??!
10 photos
Nissan Navara

Nissan Navara

D40, NP300, D22
3.3 from 448 reviews

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(135)
(97)
(62)
(55)
(99)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (25)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (20)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (23)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (23)

Dissapointed

DissapointedNorthern Region, NSW

Not happy with d22

published

Not real happy with navs its my own fault really bought n 03 bent chassis ...bought an 09 chassis cracked front to back ...wont be buying a 3rd so sad


Jack

JackMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Not a god buy thought it was

published

Bought a Nissan navara of a dealer had it 8 mths the radiator blew I was driving along stopped it cooked the motor now Im up for a 7,000 motor I pd 10,000 for car unbeilable I had it service like they said I very dissapointed I was on a low income saved the money thats what I get for my trouble I thought I was getting a good car but no now I have to scrap it or pay loads of money

Purchased in May 2019.

Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Svgtr

SvgtrPerth, WA

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Smoky and sooty Navara

published

These are rolling piles of junk, timing chain issues cause the engine to smoke worse than an 80s rust bucket all the way up the road.
What an embarrassment for Nissan, a company that started with the cheap but reliable Datsun 120Y then onto the sporty 240Z then branded as Nissan made the Skyline, Silvia, GT-R and now these piles of junk D40 Navara (equally crap NP300) and crappy CVT Pathfinder, awful Altima....
What a slide into mediocrity for Nissan. I urge you never to buy a Nissan. Ever.

George

GeorgeDarling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Watch for Oil Leaks!

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Old John

Old JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Nissan fobbing off older NP300's

published

Vehicle returned from dealer, no fault found for worn rack mount bushes, but only 200 metres on odometer after drop off to pick up! Obviously no road test. Told they have had 3 NP300's in from my wheel aligner, same fault. Okay, truck 6 weeks out of warranty, but problem not picked up at final service, not at 60,000 k's either yet. Vehicle serviced at required intervals by dealers, I change the oil every 5,000 k's & filter every 10k.
If they give the series 2, 3, & 4 5 year warranty, are they making money from the early model in repairs?
Regards, Old John.

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mike K.

Mike K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good o'l faithful

published

I have 03 Navara cab chassis turbo diesel 3ltr 4WD. Bought this 3rd hand late 2017.
I do courier work 200km every day.
Done some off roading last year in 2018 in the outback during a 8000km trip over 3 weeks. Never missed a beat.
Service twice a year.
Never had any problems.
This car has never failed me. Great off road and a great work horse during the week. Motor starts first time every time and still pulls hard.
Replaced the clutch soon after purchase and replaced battery early 2019.
Other than that i keep oil fresh and coolant levels up and the beast just keeps on going.
One of the last of the original Japanese made Navaras. Love my nifty Nav.

Purchased in October 2017 at Private for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers

GaryG

GaryGLaunceston, TAS

Third nissan dc ute

published

Purchased 2016 with 40 000k traded in at 80000k. Why? It developed the whistle in throwout bearing as predicted by local mechanic. Dealer strangly didnt notice whistle. Not waiting for clutch plate to go or the other problems RX routinely have. It had issues with 4Wlo not returning easily to 2wd. Had to reboot it a couple of times by turning ute off and restarting. Lost $11k in 40000 km over 3y. Happier in new Forester!

Purchased in February 2016 at Motors for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

patrick

patrick

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Nissan could do better

published

50 kms . Rust on chassie welds . Nissan says this is acceptable. Thats their view , i have my view and this is not acceptable.
200kms - diff whining between 90-100 km p/h . Lets see what nissan dose about this.
1000kms , major oil leak out of front timing cover . Major job to repair. Is being repaired under warranty. Not happy having half of my front end removrd to repair . Poor for a new car .
Nissans new vehicle letter states" we care"
Not with my dealer. They are full of crap !
This car has done 1300kms . Poor quality.
I am a long term nissan owner . Pintara in 87 . 3 x maximas . A32 , j31 , j32 . 2 x patrols gq and gu . First navara . Not happy .

Purchased in July 2019 for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Very reliable ute ...

published

Own my 2004 D22 For 10 years now ,done 400.000 km ,and never missed a beat.Not most comfortable ,but keeps going ,tows the boat ,take me to work ,always long hot miles . service it myself every 10km,with good 15-50 semi or fully synthetic oil. Change diff /gear box & transfer case .
Nothing done to it other than tear &wear(brake pads/tyres ) .Cheap to run. only fault engine light comes on when push engine past 3000rpm ,but Nissan can t find fault ,neither can independent mechanic. bit small for space ,but had an unbelievable run .made in Spain ,has the Legendary 3.0l Renault motor.
Mike. NZ.

