?
? !
4 photos
Panasonic DMR-HWT260GN

Panasonic DMR-HWT260GN

MPN: 36376101
3.3 from 34 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (7)
  • Recording Quality
    4.6 (5)
  • Software
    2.2 (5)
  • Reliability
    2.5 (4)
Previous
Next

Absolutely disappointed with this - a complete waste of money

published

I find this system does not provide basic usefulness and the interface is way too difficult to navigate intuitively. Still cannot find how to set a time WATCH another program not RECORD but it does not seem to exist.
Twice the system has lost all DTV station settings for no reason and I have to reset the entire system to get them re-tuned. Not what I would expect and have never had this issue with previous system. Bought it to replace a 13yo Beyonwiz for a plasma TV but will be on selling to buy another new Beyonwiz as it is too hard to navigate
It does not match the standards I have come to expect from other Panasonic systems I own and I will start replacing older Panasonic equipment with other suppliers as they become outdated.

Purchased in January 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $448.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

not what I expected

published

Expected to be able to watch Optus, Kayo etc. Only crap apps of no interest. Should have bought a cheap recorder and a Firestick.and saved $300.00 Why make a product with such limited facilities.

Purchased in February 2021 for $399.00.

Value for Money
Software
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul S

Paul SGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

OK but volume problem

published

Sd volume much lower than HD ones
I can not fix it! What to do?
I have tried going through menu but nothing solves this fault
Nb¦ my connected tcl tv volumes are fine!

Purchased in November 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $298.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-HWT260GN compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Damien T

Damien TSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

not a useful PVR

published

this is not a useful machine. you can either have continuous tuned channel recording up to 1.5 hours but without rewind or only up to six hours of operation with rewind. this means that unless you remember to turn it on in the late afternoon you are unable to rewind. the whole idea of a PVR is to allow catch up TV when arriving home late for a program at any time of the day.
Panasonic help was not useful.
buy a Beyondwiz instead.

Purchased in September 2020 at The Good Guys for $524.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Colin C.

Colin C.South East Queensland, QLD

Great product - recently have problems with no sound.

published

Have been very satisified with this product, but last few months have been through 5 HDMI cables thinking they were faulty - but have tested on the same TV but with a different PVR and they are all in good condition. So it is this PVR that has an issue with the sound. On start up there is no sound but good picture. Has anyone else had same problem and is there a fix? Unit was purchased on 5/2/2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob

RobGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Panasonic quality is not what it was.

published

The user interface is soooo sloow and clunky which might have been forgivable if it worked properly, but its getting worse and worse in its operation. It has occasionally decided not to record set programmes. I reset the machine to factory state but things are worse. The unit has now gone completely mad. It records programmes that have not been set, won't record when it should, and when it does, it doesn't switch off but just carries on and on recording. The EPG can often take ages and ages to come up, and as I have a Panasonic TV its now 'infected' that as well - it behaves the same, though it never used to before it was connected to the this pvr! Its now just 3 months after the warranty expired! Perfect! No more Panasonic for me.

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $499.00.

Value for Money
Software
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bert

Bert

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Would not buy again

published

You cannot add apps it comes preloaded with SBS on demand, ABC live You Tube and Netflix and does not allow you to add apps. It is not as user friendly as other models

Purchased in November 2019 for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Bert, sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the purchase of your Panasonic recorder.

Bert
Bert

Why doesn't Panasonic allow installation of other app

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bundy

BundySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Should be 5 Star but......

published

I have had 4 Panasonic recorders now and love them. Great products that are easy and practical to use, except the previous 3 and I suspect the latest will be no different. The don't last.
My first 18 months
Second 13 months
Third 14 months
Current 6 Months
All with Hard drive failure and two remotes were failing too.

Like some many thing these days built to have a finite life.

Incentivised ReviewNo
2 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Bundy
Bundy

6 months later and sure enough my remote starts to play up. Same as 2 previous remote failures. Before anybody even thinks it, they have never been mistreated. Cost for new remote 1/4 cost of new unit .... Bit rich Mr Panasonic!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Karen A

Karen ASydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

BEWARE! of what you only discover after setup!

published

The box of the Panasonic DMR-HWT260 HDD Recorder (as did the salesman) trumpets it can record 2 TV programs simultaneously ... you need to read the fine print in the middle of the instruction book to find it is not possible to watch another channel at the same time!! The Key word option sounds good, but complicated to delete. Instructions to record a program convoluted and not user friendly.. Wish I had my Optus Fetch back. One click recording, 2 click series tag and easy to delete. No "go here; select this; press that"!! Rubbish. Not happy ... incase you didn't notice!

Purchased in August 2019 for $350.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
2 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Karen A
Karen A

Thank you for your response. However, unless the machine can be altered to amend the options I dislike, there is little use talking to a service team member who could not resolve the situation. My comments stand.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-HWT260GN compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ken W.

Ken W.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Some good features but frustrating to use~

published

Purchased in December 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brenda4848

Brenda4848North Queensland, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified

Best feature - No more Ads

published

Bought this machine February 2019 and couldn't be happier. 1TB of space. Records two channels while watching a third. Easy setup, easy to use, good quality record and can skip ads on recorded material. Pays for itself right there!! I think the sound is ok, but husband is a bit deaf and thinks the sound could be better, however I attached a wireless Bose 10 beside him and he is very happy. The previous model by Panasonic took a life time to start with the constant 'Please Wait', but this one does not have the same problem. Great product!

