??!
10 photos
Nissan Navara

Nissan Navara

NP300, D22 and D40
3.3 from 445 reviews

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
135
4 star
97
3 star
62
2 star
55
1 star
96

George

GeorgeDarling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Watch for Oil Leaks!

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Old John

Old JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Nissan fobbing off older NP300's

published

Vehicle returned from dealer, no fault found for worn rack mount bushes, but only 200 metres on odometer after drop off to pick up! Obviously no road test. Told they have had 3 NP300's in from my wheel aligner, same fault. Okay, truck 6 weeks out of warranty, but problem not picked up at final service, not at 60,000 k's either yet. Vehicle serviced at required intervals by dealers, I change the oil every 5,000 k's & filter every 10k.
If they give the series 2, 3, & 4 5 year warranty, are they making money from the early model in repairs?
Regards, Old John.

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mike K.

Mike K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good o'l faithful

published

I have 03 Navara cab chassis turbo diesel 3ltr 4WD. Bought this 3rd hand late 2017.
I do courier work 200km every day.
Done some off roading last year in 2018 in the outback during a 8000km trip over 3 weeks. Never missed a beat.
Service twice a year.
Never had any problems.
This car has never failed me. Great off road and a great work horse during the week. Motor starts first time every time and still pulls hard.
Replaced the clutch soon after purchase and replaced battery early 2019.
Other than that i keep oil fresh and coolant levels up and the beast just keeps on going.
One of the last of the original Japanese made Navaras. Love my nifty Nav.

Purchased in October 2017 at Private for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers
GaryG

GaryGLaunceston, TAS

Third nissan dc ute

published

Purchased 2016 with 40 000k traded in at 80000k. Why? It developed the whistle in throwout bearing as predicted by local mechanic. Dealer strangly didnt notice whistle. Not waiting for clutch plate to go or the other problems RX routinely have. It had issues with 4Wlo not returning easily to 2wd. Had to reboot it a couple of times by turning ute off and restarting. Lost $11k in 40000 km over 3y. Happier in new Forester!

Purchased in February 2016 at Motors for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

patrick

patrick

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Nissan could do better

published

50 kms . Rust on chassie welds . Nissan says this is acceptable. Thats their view , i have my view and this is not acceptable.
200kms - diff whining between 90-100 km p/h . Lets see what nissan dose about this.
1000kms , major oil leak out of front timing cover . Major job to repair. Is being repaired under warranty. Not happy having half of my front end removrd to repair . Poor for a new car .
Nissans new vehicle letter states" we care"
Not with my dealer. They are full of crap !
This car has done 1300kms . Poor quality.
I am a long term nissan owner . Pintara in 87 . 3 x maximas . A32 , j31 , j32 . 2 x patrols gq and gu . First navara . Not happy .

Purchased in July 2019 for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Very reliable ute ...

published

Own my 2004 D22 For 10 years now ,done 400.000 km ,and never missed a beat.Not most comfortable ,but keeps going ,tows the boat ,take me to work ,always long hot miles . service it myself every 10km,with good 15-50 semi or fully synthetic oil. Change diff /gear box & transfer case .
Nothing done to it other than tear &wear(brake pads/tyres ) .Cheap to run. only fault engine light comes on when push engine past 3000rpm ,but Nissan can t find fault ,neither can independent mechanic. bit small for space ,but had an unbelievable run .made in Spain ,has the Legendary 3.0l Renault motor.
Mike. NZ.

Purchased in March 2009 at private.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers

Workhorse

published

Used in North-Midlands WA as an agronomy vehicle, commuter, boat launching and getting thrashed on gravel day-to-day. Everything holds up great even towing a 4 Tonne boat to the ramp, or towing a large trailer carting sheep. Has plenty of power to overtake on highways, just drop down a gear and let the twin turbo's do the rest. Has clocked over 200,00 k's on mainly gravel roads doing 120km/h or on farms on rough paddocks.

Very comfortable for trips to Perth (3 Hrs) and has all the fruit you would expect in a modern vehicle.
Will be buying again.

Purchased in July 2016 for $55,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Nick k

Nick k

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not a problem

published

I use this car everyday for work and use it for camping. I have 85k on the clock and it hasn't skipped a beat, I get around 850 per tank and I'm running 32" Ko2's. Really enjoy driving it and highly rate it.

Purchased in October 2017 for $43,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Luke B.

Luke B.South East Queensland, QLD

Not as off road tough as they advertise

published

2018 St-x, vehicle was towing a 13ft hybrid camper van. Van weight was approximately 2t with the gear it had in it and the ball load was measured at 185kgs loaded.
The van was towed through a soft sand section of around 50 meters and then another 5kms of hard packed sand. After pulling up to enter a campsite, it was noticed that the chassis had bent.
When returned to the Nissan dealer and inspected, their decision was that they would not cover it under warranty due to it being off road.
I’m sure everyone has seen the tv ads with Ute being loaded with slabs of concrete, off road tracks etc. just beware, you may not be covered

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
See all answers
Dom

DomGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great ute

published

Ute is used for Commuting, family transport, sports, off-roading, etc.
Ute is used every day.
Two issues with this ute is its too long and doesn't fit in standard car parks and Nissan didn't add the digital radio.

Purchased in February 2019 at Nissan Dealers for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Brett P.

