??!
2 photos
Ozito 850W Router

Ozito 850W Router

PRR-850, ROU-5000
2.5 from 11 reviews

See the Best Routers / Cutout Tools in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
5

John

JohnGoldfields, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

An expensive piece of rubbish

published

Cutting 6mm mdf and broke two 1/4" cutters due them them working loose and moving away from the base. Impossible to get bits tight. An expensive mistake $79 on the router and $60 worth of bits.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.


ricdanger

ricdangerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Unit flexes, won't cut straight. Was rusted in the box

published

On opening the box and assembling, I found the unit would not plunge as was stuck in place. After lubricating I got it to the point where it was somewhat usable. After the first 4 cuts, the unit started to flex badly resulting in ever deepening cuts in one direction and shallower cuts in the other. Put it in the bin and bought a Ryobi at nearly triple the price. No hassles.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $69.00.

useless not worth the trouble

published

purchased to level timber rounds for stools. First one 13/06/18 lasted about 2 hours then died, replaced 19/06/18
used it to finish original job. Cut some new rounds yesterday and managed to level off one. Half way through the second it died again, finished off that round and another 5 using my smaller Ryobi trim router without issue.
Will be asking for my money back later today.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Zac.s

Zac.sMAREEBA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Solid tool!

published

Purchased to put some edging on a chopping board and a few candle holders id made, this tool has been quite good even with my cheap 1/4 inch Roman ogee bit, im normally a makita or dewalt man but i grabbed this tool as i didn't think id use it much but ive found many uses since

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Still going strong five years later

published

As a Makita man through and through I was a bit hesitant to buy an Ozito tool, but I needed a backup router, and at $60 it was a cheap experiment. Five years later, and hundreds of hours of use later, it's still going strong.

Recommended? Absolutely. I never bother to write reviews, but I am taking time to write one about this Ozito router as it is probably the best $60 I have ever spent on a power tool.

Date PurchasedJan 2012

adfdsaf

adfdsaf

  • 4 reviews

Great.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Renwaldo_Stimpington

Renwaldo_StimpingtonSingleton

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Get what you pay for.

published

The first router I purchased stopped working after 10 minutes rounding edges on treated pine sleepers. The full replacement warranty is the best thing about Ozito (and boy don't they need it). The second router has been fine. I've used it on hard and soft woods. It's not the smoothest piece of gear but it does the trick for relatively light usage. If I was more serious I'd spend the money for better equipment, but for $69, you can't expect miracles.

Date PurchasedMay 2015

Garbage

published

just had to cut a bench top.lasted three minutes.plunge would not lock down .bad vibration.something loose inside then just stopped.complete waste of money.forget it. rubbish.

Andrew

AndrewMelbourne

Waste of time and money

published

I used this tool for less than 5 minutes before sparks came out the top vent followed by wafts of smoke.

Alright, but not great. Fine for a beginner or light user.

published

Sylvia Else

Sylvia ElseAU

  • 24 reviews
  • 29 likes

Fragile switch mechanism.

published

This tool worked fine until after a few hours of actual use the switch mechanism failed. On disassembling the tool, I found that this was because part of the mechanism consisted of strip of plastic with a rectanglar hole in it, through which the on/off button is fitted. Turning the tool on puts a strain on the corners of the hole, and the plastic eventually broke, as is normal with such designs.
Worked well - when it worked.
Poor switch mechanism design leading to early failure.

Questions & Answers

dexter r.

dexter r.asked

I lost my collet nut.....what size and diameter of collet nut should i buy?

No answers

dexter r.

dexter r.asked

Ive lost my collet nut and i dont know what size of nut should i buy can you help me fix it?

No answers

Nick T.

Nick T.asked

Does anyone have trouble holding the collet lock button down and loosening the collet. I’m finding that the motion of undoing the collet causes the lock button to pop out. No matter how hard I try, I can’t seem to maintain pressure on the lock button. Any ideas?
Cheers.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ozito representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.