??!
4 photos
Panasonic DMR-HWT260GN

Panasonic DMR-HWT260GN

MPN: 36376101
3.5 from 29 reviews

Reviews

3.5

29 reviews
5
(9)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (4)
  • Recording Quality
    4.7 (3)
  • Software
    1.0 (2)
  • Reliability
    2.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Rob

RobGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Panasonic quality is not what it was.

published

The user interface is soooo sloow and clunky which might have been forgivable if it worked properly, but its getting worse and worse in its operation. It has occasionally decided not to record set programmes. I reset the machine to factory state but things are worse. The unit has now gone completely mad. It records programmes that have not been set, won't record when it should, and when it does, it doesn't switch off but just carries on and on recording. The EPG can often take ages and ages to come up, and as I have a Panasonic TV its now 'infected' that as well - it behaves the same, though it never used to before it was connected to the this pvr! Its now just 3 months after the warranty expired! Perfect! No more Panasonic for me.

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for A$499.00.

Value for Money
Software
Reliability
Bert

Bert

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Would not buy again

published

You cannot add apps it comes preloaded with SBS on demand, ABC live You Tube and Netflix and does not allow you to add apps. It is not as user friendly as other models

Purchased in November 2019 for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Recording Quality
Software
Reliability
See all answers
2 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Bert, sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the purchase of your Panasonic recorder.

Bert
Bert

Why doesn't Panasonic allow installation of other app

Bundy

BundySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Should be 5 Star but......

published

I have had 4 Panasonic recorders now and love them. Great products that are easy and practical to use, except the previous 3 and I suspect the latest will be no different. The don't last.
My first 18 months
Second 13 months
Third 14 months
Current 6 Months
All with Hard drive failure and two remotes were failing too.

Like some many thing these days built to have a finite life.

2 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Bundy
Bundy

6 months later and sure enough my remote starts to play up. Same as 2 previous remote failures. Before anybody even thinks it, they have never been mistreated. Cost for new remote 1/4 cost of new unit .... Bit rich Mr Panasonic!

Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-HWT260GN compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karen A

Karen ASydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

BEWARE! of what you only discover after setup!

published

The box of the Panasonic DMR-HWT260 HDD Recorder (as did the salesman) trumpets it can record 2 TV programs simultaneously ... you need to read the fine print in the middle of the instruction book to find it is not possible to watch another channel at the same time!! The Key word option sounds good, but complicated to delete. Instructions to record a program convoluted and not user friendly.. Wish I had my Optus Fetch back. One click recording, 2 click series tag and easy to delete. No "go here; select this; press that"!! Rubbish. Not happy ... incase you didn't notice!

Purchased in August 2019 for A$350.00.

2 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Karen A
Karen A

Thank you for your response. However, unless the machine can be altered to amend the options I dislike, there is little use talking to a service team member who could not resolve the situation. My comments stand.

Ken W.

Ken W.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Some good features but frustrating to use~

published

Purchased in December 2018.

1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Brenda4848

Brenda4848North Queensland, QLD

  • 20 reviews
  • 14 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best feature - No more Ads

published

Bought this machine February 2019 and couldn't be happier. 1TB of space. Records two channels while watching a third. Easy setup, easy to use, good quality record and can skip ads on recorded material. Pays for itself right there!! I think the sound is ok, but husband is a bit deaf and thinks the sound could be better, however I attached a wireless Bose 10 beside him and he is very happy. The previous model by Panasonic took a life time to start with the constant 'Please Wait', but this one does not have the same problem. Great product!

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$359.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Recording Quality
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Brenda, thank you for providing such a great review. We are pleased you have found a work around for you and your husband to both get the most out of your entertainment setup.

She

She

  • 2 reviews

Panasonic Netflix problems

published

Have been using it for a couple of years and have up to date been very happy. Easy controls and lovely picture on my old Sony TV. Recently though, it has started to freeze where I cant turn it off. Now it loads Netflix OK but Netflix is unable to play the title I choose. I am able to use my AppleTV so it's a Panasonic problem. This is sad as it's otherwise a good product.

Purchased in October 2017 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Furniture for A$477.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Recording Quality
gerry

gerryHampton

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

not a good start !

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
GarryB

GarryBGlen Waverley

  • Verified purchase

Great unit, well documented and easy to setup

published

The unit works smoothly and without fuss or complexity. The setup was well guided by the on screen prompts. The Program Guide is excellent and recording is reliable and easy to find and playback. We read the reviews before we bought the unit - the 'No Mute' was at first a concern but the PAUSE LIVE TV actually is better as you don't miss anything while in PAUSE. I would recommend this unit.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Garry, thank you for providing such great feedback on the unit. Pausing Live TV is a great feature!

Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-HWT260GN compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marli

MarliPARK HOLME. SA

  • 5 reviews

great buy

published

Great reliable product, records 2 programs while watching another, records in good quality, easy to find buttons & the guide is quick & easy to follow for free to air, freeview & any programs for streaming. Have one for the family room & now this one for the lounge room great to have same because we can record on the two products & be able to set them up as a homegroup enabling viewing one program from the family room in the lounge room
Would definitely recommend

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Marli, thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback on your recorders.

jshore

jshoreAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified purchase

Does The Job But Opportunities Missed

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018
2 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Jshore, thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback on your product.

jshore
jshore

Thanks - I'm pretty happy with the unit, although I'd be even happier if you could improve some of the deficiencies outlined above.... maybe with a firmware update???

Monica

MonicaSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very Happy with It

published

I have simple needs when it comes to recording shows, so this device caters for all I need (and more). It was easy to set-up, easy to program, easy to get to internet options such as iView, etc. and easy to view your recorded list. I can't live without it now. I haven't had any issue with missed shows, etc. The recording quality is very good (can't fault it).

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Phil E.

Phil E.

  • 6 reviews
  • 12 likes

Just a PVR

published

it's Ok, I've always been a big fan of Panasonic but of late I don't know where they've gone wrong but Panasonic isn't upto standards of yesterday, this PVR is Ok, it hasn't missed any programs, lets you know when there is a clash of timed programs, better than others on the market but it seems to be missing certain simple features and one that I need is a reminder of when a program is about to start. Other than that it's not a bad product, still believe that Panasonic have dropped their standards.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Cobber

CobberBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent User Friendly Product

published

Had a faulty Humax DVR replaced 2 times before finally getting a store credit and paying a little more for this Panasonic DVR . Easy to install and set up . Easy to navigate the menu . Netflix button . Series recording and great storage space . Very user friendly. It’s a twin tuner so records 2 programs at a time which is standard ... if you want to record 4 programs at a time go spend more money and purchase a quad recorder . Not sure what some customers expect for one of the less expensive PVR’s ? Couldn’t be happier after a year trying to get some service and a DVR that worked out of Humax .

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Old John

Old JohnAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Not up to today's expected standard.

published

Not worth the money. No good, 30 second blackout, program recorded lost yet showed 122 minutes recorded, Panasonic say see page..... Plenty of storage space, unit on time for recordings, but quality not so good. Replaced another Panasonic that dropped FHD channels 6 months after purchase, then could not record 2 programs at once! Navigation was good, should have brought the Samsung. Why do you need to buy a Panasonic TV as well? Because they can talk to each other with their systems.
old john.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-HWT260GN compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

not too bad cant formatt hdd

published

not a bad unit . my blind housemate wouldn't be without it. but when i tried to formatt the hdd. .. pressing the ok button for 3 seconds doesn't open the delete hdd menu . ive tried everything. i even deleted the recorded programs yet again same thing. im totally lost

Date PurchasedMay 2016
P_J_Cau

P_J_CauMoranbah

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Generally happy with Panasonic Digital Media Recorder but.

published

Has typical Panasonic feature set but its menu are not always intuitive and sometimes confusing. (The LG DVR it replaced had an excellent menu structure.) Netflix button is great and lots of apps to download, Spotify would be a great app to add to available apps, although the tune in radio app is excellent. Connection to the internet was fairly easy and all other connections are straight forward. It was very well priced so I think it is excellent value for money given the brand reputation of Panasonic.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
  • Verified purchase

Having weird problems with the timer.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
domw

domwPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Panasonic DMR-HWT260 - Even the wife likes it!

published

Idiot-proof, so even I can use it! What I do not like so far is the Program Guide with its white letters on a white background. Am one of the wrinklies and it is a big distance to TV. Index in manual is a bit sparse. Cannot find an update for this DMR-HWT260, no GN suffix. So hopefully everything works OK. Have not managed to use wireless connection from Telstra broadband modem to Panasonic, but iView, etc. works with a long Ethernet cable instead. Managed to talk Harvey Norman to accept $350 for this unit.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Ploppy

PloppyToodyay

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Thumbs up.

published

I've been using it for 4 to 5 weeks now. It does everything it's supposed to do without a hitch.
Only one thing I didn't like, Panasonic in their wisdom changed the positions of the buttons on the remote control
compared with a previous model. Can be annoying when pressing the wrong one.
Otherwise no problems.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Bryan L.

Bryan L.asked

Panasonic DMR-HWT260 Set time record stop buffer. How do you set this to add on an extra ten minutes to all recordings. ie make it a default

1 answer
Bundy
Bundy

Function/Set Up/ Basic Settings/HDD USB HDD/Settings for recording

Shona

Shonaasked

I cannot get my TV off the radio stations and back to the TV stations?

No answers
Phil G

Phil Gasked

For the last couple of months, every time I turn this HDD on it wants to do a channel update. Multiple times a day. Even asks again after I have done the update then turned it off after using then come back later and turn it on again.
How can I turn this function off?
Thanks, Phil

2 answers
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Phil, please contact our customer service team on 132600 and we will walk you thru how to turn this off.

Phil G
Phil G

Will do, thanks

Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.