultlessly.
Some annoying things:
Fuel economy isn't as good as Mitsubishi quoted.
Slight lag on take off
Suspensions a little rough(most utes are)
Things that need attention in the near future are front suspension (need heavier duty units to carry the ironman bullbar) and brake rotors as they are starting to warp. (45000kms)

Purchased in September 2018 at Kelly mitsubishi for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kyle J.

Kyle J.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

2018 Premium Triton.

published

I traded in my 2015 MN GLXR Triton for at the time the all new 2018 MR GLS Premium. So far I have done 45,000kms on the Triton. It’s been great thus far.

Issues so far was a warranty claim on the sunglasses holder and the gear box was very clunky prior to a firmware update. Downshift was aggressive in the 6sp automatic.

My Triton is a lease vehicle and this is the first one we are considering to keep.

Purchased in December 2018 at Von Bibra for $52,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
barry phillips

barry phillipsRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Ongoing problems on a vehicle brought new

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Excellent value for money

published

Purchased in June 2013 for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zaffo

ZaffoIllawarra, NSW

Happy!

published

Bought 2012 triton 4wd diesel 1year ago. Needs new motor, overheating! No logbook. 230,000km. Took it to dealership, left it one day so they could determine problem. Got brand new long motor, everything supplied and Installed, labour free, courtesy car!
Not one hassle at all! And on top, the warranty on the motor starts again, got a new log book and they didn’t even have my name! It’s like brand new again! Happy!

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2014 triton suddenly stalls!

published

Does anyone elses triton 2014 suddenly just turn off while drive iv cleaned throttle body and dropped fuel tank and cleaned out and blead the lines ? Seemed ok after clraning throttle body but still turns off every now and then any one else had this issue?

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Most reliable Ute.

published

Have had my 2008 3.2lt for 8 years now. Never had a problem with it. Tows my horse float super even up the huge hills I've used a lot. Couldn't be happier with my purchase. Would recommend this triton.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris G.

Chris G.South East Queensland, QLD

Great vehicle at a good price

published

I bought my MN GLX 6/2014 (plated 1/15) with 93K on the clock. In 6 months I've added another 15K and plan on doing a Cape York trip shortly. It has handled some of the toughest tracks at Glasshouse with ease. Great offroader as long as your get the 2" suspension lift. It has been super reliable. The only downsides to the vehicle are the seats are pretty uncomfortable in the GLX model so your bum and back are aching after a long drive and road noise is louder than I would have liked.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Harley

Harley

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Air Con

published

Hey, the air conditioner on my 2016 Triton MQ is pre-set to go now lower than 18 degrees. Anyone know how to get it colder? Its like sitting in front of a blow heater at the moment.

Purchased in November 2020 for $31,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter

PeterRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Worst ute you can buy

published

I bought a MQ in 2015 brand new last year I put around 16k of accessories on this car then my engine blow off out of nowhere cracked top engine. At 70000k this is unbelievable. I have been servicing this car every 10k and Mitsubishi will not take care of it under theirs warranty cos I put a bullbar on my 4wd? What do they expect. Trust me their engine are absolutely rubbish you do not want to spend any money on a Mitsubishi Triton do yourself a favour walk across the street spend 10k more on a ute that will last like a Isuzu or Hilux.

Purchased in September 2015 at Ballina Quayside Motors for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
rocco

rocco

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great car poor warranty and service

published

Purchased in July 2020 at McGrath Mitsubishi Liverpool.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rogue 1

Rogue 1Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Amazing ute

published

I have owned or used for work every brand of ute going and the triton knocks spots off them all, best off-roading on road tyres I’ve ever experienced, on road performance is exceptional, services are expensive but not Ford ranger expensive.

The only other vehicle I’ve had that could match the standard triton off road was a highly modified safari! And I’d rather have the comfort of the ute now.

Purchased in January 2017 for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Martin swift

Martin swiftHunter Region, NSW

Sad To See the 24litre engine is failing and the dealer does not want to know you

published

Used to be a fan of the Triton Ute have at least 20 in the fleet but i am afraid the new 2.4l do not cut the work load they say they can do
Cars are serviced every 10000klms but have just blown 3 Motors 150000/120000/105000 and a clutch at 55000 and they do not want to know you
Will look at replacing the fleet in the next 12 months with something a little more reliable
Still have 4 of the older models with 350000 plus klms so it certainly has something to do with the new smaller engine

Purchased in February 2016 for $42,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michael L.

Michael L.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

The lying Mitsubishi dealers

published

Got a 2012 4x4 triton Ute, I really hate how they said it can tow 3.5t what a lie, unless you get upgrades, especially suspension etc you might as well get out and walk along side it, 131kW, and 430Nm won’t get it done, DON’T BUY

Purchased in September 2013 at Peter James 4x4.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ben J.

Ben J.Sydney, NSW

blow up engine

published

car used only for family transport regularly serviced
engine blow up at 73000 km 5 years
terrible customer service ,they just ignore you
not a reliable car , dont waste your money

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Fuel cap issues

published

The car itself is great...but the fuel flap door will not open. It has taken 6 months already for them to order the part which is still another two weeks away. So I have a brand new car that I can’t put fuel into without first going to the dealer to have them open it for me. The 7 year warranty is no help with this apparently because the car goes, but still can’t leave town or head away on holidays in the new car in case it runs out of fuel.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Richard

RichardCentral, SA

I have not made up my Mind, Good, Bade ore indifferent

published

Purchased for $22,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 23

Questions & Answers

Riley S.

Riley S.asked

Triton

would a 2011 model bullbar fit a 2014 triton ?

No answers
marleesandralizzie

marleesandralizzieasked

Triton MN (2009-2014)

My 2012 Glxr has now blown 4 transmissions. I was on hyway cruise control and a shutter from under car then lost all gears. It’s a 5 speed auto. Any ideas?

No answers
Tom

Tomasked

Triton MK (1996-2006)

How many kms could you get from a 1998 triton ?

No answers
See all Mitsubishi Triton questions

Get an answer from our members

Mitsubishi Triton

Details

Compare all 12 Mitsubishi Triton
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price $24,990$28,490$37,240$39,740
TransmissionManualAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Steel16" Steel16" Steel16" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 2242 to 4
Seats 2252 to 5
Fuel Consumption11.4 L/100km8.3 L/100km8.4 L/100km7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 75 L75 L75 L75 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.4L Petrol4 Cylinder 2.4L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 2.4L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 2.4L Turbo Diesel
Engine Code4G644N154N154N15
Max Power94kW @ 5250rpm133kW @ 3500rpm133kW @ 3500rpm133kW @ 3500rpm
Max Torque194Nm @ 4000rpm430Nm @ 2500rpm430Nm @ 2500rpm430Nm @ 2500rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,800 kg2,500 kg750 kg3,100 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg3,000 kg750 kg
Tray TypeCab ChassisCab ChassisPick UpCab Chassis and Pick Up
Cab Options SingleSingleDualDual, Extra and Single
Maximum Payload1,280 kg1,145 kg960 kg950 kg
Ground Clearance200 mm200 mm205 mm205 mm
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance200 mm200 mm205 mm205 mm
Release dateJan 2019Apr 2015Apr 2015Apr 2015
Compare all 12 Mitsubishi Triton

Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next

See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.