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman for $359.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Brenda, thank you for providing such a great review. We are pleased you have found a work around for you and your husband to both get the most out of your entertainment setup.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
She

She

  • 2 reviews

Panasonic Netflix problems

published

Have been using it for a couple of years and have up to date been very happy. Easy controls and lovely picture on my old Sony TV. Recently though, it has started to freeze where I cant turn it off. Now it loads Netflix OK but Netflix is unable to play the title I choose. I am able to use my AppleTV so it's a Panasonic problem. This is sad as it's otherwise a good product.

Purchased in October 2017 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Furniture for $477.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
gerry

gerryHampton

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

not a good start !

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GarryB

GarryBGlen Waverley

  • Verified

Great unit, well documented and easy to setup

published

The unit works smoothly and without fuss or complexity. The setup was well guided by the on screen prompts. The Program Guide is excellent and recording is reliable and easy to find and playback. We read the reviews before we bought the unit - the 'No Mute' was at first a concern but the PAUSE LIVE TV actually is better as you don't miss anything while in PAUSE. I would recommend this unit.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Garry, thank you for providing such great feedback on the unit. Pausing Live TV is a great feature!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Marli

MarliPARK HOLME. SA

  • 5 reviews

great buy

published

Great reliable product, records 2 programs while watching another, records in good quality, easy to find buttons & the guide is quick & easy to follow for free to air, freeview & any programs for streaming. Have one for the family room & now this one for the lounge room great to have same because we can record on the two products & be able to set them up as a homegroup enabling viewing one program from the family room in the lounge room
Would definitely recommend

Date PurchasedSept 2018
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Marli, thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback on your recorders.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-HWT260GN compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jshore

jshoreAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

Does The Job But Opportunities Missed

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018
2 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Jshore, thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback on your product.

jshore
jshore

Thanks - I'm pretty happy with the unit, although I'd be even happier if you could improve some of the deficiencies outlined above.... maybe with a firmware update???

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Monica

MonicaSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very Happy with It

published

I have simple needs when it comes to recording shows, so this device caters for all I need (and more). It was easy to set-up, easy to program, easy to get to internet options such as iView, etc. and easy to view your recorded list. I can't live without it now. I haven't had any issue with missed shows, etc. The recording quality is very good (can't fault it).

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Phil E.

Phil E.

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

Just a PVR

published

it's Ok, I've always been a big fan of Panasonic but of late I don't know where they've gone wrong but Panasonic isn't upto standards of yesterday, this PVR is Ok, it hasn't missed any programs, lets you know when there is a clash of timed programs, better than others on the market but it seems to be missing certain simple features and one that I need is a reminder of when a program is about to start. Other than that it's not a bad product, still believe that Panasonic have dropped their standards.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cobber

CobberBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent User Friendly Product

published

Had a faulty Humax DVR replaced 2 times before finally getting a store credit and paying a little more for this Panasonic DVR . Easy to install and set up . Easy to navigate the menu . Netflix button . Series recording and great storage space . Very user friendly. It’s a twin tuner so records 2 programs at a time which is standard ... if you want to record 4 programs at a time go spend more money and purchase a quad recorder . Not sure what some customers expect for one of the less expensive PVR’s ? Couldn’t be happier after a year trying to get some service and a DVR that worked out of Humax .

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Old John

Old JohnAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Not up to today's expected standard.

published

Not worth the money. No good, 30 second blackout, program recorded lost yet showed 122 minutes recorded, Panasonic say see page..... Plenty of storage space, unit on time for recordings, but quality not so good. Replaced another Panasonic that dropped FHD channels 6 months after purchase, then could not record 2 programs at once! Navigation was good, should have brought the Samsung. Why do you need to buy a Panasonic TV as well? Because they can talk to each other with their systems.
old john.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

RayS

RaySasked

Any idea why ABC Iview has stopped working in the past week ( since daylight saving ended of course in Victoria ) on my HWT260? The Iview screen says check the clock but it is on automatic and all the regular TV programs are fine.
Thanks

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Rays, Please give our customer service team a call on 132600 and they will be able to assist you.

Thanks

Mike

Mikeasked

I have just auto tuned all TV channels, now I cannot access my recorded programs. No menu, no nothing. It's like it's not sending anything to the TV at all. Help please.

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Mike, please give us a call on 132600 and the team will be able to assist you.

Thanks

Anne444

Anne444asked

When set to Record it is not recording. The recorded channel shows "no signal" so there is no picture and no recording. I have had the machine for 6 months and this is the 1st problem. Very frustrating as I am missing programs I want to record and watch when convenient. Help please.

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Anne444, Please give our customer service team a call on 132600 for assistance.

Thanks

See all Panasonic DMR-HWT260GN questions

Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

Details

CategorySet Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs
Price (RRP)$549
Internet ConnectivityWi-Fi
USB Ports2
Height41.5mm
Width430mm
Depth179mm
TypeBlu-ray Player
3D CapableYes
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • MPN: 36376101
  • GTIN13: 8887549634925

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.