Brett P.Central Queensland, QLD

Great dual cab at a great price!

published

I've put 9000 k's on the clock in about 6 weeks including 1200k trip in one go. Found it was comfortable enough to not need a break from it. No issues what so ever! Not sure what road noise everyone is complaining about, no better or worse than my last 2 lease vehicles (Captiva and a D40). Only negatives are lack of in car storage and the advertised fuel usage is not right. Average 9 L/100

Purchased in May 2019 for $43,390.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Peter Jellings

Peter JellingsSouth Australia

Not Built tough 4wd dont buy a Nissan

published

Nissan Navara D40 2011 - wish I read these reviews. Fire wall cracked around master cylinder = Nissan said my problem. Will never buy another Nissan and started a page issues with Nissan.
Just a crap four wheel drive.

Purchased in May 2014 for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Diynamik

DiynamikPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Reliable 3.2 diesel

published

Bought very cheap with the seller spending $3000 on the suspension springs . I was hesitant to buy one for so many years . The 3.2 is not as slow as what has been said , has a good amount of pick up but what can you expect? I see lots of people push these to a turbo but i will leave it stock .
The only problem is the instrument cluster , temp gauge works and rev counter at certain rpm abover 1300 . This is because of a resistor behind the panel , fixing this very soon . Turning circle is very good for a truck this size , heater / aircon perfect , no rust except for a small amount of surface in the rear tub . Not yet been off road but soon , im not a hard core offroader so this will just take me to the back beach ect.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1999
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

barrgr54

barrgr54South West, WA

Great drive, BUT!

published

Purchased in August 2016 at Nissan Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Great ute but

published

NP300, only complaint is the paint finish is much too thin and chips far too easily, 2nd Nissan in the last 4 years and both have had the same problem, thought it was a one off, obviously not

Purchased in March 2019 at Albany Nissan.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Bucket of crap

published

No good at all the Ute took off on my wife had a mind of its own . The car then reved out to the max and then shut itself down

Purchased in March 2012 at Nissan Dealers.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
1 comment
brendan c.
brendan c.

Nissan said not there problem $59 grand down the drain


Mhowell

MhowellNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good Ute not Great

published

Had this car for 3 months now. Fuel economy was 13.7l when I picked it up and now is 11.1l. When doing 100kmh its doing 1600 revs in 7th gear. Radio reception is poor as is the bluetooth connection. Headlights are only adequate and I am looking at getting either a nudge bar or a bullbar to mount driving lights. The 3l v6 turbo diesel has similar power and torque figures as the Amarok and X Class yet it came it 8 years go but was phased out due not meeting the Euro 6 emission requirements.


Mark R.

Mark R.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Vibration issue

published

Warning warning warning, navara has vibration issue. Nissan Australia and dealers fully aware of the problems but choose to ignore it. Do not buy 1. I would take a Great Wall over it, at least then you would be dealing with a company that cares!

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Bob

BobSouth East Queensland, QLD

Rubbish.. buy a ldv

published

This car should not be allowed on our roads. It is unsafe on any road. It should be rated as 100kg payload. Which would be just the driver.
Reliabity is a separate issue. 3rd set of injectors, 3rd drivers seat, half a dash .. it really is a disgrace.

Purchased in July 2017 at Nissan Dealers for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Traded the BT50 for a NP300 Navara...

published

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Page 1 of 23

Questions & Answers

Oldgoat

Oldgoatasked

Navara NP300

How do you get the engine cover off

1 answer
Old John
Old John

Just brutally pull the front corners up then the rear as they are just plastic hold downs.
regards,
Old John.


Peta c.

Peta c.asked

Navara D40

Would a Thai D40 2.5 litre gearbox go into a Spanish D40 2.5 litre model? Same year just different countries?

1 answer
Old John
Old John

Hi Peta,
not sure, but you would have to check measurements, ie: length, I know the gearstick boots are different so if you go to a reputable wrecker they can advise you correctly.
Old John.


Ethan D.

Ethan D.asked

Navara NP300

Hi all, I own a 2016 manual d23 and I was wondering if there were known restrictions on taking it through water (quite deep) I’ve heard there’s a issues with non waterproofed wiring. Is this true or can you take the beast for a good swimming session?
Cheers
Ethan

1 answer
Old John
Old John

Hi Ethan D,
these utes are made in Thailand, they get about 2+ meters of rain a year, so wiring should be water tight! For here, you would still have to fit extended differentials & gearbox breather tubes. Look behind the rear squab you will see horizontal vents, so not high enough to keep water out. I only go to hub height, or forget it, Also,fit a good snorkel as the little intake under the bonnet lip for the air cleaner will swallow heaps of water & lock your engine up! COSTLY!
Old John.


Get an answer from our members and Nissan representatives

Details

Nissan Navara NP300

Nissan Navara NP300

179 reviews
Nissan Navara D22
  • Discontinued

Nissan Navara D22

69 reviews
Nissan Navara D40
  • Discontinued

Nissan Navara D40

197 reviews
CategoryUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price $54,490$33,990$51,090
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars3 Stars4 Stars
Doors444
Seats555
Fuel Consumption7 L/100km9.2 L/100km9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L80 L80 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.3 L4 Cylinder 2.5 L4 Cylinder 2.5 L
Max Power140kW @ 3750rpm98kW @ 3600rpm140kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque450Nm @ 1500-2500rpm304Nm @ 2000rpm450Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandJapanSpain
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Active Head Restraints
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg
Ground Clearance228 mm
Maximum Payload931
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMay 2015Apr 1997Nov 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2014Dec 2014

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.