Purchased in March 2009 at private.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers

Workhorse

published

Used in North-Midlands WA as an agronomy vehicle, commuter, boat launching and getting thrashed on gravel day-to-day. Everything holds up great even towing a 4 Tonne boat to the ramp, or towing a large trailer carting sheep. Has plenty of power to overtake on highways, just drop down a gear and let the twin turbo's do the rest. Has clocked over 200,00 k's on mainly gravel roads doing 120km/h or on farms on rough paddocks.

Very comfortable for trips to Perth (3 Hrs) and has all the fruit you would expect in a modern vehicle.
Will be buying again.

Purchased in July 2016 for $55,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Nick k

Nick k

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not a problem

published

I use this car everyday for work and use it for camping. I have 85k on the clock and it hasn't skipped a beat, I get around 850 per tank and I'm running 32" Ko2's. Really enjoy driving it and highly rate it.

Purchased in October 2017 for $43,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Luke B.

Luke B.South East Queensland, QLD

Not as off road tough as they advertise

published

2018 St-x, vehicle was towing a 13ft hybrid camper van. Van weight was approximately 2t with the gear it had in it and the ball load was measured at 185kgs loaded.
The van was towed through a soft sand section of around 50 meters and then another 5kms of hard packed sand. After pulling up to enter a campsite, it was noticed that the chassis had bent.
When returned to the Nissan dealer and inspected, their decision was that they would not cover it under warranty due to it being off road.
I’m sure everyone has seen the tv ads with Ute being loaded with slabs of concrete, off road tracks etc. just beware, you may not be covered

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
See all answers

Dom

DomGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great ute

published

Ute is used for Commuting, family transport, sports, off-roading, etc.
Ute is used every day.
Two issues with this ute is its too long and doesn't fit in standard car parks and Nissan didn't add the digital radio.

Purchased in February 2019 at Nissan Dealers for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Brett P.

Brett P.Central Queensland, QLD

Great dual cab at a great price!

published

I've put 9000 k's on the clock in about 6 weeks including 1200k trip in one go. Found it was comfortable enough to not need a break from it. No issues what so ever! Not sure what road noise everyone is complaining about, no better or worse than my last 2 lease vehicles (Captiva and a D40). Only negatives are lack of in car storage and the advertised fuel usage is not right. Average 9 L/100

Purchased in May 2019 for $43,390.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Peter Jellings

Peter JellingsSouth Australia

Not Built tough 4wd dont buy a Nissan

published

Nissan Navara D40 2011 - wish I read these reviews. Fire wall cracked around master cylinder = Nissan said my problem. Will never buy another Nissan and started a page issues with Nissan.
Just a crap four wheel drive.

Purchased in May 2014 for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Diynamik

DiynamikPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Reliable 3.2 diesel

published

Bought very cheap with the seller spending $3000 on the suspension springs . I was hesitant to buy one for so many years . The 3.2 is not as slow as what has been said , has a good amount of pick up but what can you expect? I see lots of people push these to a turbo but i will leave it stock .
The only problem is the instrument cluster , temp gauge works and rev counter at certain rpm abover 1300 . This is because of a resistor behind the panel , fixing this very soon . Turning circle is very good for a truck this size , heater / aircon perfect , no rust except for a small amount of surface in the rear tub . Not yet been off road but soon , im not a hard core offroader so this will just take me to the back beach ect.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1999
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

barrgr54

barrgr54South West, WA

Great drive, BUT!

published

Purchased in August 2016 at Nissan Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Great ute but

published

NP300, only complaint is the paint finish is much too thin and chips far too easily, 2nd Nissan in the last 4 years and both have had the same problem, thought it was a one off, obviously not

Purchased in March 2019 at Albany Nissan.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Bucket of crap

published

No good at all the Ute took off on my wife had a mind of its own . The car then reved out to the max and then shut itself down

Purchased in March 2012 at Nissan Dealers.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
1 comment
brendan c.
brendan c.

Nissan said not there problem $59 grand down the drain


Mhowell

MhowellNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good Ute not Great

published

Had this car for 3 months now. Fuel economy was 13.7l when I picked it up and now is 11.1l. When doing 100kmh its doing 1600 revs in 7th gear. Radio reception is poor as is the bluetooth connection. Headlights are only adequate and I am looking at getting either a nudge bar or a bullbar to mount driving lights. The 3l v6 turbo diesel has similar power and torque figures as the Amarok and X Class yet it came it 8 years go but was phased out due not meeting the Euro 6 emission requirements.


Page 1 of 23

Questions & Answers

Michael G.

Michael G.asked

Have a nissan st d23 want yo take the rear seat out unbolted seat belt and bottom bolts. How do you lift the back off cheers.

No answers

Jack

Jackasked

Just wondering if a 2008 d40's air box will be compatible with my 2004 d22?

No answers

Kylie W.

Kylie W.asked

How do I remove rear seat in np 300 duel cab

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Nissan representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.