2 photos
Ozito 850W Router

Ozito 850W Router

PRR-850, ROU-5000
2.7 from 13 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Routers / Cutout Tools in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Ozito? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next
Dmitri
DmitriHamilton
  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

You get exactly for that sum of money

published

I have professional Bosh router, but it is fixed to the table, so wanted something cheap enough for small jobs. It is not he best device (same size Makita is way better constructed, but cost way more!). As a beginners tool or a second one - not bad at all, 3 year replacement warranty and after that it will be allowed to die if it chooses so. If you find this old model - take it to try if you need router at all, before buying a 400 dollar monsters.

Purchased in March 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $70.00.

Incentivised Review No
Paul R.
Paul R.Mid North Coast, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Reasonably ok for a cheap product

published

Purchased in September 2014 at Bunnings Warehouse for $79.90.

Incentivised Review No
John
JohnGoldfields, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

An expensive piece of rubbish

published

Cutting 6mm mdf and broke two 1/4" cutters due them them working loose and moving away from the base. Impossible to get bits tight. An expensive mistake $79 on the router and $60 worth of bits.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised Review No
ricdanger
ricdangerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Unit flexes, won't cut straight. Was rusted in the box

published

On opening the box and assembling, I found the unit would not plunge as was stuck in place. After lubricating I got it to the point where it was somewhat usable. After the first 4 cuts, the unit started to flex badly resulting in ever deepening cuts in one direction and shallower cuts in the other. Put it in the bin and bought a Ryobi at nearly triple the price. No hassles.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $69.00.

Incentivised Review No
Routers / Cutout Tools

Find out how Ozito 850W Router compares to other Routers / Cutout Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

useless not worth the trouble

published

purchased to level timber rounds for stools. First one 13/06/18 lasted about 2 hours then died, replaced 19/06/18
used it to finish original job. Cut some new rounds yesterday and managed to level off one. Half way through the second it died again, finished off that round and another 5 using my smaller Ryobi trim router without issue.
Will be asking for my money back later today.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Zac.s
Zac.sFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Solid tool!

published

Purchased to put some edging on a chopping board and a few candle holders id made, this tool has been quite good even with my cheap 1/4 inch Roman ogee bit, im normally a makita or dewalt man but i grabbed this tool as i didn't think id use it much but ive found many uses since

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Still going strong five years later

published

As a Makita man through and through I was a bit hesitant to buy an Ozito tool, but I needed a backup router, and at $60 it was a cheap experiment. Five years later, and hundreds of hours of use later, it's still going strong.

Recommended? Absolutely. I never bother to write reviews, but I am taking time to write one about this Ozito router as it is probably the best $60 I have ever spent on a power tool.

Date PurchasedJan 2012
adfdsaf
adfdsaf
  • 5 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Renwaldo_Stimpington
Renwaldo_StimpingtonSingleton
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Get what you pay for.

published

The first router I purchased stopped working after 10 minutes rounding edges on treated pine sleepers. The full replacement warranty is the best thing about Ozito (and boy don't they need it). The second router has been fine. I've used it on hard and soft woods. It's not the smoothest piece of gear but it does the trick for relatively light usage. If I was more serious I'd spend the money for better equipment, but for $69, you can't expect miracles.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Routers / Cutout Tools

Find out how Ozito 850W Router compares to other Routers / Cutout Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Garbage

published

just had to cut a bench top.lasted three minutes.plunge would not lock down .bad vibration.something loose inside then just stopped.complete waste of money.forget it. rubbish.

Andrew
AndrewMelbourne

Waste of time and money

published

I used this tool for less than 5 minutes before sparks came out the top vent followed by wafts of smoke.

Alright, but not great. Fine for a beginner or light user.

published
Routers / Cutout Tools

Find out how Ozito 850W Router compares to other Routers / Cutout Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sylvia Else
Sylvia ElseAU
  • 25 reviews
  • 33 likes

Fragile switch mechanism.

published

This tool worked fine until after a few hours of actual use the switch mechanism failed. On disassembling the tool, I found that this was because part of the mechanism consisted of strip of plastic with a rectanglar hole in it, through which the on/off button is fitted. Turning the tool on puts a strain on the corners of the hole, and the plastic eventually broke, as is normal with such designs.
Worked well - when it worked.
Poor switch mechanism design leading to early failure.

Questions & Answers

Ronal D.
Ronal D.asked
850W Router

What size bit can fit in 850w 6mm,8mm ,or 10mm

1 answer
Paul R.
Paul R.

Quarter inch. Collet is 6.35mm..

Luis Cordero
Luis Corderoasked
850W Router

My Ozito router lost power. It does stop when I try to use it on wood.

2 answers
Dmitri
Dmitri

If it is an old one - might be it need motor brushes replacement? The other reason - cleaning and lubricating bearings occluded by wood dust.

Dmitri
Dmitri

First thing - try to blow it through ventilation holes and all over the router with compressor .

Lynda G.
Lynda G.asked
850W Router

Can you repair the on off switch

No answers
See all Ozito 850W Router questions

Get an answer from our members

Ozito 850W Router

Details

Compare both Ozito 850W Router
Ozito 850W Router PRR-850
  • Discontinued

Ozito 850W Router PRR-850

2.4
(7)
CategoryRouters / Cutout ToolsRouters / Cutout Tools
Price (RRP)79
Release dateMar 2010
Compare both Ozito 850W Router

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.